الكناري في القطب الشمالي ذوبان الجليد

الاحترار العالمي الكناري في ذوبان الجليد في القطب الشمالي

Iمنذ فترة طويلة ، ثبت أن جليد القطب الشمالي في حالة تراجع ، ولكنها سرعة التغيير التي تثير الدهشة لدى العلماء: تشير أحدث الدراسات إلى أن المنطقة في أشدها حرارة بالنسبة إلى سنوات 40,000.

يستمر الجليد في القطب الشمالي في التراجع. موسم جديد دون ثلج يزداد بمعدل خمسة أيام في كل 10 سنوياً ، وفقاً لدراسة جديدة خطابات البحوث الجيوفيزيائية. وفي بعض مناطق القطب الشمالي ، يصل تجميد الخريف الآن إلى 11 أيامًا بعد مرور كل عقد.

وهذا يعني أن نسبة أكبر من المنطقة القطبية لفترة زمنية أطول لم تعد تعكس أشعة الشمس ولكنها تمتصها. هذا التغير في البياض - مصطلح العالم لعكس الانعكاسية للكوكب - يعني أن البحر المفتوح يمتص الإشعاع ويظل أكثر دفئًا ويجمد مرة أخرى في وقت لاحق.

الاحترار العالمي قد تسارع

لا شيء من هذا هو الخبر: كان الجليد البحري في القطب الشمالي يتراجع ويتقلص حجمه لأربعة عقود. وقد تتبع الباحثون تراجع خط الثلج للعثور على النباتات الصغيرة المكشوفة التي تم تجميدها على 40,000 منذ سنوات: وهذا يعني أن القطب الشمالي أكثر دفئًا الآن مما كان عليه في ألف عام 40.

ويهدد هذا الاحترار الحيوانات التي تعتمد على وجودها في دورة متوازنة من المواسم وتتسارع بمعدل يجعل المحيط القطبي خالية تمامًا من الجليد في أواخر الصيف في العقود الأربعة القادمة.

لذلك ، قدمت Julienne Stroeve من University College London وزملائها تأكيدًا إضافيًا لمعدل التغيير المتزايد في المنطقة في الدراسة الاخيرة. قام العلماء بفحص صور الأقمار الصناعية للقطب الشمالي خلال السنوات العشر الماضية من 30 ، على شبكة 25 square kilometre ، من أجل عمل البياض في كل مربع لكل شهر لديهم بيانات.

الرقم الرئيسي لخمس أيام هو متوسط: في الواقع يختلف نمط التجميد والذوبان في القطب الشمالي. في إحدى المناطق ، تم تمديد موسم الذوبان في أيام 13 ، وفي موسم آخر يكون موسم الذوبان في الواقع أقصر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يتم امتصاص الطاقة أكثر

هذا التعرض المتزايد لأشعة الشمس الصيفية يعني أنه يتم امتصاص كميات أكبر من الطاقة: فعدة مرات تصل طاقة القنبلة الذرية على هيروشيما إلى كل كيلومتر مربع من المحيط المتجمد الشمالي المفتوح.

وقال البروفيسور ستروفي: "إن حجم جليد البحار في القطب الشمالي آخذ في الانخفاض طوال العقود الأربعة الماضية ، وتوقيت بدء الصهر وينتهي له تأثير كبير على كمية الثلج المفقودة كل صيف. ومع ازدياد إمكانية الوصول إلى منطقة القطب الشمالي لفترات زمنية أطول ، هناك حاجة متزايدة إلى تنبؤ مُحسَّن حول موعد تراجع الجليد والإصلاحات في المياه ".

- شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
by ريتو كنوتي وسيباستيان سيبل
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

The Canary In The Arctic Ice Melt

The Global Warming Canary In The Arctic Ice Melt

It’s long been established that Arctic ice is on the retreat but it’s the pace of change that’s surprising scientists: latest studies show the region is at its warmest for 40,000 years. 

Ice in the Arctic continues to retreat. The season without ice is getting longer by an average of five days every 10 years, according to a new study in Geophysical Research Letters.  And in some regions of the Arctic, the autumn freeze is now up to 11 days later every decade.

This means that a greater proportion of the polar region for a longer timespan no longer reflects sunlight but absorbs it. This change in albedo – the scientist’s term for a planet’s reflectivity – means that open sea absorbs radiation, stays warmer, and freezes again ever later.

Global Warming Has Accelerated

None of this is news: sea ice in the Arctic has been both retreating and thinning in volume for four decades. Researchers have tracked the retreat of the snow line to find tiny plants exposed that had been frozen over 40,000 years ago: the implication is that the Arctic is warmer now than it has been for 40 millennia.

This warming threatens the animals that depend for their existence on a stable cycle of seasons  and is accelerating at such a rate that the polar ocean could be entirely free of ice in late summer in the next four decades.

So Julienne Stroeve, of University College London and her colleagues have provided yet further confirmation of an increasing rate of change in the region in their latest study. The scientists examined satellite imagery of the Arctic for the last 30 years, on 25 square kilometer grid, to work out the albedo of each square for every month they had data.

Their headline figure of five days is an average: in fact the pattern of freeze and thaw in the Arctic varies. In one region the melt season has been extended by 13 days, in another the melt season is actually getting shorter.

More Energy Is Being Absorbed

This increasing exposure to summer sunlight means that ever greater quantities of energy are being absorbed: several times the energy of the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima hits every square kilometer of the open Arctic Ocean.

“The extent of sea ice in the Arctic has been declining for the last four decades,” said Professor Stroeve, “and the timing of when melt begins and ends has a large impact on the amount of ice lost each summer. With the Arctic region becoming more accessible for longer periods of time, there is a growing need for improved prediction of when the ice retreats and reforms in the water.”

Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}