Alpine Seen von Österreich erwärmen sich.

Alpine Seen von Österreich erwärmen sich.

Auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks haben Wissenschaftler, die Seen erforschen, entdeckt, dass sie sich erwärmen - und das sind schlechte Nachrichten sowohl für die Wasserqualität als auch für die Fische.

Die Alpenseen Österreichs wärmen sich auf. Laut 2050 könnten ihre Oberflächengewässer bis zu 3 ° C wärmer sein, laut neuen Forschungsergebnissen in der Zeitschrift Hydrobiologia.

Martin Dokulil vom Institut für Limnologie der Universität Innsbruck hat Daten von neun Seen untersucht, die größer als 10km2 sind. Der größte, Bodensee oder Bodensee, berührt im Westen die Grenze zu Deutschland und der Schweiz; 800 km östlich, Neusiedler See grenzt an Deutschland und Ungarn.

Die neun Seen reichen von 254 bis zu 1.8 Metern maximaler Tiefe und sind für die österreichische Tourismusindustrie von entscheidender Bedeutung: Sie spielen eine wichtige Rolle im alpinen Ökosystem und sind natürlich Wasserreservoirs.

Aber die Alpentäler erwärmen sich: zwischen 1980 und 1999 erwärmt sich die Region auf das Dreifache des globalen Durchschnitts und durch 2050 könnten die Median-Temperaturen für die Region um 3.5 ° C gestiegen sein. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, die Auswirkungen der globalen Erwärmung auf die Seen vorherzusehen.

"Die vorhergesagten Änderungen der Oberflächenwassertemperaturen werden die thermischen Eigenschaften der Seen beeinflussen", sagt Dr. Dokulil. "Wärmere Wassertemperaturen könnten zu einer erhöhten Nährstoffbelastung führen und die Wasserqualität beeinträchtigen, indem sie Algenblüten fördern und die biologischen Funktionen von Wasserorganismen beeinträchtigen.

"Signifikante Erhöhungen der Sommertemperaturen werden den Kohlenstoffkreislauf in den Seen beeinflussen, mit möglichen Konsequenzen für den Kohlendioxidgehalt der Atmosphäre und das Klima der Erde."


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Als nächstes der Fisch

Die österreichische Forschung beschäftigt sich bisher nur mit Süsswassertemperaturen. Peter Moyle, ein Biologe an der Universität von Kalifornien Davis, hat sich mehr mit den Süßwasserfischen beschäftigt, die in Kaliforniens Flüssen und Seen leben oder dorthin wandern.

Er und seine Kollegen berichten in der Fachzeitschrift PLOS One - der Public Library of Science - dass, wenn sich die aktuellen Klimatrends fortsetzen, 82 Prozent der einheimischen Fische in Kalifornien ausgestorben sein könnten und ihre heimischen Häuser von invasiven Arten besiedelt werden. Die Wissenschaftler untersuchten 121-Arten und fanden heraus, dass vier Fünftel von ihnen wahrscheinlich vom Aussterben bedroht waren oder zumindest sehr niedrig waren. Dazu gehören preisgekrönte Sportfische wie der Steelhead von Klamath River und andere Forellen, der Chinook-Lachs aus dem Central Valley, der Coho-Lachs der Central Coast und viele andere, die auf kaltes Wasser angewiesen sind.

"Diese Fische sind Teil der endemischen Flora und Fauna, die Kalifornien zu einem besonderen Ort macht", sagte Prof. Moyle. "Wenn wir diese Fische verlieren, verlieren wir ihre Umwelt und sind viel ärmer für sie." - Climate News Network

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Alpine Lakes Of Austria Are Warming Up.

Alpine Lakes Of Austria Are Warming Up. 

On both sides of the Atlantic scientists studying lakes have discovered they are warming – and this is bad news both for water quality and the fish.

The Alpine lakes of Austria are warming up. By 2050, their surface waters could be up to 3°C warmer, according to new research in the journal Hydrobiologia.

Martin Dokulil of the Institute for Limnology at the University of Innsbruck studied data from nine lakes larger than 10km2. The largest, Bodensee or Lake Constance, touches Austria’s border with Germany and Switzerland to the west; 800 kms to the east, Neusiedler See borders Germany and Hungary.

The nine lakes range from 254 to 1.8 metres maximum depth and they are vital to Austria’s tourist industry: they play powerful roles in the Alpine ecosystem and they are of course reservoirs of water.

But the Alpine valleys are warming: between 1980 and 1999 the region warmed at three times the global average and by 2050 the median temperatures for the region could have risen by 3.5°C. The challenge has been to anticipate the impact of global warming on the lakes.

“The predicted changes in surface water temperatures will affect the thermal characteristics of the lakes,” says Dr Dokulil. “Warmer water temperatures could lead to enhanced nutrient loads and affect water quality by promoting algal blooms and impairing the biological functions of aquatic organisms.

“Significant increases in summer temperatures will affect the carbon cycling in the lakes, with potential consequences on atmospheric carbon dioxide levels and the Earth’s climate.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


 Next, the fish

The Austrian research so far is concerned only with freshwater temperatures. Peter Moyle, a biologist at the University of California Davis, has been more concerned with the freshwater fish that make their homes in, or migrate to, California’s rivers and lakes.

He and colleagues report in the journal PLOS One – the Public Library of Science – that if current climate trends continue, then 82 per cent of California’s native fish could be extinct, and their native homes colonized by invasive species. The scientists looked at 121 native species and found that four fifths of them were likely to be driven to extinction or at least to very low numbers. These include prized sporting fish such as the Klamath River summer steelhead and other trout, the Central Valley Chinook salmon, the Central Coast coho salmon and many others that depend on cold water.

“These fish are part of the endemic flora and fauna that makes California such a special place,” said Prof Moyle. “As we lose these fishes, we lose their environments and are much poorer for it.” - Climate News Network

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…