Les lacs alpins d'Autriche s'échauffent.

Les lacs alpins d'Autriche s'échauffent.

Des deux côtés de l'Atlantique, des scientifiques qui étudient les lacs ont découvert qu'ils se réchauffaient - ce qui est une mauvaise nouvelle à la fois pour la qualité de l'eau et pour le poisson.

Les lacs alpins d’Autriche se réchauffent. Selon 2050, leurs eaux de surface pourraient être jusqu'à 3 plus chaudes, selon une nouvelle étude de la revue Hydrobiologia.

Martin Dokulil de l'Institut de Limnologie de l'Université d'Innsbruck a étudié les données de neuf lacs plus grands que 10km2. Le plus grand, Bodensee ou le lac de Constance, touche la frontière autrichienne avec l'Allemagne et la Suisse à l'ouest; 800 kms à l'est, Neusiedler See frontières l'Allemagne et la Hongrie.

Les neuf lacs s'étendent de 254 à 1.8 mètres de profondeur maximale et ils sont essentiels à l'industrie touristique de l'Autriche: ils jouent un rôle puissant dans l'écosystème alpin et ils sont bien sûr des réservoirs d'eau.

Mais les vallées alpines se réchauffent: entre 1980 et 1999, la région s'est réchauffée à trois fois la moyenne mondiale et par 2050 les températures médianes de la région auraient pu augmenter de 3.5 ° C. Le défi a été d'anticiper l'impact du réchauffement climatique sur les lacs.

«Les changements prévus dans la température de l'eau de surface auront une incidence sur les caractéristiques thermiques des lacs», a déclaré le Dr Dokulil. «Des températures de l'eau plus chaudes pourraient entraîner une augmentation des charges de nutriments et affecter la qualité de l'eau en favorisant la prolifération d'algues et en altérant les fonctions biologiques des organismes aquatiques.

"Des augmentations significatives des températures estivales affecteront le cycle du carbone dans les lacs, avec des conséquences potentielles sur les niveaux de dioxyde de carbone atmosphérique et le climat de la Terre."

Ensuite, le poisson

Jusqu'à présent, la recherche autrichienne ne concerne que les températures de l'eau douce. Peter Moyle, un biologiste de l'Université de Californie à Davis, a été plus préoccupé par les poissons d'eau douce qui font leurs maisons dans, ou migrent vers les rivières et les lacs de la Californie.

Lui et ses collègues rapportent dans la revue PLOS One - la Public Library of Science - que si les tendances climatiques actuelles se poursuivent, alors 82 pour cent des poissons indigènes de la Californie pourraient disparaître et leurs maisons indigènes pourraient être colonisées par des espèces envahissantes. Les scientifiques ont examiné les espèces indigènes 121 et ont constaté que les quatre cinquièmes d'entre eux étaient susceptibles d'être menés à l'extinction ou au moins à de très faibles nombres. Il s'agit notamment de poissons sportifs prisés, comme la truite arc-en-ciel d'été de la rivière Klamath et d'autres truites, le saumon Chinook de la vallée centrale, le saumon coho de la côte centrale et bien d'autres qui dépendent de l'eau froide.

"Ces poissons font partie de la flore et de la faune endémiques qui font de la Californie un endroit si spécial", a déclaré le professeur Moyle. "Comme nous perdons ces poissons, nous perdons leur environnement et nous en sommes beaucoup plus pauvres." - Climate News Network

Alpine Lakes Of Austria Are Warming Up.

Alpine Lakes Of Austria Are Warming Up. 

On both sides of the Atlantic scientists studying lakes have discovered they are warming – and this is bad news both for water quality and the fish.

The Alpine lakes of Austria are warming up. By 2050, their surface waters could be up to 3°C warmer, according to new research in the journal Hydrobiologia.

Martin Dokulil of the Institute for Limnology at the University of Innsbruck studied data from nine lakes larger than 10km2. The largest, Bodensee or Lake Constance, touches Austria’s border with Germany and Switzerland to the west; 800 kms to the east, Neusiedler See borders Germany and Hungary.

The nine lakes range from 254 to 1.8 metres maximum depth and they are vital to Austria’s tourist industry: they play powerful roles in the Alpine ecosystem and they are of course reservoirs of water.

But the Alpine valleys are warming: between 1980 and 1999 the region warmed at three times the global average and by 2050 the median temperatures for the region could have risen by 3.5°C. The challenge has been to anticipate the impact of global warming on the lakes.

“The predicted changes in surface water temperatures will affect the thermal characteristics of the lakes,” says Dr Dokulil. “Warmer water temperatures could lead to enhanced nutrient loads and affect water quality by promoting algal blooms and impairing the biological functions of aquatic organisms.

“Significant increases in summer temperatures will affect the carbon cycling in the lakes, with potential consequences on atmospheric carbon dioxide levels and the Earth’s climate.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


 Next, the fish

The Austrian research so far is concerned only with freshwater temperatures. Peter Moyle, a biologist at the University of California Davis, has been more concerned with the freshwater fish that make their homes in, or migrate to, California’s rivers and lakes.

He and colleagues report in the journal PLOS One – the Public Library of Science – that if current climate trends continue, then 82 per cent of California’s native fish could be extinct, and their native homes colonized by invasive species. The scientists looked at 121 native species and found that four fifths of them were likely to be driven to extinction or at least to very low numbers. These include prized sporting fish such as the Klamath River summer steelhead and other trout, the Central Valley Chinook salmon, the Central Coast coho salmon and many others that depend on cold water.

“These fish are part of the endemic flora and fauna that makes California such a special place,” said Prof Moyle. “As we lose these fishes, we lose their environments and are much poorer for it.” - Climate News Network

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…