لقد أمضينا للتو أسبوعين في مسح الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. ما رأيناه كان مأساة مطلقة

لقد أمضينا للتو أسبوعين في مسح الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. ما رأيناه كان مأساة مطلقة المؤلف الموردة

سيتم تذكر الصيف الأسترالي الذي ذهب لتوه على أنه اللحظة التي ضرب فيها تغير المناخ الذي تسببه الإنسان بشدة. جاء الجفاف أولاً ، ثم حرائق الغابات المميتة ، والآن نوبة من تبيض المرجان على الحاجز المرجاني العظيم - الثالث في خمس سنوات فقط. بشكل مأساوي ، تبييض 2020 شديد و الأكثر انتشارًا على الإطلاق.

يحدث تبيض المرجان على المستويات الإقليمية بسبب الارتفاعات في درجات حرارة البحر خلال فصل الصيف الحار بشكل غير معتاد. حدث أول تبيض جماعي مسجل على طول الحاجز المرجاني العظيم في عام 1998 ، ثم حدث الأحر قياسيا.

ومنذ ذلك الحين شهدنا أربعة أحداث تبييض جماعية أخرى - وتحطيم المزيد من الأرقام القياسية لدرجات الحرارة - في 2002 و 2016 و 2017 ومرة ​​أخرى في 2020.

هذا العام ، كان فبراير أعلى درجات حرارة سطح البحر الشهرية سجلت على الحاجز المرجاني العظيم منذ أن بدأت سجلات مكتب الأرصاد الجوية في عام 1900.

تبييض المرجان في جزيرة ماجنتيك ، مارس 2020. (فيديو من تأليف فيكتور هويرتاس)

ليست صورة جميلة

قمنا بمسح 1,036 شعابًا من الجو خلال الأسبوعين الماضيين في مارس ، لقياس مدى وشدة تبيض المرجان في جميع أنحاء منطقة الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. قام مراقبان ، من مركز ARC للتميز في دراسات الشعاب المرجانية وهيئة Great Barrier Reef Marine Park ، بتسجيل كل شعاب بصريًا ، مكررًا نفس الإجراءات التي تم تطويرها خلال أحداث التبييض المبكرة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


دقة الدرجات الهوائية تم التحقق منه من خلال المسوحات تحت الماء على الشعاب المرجانية التي يتم تبييضها بشكل خفيف وخفيف. بينما تحت الماء، نقيس أيضا كيف تغير التبييض بين الضحلة و الشعاب المرجانية العميقة.

من بين الشعاب المرجانية التي قمنا بمسحها من الهواء ، كان 39.8٪ بها القليل من التبييض أو منعدمة (الشعاب الخضراء في الخريطة). ومع ذلك ، فإن 25.1٪ من الشعاب المرجانية تأثرت بشدة (الشعاب الحمراء) - أي على كل شعاب مرجانية تم تبييض أكثر من 60٪ من الشعاب المرجانية. 35 ٪ أخرى لديها مستويات أكثر تواضعا من التبييض.

التبييض ليس بالضرورة قاتلاً للشعاب المرجانية ، ويؤثر عليه بعض الأنواع أكثر من غيرها. عادة ما يستعيد المرجان الشاحب أو المبيض قليلاً لونه في غضون أسابيع أو أشهر قليلة ويعيش.

لقد أمضينا للتو أسبوعين في مسح الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. ما رأيناه كان مأساة مطلقة حدث تبيض المرجان لعام 2020 كان ثاني أسوأ حدث منذ أكثر من عقدين. مركز ARC التميز للدراسات الشعاب المرجانية

ولكن عندما يكون التبييض شديدًا ، يموت الكثير من الشعاب المرجانية. في عام 2016 ، مات نصف الشعاب المرجانية المائية الضحلة في المنطقة الشمالية من الحاجز المرجاني العظيم بين مارس ونوفمبر. في وقت لاحق من هذا العام ، سنذهب تحت الماء لتقييم خسائر الشعاب المرجانية خلال هذا الحدث الأخير.

مقارنة بأحداث التبييض الأربعة السابقة ، هناك عدد أقل من الشعاب المرجانية غير المبيضة أو المبيضة بشكل خفيف في عام 2020 مقارنة بعام 1998 و 2002 و 2017 ، ولكن أكثر من عام 2016. وبالمثل ، فإن نسبة الشعاب شديدة التبييض في عام 2020 تم تجاوزها بحلول عام 2016 فقط. من هذه المقاييس ، 2020 هو ثاني أسوأ حدث للتبييض الجماعي من بين الخمسة التي عانى منها الحاجز المرجاني العظيم منذ عام 1998.

الشعاب المرجانية (الخضراء) غير المبيضة والخفيفة في عام 2020 هي في الغالب بعيدة عن الشاطئ ، في الغالب قريبة من حافة الجرف القاري في الحاجز المرجاني الشمالي والجنوبي العظيم. ومع ذلك ، تم تبيض الشعاب البحرية في المنطقة الوسطى بشدة مرة أخرى. كما يتم تبييض الشعاب الساحلية بشكل سيئ في جميع المواقع تقريبًا ، وتمتد من مضيق توريس في الشمال إلى الحدود الجنوبية لمتنزه الحاجز المرجاني العظيم.


لقد أمضينا للتو أسبوعين في مسح الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. ما رأيناه كان مأساة مطلقة CC BY-ND


وللمرة الأولى ، ضرب التبييض الشديد المناطق الثلاث من الحاجز المرجاني العظيم - الأجزاء الشمالية والوسطى والآن الكبيرة من القطاعات الجنوبية. كان الشمال المنطقة الأكثر تضرراً في عام 2016 ، يليه المركز في عام 2017.

في عام 2020 ، توسعت البصمة التراكمية للتبييض بشكل أكبر لتشمل الجنوب. تتطابق البصمة المميزة لكل حدث تبيض بشكل وثيق مع موقع ظروف أكثر سخونة وبرودة في سنوات مختلفة.

إنذارات ضعيفة أو تشخيص طبي ضعيف

من بين أحداث التبييض الجماعي الخمسة التي شهدناها حتى الآن ، حدثت خلال 1998 و 2016 فقط النينيو - نمط الطقس الذي يحفز درجات حرارة الهواء الأكثر دفئا في أستراليا.

ولكن مع ازدياد حرارة الصيف في ظل تغير المناخ ، لم نعد بحاجة إلى النينيو لإثارة التبييض الجماعي على نطاق الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. لقد رأينا بالفعل أول مثال على التبييض المتتالي ، في الصيف المتتالي لعامي 2016 و 2017. الفجوة بين أحداث التبييض المتكررة تتقلص ، مما يعيق الشفاء التام.

لقد أمضينا للتو أسبوعين في مسح الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. ما رأيناه كان مأساة مطلقة وللمرة الأولى ، ضرب التبييض الشديد المناطق الثلاث من الحاجز المرجاني العظيم. مركز ARC التميز للدراسات الشعاب المرجانية

بعد خمسة أحداث تبيض ، لا يزال عدد الشعاب المرجانية التي نجت من التبييض الشديد يتضاءل. وتقع هذه الشعاب المرجانية في أقصى الشمال وفي أقصى المناطق النائية من الجنوب.

سيستمر الحاجز المرجاني العظيم في فقدان الشعاب المرجانية من الإجهاد الحراري ، حتى يتم تقليل الانبعاثات العالمية لغازات الدفيئة إلى صافي صفر ، واستقرار درجات حرارة البحر. بدون اتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة لتحقيق هذه النتيجة ، من الواضح أن الشعاب المرجانية لدينا لن تنجو من الانبعاثات كالمعتاد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تيري هيوز ، أستاذ متميز ، جامعة جيمس كوك ومورغان براتشيت ، أستاذ مركز ARC المتميز لدراسات الشعاب المرجانية ، جامعة جيمس كوك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية. متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز
هل أجهزتك تتجسس عليك؟
هل أجهزتك تتجسس عليك؟
by كايلين مانوارنج وروجر كلارك

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

We Just Spent Two Weeks Surveying The Great Barrier Reef. What We Saw Was An Utter Tragedy

We Just Spent Two Weeks Surveying The Great Barrier Reef. What We Saw Was An Utter Tragedy Author supplied

The Australian summer just gone will be remembered as the moment when human-caused climate change struck hard. First came drought, then deadly bushfires, and now a bout of coral bleaching on the Great Barrier Reef – the third in just five years. Tragically, the 2020 bleaching is severe and the most widespread we have ever recorded.

Coral bleaching at regional scales is caused by spikes in sea temperatures during unusually hot summers. The first recorded mass bleaching event along Great Barrier Reef occurred in 1998, then the hottest year on record.

Since then we’ve seen four more mass bleaching events – and more temperature records broken – in 2002, 2016, 2017, and again in 2020.

This year, February had the highest monthly sea surface temperatures ever recorded on the Great Barrier Reef since the Bureau of Meteorology’s records began in 1900.

Coral bleaching at Magnetic Island, March 2020. (Video by Victor Huertas)

Not a pretty picture

We surveyed 1,036 reefs from the air during the last two weeks in March, to measure the extent and severity of coral bleaching throughout the Great Barrier Reef region. Two observers, from the ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, scored each reef visually, repeating the same procedures developed during early bleaching events.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The accuracy of the aerial scores is verified by underwater surveys on reefs that are lightly and heavily bleached. While underwater, we also measure how bleaching changes between shallow and deeper reefs.

Of the reefs we surveyed from the air, 39.8% had little or no bleaching (the green reefs in the map). However, 25.1% of reefs were severely affected (red reefs) – that is, on each reef more than 60% of corals were bleached. A further 35% had more modest levels of bleaching.

Bleaching isn’t necessarily fatal for coral, and it affects some species more than others. A pale or lightly bleached coral typically regains its colour within a few weeks or months and survives.

We Just Spent Two Weeks Surveying The Great Barrier Reef. What We Saw Was An Utter Tragedy The 2020 coral bleaching event was the second-worst in more than two decades. ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies

But when bleaching is severe, many corals die. In 2016, half of the shallow water corals died on the northern region of the Great Barrier Reef between March and November. Later this year, we’ll go underwater to assess the losses of corals during this most recent event.

Compared to the four previous bleaching events, there are fewer unbleached or lightly bleached reefs in 2020 than in 1998, 2002 and 2017, but more than in 2016. Similarly, the proportion of severely bleached reefs in 2020 is exceeded only by 2016. By both of these metrics, 2020 is the second-worst mass bleaching event of the five experienced by the Great Barrier Reef since 1998.

The unbleached and lightly bleached (green) reefs in 2020 are predominantly offshore, mostly close to the edge of the continental shelf in the northern and southern Great Barrier Reef. However, offshore reefs in the central region were severely bleached again. Coastal reefs are also badly bleached at almost all locations, stretching from the Torres Strait in the north to the southern boundary of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.


We Just Spent Two Weeks Surveying The Great Barrier Reef. What We Saw Was An Utter Tragedy CC BY-ND


For the first time, severe bleaching has struck all three regions of the Great Barrier Reef – the northern, central and now large parts of the southern sectors. The north was the worst affected region in 2016, followed by the centre in 2017.

In 2020, the cumulative footprint of bleaching has expanded further, to include the south. The distinctive footprint of each bleaching event closely matches the location of hotter and cooler conditions in different years.

Poor prognosis

Of the five mass bleaching events we’ve seen so far, only 1998 and 2016 occurred during an El Niño – a weather pattern that spurs warmer air temperatures in Australia.

But as summers grow hotter under climate change, we no longer need an El Niño to trigger mass bleaching at the scale of the Great Barrier Reef. We’ve already seen the first example of back-to-back bleaching, in the consecutive summers of 2016 and 2017. The gap between recurrent bleaching events is shrinking, hindering a full recovery.

We Just Spent Two Weeks Surveying The Great Barrier Reef. What We Saw Was An Utter Tragedy For the first time, severe bleaching has struck all three regions of the Great Barrier Reef. ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies

After five bleaching events, the number of reefs that have escaped severe bleaching continues to dwindle. Those reefs are located offshore, in the far north and in remote parts of the south.

The Great Barrier Reef will continue to lose corals from heat stress, until global emissions of greenhouse gasses are reduced to net zero, and sea temperatures stabilise. Without urgent action to achieve this outcome, it’s clear our coral reefs will not survive business-as-usual emissions.

About The Author

Terry Hughes, Distinguished Professor, James Cook University and Morgan Pratchett, Professor, ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies, James Cook University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)