مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟

مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟ Michal Pech / Unsplash

العلاقة بين الغلاف الجوي CO2 غالبًا ما يُنظر إلى المستويات وتغير المناخ كموضوع مثير للجدل. في حين لا يوجد خلاف حقيقي بين علماء المناخ - حولها 90% أتفق تمامًا على أن النشاط البشري مسؤول بوضوح عن تغير المناخ - بالكاد في الولايات المتحدة في عام 2016 50 ٪ من الجمهور العام جاء إلى نفس النتيجة. إضافة إلى الارتباك العام ، يزعم "منكرو تغير المناخ" النشطين للغاية أن درجة الحرارة تطورت بشكل مستقل عن ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 تركيزات الغلاف الجوي من خلال تاريخ الأرض ، وبالتالي فإن ارتفاع CO اليوم2 المستويات ليست مشكلة.

فهل أخطأ العلماء القصة؟ رقم CO2 ساهم منذ فترة طويلة في السيطرة على مناخ الأرض ، وتركيزه المتزايد في الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات يشكل تهديدا رئيسيا للبشرية.

معا مع النشاط الشمسي و البياض، غازات الدفيئة هي جزء رئيسي من الأرض ميزانية إشعاعية وممارسة سيطرة قوية على درجة حرارة السطح. على الرغم من أن بخار الماء هو غاز الدفيئة الرئيسي على الأرض ، CO2 يلفت الانتباه أكثر بكثير لأنه يمكن أن يؤدي بنشاط تغير المناخ.

لسوء الحظ ، النشاط البشري يسلم CO2 في الغلاف الجوي بمعدل مرات 70 أكبر من جميع البراكين على الأرض مجتمعة. نتيجة لذلك ، CO الغلاف الجوي2 تركيز (أو pCO2يزيد ويزيد سطح الأرض بوتيرة لا يفسرها أي عامل طبيعي.

نحن نعلم أن CO2 هو التحكم في درجة الحرارة ويمكننا أن نثبت ذلك بطرق مختلفة. واحد منهم من خلال استكشاف تاريخ الأرض.

مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟ أمريكا الشمالية من القمر الصناعي سومي منخفض المدار. NASA / NOAA / GSFC / Suomi NPP / VIIRS / Norman Kuring

المناخ ودرجة الحرارة خلال الأوقات الجيولوجية

باستخدام الصخور والحفريات وخصائصها الكيميائية والفيزيائية ، أعاد علماء الجيولوجيا إعادة بناء الفترات الدافئة والباردة على مدار تاريخ الأرض. لإظهار الصلة بين المناخ ودرجة الحرارة و PCO2 منذ ملايين السنين ، نحتاج إلى إعادة بناء كل واحد منهم بشكل مستقل. للقيام بذلك ، نستخدم مسجلات مناخية تسمى "الوكلاء".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


التركيب النظري لذرات الأكسجين ، مكتوب .O، ويقاس في قذائف الجيرية القديمة ، هو واحد منهم. يسمح لنا بإعادة بناء درجات حرارة مياه البحر في الماضي بدرجة معروفة من عدم اليقين والتي تعتمد على الدقة التحليلية وكيف يمكن لمعلمات مثل مياه البحر ،O ، الملوحة و pH تؤثر أيضا على ofO من القذائف.

لأن التاريخ الجيولوجي يؤثر على الصخور وإشاراتها ، فكلما عدنا في الزمن ، كلما كانت الشكوك أكبر. نحن نجمع بين الوكلاء المختلفين ونصوغ فرضيات تتحسن باستمرار مع سنوات من البحث. إنشاء مثل هذه إعادة البناء عملية بطيئة ومعقدة (مؤلمة في بعض الأحيان) ولكنها تصبح أكثر وأكثر موثوقية كل عام مع انخفاض الشكوك. إذا كانت الشكوك كبيرة للغاية ، فإن التفسيرات تعتمد عليها تقتير: يجب أن يعتبر أبسط نموذج من المرجح. ما يهم هو أن العلماء يعرفون كيفية تقدير حالات عدم اليقين ومشاركتها.

بشكل عام ، تتوافق عمليات إعادة بناء درجة حرارة مياه البحر مع الملاحظات الجيولوجية لتاريخ المناخ: تتزامن عصور الجليد الرئيسية مع انخفاض درجة الحرارة العالمية. على وجه الخصوص ، indicateO تشير إلى ثابت تبريد من 50 مليون سنة فصاعدا ، مما يؤدي إلى مناخ ما قبل الصناعة.

مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟ GEOCARB (الإصدار الثالث) إعادة بناء pCO₂ (أصفر ، نقطة واحدة كل 10 ملايين سنة) ومتوسط ​​درجة حرارة سطح البحر المداري من δ¹⁸O من الكربونات المصححة لتغيرات درجة الحموضة في مياه البحر مع افتراض عدم وجود تغييرات changesO لمياه البحر (الأحمر) مقارنة بفترات البرد المقيدة جيولوجيًا (الضوء) الأزرق) والجليد (الأزرق الداكن). باريس بعد روير وبيرلينج (2004) وبرنر وخوتافالا (2011), مؤلف المنصوص

تاريخ PCO2

وكلاء موجودة ل pCO2 كذلك. على سبيل المثال ، علماء الحفريات عد الثغور - فتحات من خلالها تتنفس النباتات ، تتبادل الرطوبة وتتناول ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 للتمثيل الضوئي - على الأوراق الأحفورية. أكثر CO2 وفيرة ، و أقل من الثغور مطلوبة. أحد العوامل التي تضيف درجة من عدم اليقين هو أن النباتات لديها عدد أقل من الثغور تحت مناخات أكثر جفافًا وتحت ظروف أكثر رطوبة.

الأوراق الأحفورية نادرة و PCO في الغلاف الجوي2 البيانات نادرة لفترات الأرض القديمة. في غياب البيانات (الكافية) ، يساعد النمذجة العددية في شرح البيانات بنهج متماسك عالميًا يحترم القوانين الأساسية للفيزياء. واحدة من الاكثر شهرة هو جيوكارب، نموذج دورة الكربون الجيولوجي وضعت لإعادة بناء PCO2 التاريخ من قبل روبرت بيرنر وزملائه.

على الجداول الزمنية أكبر من 100,000 سنة، PCO2 يضاف في المقام الأول من البراكين ، ويفقد من خلال اثنين من مضخات الكربون: المضخة البيولوجية ومضخة الكربونات.

أثناء عملية التمثيل الضوئي ، تأخذ النباتات والطحالب ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 لبناء المواد العضوية الخاصة بهم. عندما يموتون ، وهذا CO2 قد تتورط في الرواسب. هذه هي المضخة البيولوجية. مضخة الكربونات هي اقتران بين التجوية في القارات وهطول أمطار الكربونات. CO2 يحمض المياه السطحية التي تذوب الصخور. يتم غسل العناصر الذائبة في المحيط حيث يتم استخدامها لبناء مواد جيرية مثل الأصداف أو الشعاب المرجانية ، والتي تصبح في نهاية المطاف أحجارًا جيولوجية. سنة بعد سنة ، هذه المضخات تخزين CO2 بعيدا عن الجو.

في الماضي ، كان يمكن أن تكون البراكين أكثر أو أقل نشاطًا ؛ كانت القارات في مواقع مختلفة، مما أثر على مضخات الكربون. قام بيرنر وزملاؤه بتحديد كيفية تأثير التطور المعروف لهذه العوامل على دورة الكربون ، وبالتالي على عملية التحلل الحراري في الغلاف الجوي2. كانوا يعرفون وأظهرت عدم اليقين نموذجهم. يجب تقديم نتائجها مع مغلف تقدير ، وليس كقيمة معينة.

أوقات ارتفاع PCO2 هي فترات دافئة. على العكس ، انخفاض في الغلاف الجوي CO2 أثار المحتوى فترات جليدية مثل العصور الجليدية الكربونية والعصرية ، مع استثناء محتمل للهرنانتية (قبل 445 مليون سنة). النماذج الحديثة أقترح أنه خلال هذه الفترة البعيدة ، لعبت التكوين التكتوني دورًا محددًا.

كيف يؤثر البشر بسرعة على المناخ

مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟ درجة الحرارة وإعادة بناء pCO₂ لآخر 66 My. يتم حساب درجات الحرارة باستخدام δ¹⁸O من الكربونات ويتم تمثيلها دون شك. ويستند إعادة بناء PCO₂ على سبعة وكلاء مختلفين متفقين في ظل الشكوك الخاصة بكل منهم. بيرلينج وروير ، 2011., مؤلف المنصوص

على مدار الفترة الزمنية التي تبدأ عند انقراض الديناصورات (حديثًا نسبيًا قبل 66 عامًا) ، يمكن للجيولوجيين الاعتماد على العديد من درجات الحرارة وثاني أكسيد الكربون2 الوكلاء بالإضافة إلى δ¹⁸O أو الأوراق الأحفورية. وكلما اقتربنا من عصرنا ، زاد عدد الوكلاء وعدد أقل من الشكوك ، حتى نتمكن من توصيل البيانات الجيولوجية والجليدية التي تدعم بعضها البعض.

فن البناء تم تعديل الدورة المحيطية وأدى إلى بناء سلاسل جبلية مثل جبال الهيمالايا. أثر كل من العوامل على مضخات الكربون و PCO القسري2 إلى تخفيض، كما يتضح من الوكلاء وبالاتفاق مع اتجاهات GEOCARB. هذا الانخفاض في PCO2 أدى إلى تبريد ملحوظ ودفعت الأرض إلى التناوب الجليدي الحالي بين الجليدية.

يمكننا تحديد من الجليد النوى والوكلاء التي PCO2 تتأرجح بين 200 و 350 جزء في المليون لمدة 2.6 مليون سنة ، وزادت فجأة من 280 إلى 410 جزء في المليون بين عامي 1850 و 2018. pCO2 يتجه نحو مستويات غير مسبوقة لمدة 5 ، أو حتى 30 مليون سنة ، عندما كانت الأرض أكثر دفئًا من اليوم ولم تكن هناك أغطية جليدية أطلنطية. إعادة بناء درجة الحرارة و PCO2 يمكن أن تقدم لنا لمحة عن ما ينتظرنا إذا لم نبطئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 الانبعاثات.

على المقاييس الزمنية الطويلة ، عندما PCO2 يزيد ، الاحتباس الحراري يحفز مضخات الكربون ، وبالتالي مساعدة PCO2 لتنقيص او لتقليل. يمكن أن تكون هذه الملاحظات السلبية بمثابة ترموستات جيولوجي. لسوء الحظ ، هو عليه بطئ جدا للرد بسرعة كافية للتعويض عن انبعاثاتنا السريعة. على مدى عقد من الزمن ، يؤدي الاحترار إلى تفاقم ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 الافراج عن في الغلاف الجوي. عندما تزداد درجة الحرارة ، ترتفع درجة حرارة المحيطات وتطلق ثاني أكسيد الكربون المذاب2 في الجو. لمدة 2.6 مليون سنة ، تم فرض الدورات الجليدية والجليدية بواسطة مدار الأرض دون تقلبات وشارك2 كان مجرد ردود فعل إيجابية الداخلية. اليوم ، البشرية المنشأ2 يؤدي ويضخم الاحترار المستمر.

مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتغير المناخ: هل يوجد بالفعل خلاف؟ دورة الكربون ترموستات الجيولوجية. تعني علامة + أن المعلمات يتم تحفيزها بزيادة العامل الموجود قبل السهم. - تعني أن المعلمة مخففة. على سبيل المثال ، تعمل مضخات الكربون على تقليل ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي بينما تزيده المدخلات البركانية. بيير هنري بلارد وغيوم باريس

نتيجة ل PCO2 زيادة ، ومتوسط ​​درجة حرارة السطح قد زاد بالفعل من قبل تقريبا 1 درجة مئوية بين عامي 1901 و 2012. كان سطح الأرض أكثر دفئًا من اليوم في الماضي وسيبرد في النهاية. ومع ذلك ، فإن عواقب التغييرات على المدى القصير هي كارثي. بالإضافة إلى ارتفاع درجات الحرارة السطحية ، فإن الأحداث المناخية القاسية وتحمض المحيطات وذوبان الجليد وارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر على وشك تعطيل حياتنا اليومية بشكل كبير وتضر بالنظم الإيكولوجية من حولنا.

علم الأرض يساعدنا على فهم ماضي كوكبنا. لا يمكننا التحكم في مدار الأرض أو التكتونية أو الدوران المحيطي ولكن يمكننا التحكم في انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة لدينا. المستقبل لنا جميعا للبناء.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

Guillaume Paris، Géochimiste، chargé de recherche CNRS au Centre de recherches pétrographiques et géochimiques de Nancy، جامعة لورين and Pierre-Henri Blard، Géochronologue et paléoclimatologue، chargé de recherches CNRS - Centre de recherches pétrographiques et géochimiques (Nancy) et Laboratoire de glaciologie (Bruxelles)، جامعة لورين

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية. متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy?

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy? Michal Pech/Unsplash

The relationship between atmospheric CO2 levels and climate change is often perceived as a controversial subject. While there’s no real disagreement among climate scientists – around 90% fully agree that human activity is clearly responsible for climate change – in the United States in 2016, barely 50% of the general public came to the same conclusion. Adding to the general confusion, highly active “climate-change deniers” claim that temperature has evolved independently of CO2 atmospheric concentrations through Earth’s history, and that therefore today’s rising CO2 levels are not an issue.

So did scientists get the story wrong? No. CO2 has long contributed to controlling the Earth’s climate, and its rising concentration in the atmosphere and oceans is a major threat to humanity.

Together with solar activity and albedo, greenhouse gases are a key part of Earth’s radiative budget and exert a strong control on surface temperature. Although water vapour is the primary greenhouse gas on Earth, CO2 draws much more attention because it can actively lead climate change.

Unfortunately, human activity delivers CO2 to the atmosphere at a rate 70 times greater than all volcanoes on Earth combined. As a result, atmospheric CO2 concentration (or pCO2) increases and the surface of the Earth warms up at a pace that no natural factor can explain.

We know that CO2 is a temperature control and we can demonstrate it in various ways. One of them is through the exploration of Earth’s history.

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy? North America from low orbiting satellite Suomi. NASA/NOAA/GSFC/Suomi NPP/VIIRS/Norman Kuring

Climate and temperature through geological times

Using rocks, fossils and their chemical and physical properties, geoscientists have reconstructed warm and cold periods throughout Earth’s history. To demonstrate the link between climate, temperature and pCO2 millions of years ago, we need to reconstruct each of them independently. To do so, we use climatic recorders called “proxies”.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The isotopic composition of oxygen atoms, written δ¹⁸O, measured in ancient calcareous shells, is one of them. It allows us to reconstruct past seawater temperatures with a well-known degree of uncertainty that depends on analytical precision and how parameters such as seawater δ¹⁸O, salinity and pH also affect the δ¹⁸O of shells.

Because geological history affects rocks and their signals, the further we go back in time, the larger are the uncertainties. We thus combine different proxies and formulate hypotheses that continually improve with years of research. Establishing such reconstructions is a slow, complicated (sometimes painful) process but they become more and more reliable every year as uncertainties decrease. If uncertainties are too large, interpretations rely on parsimony: the simplest model must be considered the likeliest. What matters is that scientists know how to estimate uncertainties, and share them.

Overall, seawater temperature reconstructions agree with geological observations of climate history: major ice ages coincide with lower global temperature. In particular, δ¹⁸O indicate a steady cooling from 50 million years onwards, leading to the preindustrial climate.

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy? GEOCARB (version III) reconstruction of pCO₂ (yellow, one point every 10 million years) and average tropical sea surface temperature from δ¹⁸O of carbonates corrected for seawater pH changes assuming no δ¹⁸O changes for seawater (red) compared with geologically constrained cold periods (light blue) and glaciations (dark blue). G. Paris after Royer and Beerling (2004) and Berner and Khotavala (2011), Author provided

The history of pCO2

Proxies exist for pCO2 as well. For instance, palaeontologists count stomataapertures through which plants breathe, exchange moisture and take up CO2 for photosynthesis – on fossil leaves. The more CO2 is abundant, the fewer stomata are required. One factor that adds a degree of uncertainty is that plants have fewer stomata under drier climates and more under humid ones.

Fossil leaves are rare and atmospheric pCO2 data are scarce for ancient periods of Earth. In the absence of (sufficient) data, numerical modelling helps explain data with a globally coherent approach that respects the fundamental laws of physics. One of the most famous is GEOCARB, a geological carbon cycle model developed to reconstruct pCO2 history by Robert Berner and his colleagues.

On timescales greater than 100,000 years, pCO2 is primarily added from volcanoes, and lost through two carbon pumps: the biological pump and the carbonate pump.

During photosynthesis, plants and algae take up CO2 to build their organic matter. When they die, this CO2 might get trapped in sediments. This is the biological pump. The carbonate pump is the coupling between weathering of continents and carbonate rock precipitation. CO2 acidifies surface waters that dissolve rocks. Dissolved elements are washed to the ocean where they are used to build calcareous material such as shells or corals, which eventually become limestones. Year after year, these pumps store CO2 away from the atmosphere.

In the past, volcanoes could have been more or less active; continents were in different locations, which affected the carbon pumps. Berner and colleagues quantified how the otherwise known evolution of those parameters affected the carbon cycle and, therefore, atmospheric pCO2. They knew and displayed their model uncertainty. Their results should be presented with an estimation envelope, not as a given value.

Times of higher pCO2 are warm periods. Conversely, decrease in atmospheric CO2 content triggered glacial periods such as of the Carboniferous and modern ice ages, with the possible exception of the Hirnantian (445 million years ago). Recent models suggest that for this remote period, the tectonic configuration played a specific role.

How humans quickly affect climate

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy? Temperature and pCO₂ reconstructions for the last 66 My. Temperatures are calculated using the δ¹⁸O of carbonates and are represented without their uncertainty. The pCO₂ reconstruction is based on seven different proxies in agreement within their respective uncertainties. Beerling and Royer, 2011., Author provided

Over the time period beginning at the point that dinosaurs went extinct (a relatively recent 66 My ago), geologists can rely on many temperature and CO2 proxies in addition to δ¹⁸O or fossil leaves. The closer we get to our era, the more proxies there are and the fewer the uncertainties are, until we can connect geological and ice core data that support each other.

Tectonics modified oceanic circulation and led to the building of mountain ranges like the Himalayas. Both factors affected the carbon pumps and forced pCO2 to decrease, as shown by proxies and in agreement with the GEOCARB trends. This decrease in pCO2 led to the observed cooling and drove the Earth to the current glacial-interglacial alternation.

We can determine from ice cores and proxies that pCO2 has been oscillating between 200 and 350 ppm for 2.6 million years and that it suddenly increased from 280 to 410 ppm between 1850 and 2018. pCO2 is heading toward levels unprecedented for 5, or even 30 million years, when the Earth was much warmer than today and no Atlantic ice caps were present. Reconstructions of temperature and pCO2 can offer us a glimpse into what lies ahead of us if we don’t slow down CO2 emissions.

On long time scales, when pCO2 increases, warming stimulates the carbon pumps, thereby helping pCO2 to decrease. This negative feedback can act as a geological thermostat. Unfortunately, it is too slow to react rapidly enough to compensate for our fast emissions. On the timescale of a decade, warming aggravates CO2 release to the atmosphere. When temperature increases, oceans warm up and release dissolved CO2 to the atmosphere. For 2.6 million years, glacial and interglacial cycles have been forced by Earth’s orbital fluctuations and CO2 was only an internal positive feedback. Today, anthropogenic CO2 leads and amplifies the ongoing warming.

CO₂ Levels And Climate Change: Is There Really A Controversy? Carbon cycle geological thermostat. The + means that the parameters are stimulated by an increase of the factor located before the arrow. The – means that the parameter is attenuated. For example, carbon pumps decrease atmospheric CO₂ while volcanic inputs increase it. Pierre-Henri Blard and Guillaume Paris

As a result of the pCO2 increase, the average surface temperature has already increased by almost 1°C between 1901 and 2012. The Earth’s surface has been much warmer than today in the past and it will eventually cool off. However, the consequences of the short-term changes are disastrous. In addition to higher surface temperatures, extreme weather events, ocean acidification, ice melting and sea-level rise are about to significantly disrupt our daily lives and harms the ecosystems around us.

Earth science helps us understand the past of our planet. We cannot control Earth’s orbit, tectonics or oceanic circulation but we can control our greenhouse-gas emissions. The future is for all of us to build.The Conversation

About The Author

Guillaume Paris, Géochimiste, chargé de recherche CNRS au Centre de recherches pétrographiques et géochimiques de Nancy, Université de Lorraine and Pierre-Henri Blard, Géochronologue et paléoclimatologue, chargé de recherches CNRS - Centre de recherches pétrographiques et géochimiques (Nancy) et Laboratoire de glaciologie (Bruxelles), Université de Lorraine

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.