هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

من المرجح أن تعتمد قدرة الكواكب على العيش في جو يتألف من توازن جيد بين غازات الدفيئة التي تسحب الحرارة والمعروفة باسم تأثير الاحتباس الحراري. على الأقل في نظامنا الشمسي الذي يبدو أن هذا هو الحال. الكواكب الثلاثة الأكثر في منطقة المعيشة ، على الرغم من أنه قد يكون هناك آخرون مثل كوكب المشتري يوروبا ، والمريخ والأرض والزهرة. المريخ ليس لديه جو للتحدث عنه وهو صخرة باردة والزهرة لديها الكثير وهي فوضى ساخنة. و Goldilocks الأرض هو مجرد حق - الآن.

هل تختفي عيش الأرض؟

يوضح لنا السجل الجيولوجي أن الأرض مرت بعدة مراحل من الاحترار والتبريد. بعض جذرية للغاية أن الحياة نفسها كانت في خطر مثل انقراض البرمي بعض 250 مليون سنة مضت عندما توفي 83 ٪ من الأجناس. نحن نعيش الآن في عصر يصفه البعض بانقراض 6th العظيم. الاكتشافات الحديثة قد تجعلها بالفعل 7th.

هل تختفي عيش الأرض؟ أن العديد من أنواع الحيوانات والطيور والأسماك والحشرات في تراجع سريع أمر لا جدال فيه.

تُظهر قدرة الحياة على التكيف مع التغيرات في الظروف أنها مرنة بشكل ملحوظ ، ولكنها بالتأكيد غير قابلة للتدمير. لكن كوننا أكثر تحديداً قليلاً ، فنحن نحن البشر لم نر سوى وقت قصير في تاريخ الحياة على الأرض وفي ضيقة للغاية نطاق درجة الحرارة العالمية حول 3C. على أساس specie ، لدينا أقصى درجة حرارة التحمل بالقرب من 35C (95F) درجة حرارة المصباح الرطب الذي يأخذ في الاعتبار درجة الحرارة والرطوبة. عند درجة الحرارة هذه ، لم يعد الجسم البشري قادرًا على تبريد نفسه وتطبخ أجهزتنا الداخلية.

أين نحن في نطاق درجات الحرارة العالمية؟

استقرت وسائل الإعلام والباحثون والحكومات على ارتفاع درجات الحرارة العالمية لكل من 1.5C و 2.0C من نقطة معينة على الرغم من أنهم لم يتفقوا بعد على ماهية نقطة البداية بالفعل. في نطاق درجات الحرارة هذا ، يُعتقد أن أحداث الطقس القاسية أكثر عددًا أو قد يتم الوصول إلى بعض نقاط التحول. أ نقطة اللاعودة هي العوامل التي تتحد فيها العوامل لإنتاج تسارع على الأقل في الاحترار أو ما هو أسوأ من القطار الهارب.

إذن أين نحن في نطاق درجات الحرارة العالمية؟ على الرغم من أنه من الواضح أننا نتحرك صوب الجزء الأعلى من النطاق المقبول ، إلا أن السؤال المطروح هو مدى قربنا من تجاوز كل من النطاق المقبول والبشري.

التغيرات الفيزيائية على الكوكب تنبعث منها غازات الدفيئة بأكملها وكذلك الإنسان الحديث وأسلافه التطوريون. ولكن لم يمر إلا البشر خلال الألفين سنة الماضية بأعداد قادرة على تغيير هذا التوازن الدقيق. يزداد السرعة في الابتكار التكنولوجي واستخدام الفحم والنفط والغاز.

زاد عدد سكان الأرض بأكثر من الضعف منذ 1960.

هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

زاد ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2) في الجو بشكل كبير مع زيادة في درجة الحرارة العالمية.
هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

So اين نحن في نطاق درجة الحرارة العالمية؟ تتكون درجة الحرارة العالمية من درجات حرارة المحيط ودرجات حرارة الأرض. ولتعقيد ذلك أكثر ، يعتمد الأمر على قياس العمق أو الارتفاع. ومع ذلك ، فإن المهم في تحديد الاتجاه هو الاتساق في كيفية ومكان إجراء القياسات.

So أين هل نحن في نطاق درجات الحرارة العالمية؟ حسنًا ، يجب أن نأخذ في الاعتبار مرور الوقت. سيكون من الأفضل أن تبدأ في بداية الوقت ، ولكن هذا لن يحدث. سيتعين علينا استخدام ما هو موجود في السجل الجيولوجي أو قلوب الجليد أو السجل المسجل من قبل الإنسان. وإلى ذلك ، يجب أن نربط بين السجلات غير الدقيقة وكذلك الأكثر دقة لتحديد الاتجاه.

فأين هي we في نطاق درجة الحرارة العالمية؟ إنه أمر معقد وناضج للنقد من جانب أولئك الذين يريدون خداع الآخرين. مهما كان الأمر ، فإن الاتجاه لا جدال فيه من قبل الصادق. استقر البعض على 1750 تقريبًا وبداية الثورة الصناعية والمقدمة الجماعية للفحم المحترق كنقطة انطلاق للقياس. سوف يشير الآخرون إلى 1880-1900 وإدخال حرق الزيت. بطريقة أسهل ، يُظهر 1980 تسارعًا محددًا بأن هناك شيئًا ما. شيء واحد مؤكد هو عدم وجود نقطة بداية متفق عليها أو تغييرها في أحسن الأحوال مربكة وفي أسوأ الأحوال نقطة حقن لمنكري المناخ لنشر هراءهم وإعادة توجيههم الهادفة بعيداً عن الملوثين.

هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

تسارع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة في السنوات الأخيرة من 10 فقط ليتراجع قليلاً. لكن طفرة أخرى كهذه قد تدفعنا إلى 1.5C. وإذا اعتبر المرء أن سنة 1750 هي نقطة البداية فنحن نتحدثt أضف حوالي .3C وهذا يدفعنا إلى 1.5C.

شيء آخر للنظر هو دورات النينيو والنينيا.

هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

فأين نحن في شامل نطاق درجة حرارة؟ دعونا رمي في تجعد آخر وربما الأهم. درجة الحرارة العالمية تعني المتوسط. بعض المناطق على الأرض أكثر سخونة وبعض المناطق أكثر برودة. والبشر لا يعيشون في موقع عالمي ولكن في موقع محدد.

هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟

فأين نحن في درجة الحرارة العالمية مدى معيشة الإنسان؟ لذلك ترى أنه معقد. هو بالتأكيد أكثر تعقيدا من "علم الصواريخ". لكن الأشخاص الموهوبين للغاية يعملون عليه بشراسة مع أجهزة الكمبيوتر الفائقة.

لذلك إذا كنت تنتظرني للإجابة على السؤال "هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟" لا أستطيع ولا أحد يستطيع اليقين المطلق. لكننا متأكدون تمامًا ، من السجلات الجيولوجية عندما كانت غازات الدفيئة في هذا المستوى ، أن الانقراضات تزداد والحياة صعبة. الفرق بين ذلك الحين والآن هو سرعة ارتفاع درجة الحرارة.

يا رب سبحانه وتعالى ، أشعر بارتفاع درجة الحرارة

في الفترات السابقة ، ارتفعت درجات الحرارة هذه على مدى آلاف السنين والآن ترتفع في عقود فقط. في هذه السرعة ، لا يمكن أن تتطور معظم الأنواع للتكيف. لقد تمكن الإنسان من الضغط على آلاف السنين من انبعاثات الدفيئة في مجرد لحظة من الزمن. إن حرق الوقود الأحفوري قد مكننا من مضاعفة وتنبعث المزيد من الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري.

إليك ما أنا متأكد منه. كان الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ على خطأ دائم في الجانب السفلي. تحدث التغيرات في المناخ والطقس بشكل أسرع مما كان يعتقد. هذا ليس مفاجئاً على الإطلاق لأن العلماء محافظون قليلاً. غالبًا ما ينتظرون حتى يكونوا متأكدين تمامًا والأدلة لا جدال فيها. لا أحد يحب أن ينتقد لكونه مخطئ. ضعهم في مجموعة وهم أكثر محافظة. هذه المحافظة المتطرفة قد تتغير كما تقارير جديدة من IPCC هي أكثر إثارة للقلق.

وهنا تكمن المشكلة. هناك تأخر في انبعاثات الدفيئة وترتفع درجة الحرارة تمامًا مثلما يحدث تأخر عند تشغيل الفرن. لذا ، إذا انتظرنا إلى أن تتوفر جميع الأدلة ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون ذلك متأخراً. فمن الذي يجب أن نستمع إليه للحصول على التوجيه؟

لا تخطئ أحد ، فالعلماء والسياسيون مهمون ، لكن بعض العلماء محافظون للغاية ، وبعض السياسيين أقوياء للغاية ، وغير مسؤولين ، وجشعين للغاية. لذلك ، يجب علينا أن نتطلع إلى الرؤى الذين يسعون إلى توجيه من يستطيعون تقييم المخاطر والكوارث.

لماذا يجب علينا التصرف؟

عواقب عدم اتخاذ إجراءات وخيمة. أن تكون مخطئا هو أن تكون ميتا في المدى القصير ، أو انقرضت على المدى الطويل. الخطر النهائي غير مقبول بالتأكيد وأي جهد لتجنبه له ما يبرره بالتأكيد. لكن الأساليب التي نستخدمها والجهود التي نبذلها في حد ذاتها يجب ألا تخلق كارثة من خلال محاولة تجنب وقوع كارثة.

هذا هو السبب في أننا يجب أن نتصرف بذكاء وجدية ولكن مع التسرع الشديد. الآن ليس الوقت المناسب لتقسيم الشعر أو التشاحن الصغير أو تحليل الشلل. الآن هو الوقت المناسب لجميع الأيدي على سطح السفينة ، بأقصى سرعة إلى الأمام ولعنة الطوربيدات على حد تعبير كليشيهات قديمة تنطبق بالتأكيد الآن. وهؤلاء الأفراد أو الشركات أو البلدان التي لا تسحب العربة أو تدفعها صعودًا يحتاجون إلى تركهم في القاع معزولين حتى يتعلموا اللعب بشكل جيد مع الآخرين.

عن المؤلف

جينينغزروبرت جننغز ناشر مشارك في InnerSelf.com مع زوجته ماري تي راسل. يكرس InnerSelf لتبادل المعلومات التي تسمح للناس بإجراء اختيارات متعمقة وثاقبة في حياتهم الشخصية ، من أجل خير المشاعات ، ورفاهية الكوكب. مجلة InnerSelf في عام 30 + من النشر في أي من المطبوعات (1984-1995) أو عبر الإنترنت باسم InnerSelf.com. يرجى دعم عملنا.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0

تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0. صف المؤلف روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

The livability of planets is most likely dependent on an atmosphere comprised of a fine balance of heat trapping greenhouse gasses which is known as the greenhouse effect. At least in our solar system that appears to be the case.  The three planets most in the livable zone, although there may be others like Jupiter's moon Europa,  are Mars, Earth and Venus. Mars has no atmosphere to speak of and is a cold rock and Venus has too much and is a hot mess. And Goldilocks Earth is just right -- for now.

Is Earth's livability disappearing?

The geological record shows us that earth has gone through many warming and cooling phases. Some so drastic that life itself was in peril like the Permian Extinction some 250 million years ago when 83% of genera died. We are now living in an era that some are calling the 6th great extinction. Recent discoveries may indeed make it the 7th.

Is Earth's livability disappearing? That many species of animals, birds, fish, and insects are in swift decline is indisputable.

Life's ability to adjust to changes in conditions shows it to be remarkably resilient, but certainly not indestructible. But being a bit more specific, we humans have existed only a short time in the history of life on earth and in a very narrow global temperature range of about 3C. On a specie basis, our maximum temperature endurance is close to 35C (95F) wet bulb temperature which takes into account temperature and humidity. It is at that temperature that the human body can no longer cool itself and our internal organs cook.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Where Are We In The Global Temperature Range?

The media, researchers and governments have settled on a global temperature rise of 1.5C and 2.0C from a certain point though they have not yet agreed as to what the starting point actually was. At this temperature range it is thought that the extreme weather events are more numerous or some tipping points might be reached. A tipping point is one where factors combine to produce at least an acceleration in warming or worse a runaway train.

So where are we in the global temperature range? While it is obvious we are moving towards the highest part of the acceptable range, what is in question is how close are we to exceeding both the acceptable and the human livable range.

Physical changes on the planet have been emitting greenhouse gases its entire existence and so has modern man and his evolutionary predecessors. But it has only been in the last couple thousand years that human population has been in numbers capable of shifting this fine balance. Throw in technological innovation, use of coal, oil, and gas and this onrushing train is gaining speed.

The population of the earth has more than doubled since 1960.

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

Carbon dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere has increased dramatically along with an increase in the global temperature.
Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

So where are we in the global temperature range? Global temperature is made up of ocean temperatures and land temperatures. And to complicate that even more, it depends on at what depth or height one measures. However, what is important in determining a trend is consistency in how and where the measurements are taken.

So where are we in the global temperature range? Well, we have to take into account the passage of time. It would be best to start at the beginning of time but hey that ain't gonna happen. We will have to use what is in the geological record, ice cores, or recorded record by man.  And to that we must mesh the imprecise records as well as the more exact to determine the trend.

So where are we in the global temperature range? It's complicated and ripe for for criticism by those wanting to deceive others. Be that as it may, the trend is indisputable by the honest. Some have settled on roughly 1750 and the beginning of the industrial revolution and the mass introduction of burning coal as our measurement starting point. Others will point to 1880-1900 and the introduction of the burning of oil. Eiother way, 1980 shows a definite acceleration that something is up. One thing for sure is the lack of an agreed upon or shifting starting point is at best confusing and at worse an injection point for climate deniers to spread their nonsense and purposeful redirection away from polluters.

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

Temperature rise accelerated in the last 10 years only to back off a bit. But another surge like this could push us to 1.5C. And if one considers the year 1750 as the beginning point we must add about .3C and that pushes us over 1.5C.

Another thing to consider is the the El Niño and La Niña cycles.

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

So where are we in the global temperature range? Let's throw in another wrinkle and perhaps the most important. Global temperature means average. Some areas on earth are hotter and some areas are colder. And humans do not live in a global location but a specific one.

Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?

So where are we in the global temperature human livability range? So you see it's complicated. It is certainly more complicated than "rocket science". But very talented people are working on it furiously with super computers.

So if you are waiting for me to answer the question "Is Climate Catastrophe Closer Than We Think?" I can't and neither can anyone else with absolute certainty. But we are pretty sure, from the geological records when greenhouse gasses were at this level, that extinctions were increasing and life was hard. The difference between then and now is the speed the temperature is rising.

Lord Almighty, I Feel The Temperature Rising

In previous periods, these temperatures rose over thousands of years and now it is rising in only decades. At this speed, most species can not evolve to adapt. Man has managed to squeeze thousands of years of greenhouse emissions into a mere moment of time. Burning fossil fuels has enabled us to quickly multiply and emit more greenhouse gasses.

Here's what I am sure of. The IPCC has been consistently wrong to the low side. Changes to the climate and weather are happening faster than they thought. This is not at all surprising as scientists are a bit conservative. They often wait until they are absolutely sure and the evidence is indisputable. No one likes to be criticized for being wrong. Put them in a group and they are even more conservative. This ultra conservatism may be changing as new reports from the IPCC are more alarming.

Here's the rub. There is a lag in greenhouse emissions and temperature rise just like there is a lag when you turn on your oven. So if we wait until all the evidence is in it will most likely be too late. So who should we listen to for guidance?

Make no mistake, scientists and politicians are important, but some scientists are too conservative and some politicians too powerful, too irresponsible, and too greedy. So, we must look to the visionaries who seek the guidance of those that can evaluate risk and catastrophe.

Why Must We Act?

The consequences of not taking action are dire. To be wrong is to be dead in the short run, or extinct in the long run. The ultimate risk is certainly unacceptable and any effort to avoid it is certainly justified. But the methods we use and efforts we make in themselves must not create a catastrophe by trying to avoid a catastrophe.

That is why we must act both intelligently and diligently but with great haste. Now is not the time for either hair splitting, petty bickering, or analysis paralysis. Now is the time for all hands on deck, full speed ahead and damn the torpedoes to quote an old cliche that certainly applies now. And those individuals, corporations, or countries not pulling or pushing the wagon uphill need to be left at the bottom isolated until they learn to play well with others.

About the Author

jenningsRobert Jennings is co-publisher of InnerSelf.com with his wife Marie T Russell. InnerSelf is dedicated to sharing information that allows people to make educated and insightful choices in their personal life, for the good of the commons, and for the well-being of the planet. InnerSelf Magazine is in its 30+year of publication in either print (1984-1995) or online as InnerSelf.com. Please support our work.

 Creative Commons 3.0

This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. Attribute the author Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


 
 
 
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}