تلميح العوالق القديمة في المناخ قادمة

تلميح العوالق القديمة في المناخ قادمةتعد دراسة العصر الجيولوجي ، وهي حقبة جيولوجية منذ ما بين مليوني وخمسة ملايين عامًا بمستويات CO2 مماثلة لليوم ، بمثابة تناظرية جيدة للتنبؤات المناخية المستقبلية ، وفقًا لدراسة جديدة.

سجل مرصد مونا لوا في هاواي مؤخراً أعلى تركيز لمستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في تاريخ البشرية. كانت المرة الأخيرة التي تجاوزت فيها مستويات CO2 أجزاء 400 لكل مليون خلال البليوسين ، عندما ارتفعت المحيطات إلى ارتفاع 50 وأعلى رقاقات الثلج الصغيرة بالكاد تتشبث بالأقطاب.

تقول المؤلفة الرئيسية جيسيكا تيرني ، أستاذة مساعدة في علوم الأرض بجامعة أريزونا: "لم يكن البلايوسين عالما كان البشر وأجدادنا جزءًا منه". "لقد بدأنا للتو بالتطور في نهايته".

تلميح العوالق القديمة في المناخ قادمةنقش على الخشب لإدوارد ريو يصور منظرًا طبيعيًا للبلايوسين. تم حفر الصورة في أواخر 1800s ، عندما تحوم مستويات CO2 حول جزء في المليون من 295. (الائتمان: مكتبة الترحيب)

الآن وبعد أن وصلنا إلى أجزاء 415 لكل مليون CO2 ، يعتقد Tierney أن الباحثين يمكنهم استخدام Pliocene لفهم التغيرات المناخية في المستقبل القريب جدًا. حاولت الدراسات السابقة ذلك ، لكن هناك تباينًا مزعجًا بين النماذج المناخية والبيانات الأحفورية من هذا الجزء من تاريخ الأرض ، وهو ما أفسد أي رؤى محتملة.

الدراسة الجديدة في خطابات البحوث الجيوفيزيائية، التي تستخدم نوعًا مختلفًا وأكثر موثوقية من البيانات الأحفورية عن الدراسات السابقة ، تعمل على حل التناقض بين البيانات الأحفورية ومحاكاة نماذج المناخ.

التغييرات غير تقليدي

قبل الثورة الصناعية ، تحوم مستويات CO2 حول جزء في المليون من 280. من أجل المنظور ، فقد استغرق الأمر أكثر من مليوني عام حتى تنخفض مستويات CO2 بشكل طبيعي من 400 ppm إلى مستويات ما قبل الصناعة. في ما يزيد قليلاً عن سنوات 150 ، تسببت البشرية في انتعاش تلك المستويات.

قياسات البروكسي السابقة لدرجات حرارة سطح بحر البلوسين دفعت العلماء إلى استنتاج أن الأرض الأكثر دفئًا تسببت في توقف المحيط الهادي الاستوائي في نمط الطقس الاستوائي المسمى "النينيو".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عادة ، بينما تجتاح الرياح التجارية المياه السطحية الدافئة للمحيط الهادي من الشرق إلى الغرب ، تتراكم المياه الدافئة في شرق المحيط الهادئ ، لتبريد الجانب الغربي من المحيط بحوالي 7 إلى 9 درجة فهرنهايت. ولكن خلال ظاهرة النينيو ، ينخفض ​​الفرق في درجات الحرارة بين الشرق والغرب إلى ما دون درجة 2 ، مما يؤثر على أنماط الطقس في جميع أنحاء العالم ، بما في ذلك جنوب ولاية أريزونا. تحدث ظاهرة النينيو عادة كل ثلاث إلى سبع سنوات ، كما يقول تيرني.

المشكلة تكمن في أن نماذج المناخ من Pliocene ، والتي شملت مستويات CO2 من جزء في المليون 400 ، لا يبدو أنها تحاكي ظاهرة النينيو الدائمة دون إجراء تغييرات غير واقعية وغير واقعية لظروف النماذج.

"لقد تم تصميم هذه الورقة لإعادة النظر في مفهوم النينيو الدائم ومعرفة ما إذا كانت تصمد بالفعل ضد إعادة تحليل البيانات" ، كما تقول. "وجدنا أنه لا يصمد".

مقاييس حرارة الدهون لدرجة حرارة البليوسين

منذ حوالي 20 ، اكتشف العلماء أنه يمكنهم استنباط درجات الحرارة الماضية بناءً على التحليل الكيميائي لنوع معين من القشرة المتحجرة من نوع من العوالق يسمى foraminifera.

يقول تيرني: "ليس لدينا موازين حرارة يمكنها الانتقال إلى البلايوسين ، لذا يتعين علينا استخدام بيانات البروكسي بدلاً من ذلك".

منذ ذلك الحين ، تعلم العلماء أن كيمياء المحيطات يمكن أن تشوه قياسات المنخّرات ، لذلك استخدمت تيرني وفريقها قياسًا مختلفًا للوكالة - الدهون التي تنتجها عوالق أخرى تدعى العصعصية coccolithophores. عندما تكون البيئة دافئة ، تنتج العصيات الدهنية نوعًا مختلفًا قليلاً من الدهون عن البرودة ، ويمكن لعلماء الحفريات القديمة قراءة التغيرات في الدهن ، المحفوظة في رواسب المحيط ، لاستنباط درجات حرارة سطح البحر.

"هذه طريقة شائعة الاستخدام وموثوق بها بالفعل للنظر في درجات الحرارة الماضية ، لذلك قام الكثير من الناس بإجراء هذه القياسات في البلايوسين. يقول تيرني: "لدينا بيانات من جميع أنحاء العالم". "الآن نستخدم ميزان الحرارة الدهني الذي نعرف أنه ليس له مضاعفات ، ونحن متأكدون من أننا يمكن أن نحصل على نتيجة أنظف".

"كل شيء يتحقق"

وجد الباحثون أن الفرق في درجة الحرارة بين الجانبين الشرقي والغربي للمحيط الهادئ قد انخفض ، ولكن ليس بما يكفي للتأهل باعتباره ظاهرة النينيو الدائمة.

"لم يكن لدينا ظاهرة النينيو الدائمة ، لذلك كان هذا بمثابة تفسير مفرط لما حدث. ولكن هناك انخفاض في الفرق بين الشرق والغرب - وهذا لا يزال صحيحا. "

أصبح شرق المحيط الهادئ أكثر دفئًا من الغرب ، مما تسبب في تباطؤ الرياح التجارية وتغيير أنماط هطول الأمطار. قد تكون الأماكن الجافة مثل بيرو وأريزونا أكثر رطوبة. تتفق هذه النتائج من Pliocene مع ما تنبأت به نماذج المناخ المستقبلية ، نتيجة لمستويات CO2 التي تصل إلى 400 جزء في المليون.

هذا أمر واعد لأنه الآن تتطابق بيانات الوكيل مع نماذج مناخ Pliocene. يقول تيرني: "كل شيء يتحقق".

ومع ذلك ، كان البلايوسين خلال فترة من تاريخ الأرض عندما كان المناخ يبرد ببطء. اليوم ، المناخ يزداد سخونة بسرعة كبيرة. هل يمكننا بالفعل توقع مناخ مماثل؟

يقول تيرني: "السبب اليوم لا يتناسب مستوى سطح البحر والصفائح الجليدية تمامًا مع مناخ البلايوسين لأن ذوبان الجليد يستغرق وقتًا طويلاً".

"ومع ذلك ، فإن التغييرات في الغلاف الجوي التي تحدث استجابة ل CO2 - مثل التغييرات في الرياح التجارية وأنماط هطول الأمطار - يمكن أن تحدث بالتأكيد خلال فترة حياة الإنسان."

مصدر هذا المقال هو من Mikayla صولجان ل جامعة أريزونا

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية. متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Ancient Plankton Hint At Climate To Come

Ancient Plankton Hint At Climate To ComeThe Pliocene, a geological epoch between two and five million years ago with CO2 levels similar to today, is a good analog for future climate predictions, according to a new study.

The Mauna Loa Observatory in Hawaii recently recorded the highest concentration of carbon dioxide levels in human history. The last time CO2 levels surpassed 400 parts per million was during the Pliocene, when oceans surged 50 feet higher and small icecaps barely clung to the poles.

“The Pliocene wasn’t a world that humans and our ancestors were a part of,” says lead author Jessica Tierney, associate professor of geosciences at the University of Arizona. “We just started to evolve at the end of it.”

Ancient Plankton Hint At Climate To ComeA wood engraving by Eduard Riou depicts a landscape view of the Pliocene. The image was etched in the late 1800s, when CO2 levels hovered around 295 ppm. (Credit: Welcome Library)

Now that we’ve reached 415 parts per million CO2, Tierney thinks researchers can use the Pliocene to understand the climate shifts of the very near future. Past studies attempted this, but a nagging discrepancy between climate models and fossil data from that part of Earth’s history muddled any potential insights.

The new study in Geophysical Research Letters, which used a different, more reliable type of fossil data than past studies, resolves the discrepancy between fossil data and climate model simulations.

Funky changes

Before the Industrial Revolution, CO2 levels hovered around 280 ppm. For perspective, it took over two million years for CO2 levels to naturally decline from 400 ppm to pre-industrial levels. In just over 150 years, humanity has caused those levels to rebound.

Past proxy measurements of Pliocene sea surface temperatures led scientists to conclude that a warmer Earth caused the tropical Pacific Ocean to be stuck in an equatorial weather pattern called El Niño.

Normally, as the trade winds sweep across the warm surface waters of the Pacific Ocean from east to west, warm water piles up in the eastern Pacific, cooling the western side of the ocean by about 7 to 9 degrees Fahrenheit. But during an El Niño, the temperature difference between the east and west drops to just under 2 degrees, influencing weather patterns around the world, including Southern Arizona. El Niños typically occur about every three to seven years, Tierney says.

The problem is, climate models of the Pliocene, which included CO2 levels of 400 ppm, couldn’t seem to simulate a permanent El Niño without making funky, unrealistic changes to model conditions.

“This paper was designed to revisit that concept of the permanent El Niño and see if it really holds up against a reanalysis of the data,” she says. “We find it doesn’t hold up.”

Fat thermometers for Pliocene temperature

About 20 years ago, scientists found they could deduce past temperatures based on chemical analysis of a specific kind of fossilized shell of a type of plankton called foraminifera.

“We don’t have thermometers that can go to the Pliocene, so we have to use proxy data instead,” Tierney says.

Since then, scientists have learned that ocean chemistry can skew foraminifera measurements, so Tierney and her team instead used a different proxy measurement—the fat produced by another plankton called coccolithophores. When the environment is warm, coccolithophores produce a slightly different kind of fat than when it’s cold, and paleoclimatologists can read the changes in the fat, preserved in ocean sediments, to deduce sea-surface temperatures.

“This is a really commonly used and reliable way to look at past temperatures, so a lot of people have made these measurements in the Pliocene. We have data from all over the world,” Tierney says. “Now we use this fat thermometer that we know doesn’t have complications, and we’re sure we can get a cleaner result.”

‘It all checks out’

The researchers found that the temperature difference between the eastern and western sides of the Pacific did decrease, but not enough to qualify as a full-fledged permanent El Niño.

“We didn’t have a permanent El Niño, so that was a bit of an extreme interpretation of what happened. But there is a reduction in the east-west difference—that’s still true.”

The eastern Pacific got warmer than the western, which caused the trade winds to slacken and changed precipitation patterns. Dry places like Peru and Arizona might have been wetter. These results from the Pliocene agree with what future climate models have predicted, as a result of CO2 levels reaching 400 ppm.

This is promising because now the proxy data matches the Pliocene climate models. “It all checks out,” Tierney says.

The Pliocene, however, was during a time in Earth’s history when the climate was slowly cooling. Today, the climate is getting hotter very quickly. Can we really expect a similar climate?

“The reason today sea levels and ice sheets don’t quite match the climate of the Pliocene is because it takes time for ice sheets to melt,” Tierney says.

“However, the changes in the atmosphere that happen in response to CO2—like the changes in the trade winds and rainfall patterns—can definitely occur within the span of a human life.”

Source: Mikayla Mace for University of Arizona

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}