الجيش الامريكى يحذر من مخاطر الامن الوطنى والدولى

الجيش الامريكى يحذر من مخاطر الامن الوطنى والدولى

وتشعر القوات الجوية الأمريكية في كي ويست بولاية فلوريدا بقوات إعصار دينيس في 2005. صورة: جيم بروكس / البحرية الأمريكية عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

يحذر كبار الشخصيات العسكرية في الولايات المتحدة من التهديدات الأمنية الوطنية والدولية الناجمة عن تأثيرات تغير المناخ.

حذرت مجموعة من كبار خبراء الدفاع في الولايات المتحدة من أن تغير المناخ يشكل تهديداً لأمن البلاد ، مع رسالة صارخة مفادها أن "تأثيرات تغير المناخ تشكل مخاطر كبيرة ومباشرة على الاستعداد العسكري للولايات المتحدة وعملياتها واستراتيجيتها".

هم أعضاء في مشروع توافق أمن المناخوهي مجموعة من الحزبين من كبار خبراء الأمن العسكريين والوطنيين من 25 - وقد خدم العديد منهم في الإدارات الجمهورية الديمقراطية أو الديمقراطية السابقة.

اجتماع في منتدى في واشنطن العاصمة نظمته مركز المناخ والأمن (CCS) ، قالت المجموعة إن آثار تغير المناخ "تشكل خطرًا استراتيجيًا هامًا على الأمن القومي الأمريكي والأمن الدولي".

بيان من الأعضاء ، بمن فيهم ضباط كبار متقاعدين من الجيش الأمريكي والقوات الجوية والبحرية وسلاح مشاة البحرية ، يعبر عن قلقه إزاء المخاطر التي تتعرض لها مناطق العالم ذات الأهمية الإستراتيجية لواشنطن - "المخاطر التي يمكن أن تسهم في عدم الاستقرار السياسي والمالي على ﻋﻠﻰ ﻧﻄﺎق دوﱄ ، ﺑﺎﻹﺿﺎﻓﺔ إﱃ اﻧﻌﺪام اﻷﻣﻦ اﻟﺒﺤﺮي ”.

احتمال الصراع

يقولون أن الضغوط الناجمة عن تغير المناخ يمكن أن تزيد احتمالية الصراع داخل وبين الدولفشل الدولة الهجرة الجماعية، وإنشاء مساحات إضافية غير خاضعة للحكم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ويمكن أن يتطور ذلك "عبر مجموعة من المناطق ذات الأهمية الإستراتيجية ، بما في ذلك على سبيل المثال لا الحصر منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وآسيا الوسطى والمناطق الهندية - الآسيوية والمحيط الهادي والمناطق القطبية".

كما يخشون من أن تأثيرات تغير المناخ "ستضع ضغوطًا كبيرة على الاستقرار المالي الدولي من خلال المساهمة في تعطل خط العرض للصناعات العالمية الكبرى. . . تعطيل صلاحية صناعة التأمين ، وزيادة المخاطر السياسية والمالية عمومًا لممارسة الأعمال التجارية في بيئة عالمية غير مستقرة على نحو متزايد ".

لا يوجد شيء سياسي على الإطلاق حول تغير المناخ. إنه خطر أمني ، فهو يزيد من مخاطر الأمان الأخرى ، ونحن بحاجة إلى القيام بشيء كبير حيال ذلك "

ودعم بيانهم هما وثيقتان صدرتا في المنتدى ، والتي قال المنظمون إنها حثت "دورة جديدة قوية بشأن تغير المناخ".

وقال فرانشيسكو فيميا وكيتلين فيريل ، الرئيسان المشاركان لـ "سي سي أس": "هذه التقارير تجعلها واضحة وضوح الشمس. بالنسبة لقادة الأمن القومي والدفاع ، ليس هناك شيء سياسي على الإطلاق بشأن تغير المناخ. إنها مخاطرة أمنية ، فهي تزيد من المخاطر الأمنية الأخرى ، ونحن بحاجة إلى القيام بشيء كبير حيال ذلك.

يقول أحد التقارير - حول ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر والجيش الأمريكي - إن عددًا متزايدًا من الدراسات التي تستكشف الآثار الفعلية والمحتملة لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر على المنشآت العسكرية الأمريكية "تظهر أن المخاطر تتزايد بمعدل أسرع من المتوقع".

إن استقرار مواقع 1,774 العسكرية الأمريكية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء العالم على طول سواحل 95,471 من السواحل "من المتوقع أن يتغير بشكل كبير بسبب ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر وزيادة العاصفة. .

"لا يمكننا الانتظار للحصول على معلومات كاملة قبل تقييم المخاطر والآثار. . . وبشكل أساسي ، فإن المشهد الجغرافي الاستراتيجي الذي يعمل فيه الجيش الأمريكي سيكون مختلفًا عما هو عليه اليوم.

يوصي التقرير الثاني ، الذي وصف بأنه كتاب إحاطة لإدارة جديدة ، بطرق لمعالجة المخاطر الأمنية لتغير المناخ. أولها يحث الرئيس الجديد على تعيين مسؤول على مستوى الحكومة ليقود قضايا تغير المناخ والأمن المحلي.

مخاوف بشأن الأمن

هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يعبر فيها CCS عن مخاوف بشأن المخاطر الأمنية التي يتعرض لها الولايات المتحدة من تغير المناخ.

ما يلفت الانتباه هذه المرة هو تركيز المجموعة ، خلال حملة انتخابية رئاسية مثيرة للانقسام ، على الطبيعة الحزبية لعملها. إن لغتها لا تقبل المساومة ، وإصرارها على أنه لا يوجد "شيئًا سياسيًا على الإطلاق بشأن تغير المناخ" سيعادي العديد من الأمريكيين ويطمئن الكثير من الآخرين.

سوف تشهد الانتخابات الرئاسية في أقل من شهرين من الآن متنافسين متعارضين بشدة للبيت الأبيض يدفعان وجهات نظر مختلفة تماما حول تغير المناخ ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من القضايا الأخرى.

قالت المرشحة الديمقراطية هيلاري كلينتون إن العلم "واضح تماما" ، وأن تغير المناخ يشكل "تهديدا مستعجلا".

عن المؤلف

اليكس كيربي هو صحفي بريطانياليكس كيربي صحفي بريطاني متخصص في القضايا البيئية. عمل في مجالات مختلفة في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) لسنوات 20 تقريبا وتركت بي بي سي في 1998 للعمل كصحفي مستقل. وقال انه يوفر أيضا مهارات إعلامية التدريب للشركات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهو أيضا حاليا مراسل البيئي ل بي بي سي نيوز أون لاينواستضافت بي بي سي راديو 4"سلسلة بيئة الصورة، تكلف الأرض. يكتب أيضا ل الحارس . شبكة أخبار المناخ. يكتب أيضا عمود منتظم ل بي بي سي الحياة البرية مجلة.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

US Military Warns Of The National And International Climate Security Risks

US Military Warns Of The National And International Climate Security Risks

The US Naval Air Station at Key West, Florida, feels the forces of Hurricane Dennis in 2005. Image: Jim Brooks/US Navy via Wikimedia Commons

Senior military figures in the US warn of national and international security threats posed by the impacts of climate change.

A group of senior defence experts in the US has warned that climate change is a threat to the country’s security, with the stark message that “the impacts of climate change present significant and direct risks to US military readiness, operations and strategy”.

They are members of the Climate Security Consensus Project, a bipartisan group of 25 senior military and national security experts − many of whom have served in previous Republican or Democratic administrations.

Meeting at a forum in Washington DC organised by the Centre for Climate and Security (CCS), the group said the effects of climate change “present a strategically-significant risk to US national security and international security”.

A statement from the members, who include retired senior officers from the US Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps, expresses concern about risks to regions of the world of strategic significance to Washington – “risks that can contribute to political and financial instability on an international scale, as well as maritime insecurity”.

Likelihood of conflict

They say stresses resulting from climate change can increase the likelihood of conflict within and between countries, state failure, mass migration, and the creation of additional ungoverned spaces.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


These could develop “across a range of strategically-significant regions, including but not limited to the Middle East and North Africa, Central Asia, the Indo-Asia-Pacific and the Arctic regions”.

They also fear that the impacts of climate change “will place significant strains on international financial stability through contributing to supply line disruptions for major global industries. . . disrupting the viability of the insurance industry, and generally increasing the political and financial risks of doing business in an increasingly unstable global environment”.

There’s absolutely nothing political about climate change. It’s a security risk, it makes other security risks worse, and we need to do something big about it”

Supporting their statement are two documents released at the forum, which the organisers said together urged “a robust new course on climate change”.

Francesco Femia and Caitlin Werrell, co-presidents of the CCS, said: “These reports make it crystal clear. To national security and defence leaders, there’s absolutely nothing political about climate change. It’s a security risk, it makes other security risks worse, and we need to do something big about it.”

One of the reports − on sea level rise and the US military − says a growing number of studies exploring the actual and potential physical impacts of sea level rise on US military installations “show that the risks are increasing at a faster rate than expected”.

The stability of the 1,774 US military sites spread worldwide along 95,471 miles of coastline “is set to change dramatically due to sea level rise and storm surge.  .

“We cannot wait for perfect information before assessing the risks and impacts. . . Essentially, the very geostrategic landscape in which the US military operates is going to be different from what it is today.”

The second report, described as a briefing book for a new administration, recommends ways to address the security risks of a changing climate. The first of these urges the new president to appoint a cabinet-level official to lead on domestic climate change and security issues.

Concerns about security

This is not the first time that the CCS has voiced its concerns about the security risks posed to the US by climate change.

What is notable this time is the group’s emphasis, during a bitterly divisive presidential election campaign, on the bipartisan nature of its work. Its language is uncompromising, and its insistence that there is “absolutely nothing political about climate change” will antagonise many Americans and reassure many more.

The presidential election in less than two months from now will see two viscerally-opposed contenders for the White House pushing diametrically different views on climate change, as well as many other issues.

Democrat candidate Hillary Clinton has said the science is “crystal clear”, and that climate change is an “urgent threat”.

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…