L'armée américaine met en garde contre les risques de sécurité climatique nationaux et internationaux

L'armée américaine met en garde contre les risques de sécurité climatique nationaux et internationaux

La station aéronavale américaine de Key West, en Floride, ressent les forces de l'ouragan Dennis dans 2005. Image: Jim Brooks / US Navy via Wikimedia Commons

Des hauts responsables militaires aux États-Unis mettent en garde contre les menaces à la sécurité nationale et internationale posées par les impacts du changement climatique.

Un groupe d'éminents experts de la défense aux États-Unis a averti que le changement climatique menaçait la sécurité du pays, avec le message que «les impacts du changement climatique présentent des risques importants et directs pour la préparation, les opérations et la stratégie militaires américaines».

Ils sont membres de Projet de consensus sur la sécurité climatique, un groupe bipartisan d'experts militaires et de sécurité nationale 25 - dont beaucoup ont servi dans les administrations républicaines ou démocratiques précédentes.

Réunion à un forum à Washington DC organisé par le Centre pour le climat et la sécurité (CCS), le groupe a déclaré que les effets du changement climatique "présentent un risque stratégique significatif pour la sécurité nationale et la sécurité internationale des Etats-Unis".

Une déclaration des membres, qui comprennent des officiers supérieurs retraités de l'US Army, Air Force, Marine et Marine Corps, exprime son inquiétude face aux risques pour les régions du monde d'importance stratégique pour Washington - "risques qui peuvent contribuer à l'instabilité politique et financière échelle internationale, ainsi que l'insécurité maritime ".

Probabilité de conflit

Ils disent que les contraintes résultant du changement climatique peuvent augmenter la probabilité de conflit à l'intérieur et entre les pays, échec de l'état, migration de masseet la création d'espaces non gérés supplémentaires.

Ceux-ci pourraient se développer «à travers une gamme de régions stratégiquement significatives, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, les régions du Moyen-Orient et de l'Afrique du Nord, de l'Asie centrale, de l'Indo-Asie-Pacifique et de l'Arctique».

Ils craignent également que les impacts du changement climatique «exercent des pressions significatives sur la stabilité financière internationale en contribuant aux perturbations de la chaîne d'approvisionnement pour les grandes industries mondiales. . . perturber la viabilité de l'industrie de l'assurance et, en général, accroître les risques politiques et financiers de faire des affaires dans un environnement mondial de plus en plus instable ».

Il n'y a absolument rien de politique sur le changement climatique. C'est un risque pour la sécurité, cela aggrave d'autres risques de sécurité, et nous devons faire quelque chose de grand à ce sujet "

Appuyant leur déclaration sont deux documents publiés sur le forum, que les organisateurs ont dit ensemble exhorté "un nouveau cours solide sur le changement climatique".

Francesco Femia et Caitlin Werrell, co-présidents du CCS, ont déclaré: "Ces rapports le montrent clairement. Pour les dirigeants de la sécurité nationale et de la défense, il n'y a absolument rien de politique sur le changement climatique. C'est un risque pour la sécurité, cela aggrave d'autres risques de sécurité, et nous devons faire quelque chose de grand. "

Un des rapports - sur l'élévation du niveau de la mer et l'armée américaine - indique qu'un nombre croissant d'études explorant les impacts physiques réels et potentiels de l'élévation du niveau de la mer sur les installations militaires américaines «montrent que les risques augmentent plus vite que prévu».

La stabilité des sites militaires américains 1,774 répartis dans le monde entier le long de 95,471 miles du littoral "devrait changer radicalement en raison de l'élévation du niveau de la mer et des ondes de tempête. .

"Nous ne pouvons pas attendre une information parfaite avant d'évaluer les risques et les impacts. . . Essentiellement, le paysage géostratégique dans lequel opère l'armée américaine sera différent de ce qu'il est aujourd'hui. "

Le deuxième rapport, décrit comme un cahier d'information pour une nouvelle administration, recommande des moyens de faire face aux risques de sécurité d'un climat changeant. Le premier d'entre eux exhorte le nouveau président à nommer un responsable au niveau du cabinet pour diriger les questions de changement climatique et de sécurité au niveau national.

Préoccupations concernant la sécurité

Ce n'est pas la première fois que la SCC exprime préoccupations au sujet des risques de sécurité posés aux États-Unis par le changement climatique.

Ce qui est remarquable cette fois-ci, c'est l'accent mis par le groupe, au cours d'une campagne électorale présidentielle âprement disputée, sur la nature bipartisane de son travail. Son langage est intransigeant, et son insistance sur le fait qu'il n'y a «absolument rien de politique sur le changement climatique» va contrarier de nombreux Américains et en rassurer beaucoup plus.

L'élection présidentielle dans moins de deux mois à partir de maintenant deux opposants viscéralement opposés à la Maison-Blanche poussant des opinions diamétralement différentes sur le changement climatique, ainsi que de nombreuses autres questions.

La candidate démocrate Hillary Clinton a déclaré que la science est «limpide» et que le changement climatique est une «menace urgente».

A propos de l'auteur

Alex Kirby est un journaliste britanniqueAlex Kirby est un journaliste britannique spécialisé dans les questions environnementales. Il a occupé divers postes à la British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) pendant près de 20 ans et a quitté la BBC en 1998 pour travailler comme journaliste indépendant. Il fournit également compétences médiatiques formation pour les entreprises, les universités et les ONG. Il est aussi actuellement le correspondant de l'environnement pour BBC Nouvelles en ligne, Et hébergé BBC Radio 4«Série d'environnement s, Coût de la Terre. Il écrit aussi pour The Guardian et Climate News Network. Il écrit également une colonne régulière pour BBC Faune chargeur.

US Military Warns Of The National And International Climate Security Risks

US Military Warns Of The National And International Climate Security Risks

The US Naval Air Station at Key West, Florida, feels the forces of Hurricane Dennis in 2005. Image: Jim Brooks/US Navy via Wikimedia Commons

Senior military figures in the US warn of national and international security threats posed by the impacts of climate change.

A group of senior defence experts in the US has warned that climate change is a threat to the country’s security, with the stark message that “the impacts of climate change present significant and direct risks to US military readiness, operations and strategy”.

They are members of the Climate Security Consensus Project, a bipartisan group of 25 senior military and national security experts − many of whom have served in previous Republican or Democratic administrations.

Meeting at a forum in Washington DC organised by the Centre for Climate and Security (CCS), the group said the effects of climate change “present a strategically-significant risk to US national security and international security”.

A statement from the members, who include retired senior officers from the US Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps, expresses concern about risks to regions of the world of strategic significance to Washington – “risks that can contribute to political and financial instability on an international scale, as well as maritime insecurity”.

Likelihood of conflict

They say stresses resulting from climate change can increase the likelihood of conflict within and between countries, state failure, mass migration, and the creation of additional ungoverned spaces.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


These could develop “across a range of strategically-significant regions, including but not limited to the Middle East and North Africa, Central Asia, the Indo-Asia-Pacific and the Arctic regions”.

They also fear that the impacts of climate change “will place significant strains on international financial stability through contributing to supply line disruptions for major global industries. . . disrupting the viability of the insurance industry, and generally increasing the political and financial risks of doing business in an increasingly unstable global environment”.

There’s absolutely nothing political about climate change. It’s a security risk, it makes other security risks worse, and we need to do something big about it”

Supporting their statement are two documents released at the forum, which the organisers said together urged “a robust new course on climate change”.

Francesco Femia and Caitlin Werrell, co-presidents of the CCS, said: “These reports make it crystal clear. To national security and defence leaders, there’s absolutely nothing political about climate change. It’s a security risk, it makes other security risks worse, and we need to do something big about it.”

One of the reports − on sea level rise and the US military − says a growing number of studies exploring the actual and potential physical impacts of sea level rise on US military installations “show that the risks are increasing at a faster rate than expected”.

The stability of the 1,774 US military sites spread worldwide along 95,471 miles of coastline “is set to change dramatically due to sea level rise and storm surge.  .

“We cannot wait for perfect information before assessing the risks and impacts. . . Essentially, the very geostrategic landscape in which the US military operates is going to be different from what it is today.”

The second report, described as a briefing book for a new administration, recommends ways to address the security risks of a changing climate. The first of these urges the new president to appoint a cabinet-level official to lead on domestic climate change and security issues.

Concerns about security

This is not the first time that the CCS has voiced its concerns about the security risks posed to the US by climate change.

What is notable this time is the group’s emphasis, during a bitterly divisive presidential election campaign, on the bipartisan nature of its work. Its language is uncompromising, and its insistence that there is “absolutely nothing political about climate change” will antagonise many Americans and reassure many more.

The presidential election in less than two months from now will see two viscerally-opposed contenders for the White House pushing diametrically different views on climate change, as well as many other issues.

Democrat candidate Hillary Clinton has said the science is “crystal clear”, and that climate change is an “urgent threat”.

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…