بعد الانخفاض من الاقتصاد المتباطئ ، ازدادت انبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة في 2013

بعد الانخفاض من الاقتصاد المتباطئ ، ازدادت انبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة في 2013

By

اتبعbobbymagill

ازدادت انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الولايات المتحدة المتعلقة بالطاقة في 2013 لأول مرة منذ ثلاث سنوات ، وربما تكون أول إشارة إلى أن الاتجاه في انخفاض الانبعاثات من استهلاك الطاقة قد انتهى في الوقت الحالي.

إدارة معلومات الطاقة الأمريكية صدر تقريرا يوم الاثنين تبين أن انبعاثات CO2013 المتعلقة بـ 2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة من المتوقع أن تكون قد زادت بنسبة 2 في المائة مقارنة بانبعاثات 2012 بمجرد الانتهاء من تجميع جميع بيانات السنة. بلغ إجمالي انبعاثات CO2 من الوقود الأحفوري إجمالي 5.26 مليار طن متري في 2012 ، وارتفع إلى 5.37 مليار في 2013 ، تظهر بيانات EIA.

وينص التقرير أيضًا على زيادة الانبعاثات بنسبة طفيفة - 0.7 بالمائة - في 2014 ، متبوعًا بعدم حدوث أي تغيير في الانبعاثات في 2015.

رسم بياني يوضح انبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة منذ 2005Credit: إدارة معلومات الطاقة الأمريكية

رسم بياني يوضح انبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في الولايات المتحدة منذ 2005 Credit: ادارة معلومات الطاقة الامريكية


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تأتي غالبية انبعاثات CO2 في الولايات المتحدة من قطاع الطاقة وتشمل الانبعاثات الناتجة عن توليد الطاقة الكهربائية والنقل والتصنيع والتدفئة المنزلية والمباني التجارية والمصادر الصناعية الأخرى.

انبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة ضرب أدنى نقطة لهم منذ 1994 في 2012 بسبب انخفاض الفحم كمصدر للطاقة لصالح الغاز الطبيعي ، ذكرت EIA في أكتوبر من العام الماضي. وقد يكون هذا الاتجاه قد توقف في 2013 ارتفاع أسعار الغاز الطبيعي أدى إلى زيادة حرق الفحم في محطات الطاقة الأمريكية. وقال إحصائي تقييم الأثر البيئي تايسون براون أن التبديل هو المسؤول عن الارتفاع في الانبعاثات.

ومع ذلك ، قد يكون الارتفاع في استخدام الفحم قصير الأجل. وطبقًا لتقرير تقييم الأثر البيئي ، فإن انبعاثات CO2 من الفحم ستنخفض بنسبة 2.5 في المائة في 2015 حيث تغلق المرافق بعض محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم لتلبية لوائح الزئبق الفيدرالية وتلوث الهواء.

"أسعار الغاز الطبيعي قد عادت قليلا منذ أبريل من 2012 منخفضة ،" قال. "إن قطاع الطاقة الكهربائية مستجيب للغاية للسعر".

وقال إنه من المتوقع أن تظل أسعار الغاز الطبيعي مستقرة من خلال 2015 ، مما يجعل استهلاك الفحم والغاز الطبيعي لتوليد الطاقة هو نفسه تقريبا خلال ذلك الوقت.

انخفضت أسعار الغاز الطبيعي في السنوات الأخيرة لأن طفرة التكسير على الصعيد الوطني جعلت من الغاز الطبيعي وفرة في الولايات المتحدة تلك الطفرة ، التي لها تبعات مناخية خاصة بها بسبب انبعاثات الميثان غير المحددةسمحت لشركات الطاقة بإنتاج غاز طبيعي من مصادر غير مستغلة سابقا ، بما في ذلك منطقة مارسيليوس الصخرية في بنسلفانيا ، وصخر نيوبرارا في كولورادو وأماكن أخرى.

جهاز حفر الغاز الطبيعي Credit: US Department of Energy

جهاز حفر الغاز الطبيعي وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية

ومع انفجار ذراع التكسير وبدأت المرافق في التحول من الفحم إلى محطات توليد الطاقة بالغاز الطبيعي ، زاد توليد الطاقة من الغاز الطبيعي بمقدار 211.8 مليار كيلو واط في 2012 عبر 2011. انخفض الفحم في 2012 بمقدار 215 مليار كيلو واط ساعة خلال نفس الفترة ، بيانات EIA صدر في أكتوبر.

يمثل الفحم حوالي 37 في المئة من إجمالي توليد الكهرباء في الولايات المتحدة في 2012. كان الغاز الطبيعي مسؤولاً عن نسبة 30 من توليد الطاقة في ذلك العام ، يليه الطاقة النووية بنسبة 19 في المائة ، والطاقة المتجددة في 12 في المائة ، وتظهر بيانات EIA.

وكانت زيادة طفيفة في الانبعاثات CO2 المتعلقة بالطاقة في 2013 تأثير يذكر على انبعاثات CO2 الشاملة للبلاد لهذا العام، والتي كانت أقل من 10 في المئة دون مستويات 2005، وفقا لبيانات EIA. ال هدف إدارة أوباما بالنسبة لانبعاثات CO2 العامة ، من بين الدوافع الرئيسية لتغير المناخ ، أن تكون 17 في المائة أقل من مستويات 2005 بواسطة 2020.

مواضيع ذات صلة
الغاز الطبيعي وفعالية الوقود تنخفض انبعاثات الكربون في الولايات المتحدة
هل تستطيع انبعاثات الكربون الأمريكية أن تستمر في الانخفاض؟
Fracking Boom Leading to Fracking Bust: Scientists
العلماء: قلة البيانات تعني تأثيرات التكسير غير معروفة

اتبع المؤلف على تويتر bobbymagill or ClimateCentral. نحن أيضا على فيسبوك والشبكات الاجتماعية الأخرى.


هذا المقال، زيادة انبعاثات CO2 المرتبطة بالطاقة في 2013، هو مشترك من وسط المناخ وينشر هنا بإذن. مقال من نيوجيرسي نيوز. تمت مشاركة هذه المقالة في الأصل عبر ربوست الخدمات. .

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013

 After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013 

By

Follow @bobbymagill

U.S. carbon dioxide emissions related to energy increased in 2013 for the first time in three years, possibly the first sign that a trend in declining emissions from energy consumption has ended for now.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration released a report on Monday showing that 2013 energy-related CO2 emissions in the U.S. are expected to have increased 2 percent over 2012 emissions once all the data for the year are tallied. Total CO2 emissions from fossil fuels totaled 5.26 billion metric tons in 2012, increasing to 5.37 billion in 2013, EIA data show. 

The report also projects that emissions will increase slightly  — 0.7 percent — in 2014, followed by no change in emissions in 2015.

																																					A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration

A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005 Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The majority of CO2 emissions in the U.S. come from the energy sector and include emissions from electrical power generation, transportation, manufacturing, home heating, commercial buildings, and other industrial sources.

Energy-related CO2 emissions hit their lowest point since 1994 in 2012 because of the decline of coal as a power source in favor of natural gas, the EIA reported in October last year. That trend may have leveled off in 2013 as higher natural gas prices led to an increase in coal burning at U.S. power plants. EIA statistician Tyson Brown said that switch is responsible for the rise in emissions.

The rise in coal use might be short-lived, though. The EIA projects that CO2 emissions from coal will decline 2.5 percent in 2015 as utilities close some coal-fired power plants to meet new federal mercury and air pollution regulations.

“Natural gas prices have come back a good bit since the April of 2012 low,” he said. “The electric power sector is very price-responsive.”

Prices for natural gas are expected to remain stable through 2015, keeping coal and natural gas consumption for power generation roughly the same during that time, he said.

Natural gas prices dipped in recent years because the nationwide fracking boom has made natural gas abundant in the U.S. That boom, which has climate implications of its own because of unquantified methane emissions, has allowed energy companies to produce natural gas from previously untapped sources, including the Marcellus shale region of Pennsylvania, the Niobrara shale in Colorado and elsewhere.

																																					A natural gas drilling rigCredit: U.S. Department of Energy

A natural gas drilling rig Credit: U.S. Department of Energy

As the fracking boom exploded and utilities began to switch from coal to natural gas power plants, power generation from natural gas increased by 211.8 billion kilowatt hours in 2012 over 2011. Coal declined in 2012 by 215 billion kilowatt hours over the same period, EIA data released in October show. 

Coal accounted for about 37 percent of total U.S. electricity generation in 2012. Natural gas was responsible for 30 percent of power generation that year, followed by nuclear at 19 percent and renewables at 12 percent, EIA data show. 

The slight increase in energy-related CO2 emissions in 2013 had little impact on the country’s overall CO2 emissions for the year, which were just under 10 percent below 2005 levels, according to EIA data. The Obama administration’s goal is for overall CO2 emissions, among the primary drivers of climate change, to be 17 percent lower than 2005 levels by 2020.

Related Content
Natural Gas, Efficiency Fuel U.S. Carbon Emissions Decline
Can U.S. Carbon Emissions Keep Falling? 
Fracking Boom Leading to Fracking Bust: Scientists
Scientists: Lack of Data Means Fracking Impacts Unknown

Follow the author on Twitter @bobbymagill or @ClimateCentral. We're also on Facebook & other social networks.


This article, U.S. Energy-Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013, is syndicated from Climate Central and is posted here with permission. An article from NJ News Commons. This article was originally shared via the Repost Service. .

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…