Nach dem Abklingen der rückläufigen Konjunktur stiegen die CO2-Emissionen in den USA in 2013

Nach dem Abklingen der rückläufigen Konjunktur stiegen die CO2-Emissionen in den USA in 2013

By

Folge @bobbymagill

Die Kohlendioxidemissionen in den USA im Zusammenhang mit Energie stiegen in 2013 zum ersten Mal seit drei Jahren. Dies ist möglicherweise das erste Anzeichen dafür, dass ein Trend zum Rückgang der Emissionen aus dem Energieverbrauch vorerst beendet ist.

Die US-amerikanische Energieinformationsverwaltung veröffentlichte am Montag einen Bericht Dies zeigt, dass die energiebezogenen CO2013-Emissionen von 2 in den USA um 2-Prozent gegenüber den 2012-Emissionen steigen werden, sobald alle Daten für das Jahr vorliegen. Die gesamten CO2-Emissionen aus fossilen Brennstoffen betrugen in 5.26 2012 Milliarden Tonnen und stiegen in 5.37 auf 2013 Milliarden, zeigen EIA-Daten.

Der Bericht geht auch davon aus, dass die Emissionen in 0.7 leicht ansteigen - 2014 Prozent -, gefolgt von einer Änderung der Emissionen in 2015.

Eine Grafik, die die energiebedingten CO2-Emissionen in den USA seit 2005Credit zeigt: US Energy Information Administration

Eine Grafik, die die energiebedingten CO2-Emissionen in den USA seit 2005 zeigt. US Energy Information Administration


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Der Großteil der CO2 - Emissionen in den USA stammt aus der Energiesektor und umfassen Emissionen aus der Stromerzeugung, dem Transport, der Herstellung, der Hausheizung, kommerziellen Gebäuden und anderen industriellen Quellen.

Energiebedingte CO2-Emissionen habe ihren niedrigsten Punkt seit 1994 erreicht in 2012 wegen des Rückgangs von Kohle als Energiequelle zugunsten von Erdgas, berichtete die EIA im Oktober letzten Jahres. Dieser Trend könnte sich in 2013 als nivelliert haben höhere Erdgaspreise führte zu einer Zunahme der Kohleverbrennung in US-Kraftwerken. EIA-Statistiker Tyson Brown sagte, dass Switch für den Anstieg der Emissionen verantwortlich ist.

Der Anstieg des Kohleverbrauchs könnte jedoch nur von kurzer Dauer sein. Die EIA-Projekte, dass CO2-Emissionen aus Kohle in 2.5 um 2015 Prozent sinken werden, da die Versorgungsunternehmen einige kohlebefeuerte Kraftwerke schließen, um die neuen Quecksilber- und Luftverschmutzungsvorschriften des Bundes zu erfüllen.

"Die Erdgaspreise sind seit dem April von 2012 günstig gestiegen", sagte er. "Der Stromsektor ist sehr preisorientiert."

Es wird erwartet, dass die Preise für Erdgas über 2015 stabil bleiben und der Kohle- und Erdgasverbrauch für die Stromerzeugung in dieser Zeit ungefähr gleich bleibt.

Die Erdgaspreise sind in den letzten Jahren gesunken, weil die landesweiter Fracking-Boom hat in den USA reichlich Erdgas gemacht. Dieser Boom, der aufgrund seiner eigenen Klimaveränderung seine eigenen Auswirkungen hat nicht quantifizierte Methanemissionen, hat es Energieunternehmen ermöglicht, Erdgas aus bisher ungenutzten Quellen zu erzeugen, einschließlich der Marcellus-Schiefer-Region in Pennsylvania, des Niobrara-Schieferöls in Colorado und anderswo.

Eine ErdgasbohranlageCredit: US Department of Energy

Ein Erdgas-Bohrgerät US-Energieministerium

Als der Fracking-Boom explodierte und die Versorgungsunternehmen von Kohle- auf Erdgaskraftwerke umstellten, stieg die Stromerzeugung aus Erdgas in 211.8 über 2012 um 2011 Milliarden Kilowattstunden. Kohle ist in 2012 um 215 Milliarden Kilowattstunden im gleichen Zeitraum zurückgegangen, zeigen die im Oktober veröffentlichten EIA-Daten.

In 37 machte Kohle rund 2012 Prozent der gesamten US-Stromerzeugung aus. Erdgas war in diesem Jahr für 30-Prozent der Stromerzeugung verantwortlich, gefolgt von Atomkraft bei 19 und erneuerbaren Energien bei 12-Prozent, zeigen EIA-Daten.

Der leichte Anstieg der energiebedingten CO2-Emissionen in 2013 hatte nur geringe Auswirkungen auf die CO2-Gesamtemissionen des Landes, die laut EIA-Daten knapp unter 10-Prozent unter den 2005-Werten lagen. Das Ziel der Obama-Administration Die CO2-Emissionen, die zu den Hauptantriebskräften des Klimawandels gehören, sind laut 17 um 2005-Prozent niedriger als die 2020-Werte.

Ähnliche Inhalte
Erdgas, Effizienz Treibstoff US-CO2-Emissionen sinken
Können die CO2-Emissionen der USA weiter sinken?
Fracking Boom führt zu Fracking Büste: Wissenschaftler
Wissenschaftler: Mangel an Daten bedeutet Fracking Auswirkungen unbekannt

Folgen Sie dem Autor auf Twitter @bobbymagill or @ClimateCentral. Wir sind auch dran Facebook und andere soziale Netzwerke.


Dieser Artikel, US-Energie bedingte CO2-Emissionen in 2013 erhöht, ist syndiziert von Klimaanlage Zentral und wird hier mit Erlaubnis veröffentlicht. Ein Artikel von NJ Nachrichten Gemeingüter. Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich über die Umbuchen Bedienung. .

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013

 After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013 

By

Follow @bobbymagill

U.S. carbon dioxide emissions related to energy increased in 2013 for the first time in three years, possibly the first sign that a trend in declining emissions from energy consumption has ended for now.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration released a report on Monday showing that 2013 energy-related CO2 emissions in the U.S. are expected to have increased 2 percent over 2012 emissions once all the data for the year are tallied. Total CO2 emissions from fossil fuels totaled 5.26 billion metric tons in 2012, increasing to 5.37 billion in 2013, EIA data show. 

The report also projects that emissions will increase slightly  — 0.7 percent — in 2014, followed by no change in emissions in 2015.

																																					A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration

A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005 Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The majority of CO2 emissions in the U.S. come from the energy sector and include emissions from electrical power generation, transportation, manufacturing, home heating, commercial buildings, and other industrial sources.

Energy-related CO2 emissions hit their lowest point since 1994 in 2012 because of the decline of coal as a power source in favor of natural gas, the EIA reported in October last year. That trend may have leveled off in 2013 as higher natural gas prices led to an increase in coal burning at U.S. power plants. EIA statistician Tyson Brown said that switch is responsible for the rise in emissions.

The rise in coal use might be short-lived, though. The EIA projects that CO2 emissions from coal will decline 2.5 percent in 2015 as utilities close some coal-fired power plants to meet new federal mercury and air pollution regulations.

“Natural gas prices have come back a good bit since the April of 2012 low,” he said. “The electric power sector is very price-responsive.”

Prices for natural gas are expected to remain stable through 2015, keeping coal and natural gas consumption for power generation roughly the same during that time, he said.

Natural gas prices dipped in recent years because the nationwide fracking boom has made natural gas abundant in the U.S. That boom, which has climate implications of its own because of unquantified methane emissions, has allowed energy companies to produce natural gas from previously untapped sources, including the Marcellus shale region of Pennsylvania, the Niobrara shale in Colorado and elsewhere.

																																					A natural gas drilling rigCredit: U.S. Department of Energy

A natural gas drilling rig Credit: U.S. Department of Energy

As the fracking boom exploded and utilities began to switch from coal to natural gas power plants, power generation from natural gas increased by 211.8 billion kilowatt hours in 2012 over 2011. Coal declined in 2012 by 215 billion kilowatt hours over the same period, EIA data released in October show. 

Coal accounted for about 37 percent of total U.S. electricity generation in 2012. Natural gas was responsible for 30 percent of power generation that year, followed by nuclear at 19 percent and renewables at 12 percent, EIA data show. 

The slight increase in energy-related CO2 emissions in 2013 had little impact on the country’s overall CO2 emissions for the year, which were just under 10 percent below 2005 levels, according to EIA data. The Obama administration’s goal is for overall CO2 emissions, among the primary drivers of climate change, to be 17 percent lower than 2005 levels by 2020.

Related Content
Natural Gas, Efficiency Fuel U.S. Carbon Emissions Decline
Can U.S. Carbon Emissions Keep Falling? 
Fracking Boom Leading to Fracking Bust: Scientists
Scientists: Lack of Data Means Fracking Impacts Unknown

Follow the author on Twitter @bobbymagill or @ClimateCentral. We're also on Facebook & other social networks.


This article, U.S. Energy-Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013, is syndicated from Climate Central and is posted here with permission. An article from NJ News Commons. This article was originally shared via the Repost Service. .

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…