После снижения из-за спада экономики выбросы CO2 в США увеличились в 2013

После снижения из-за спада экономики выбросы CO2 в США увеличились в 2013

By

Следуйте @bobbymagill

Выбросы углекислого газа в США, связанные с энергией, выросли в 2013 впервые за три года, возможно, первый признак того, что тенденция к сокращению выбросов от потребления энергии закончилась на данный момент.

Управление энергетической информации США опубликовал отчет в понедельник показывая, что выбросы CO2013, связанные с энергопотреблением 2, в США, как ожидается, увеличатся на 2 процентов по сравнению с выбросами 2012, когда будут подсчитаны все данные за год. Общая сумма выбросов CO2 от ископаемого топлива составила 5.26 миллиардов метрических тонн в 2012, увеличившись до 5.37 млрд. В 2013, показывают данные EIA.

В докладе также говорится, что выбросы незначительно возрастут - 0.7 процентов - в 2014, после чего в 2015 не произойдет изменений в выбросах.

График, показывающий выбросы CO2, связанные с энергетикой в ​​США, начиная с 2005Credit: Управление энергетической информации США

График, показывающий выбросы CO2, связанные с энергией в США, с момента 2005 Credit: Управление энергетической информации США


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Большинство выбросов CO2 в США поступают из энергетический сектор и включают выбросы от выработки электроэнергии, транспортировки, производства, домашнего отопления, коммерческих зданий и других промышленных источников.

Энергетические выбросы CO2 попали в самую низкую точку с 1994 в 2012 из-за падения угля как источника энергии в пользу природного газа, ОВОС сообщила в октябре прошлого года. Эта тенденция может быть выровнена в 2013 как более высокие цены на природный газ привело к увеличению сжигания угля на американских электростанциях. Статистик EIA Тайсон Браун сказал, что коммутатор отвечает за увеличение выбросов.

Однако рост использования угля может быть недолгим. EIA прогнозирует, что выбросы CO2 от угля уменьшатся на 2.5 процентов в 2015, поскольку коммунальные предприятия закрывают некоторые угольные электростанции для соответствия новым федеральным нормам регулирования ртути и загрязнения воздуха.

«Цены на природный газ вернулись с апреля с минимума 2012, - сказал он. «Сектор электроэнергетики очень чувствителен к цене».

Ожидается, что цены на природный газ останутся стабильными через 2015, поскольку потребление угля и природного газа для производства электроэнергии будет примерно одинаковым за это время, сказал он.

В последние годы цены на природный газ снизились, поскольку общенациональный шок произвела в США природный газ. Этот бум, который имеет свои последствия для климата из-за неквалифицированные выбросы метана, позволил энергетическим компаниям производить природный газ из ранее неиспользуемых источников, в том числе сланцевого региона Марцелла Пенсильвании, сланца Ниобрара в Колорадо и в других местах.

Буровая установка для природного газаКредит: Министерство энергетики США

Буровая установка для природного газа. Кредит: Министерство энергетики США

По мере того, как взрывной взрыв прогремел, а коммунальные предприятия начали переходить с угля на газовые электростанции, производство электроэнергии из природного газа увеличилось на 211.8 млрд. Киловатт-часов в 2012 по сравнению с 2011. Уголь сократился в 2012 за 215 миллиардов киловатт-часов за тот же период, данные EIA, опубликованные в октябре, показывают.

Уголь составлял около 37 процентов от общего объема производства электроэнергии в США в 2012. Природный газ отвечал за 30 процентов от производства электроэнергии в этом году, за которым следуют ядерные ресурсы на уровне 19 и возобновляемые источники энергии на уровне 12, свидетельствуют данные EIA.

Небольшое увеличение выбросов CO2, связанных с энергетикой, в 2013 незначительно повлияло на общие выбросы CO2 в стране за год, которые, по данным EIA, были чуть ниже 10 процентов ниже уровней 2005. Цель администрации Обамы для общих выбросов CO2, среди основных факторов изменения климата, на 17 процентов ниже 2005 уровней 2020.

Материалы по теме
Природный газ, эффективное топливо Углекисление углерода в США
Могут ли Углеродные выбросы США продолжать падать?
Fracking Boom, ведущий к Fracking Bust: Ученые
Ученые: Отсутствие данных. Эффекты Fracking Impacts Unknown

Следуйте за автором на Twitter @bobbymagill or @ClimateCentral, Мы тоже Facebook и другие социальные сети.


Эта статья, Выбросы CO2, связанные с энергетикой, увеличились в 2013, синдицируется из Климат Центральной и отправляется здесь с разрешения. Статья из NJ Новости фонда, Эта статья изначально была передана через Repost Обслуживание. ,

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
Как вы говорите своим детям о разводе?
by Монтель Уильямс и Джеффри Гардер, доктор философии

After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013

 After Declining From Slumping Economy, U.S. Energy Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013 

By

Follow @bobbymagill

U.S. carbon dioxide emissions related to energy increased in 2013 for the first time in three years, possibly the first sign that a trend in declining emissions from energy consumption has ended for now.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration released a report on Monday showing that 2013 energy-related CO2 emissions in the U.S. are expected to have increased 2 percent over 2012 emissions once all the data for the year are tallied. Total CO2 emissions from fossil fuels totaled 5.26 billion metric tons in 2012, increasing to 5.37 billion in 2013, EIA data show. 

The report also projects that emissions will increase slightly  — 0.7 percent — in 2014, followed by no change in emissions in 2015.

																																					A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration

A graph showing U.S energy-related CO2 emissions since 2005 Credit: U.S. Energy Information Administration


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The majority of CO2 emissions in the U.S. come from the energy sector and include emissions from electrical power generation, transportation, manufacturing, home heating, commercial buildings, and other industrial sources.

Energy-related CO2 emissions hit their lowest point since 1994 in 2012 because of the decline of coal as a power source in favor of natural gas, the EIA reported in October last year. That trend may have leveled off in 2013 as higher natural gas prices led to an increase in coal burning at U.S. power plants. EIA statistician Tyson Brown said that switch is responsible for the rise in emissions.

The rise in coal use might be short-lived, though. The EIA projects that CO2 emissions from coal will decline 2.5 percent in 2015 as utilities close some coal-fired power plants to meet new federal mercury and air pollution regulations.

“Natural gas prices have come back a good bit since the April of 2012 low,” he said. “The electric power sector is very price-responsive.”

Prices for natural gas are expected to remain stable through 2015, keeping coal and natural gas consumption for power generation roughly the same during that time, he said.

Natural gas prices dipped in recent years because the nationwide fracking boom has made natural gas abundant in the U.S. That boom, which has climate implications of its own because of unquantified methane emissions, has allowed energy companies to produce natural gas from previously untapped sources, including the Marcellus shale region of Pennsylvania, the Niobrara shale in Colorado and elsewhere.

																																					A natural gas drilling rigCredit: U.S. Department of Energy

A natural gas drilling rig Credit: U.S. Department of Energy

As the fracking boom exploded and utilities began to switch from coal to natural gas power plants, power generation from natural gas increased by 211.8 billion kilowatt hours in 2012 over 2011. Coal declined in 2012 by 215 billion kilowatt hours over the same period, EIA data released in October show. 

Coal accounted for about 37 percent of total U.S. electricity generation in 2012. Natural gas was responsible for 30 percent of power generation that year, followed by nuclear at 19 percent and renewables at 12 percent, EIA data show. 

The slight increase in energy-related CO2 emissions in 2013 had little impact on the country’s overall CO2 emissions for the year, which were just under 10 percent below 2005 levels, according to EIA data. The Obama administration’s goal is for overall CO2 emissions, among the primary drivers of climate change, to be 17 percent lower than 2005 levels by 2020.

Related Content
Natural Gas, Efficiency Fuel U.S. Carbon Emissions Decline
Can U.S. Carbon Emissions Keep Falling? 
Fracking Boom Leading to Fracking Bust: Scientists
Scientists: Lack of Data Means Fracking Impacts Unknown

Follow the author on Twitter @bobbymagill or @ClimateCentral. We're also on Facebook & other social networks.


This article, U.S. Energy-Related CO2 Emissions Increased in 2013, is syndicated from Climate Central and is posted here with permission. An article from NJ News Commons. This article was originally shared via the Repost Service. .

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…