هدف حزب الشاي الحقيقي: أن يجعلنا جميعًا متهكمون حول الحكومة ، نحن نتخلى

ديمقراطية

يخبرني صديق قديم نشط في السياسة منذ أكثر من ثلاثين عامًا أنه يستسلم. "لا أستطيع تحمل ما يجري في واشنطن بعد الآن" ، كما يقول. "الجحيم مع كل منهم. لدي أشياء أفضل لأفعلها في حياتي ".

صديقي يسقط بالضبط في الفخ الذي يريد اليمين المتطرف أن نقع فيه - مثل هذا الاشمئزاز والسخرية الذي نتخلى عنه جميعاً في السياسة. ثم يصبحون أحرارًا في تولي كل شيء.

ويلقي الجمهوريون باللوم على إغلاق واشنطن والتخلف المحتمل عن ديون البلاد على "عدم استعداد الرئيس للتفاوض" بشأن قانون الرعاية الميسرة. لكن تم التفاوض بالفعل على هذا القانون. مرت على مجلسي الكونغرس وتم توقيعها في القانون من قبل الرئيس. قاومت تحدي المحكمة العليا.

لا يكاد يكون هذا القانون مثالياً ، ولكن لم يكن أي من الضمان الاجتماعي أو الرعاية الصحية قد صدر لأول مرة. يسمح الدستور للكونغرس بتعديل أو تأخير القوانين التي لا تعمل بشكل جيد كما كان المقصود منها ، أو حتى إلغائها. لكن القيام بأي من هذا يتطلب تشريعاً جديداً - بما في ذلك أغلبية مجلسي الكونجرس وتوقيع رئيس (أو التصويت لإلغاء حق النقض للرئيس).

لا يسمح نظامنا لأحد الأطراف بتأخير أو تعديل أو إلغاء قانون الأرض عن طريق إغلاق باقي الحكومة حتى يتم تلبية مطالبها. إذا كانت هذه هي الطريقة التي عملت بها ديمقراطيتنا ، فلن يكون هناك قانون آمن أو مستقر. يمكن للأغلبية المنضبطة في أحد المنازل دائمًا أن تستخدم التهديد المتمثل في الإغلاق أو التقصير في إعاقة أي قانون لا يعجبه.

لذلك لا يستطيع الرئيس إعادة التفاوض بشأن قانون الرعاية الميسرة. ولا أعتقد أن Tea Tea Republicans يتوقعون منه ذلك.

هدفهم الحقيقي هو أكثر غدرا بكثير. إنهم يريدون أن يزرعوا قدرا أكبر من السخرية بشأن قدرة الحكومة على فعل الكثير من أي شيء. إن الإغلاق والتقصير المحتمل هما فقط أحدث حالات وأكثرها إثارةً في حالة الجمود المطوَّلة ، والمصممة لجعل الناس مثل صديقي يستسلمون.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وعلى هذا المستوى ، فهم يفوزون. وكان معدل موافقة الكونجرس قد بلغ أدنى مستوى له على الاطلاق قبل الاغلاق ، وفقا لاستطلاع للرأي نشر قبل ساعات من حلول الظلام في واشنطن. أظهر استطلاع CNN / ORC أن نسبة 10 فقط من الأمريكيين وافقت على عمل الكونغرس ، في حين أن 87 لم يوافق على ذلك. كان هذا هو أدنى معدل موافقة للكونغرس على الإطلاق في استطلاع سي إن إن.

وقد وجد استطلاع أجرته مؤسسة غالوب مؤخراً أن نسبة 42 فقط من الأمريكيين - وهي أيضاً نسبة منخفضة - لديهم ثقة "عادلة" حتى في قدرة الحكومة على التعامل مع الأمور الداخلية.

وفي استطلاع حديث أجراه مركز بيو للأبحاث ، قال 26٪ من الأمريكيين إنهم غاضبون من الحكومة الفيدرالية بينما يشعر 51٪ بالإحباط. فقط 17٪ يقولون إنهم راضين بشكل أساسي عن الحكومة. وارتفعت نسبة الأسهم التي تعبر عن الغضب سبع نقاط منذ يناير ، وهي تساوي الآن الرقم القياسي الذي بلغه في شهر أغسطس (آب) 2011 ، بعد اتفاقية الحد الأقصى من الدين التي انتقدها الرئيس والكونغرس.

إنها حلقة مفرغة. في الوقت الذي يتخلى فيه الأمريكيون العاديون عن الحكومة ، فإنهم يهتمون أقل بما تفعله الحكومة أو تفشل في القيام بها - مما يجعل من السهل على المصالح المالية الحصول على ما يريدون: تخفيضات ضريبية لأنفسهم ولأعمالهم. التغييرات التنظيمية التي تساعدهم ولكنهم يضرون الموظفين والمستهلكين والمستثمرين الصغار ؛ الإعانات الخاصة وأشكال أخرى من رفاهية الشركات. وهذه الفوائد المنحرفة لا تؤدي إلا إلى تأكيد السخرية العامة.

نفس السخرية تجعل من السهل إقناع الجمهور بأنه حتى عندما تتصرف الحكومة لصالح الأغلبية الساحقة ، فإنها لا تفعل ذلك. لذا ، فإن قانونًا مثل قانون الرعاية بأسعار معقولة ، والذي لا يزال يمثل ، في جميع أوجه القصور ، خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح مقارنة بالفوضى المكلفة لنظام الرعاية الصحية في البلاد ، يتحول إلى "استيلاء الحكومة" الكابوسي.

إذن ، إليكم ما قلته لصديقي الذي قال إنه يتخلى عن السياسة: لا. إذا كنت تستسلم للتخويف ، فإن تصرفاتهم تتصاعد فقط. إذا استسلمنا للسخرية من ديمقراطيتنا ، فإن ديمقراطيتنا تتآكل بشكل مطرد.

إذا كنت تعتقد أن الإصلاح موجود وأن اللعبة مزورة وأن حفنة من المليارديرات وأسرهم في حفلة الشاي يدمرون حكومتنا ، افعلوا شيئًا حيال ذلك. بدلا من الاستسلام ، والحصول على المزيد من المشاركة. كن أكثر نشاطًا. جعل المشاجرة. إنها حكومتنا ، وأهم شيء يمكنك القيام به لنفسك ، وعائلتك ، ومجتمعك ، والمستقبل ، هو جعلها تعمل لنا جميعًا.

عن المؤلف

روبرت رايخوكان روبرت ب. REICH، أستاذ المستشار للسياسة العامة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، وزير العمل في إدارة كلينتون. أطلقت مجلة تايم منه واحدا من أمناء مجلس الوزراء 10 الأكثر فعالية من القرن الماضي. وقد كتب الكتب ثلاثة عشر، بما في ذلك الكتب مبيعا "هزة ارتدادية"و"الذي تضطلع به الأمم". وأحدث مؤلفاته"ما بعد الغضب، "هو الآن في غلاف عادي، وهو أيضا محرر مؤسس في مجلة بروسبكت الأمريكية ورئيس قضية مشتركة.

كتب روبرت رايش

إنقاذ الرأسمالية: للكثيرين وليس القليل - بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

0345806220لقد تم الاحتفاء بأميركا من قبل وتعرفها من قبل الطبقة الوسطى الكبيرة والمزدهرة. الآن ، هذه الطبقة الوسطى تتقلص ، الأوليغارشية الجديدة آخذة في الارتفاع ، وتواجه البلاد أكبر تفاوت في ثرواتها في ثمانين سنة. لماذا يخسرنا النظام الاقتصادي الذي جعل أميركا قوية فجأة ، وكيف يمكن إصلاحها؟

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Tea Party's Real Goal: To Make Us All So Cynical About Government, We Give Up

democracy

An old friend who has been active in politics for more than thirty years tells me he’s giving up. “I can’t stomach what’s going on in Washington anymore,” he says. “The hell with all of them. I have better things to do with my life.”

My friend is falling exactly into the trap that the extreme right wants all of us to fall into — such disgust and cynicism that we all give up on politics. Then they’re free to take over everything.

Republicans blame the shutdown of Washington and possible default on the nation’s debt on the President’s “unwillingness to negotiate” over the Affordable Care Act. But that law has already been negotiated. It passed both houses of Congress and was signed into law by the President. It withstood a Supreme Court challenge.

The Act is hardly perfect, but neither was Social Security or Medicare when first enacted. The Constitution allows Congress to amend or delay laws that don’t work as well as they were intended, or even to repeal them. But to do any of this requires new legislation – including a majority of both houses of Congress and a president’s signature (or else a vote to override a president’s veto).  

Our system does not allow one party to delay, amend, or repeal a law of the land by shutting down the rest of the government until its demands are met. If that were the way our democracy worked, no law would ever be safe or settled. A disciplined majority in one house could always use the threat of a shutdown or default to gut any law it didn’t like.

So the President cannot re-negotiate the Affordable Care Act. And I don’t believe Tea Bag Republicans expect him to.

Their real goal is far more insidious. They want to sow even greater cynicism about the capacity of government to do much of anything. The shutdown and possible default are only the most recent and most dramatic instances of terminal gridlock, designed to get people like my friend to give up.

And on this score, they’re winning. Congress’s approval rating was already at an all-time low before the shutdown, according to a poll released just hours before Washington went dark. The CNN/ORC poll showed that only 10 percent of Americans approved the job Congress was doing, while 87 percent disapproved. It was the all-time lowest approval rating for Congress on a CNN poll.

A recent Gallup survey found that only 42 percent of Americans — also a record low  — have an even “fair” amount of confidence in the government’s capacity to deal with domestic matters.

And in a recent survey by the Pew Research Center, 26% of Americans say they’re angry at the federal government while 51% feel frustrated. Just 17% say they are basically content with the government. The share expressing anger has risen seven points since January, and now equals the record high reached in August 2011, just after the widely-criticized debt-ceiling agreement between the President and Congress.

It’s a vicious cycle. As average Americans give up on government, they pay less attention to what government does or fails to do — thereby making it easier for the moneyed interests to get whatever they want: tax cuts for themselves and their businesses; regulatory changes that help them but harm employees, consumers, and small investors; special subsidies and other forms of corporate welfare. And these skewed benefits only serve to confirm the public’s cynicism.

The same cynicism also makes it easier to convince the public that even when the government does act for the benefit of the vast majority, it’s not really doing so. So a law like the Affordable Care Act, which, for all its shortcomings, is still a step in the right direction relative to the costly mess of the nation’s healthcare system, is transformed into a nightmarish “government takeover.”

So here’s what I told my friend who said he’s giving up on politics: Don’t. If you give in to bullies, their bullying only escalates. If you give in to cynicism about our democracy, our democracy steadily erodes.

If you believe the fix is in and the game is rigged, and that a handful of billionaires and their Tea Party puppets are destroying our government, do something about it. Rather than give up, get more involved. Become more active. Make a ruckus. It’s our government, and the most important thing you can do for yourself, your family, your community, and the future, is to make it work for all of us.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}