قد يعني الحفاظ على الكنوز الثقافية والتاريخية في مناخ متغير تحويلها

قد يعني الحفاظ على الكنوز الثقافية والتاريخية في مناخ متغير تحويلها
الصورة عن طريق خالية من صور 

مع تقليص السفر العالمي خلال جائحة COVID-19 ، يجد الكثير من الناس الراحة التخطيط للرحلات المستقبلية. لكن تخيل أنك وصلت أخيرًا إلى البندقية و "مدينة عائمة "غمرت المياه. هل ستبقى على أي حال ، تتجول في ساحة سان ماركو على ممرات مؤقتة أو ممرات خشبية مرتفعة - حتى لو لم تتمكن من دخول الكنيسة أو قصر دوجي؟ أو هل ستغادر وتأمل في الزيارة في وقت ما في المستقبل؟

الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ التابعة للأمم المتحدة مؤخرًا وذكرت أن الفيضانات في البندقية ستزداد خلال الثلاثين عامًا القادمة. مع ارتفاع مستوى البحر الأدرياتيكي بضعة مليمترات كل عام ، من المتوقع حدوث فيضانات شديدة تحدث مرة كل 30 عام كل ستة أعوام بحلول عام 100 ، وكل خمسة أشهر بحلول عام 2050.

Venice هو مجرد مثال واحد على تحديات الحفاظ على المعالم الأيقونية المهددة بآثار تغير المناخ ، مثل ارتفاع منسوب البحار وتكرار حالات الجفاف والعواصف وحرائق الغابات المتصاعدة والمتكررة. في بحثي كملف باحث اجتماعي، أنا أساعد مديري التراث على اتخاذ قرارات صعبة تحدد أولويات المواقع التي يجب توفيرها عندما تكون الأموال أو الوقت أو كلاهما محدودًا.

يتضمن التخطيط للتهديد مواقع التراث العالمي ككنوز ثقافية أو طبيعية من قبل الأمم المتحدة لتعليم والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو). العديد من المتنزهات الوطنية الأمريكية هم أيضا في خطر. وكما أراها ، سيتطلب النجاح تفكيرًا جديدًا حول معنى الحفظ.


تشمل مواقع التراث الثقافي المهددة بتغير المناخ المدن والبلدات والمتنزهات الوطنية.

طرق التكيف

في جميع أنحاء العالم ، تواجه مواقع ثقافية لا حصر لها الفيضانات والتعرية والفيضانات المرتبطة بالعواصف من ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحار. وهي تشمل العديد في الولايات المتحدة ، مثل جزيرة جيمستاون في ولاية فرجينيا, تمثال الحرية في نيويورك و تشارلستون ، المنطقة التاريخية في ساوث كارولينا.

خبراء في الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي في جميع أنحاء العالم توافق على أنه كذلك من المستحيل حماية كل هذه الأماكن إلى الأبد. سيتطلب الكثير استعادة مستمرة. سيحتاج البعض الآخر إلى دفاعات مثل الجدران البحرية وبوابات الفيضان - لكن هذه الدفاعات قد لا تكون فعالة لفترة طويلة.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يمكن حماية بعض المواقع بطرق تغيرها بشكل واضح - على سبيل المثال ، رفع المباني أو نقلها ، أو السماح بتلفها أو إزالتها من المناظر الطبيعية. تتجاوز هذه الخطوات الاستعادة ، والتي يمكن أن تتعارض مع ولايات الحفاظ على المواقع والهياكل إلى الأبد.


أغلقت الأضرار الناجمة عن إعصار ساندي في عام 2012 تمثال الحرية في نيويورك ومتحف الهجرة في جزيرة إليس لعدة أشهر.

إنقاذ مباني نورث كارولينا التاريخية

حدث اختبار مبكر لهذا النهج في عام 1999 ، عندما أجبر تآكل لا هوادة فيه لشاطئ نورث كارولينا خدمة المتنزهات القومية على تحريك منارة كيب هاتيراس وأحياء حارس حوالي نصف ميل داخلي. تكلف نقل هذه الهياكل التي تعود إلى منتصف القرن التاسع عشر 19 مليون دولار أمريكي وأثارت جدلاً حول كيفية التعامل مع المباني التاريخية الأخرى المعرضة للخطر.

في عام 2015 ، مديرو في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية شاطئ كيب لوكاوت الوطني أدركت أن المباني في قرية بورتسموث وقرية كيب لوكوت ، وهما منطقتان تاريخيتان بحريتان على الجزر الحاجزة ، معرضة للخطر بسبب الفيضانات المرتبطة بالعواصف وارتفاع منسوب البحار. كانت قرية بورتسموث ، التي يعود تاريخها إلى عام 1753 ، بمثابة مدينة ساحلية مزدهرة خلال الاستيطان الاستعماري ، في حين قدمت قرية كيب لوكاوت الدعم الملاحي ببناء منارة في عام 1812 تم استبدالها في عام 1859.

يتم سرد هذه المباني في السجل الوطني للأماكن التاريخية، الأمر الذي يتطلب من المديرين الحفاظ عليها إلى الأبد. لكن المسؤولين لم يكونوا متأكدين من ذلك أي المباني التاريخية يجب حفظها أولاً. كان عليهم أيضًا تحديد استراتيجية ، مثل نقل المباني أو حتى إزالتها ، من شأنها زيادة الأهمية المحفوظة عبر المناظر الطبيعية للحديقة.

لقد طورت عملية ل تحديد الأهمية النسبية للمباني التاريخية لمساعدتهم. ثم أنشأ فريقنا أداة تخطيط لمساعدة مديري National Park Service على القيام بذلك قرارات فعالة من حيث التكلفة. نموذجنا يجمع بيانات عن أهمية كل مبنى ونقاط ضعفها. يقوم بتقييم تكاليف التكيف ، مثل رفع المباني أو نقلها ، بالنظر إلى التمويل المتاح ، ورسم الاستراتيجيات الممكنة على مدى 30 عامًا.

في عام 1999 ، نقلت National Park Service منارة كيب هاتيراس التاريخية على ارتفاع 2,900 قدم (موقع جديد في أسفل اليمين في الصورة) لحمايتها من تآكل السواحل.
في عام 1999 ، نقلت National Park Service منارة كيب هاتيراس التاريخية على ارتفاع 2,900 قدم (موقع جديد في أسفل اليمين في الصورة) لحمايتها من تآكل السواحل.
مايك بوهير / NPS

عندما اختبرنا النموذج على 17 مبنى من مباني Cape Lookout المعرضة للفيضانات ، وجدنا أن أفضل الاستراتيجيات كانت رفعها في مكانها أو نقلها إلى أرض مرتفعة ثم رفعها. ومع ذلك ، كشفت المقابلات مع السكان المحليين عن تغيير موقع أو مظهر هذه المباني أزعجت بعض السكان السابقين وذريتهم.

كان لدى العديد من الأشخاص الذين تحدثنا إليهم صلات عميقة بهذه الأماكن التي كانت جزءًا من هوياتهم الشخصية والعائلية والمجتمعية. والمثير للدهشة أن البعض قال إنهم يفضلون خسارة بعض هذه المباني على تغييرها. أصحاب المصلحة الآخرون - بما في ذلك أعضاء المنظمات الشريكة وزوار الحديقة - كان لديهم آراء مختلفة حول ما يجب القيام به.

بعد إعصار دوريان تضررت قرية بورتسموث بشدة في عام 2019 ، واتخذ مديرو المنتزهات قرارًا صعبًا بتفكيك وإزالة بعض المباني أثناء ترميم البعض الآخر. لكن يبقى سؤال مهم: ما الذي يجب فعله في المواقع الأخرى المعرضة للخطر بشدة؟

مواقع التراث العالمي التي تواجه تحديات مناخية

ألهمتني هذه النتائج لاستكشاف العالم ، محورها الناس مناهج الحفظ و السياسات الدولية يحكمهم.

التغيرات المناخية يهدد كثير مواقع التراث العالمي. بعضها مواقع أثرية ، مثل بيرو تشان تشان، أكبر مدينة من الطوب اللبن على وجه الأرض ، و مساكن الأجداد بويبلو الجرف في حديقة ميسا فيردي الوطنية في كولورادو. مدن بأكملها - بما في ذلك البندقية - والمباني التاريخية مثل أستراليا دار سيدني للأوبرا هي أيضا في طريق الأذى.

تيار توصيات السياسة التركيز على الاستعادة أو الدفاعات ، ومعارضة التغيير المادي. في الواقع ، العملية الوحيدة الموجودة هي إضافة مواقع تخضع لتغيير مادي إلى قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي المعرضة للخطر. ومع ذلك ، فإن إضافة موقع إلى قائمة "الخطر" هي غير مرغوب فيه سياسيا لأنه يمكن أن يولد صحافة سيئة ويقلل من عائدات السياحة ويردع الممولين عن دعم جهود الإنقاذ.

الحاجة إلى التحول

يدعو بحثي ل نهج أكثر استباقية، بما في ذلك الجهود الوقائية لمنع الضرر. أرى حاجة لفئة جديدة: "مواقع التراث العالمي في التحول المناخي".

هذا النهج يعتمد على المفهوم البيئي للمرونة، وهو في الأساس القدرة على البقاء على قيد الحياة من خلال التغيير والتكيف. سيسمح للمديرين بإصلاح أو تكييف أو حتى تحويل الأماكن المعرضة للخطر. سيضع هذا التصنيف الجديد المجتمعات في مركز عملية التخطيط وإنشاء قاعدة بيانات قابلة للبحث عن تأثيرات المناخ والتدخلات.

قد يكون تحويل المواقع التراثية مثيرًا للجدل ، لكن الساعة تدق. يستغرق البحث والتصميم وبناء الدفاعات وقتًا. على سبيل المثال ، يتم اختبار البوابات المثبتة لحماية البندقية بعد عقد من الزمن مما كان مخططا له.

من وجهة نظري ، سيتطلب إنقاذ المواقع الثقافية والتاريخية من تغير المناخ نهجًا جديدًا للحفاظ على التراث يتضمن التحول. حان الوقت الآن للتفكير بشكل إبداعي ، مع مدخلات من الأشخاص الذين يتم تمثيل تراثهم في هذه الأماكن ، لاكتشاف مسارات جديدة لحمايتهم.

عن المؤلفالمحادثة

إيرين سيكامب ، أستاذة إدارة الحدائق والاستجمام والسياحة ، جامعة ولاية نورث كارولينا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول بين نتائج الأبحاث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإبراز ومناقشة أهمية الحلول القائمة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

تقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لإنشاء أوجه التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتغير المناخ وتدابير الحفاظ على الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

 

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Preserving Cultural and Historic Treasures In A Changing Climate May Mean Transforming Them

Preserving Cultural and Historic Treasures In A Changing Climate May Mean Transforming Them
Image by Free-Photos 

With global travel curtailed during the COVID-19 pandemic, many people are finding comfort in planning future trips. But imagine that you finally arrive in Venice and the “floating city” is flooded. Would you stay anyway, walking through St. Mark’s Square on makeshift catwalks or elevated wooden passages – even if you couldn’t enter the Basilica or the Doge’s Palace? Or would you leave and hope to visit sometime in the future?

The United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change recently reported that over the next 30 years flooding in Venice will increase. With the Adriatic Sea rising a few millimeters each year, severe flooding that once happened every 100 years is predicted to happen every six years by 2050, and every five months by 2100.

Venice is just one example of the challengesof preserving iconic landmarks that are threatened by the effects of climate change, such as rising seas and recurrent, intensifying droughts, storms and wildfires. In my research as a social scientist, I help heritage managers make tough decisions prioritizing which sites to save when funds, time or both are limited.

That includes planning for threatened World Heritage sites designated as cultural or natural treasures by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Many U.S. national parks are also at risk. And as I see it, success will require new thinking about what preservation means.


Cultural heritage sites threatened by climate change include cities, towns and national parks.

Ways of adapting

Across the globe, innumerable cultural sites face storm-related flooding, erosion and inundation from rising seas. They include many in the U.S., such as Jamestown Island in Virginia, New York’s Statue of Liberty and Charleston, South Carolina’s Historic District.

Experts in cultural preservation worldwide agree that it is impossible to protect all of these places forever. Many would require constant restoration. Others will need defenses like sea walls and flood gates – but those defenses might not be effective for long.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Some sites could be protected in ways that visibly alter them – for example, elevating or moving buildings, or allowing them to be damaged or removed from the landscape. Such steps go beyond restoration, which can conflict with mandates to preserve sites and structures in perpetuity.


Damage from Hurricane Sandy in 2012 shut down New York’s Statue of Liberty and the Ellis Island immigration museum for months.

Saving historic North Carolina buildings

An early test of this approach occurred in 1999, when relentless erosion of the North Carolina shoreline forced the National Park Service to move the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse and Keeper’s Quarters about a half-mile inland. Relocating these mid-19th-century structures cost $US11.8 million and sparked debate about how to deal with other imperiled historic buildings.

In 2015, managers at North Carolina’s Cape Lookout National Seashore realized that buildings in Portsmouth Village and Cape Lookout Village, two maritime historic districts on barrier islands, were endangered by storm-related flooding and rising seas. Portsmouth Village, which dates to 1753, served as a thriving port town during colonial settlement, while Cape Lookout Village provided navigational support with construction of a lighthouse in 1812 that was replaced in 1859.

These buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, which requires managers to preserve them in perpetuity. But officials were uncertain about which historic buildings to save first. They also had to identify a strategy, such as moving or even removing buildings, that would maximize the significance preserved across the park’s landscape.

I developed a process to quantify the relative significance of historic buildings to help them. Our team then created a planning tool to help National Park Service managers make cost-effective decisions. Our model compiles data on each building’s significance and vulnerability. It evaluates adaptation costs, such as elevating or relocating buildings, given available funding, and charts possible strategies over a 30-year period.

In 1999 the National Park Service moved the historic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse 2,900 feet inland (new site at lower right in photo) to protect it from shoreline erosion.
In 1999 the National Park Service moved the historic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse 2,900 feet inland (new site at lower right in photo) to protect it from shoreline erosion.
Mike Booher/NPS

When we tested the model on 17 flood-prone Cape Lookout buildings, we found that the best strategies were elevating them in place or moving them to higher ground and then elevating them. However, interviews with local people revealed that changing the location or the look of these buildings upset some former residents and their descendants.

Many people we talked to held deep connections to these places that were part of their personal, family and community identities. Surprisingly, some said they would rather lose some of these buildings than alter them. Other stakeholders – including members of partner organizations and park visitors – had different opinions on what should be done.

After Hurricane Dorian severely damaged Portsmouth Village in 2019, park managers made the hard decision to dismantle and remove some of the buildings while restoring others. But an important question remains: What should be done at other highly vulnerable locations?

Climate-challenged World Heritage sites

These findings inspired me to explore global, people-centered approaches to preservation and the international policies governing them.

Climate change threatens many World Heritage sites. Some are archaeological sites, like Peru’s Chan Chan, the largest adobe city on Earth, and the ancestral Pueblo cliff dwellings in Colorado’s Mesa Verde National Park. Entire cities – including Venice – and historic buildings such as Australia’s Sydney Opera House are also in harm’s way.

Current policy recommendations focus on restoration or defenses, and oppose physical change. In fact, the only process that exists is to add sites undergoing physical change to the List of World Heritage Sites in Danger. However, adding a site to the “danger” list is politically undesirable because it can generate bad press, reduce tourism revenue and deter funders from supporting rescue efforts.

The need to transform

My research calls for a more proactive approach, including preemptive efforts to prevent damage. I see a need for a new category: “World Heritage Sites in Climatic Transformation.”

This approach draws on the ecological concept of resilience, which is essentially the ability to survive by changing and adapting. It would allow managers to repair, adapt or even transform vulnerable places. This new classification would place communities at the center of the planning process and create a searchable database of climate impacts and interventions.

Transforming heritage sites may be controversial, but the clock is ticking. Researching, designing and constructing defenses takes time. For example, floodgates installed to protect Venice are being tested a decade later than planned.

In my view, saving cultural and historic sites from climate change will require a new approach to heritage preservation that includes transformation. Now is the time to think creatively, with input from people whose heritages are represented in these places, to discover new pathways to protecting them.

About the AuthorThe Conversation

Erin Seekamp, Professor of Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management, North Carolina State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…