كيفية حماية الناس في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى من التطرفات المناخية

كيفية حماية الناس في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى من التطرفات المناخية يعمل تكييف الهواء على تبريد سكان المدينة أثناء موجات الحر ، ولكنه يجهد شبكة الكهرباء ويغذي تغير المناخ. جوانا بو / فليكر, CC BY-SA

عادة ما تصل درجات الحرارة الصيفية في شيكاغو إلى الذروة في الثمانينيات المنخفضة ، ولكن في منتصف يوليو 80 تصدرت 100 فهرنهايت مع رطوبة زائدة لمدة ثلاثة أيام متتالية. كانت غرف الطوارئ مكتظة بحالات الإنهاك الحراري وضربات الحرارة ، خاصة في المجتمعات الحضرية وذات الدخل المنخفض والأقليات. وبحلول الوقت الذي انحسرت فيه موجة الحر ، مات أكثر من 700 شخص.

حفزت موجة الحر في شيكاغو بعض المدن للبدء في توفير تكييف مجاني للسكان المعرضين للخطر. ولكن في مختبري في الجامعة في مدرسة بافالو للهندسة والتخطيط، التي تركز على الحد من آثار تغير المناخ على المدن والمباني ، وجدنا أن تكييف الهواء وأنظمة تبريد الوقود الأحفوري الأخرى يمكن أن تخلق مخاطر طويلة الأجل حتى عندما تحل مشاكل قصيرة المدى. كما تغير المناخ يجعل موجات الحرارة أكثر تكرارا عبر المنطقة والأمة، ستحتاج المدن إلى المزيد من الأدوات لحماية سكانها.

كيفية حماية الناس في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى من التطرفات المناخية عمال الصحة يزيلون جثة أحد سكان شيكاغو الذي مات في موجة حر شديدة في يوليو 1995. AP Photo / مايك فيشر

حل غير كامل

في السنوات التي أعقبت حدث شيكاغو الشديد الحرارة عام 1995 ، حاول الباحثون فهم سبب الكثير من الأمراض والوفيات المفرطة. جادل بعض الخبراء بأن 700 حالة وفاة في شيكاغو كانت أحد أعراض الإهمال والعزلة المستمرة من السكان الضعفاء في المدن الأمريكية. استغرق الآخرين النهج الوبائي، مع التركيز على الظروف الصحية الموجودة والعوامل الديموغرافية مثل العمر المتقدم.

اتفقت العديد من الدراسات على أن الوصول إلى تكييف الهواء قد ساعد في حماية الأشخاص من الأمراض المرتبطة بالحرارة والموت. واستجابة لذلك ، بدأت بعض البلديات في توفير أنظمة تكييف هواء مجانية للسكان المعرضين لخطورة عالية. ساعدت هذه الخطوة السكان ذوي الدخل المنخفض ، على الرغم من أن الكثيرين كافحوا لدفع فواتير الكهرباء المرتفعة المرتبطة بالحفاظ على برودة المنزل.

ولكن هناك معضلة أكبر: يعمل تكييف الهواء على تبريد الناس أثناء موجات الحر ، ولكن حيثما يوفر الوقود الأحفوري الكهرباء ، فإن مكيفات الهواء الجارية تساهم في الاحترار العالمي. تعمل أنظمة التبريد أيضًا على إجهاد الشبكة الكهربائية ، مما قد يتسبب في انقطاع التيار الكهربائي وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي خلال فترات الطلب المرتفع.

سكان البحيرات الكبرى في خطر

في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى ، تتوقع نماذج تغير المناخ أن الاحترار العالمي سيزيد من مخاطر درجات الحرارة القصوى وكثافتها ومدتها. تمثل هذه التوقعات تحديًا لمدن مثل روتشستر ، نيويورك ، والتي عادة ما تمر حوالي 12 يومًا فوق 90 ​​فهرنهايت في الصيف. بحلول نهاية القرن ، أكثر من 70 يومًا في الصيف يمكن أن تكون في نطاق درجة الحرارة هذا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، مدن مثل ديترويت وتوليدو وكليفلاند وبافالو لديها شيخوخة السكان ومنظمة الأغذية ارتفاع معدلات الفقر. كلا هذين العاملين يزيد من الضعف.

قبل ظهور أجهزة تكييف الهواء ، كانت أنظمة التبريد "السلبية" هي المعيار في تصميم المباني. تعمل ظلال النوافذ والمواد والطلاءات ذات الألوان الفاتحة والعزل والتهوية الطبيعية على تقليل درجات الحرارة في الداخل. في الآونة الأخيرة ، جدد الباحثون اهتمامهم بـ "البقاء السلبي، أو الأنظمة التي لا تتطلب الكهرباء ولكنها لا تزال تحمي الأشخاص أثناء انقطاع التيار الكهربائي أو التعتيم.

يتم دمج الأنظمة السلبية بسهولة من قبل المهندسين المعماريين في تصميم المباني الجديدة ، ولكن المنازل القائمة تحتاج إلى تعديلات تحديثية. منذ 1970s ، الممولة من الحكومة الفدرالية برنامج المساعدة من الطقس قدمت مليارات الدولارات لمساعدة الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض على حماية نفسها من طقس الشتاء وتوفير المال عن طريق جعل منازلهم أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة.

لسوء الحظ ، لا تستثمر هذه البرامج عادةً في استراتيجيات التبريد في مدن المناخ البارد لأن هذه الإجراءات لا تلبي اختبارات فعالية التكلفة الخاصة بها. وهذا يمثل فرصة ضائعة لحماية السكان من موجات الحر الصيفية.

تم تصميم برنامج المساعدة على الطقس في الولايات المتحدة لمساعدة الأسر الضعيفة على توفير المال وحماية أنفسهم من العناصر.

جعل المنازل أكثر أمانًا من خلال التجوية

وكما أوضح جائحة COVID-19 ، يعد الحصول على سكن آمن مورداً بالغ الأهمية. يشير تقييم وطني لبرنامج المساعدة في حالة الطقس إلى أن المنازل ذات الظروف الجوية قد تكون كذلك مجهز بشكل أفضل لتوفير بيئات آمنة وصحية في أوقات الحاجة.

على سبيل المثال ، برامج مثل جهد "دافئ وجاف" من الناس المتحدة للإسكان المستدام في بوفالو توفير الإصلاحات الأساسية يمكن أن يوقف نمو العفن داخل المنزل. يقدم مقدمو خدمات الطقس الآخرون نصائح بشأن التنظيف والصيانة التي يمكن أن تقلل من عدد نوبات الربو.

لسوء الحظ ، بسبب قيود التمويل ، لا يمكن لبرامج التغلب على الطقس ضمان الإصلاحات اللازمة في كل أسرة مؤهلة. وقد يكون إجراء إصلاحات منزلية بسيطة أمرًا صعبًا بشكل مدهش ، خاصة بالنسبة للأسر ذات الموارد المالية المحدودة.

على سبيل المثال ، يعد فتح النوافذ أمرًا بالغ الأهمية في موجات الحرارة ، ولكن في العديد من المنازل القديمة قد تكون النوافذ قد رسمت أكثر من مرة. في مدن مثل بوفالو ، التي لديها واحدة من أقدم مخزون الإسكان في البلاد ، قد يتطلب كسر النافذة عدة خطوات.

بمجرد تحرير النوافذ ، غالبًا ما يلزم إصلاح الأقفال التالفة أو آليات التوازن. يجب تثبيت الشاشات ، لأن النوافذ المفتوحة يمكن أن تسمح للحشرات أو الآفات الأخرى بالدخول إلى المنزل. ويجب إزالة أي طلاء رصاص على النوافذ بأمان. تحتوي النوافذ القديمة على تركيزات عالية من الدهانات والطلاءات القائمة على الرصاص ويمكن أن تسهم في التسمم بالرصاص.

بالنظر إلى التحدي المتمثل في تجوية المنزل ، أعتقد أن الحكومات الفيدرالية وحكومات الولايات يجب أن تبدأ في دراسة الطرق التي يمكن أن تساعد بها عوامل الطقس على إعداد مجتمعاتنا للمأوى في المستقبل من موجات الحر والأمطار الشديدة وأشكال أخرى من غربة المناخ.

كيفية حماية الناس في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى من التطرفات المناخية تتعلق عوامل الطقس بشكل أساسي بفوائد الطاقة ، ولكنها يمكن أن تؤدي إلى فوائد صحية أخرى للأسرة وغير تتعلق بالطاقة. DOE

محفز التجوية

في عام 2009 أقر الكونغرس قانون الانتعاش الأمريكي وإعادة الاستثمار استجابة للأزمة المالية المستمرة. سمح القانون بزيادة لمرة واحدة بقيمة 5 مليارات دولار أمريكي في تمويل الطقس.

A قسم تحليل الطاقة يظهر أن هذا البرنامج أنقذ الأسر ما متوسطه 3,190،7.3 دولارًا ، وخفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بأكثر من 28,000 مليون طن متري وخلق 2019 وظيفة. في عام XNUMX ، أفادت الوكالة أن كل دولار يستثمر في الطقس أعاد 1.72 دولارًا من وفورات الطاقة و 2.78 دولارًا من الفوائد الأخرى للاقتصاد.

لقد مر الكونجرس بالفعل حزمة التحفيز الفيدرالية 2 تريليون دولار لمساعدة الاقتصاد الأمريكي على التعافي من جائحة الفيروس التاجي ويتوقع المزيد من حزم الإنقاذ، ربما بما في ذلك استثمارات البنية التحتية. من وجهة نظري ، يمكن أن يؤدي توسيع برنامج المساعدة للتكيف مع الطقس إلى إعادة العاطلين عن العمل إلى العمل ، والحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ومساعدة مدننا على الاستعداد لمستقبل مناخي غير مؤكد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

نيكولاس راجكوفيتش ، أستاذ مساعد في الهندسة المعمارية ، جامعة بوفالو ، جامعة ولاية نيويورك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, ومنظمة الأغذية ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Cybersex والتكنولوجيا المثيرة والحميمية الافتراضية في ازدياد
Cybersex والتكنولوجيا المثيرة والحميمية الافتراضية في ازدياد
by سيمون دوبي وديف أنكتيل وماريا سانتاجويدا
ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
لماذا يفتقد الناس تنقلاتهم اليومية
لماذا يفتقد الناس تنقلاتهم اليومية
by علامات أبيجيل وآخرون

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

How To Protect People In The Great Lakes Region From Climate Extremes

How To Protect People In The Great Lakes Region From Climate Extremes Air conditioning cools city residents during heat waves, but also strains the power grid and fuels climate change. Joanna Poe/Flickr, CC BY-SA

Summer temperatures in Chicago normally peak in the low 80s, but in mid-July 1995 they topped 100 F with excessive humidity for three days straight. Emergency rooms were overwhelmed with cases of heat exhaustion and heat stroke, especially in urban, low-income and minority communities. By the time the heat wave receded, more than 700 people had died.

The Chicago heat wave spurred some cities to start providing free air conditioning for at-risk populations. But in my lab at the University at Buffalo School of Architecture and Planning, which focuses on reducing climate change impacts on cities and buildings, we have found that air conditioning and other fossil fuel cooling systems can create long-term risks even as they solve short-term problems. As climate change makes heat waves more frequent across the region and the nation, cities will need more tools to protect their residents.

How To Protect People In The Great Lakes Region From Climate Extremes Health workers remove the body of a Chicago resident who died in a major heat wave in July 1995. AP Photo/Mike Fisher

An imperfect solution

In the years following Chicago’s 1995 extreme heat event, researchers tried to understand what had caused so many excessive illnesses and deaths. Some experts argued that Chicago’s 700 deaths were a symptom of ongoing neglect and isolation of vulnerable residents in American cities. Others took an epidemiological approach, focusing on preexisting health conditions and demographic factors such as advanced age.

Many studies agreed that access to air conditioning had helped to protect people from temperature-related illness and death. In response, some municipalities began to provide free air conditioning systems to high-risk populations. This step helped lower-income residents, although many struggled to pay the higher electricity bills associated with keeping a house cool.

But there’s a larger conundrum: Air conditioning cools people during heat waves, but wherever fossil fuels provide electricity, running air conditioners contributes to global warming. Cooling systems also strain the electrical grid, potentially causing brownouts and blackouts during periods of high demand.

Great Lakes residents at risk

In the Great Lakes region, climate change models anticipate that global warming will increase the risk, intensity and duration of temperature extremes. This forecast presents a challenge for cities like Rochester, New York, which typically only experience about 12 days over 90 F in the summer. By the end of the century, over 70 days in summer could be in that temperature range.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In addition, cities including Detroit, Toledo, Cleveland and Buffalo have aging populations and high rates of poverty. Both of these factors increase vulnerability.

Before the advent of air conditioning, “passive” cooling systems were the norm in building design. Window shades, light-colored materials and coatings, insulation and natural ventilation all reduce temperatures indoors. Recently, researchers have renewed their interest in “passive survivability,” or systems that don’t require electricity but still protect people during a brownout or blackout.

Passive systems are easily incorporated by architects into the design of new buildings, but existing houses need retrofits. Since the 1970s, the federally funded Weatherization Assistance Program has provided billions of dollars to help low-income households protect themselves from winter weather and save money by making their homes more energy efficient.

Unfortunately, these programs typically do not invest in cooling strategies in cold-climate cities because these measures don’t meet their cost effectiveness tests. This represents a missed opportunity to protect residents from summertime heat waves.

The U.S. Weatherization Assistance Program is designed to help vulnerable households save money and protect themselves from the elements.

Making homes safer through weatherization

As the COVID-19 pandemic has shown, access to safe housing is a critical resource. A national evaluation of the Weatherization Assistance Program indicates that weatherized homes may be better equipped to provide safe, healthy environments in times of need.

For example, programs like the “Warm and Dry” effort from People United for Sustainable Housing in Buffalo provide basic repairs that can stop the growth of mold indoors. Other weatherization providers give advice on cleaning and maintenance that can reduce the number of asthma attacks.

Unfortunately, due to funding constraints, weatherization programs can’t ensure necessary repairs in every household that qualifies. And taking on simple home repairs can be surprisingly difficult, especially for households with limited financial resources.

For example, opening windows is critical in heat waves, but in many older homes windows may have been painted over several times. In cities like Buffalo, which has one of the oldest housing stocks in the country, cracking a window may require several steps.

Once windows are freed, damaged locks or balancing mechanisms often need to be repaired. Screens should be installed, since open windows can allow insects or other pests into the house. And any lead paint on windows needs to be removed safely. Old windows contain high concentrations of lead-based paints and coatings and can contribute to lead poisoning.

Given the challenge of weatherizing a home, I believe that federal and state governments should begin to examine ways in which weatherization can help prepare our communities to shelter in place in the future from heat waves, extreme precipitation and other forms of climate weirding.

How To Protect People In The Great Lakes Region From Climate Extremes Weatherization is mainly about energy benefits, but can yield other household health and non-energy benefits. DOE

A weatherization stimulus

In 2009 Congress passed the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act in response to the ongoing financial crisis. The law authorized a one-time US$5 billion increase in weatherization funding.

A Department of Energy analysis shows that this program saved households an average of $3,190, reduced carbon dioxide emissions by over 7.3 million metric tons and created 28,000 jobs. In 2019, the agency reported that every dollar invested in weatherization returned $1.72 in energy savings and $2.78 in other benefits to the economy.

Congress has already passed a $2 trillion federal stimulus package to help the U.S. economy recover from the coronavirus pandemic, and more rescue packages are expected, possibly including infrastructure investments. In my view, expanding the Weatherization Assistance Program could put unemployed people back to work, reduce greenhouse gas emissions and help our cities prepare for an uncertain climate future.

About The Author

Nicholas Rajkovich, Assistant Professor of Architecture, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…