لقد أدت الاستجابة العالمية للفيروس التاجي إلى خفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون - وإليك كيفية إبقائها منخفضة

لقد أدت الاستجابة العالمية للفيروس التاجي إلى خفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون - وإليك كيفية إبقائها منخفضة
صورة من Pixabay

كيف تستجيب للأزمة؟ من الواضح أن الاستجابة لوباء COVID-19 كانت مختلفة بشكل كبير عن أي شيء أثارته التحذيرات العلمية المتكررة حول تغير المناخ. لم تسن العديد من المنظمات التي أعلنت حالات الطوارئ المناخية طوال عامي 2019 و 2020 حتى الآن أي شيء مثل حجم وسرعة العمل للحد من انتشار الفيروس التاجي.

بينما العمل على COVID-19 له خفض انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون بشكل كبيرومع تعليق الرحلات الجوية وإغلاق المصانع في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم ، فقد أظهرت أيضًا مدى الضرر الذي يمكن أن تحدثه الاستجابة السريعة ، مقارنة بالتحول الثابت والمخطط الذي كان يمكن اعتماده للتخلص التدريجي من الانبعاثات قبل عقود.

السؤال العاجل الآن هو كيفية الحفاظ على الفوائد البيئية بمجرد أن يتلاشى وباء COVID-19 ، وكيفية التعلم من استجابة أزمة واحدة في السعي وراء أخرى.

"منزلنا مشتعل"

في يناير 2020 ، سألني مؤلفو خطة العمل المناخي لمجلس مقاطعة دورهام لماذا أثارت أزمة المناخ مثل هذه الاستجابة الصامتة. لماذا تثير أزمة ما العمل واللامبالاة؟ لقد كتب الكثير عن الإنكار ، ولكن هناك أسباب وجيهة تجعل أزمة المناخ تبدو أبعد من COVID-19. كانت العواقب تظهر ببطء (حالة كلاسيكية "متلازمة الضفدع المسلوق") ، ولا تشعر بالتأثيرات بالتساوي.

دق سكان القطب الشمالي ناقوس الخطر لسنوات ، وكذلك أولئك الذين يعيشون في جزر المحيط الهادئ المنخفضة. لكن أولئك الذين يعيشون في البلدان الغنية في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية كانوا قادرين على تأجيل قضية المناخ كشيء ينتمي إلى المستقبل البعيد. نعم ، إنه فظيع ، لكنه يبدو كبيرًا جدًا وبعيدًا جدًا في التعامل معه. مثل الفيضانات و حرائق الغابات على مقربة ، بدأت الردود تتغير ، ولكن ببطء وبشكل متقطع.

ينتشر جائحة في هذه البلدان إلى حد كبير هنا والآن. انتشرت العدوى في أيام وأسابيع ، وليس سنوات وعقود ، وهذا الفارق الزمني يصدم الناس إلى العمل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في حالة الحياة المباشرة أو الموت ، سيتخذ معظمنا إجراءات لتقليل مخاطرنا إذا عرض علينا الاختيار. من ناحية أخرى ، قد يتسبب تغير المناخ في العديد من الوفيات أو أكثر ، لكن الاستجابات لم تتم الموافقة عليها بهذه السرعة. يتصرف الناس على المطالب الفورية للمستقبل القريب - أو يؤمنون بالخلاص المطلق ، حتى عندما تكون التهديدات متوسطة المدى أكبر من اللازم.

نظرًا لإلغاء الرحلات الجوية وعمل أعداد كبيرة من الأشخاص من منازلهم ، يقل عدد المسافرين ويقلل انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون. هل من الممكن التأكد من أن بعض الأشياء لا تعود إلى ما كانت عليه؟

قفل التغيير على المدى الطويل

أبحاث العلوم الاجتماعية يوضح لنا أن كيفية السفر ، وكيف نستخدم الطاقة ، وكيف نتوقع العيش ليست مجرد أسئلة من اختيار شخصي. عندما تذهب العائلات في عطلة ، تغرس التوقعات في أطفالها حول كيفية العيش بشكل جيد ، وكيفية تحمل الانزعاج على أمل المتعة في المستقبل ، وكيفية التحدث عن العطلات بمجرد عودتهم إلى المنزل مرة أخرى.

وبنفس الطريقة ، فإن ما نعرفه على أنه وسائل الراحة المنزلية يتغير بمرور الوقت ، ويختلف بين المنازل. لم يتوقع أي فيكتوري أن يجلس على أريكة في قميص في منتصف الشتاء. كيف نتخيل تغييراتنا المستقبلية ، ونخطط وفقًا لذلك. لذلك لا يقتصر الأمر على اتخاذ خيارات أفضل فحسب ، بل وجود خيارات أفضل للاختيار من بينها.

نظرًا لأن الناس يدركون أن العمل عن بُعد يمكن أن يكون فعالًا للبعض ، وأن أوقات الفراغ يمكن أن تكون ممتعة في المنزل أيضًا ، فقد حان الوقت للحكومات والشركات لكتابة سياسات تغذي هذه الاتجاهات - مثل النطاق العريض العام عالي الجودة ، والضرائب على وقود الطائرات .

يبدو أن الدول تستعيد ثقتها القديمة لاتخاذ إجراءات حاسمة في ضوء الفيروس. صدمة رؤية حكومات مثل تلك الموجودة في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة - والتي كانت تميل إلى ذلك تخطيط تعهد للأسواق والمشاريع الخاصة خلال الأربعين سنة الماضية - تأمل الدخل الأساسي العالمي لحماية العمال يجب أن تعطي الأمل لبيئي البيئة برؤية جديدة لما هو ممكن. بمجرد أن يهدأ COVID-19 ، يمكننا جميعًا ممارسة الضغط لضمان أن الحكومات تلقي بثقلها وراء استجابة طموحة مماثلة لتغير المناخ.

من المهم بشكل ظاهري أن يعود الناس إلى الحياة الاجتماعية بعد انتهاء "التباعد الاجتماعي" ، ولكن يمكننا القيام بذلك بناءً على أولويات جديدة - التنشئة الاجتماعية والاستمتاع بالفنون والموسيقى محليًا أو من خلال البث المباشر ، والتخلي عن رؤى القرن العشرين للمستقبل بناءً على نمو غير محدود وسفر غير محدود واستهلاك غير محدود.

إذا قامت الحكومات بإنقاذ شركات السفر بالطريقة التي قامت بها بإنقاذ البنوك في عامي 2008 و 2009 ، فستعود جميع القوى التي تروج للسفر ، ومن المرجح أن تعود التوقعات إلى معايير ما قبل فيروس التاجي ، كما يوضح سلوك البنوك بعد الانهيار.

ولكن إذا تم تحويل الاستثمارات إلى بدائل منخفضة الكربون واضطرت الصناعات إلى تغيير شكلها ، فقد نرى تغييرًا في التوقعات العامة أيضًا. خلال لحظات الأزمات يبدأ ما هو ممكن في التحول - كل شيء في الهواء ، ولدينا لحظة لإعادة تكوين الأشياء قبل أن تعود إلى مكانها. تجري عملية التقشير باستخدام كيف أن الاكتشافات والتطورات ليست سلسة ومتساوية ، ولكنها تأتي في انفجارات وتهدئات ، ويمكن أن يتغير فجأة الإجماع الواسع في المجتمع ، في ما وصفه الفيلسوف توماس كون بـ "تحولات النموذج".

ربما ، ربما فقط ، سيعطينا الوباء منظورًا جديدًا لما هي الأزمة. في حين أن كل شيء في الهواء ، هناك وقت لإعادة التفكير.

عن المؤلف

سيمون أبرام، أستاذ في قسم الأنثروبولوجيا ، المدير المشارك لمعهد دورهام للطاقة ، جامعة دورهام

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

World's Response To Coronavirus Has Slashed CO2 Emissions – Here's How To Keep Them Down

World's Response To Coronavirus Has Slashed CO2 Emissions – Here's How To Keep Them Down
Image from Pixabay

How do you respond to a crisis? It’s obvious that the response to the COVID-19 pandemic has been dramatically different to anything provoked by repeated scientific warnings about climate change. The many organisations that declared climate emergencies throughout 2019 and 2020 have so far enacted nothing like the scale and speed of action to limit the spread of coronavirus.

While action on COVID-19 has lowered CO₂ emissions drastically, with flights suspended and factories closed in many parts of the world, it has also shown how damaging a rapid response can be, compared to a steady and planned transition that could have been adopted to phase out emissions decades ago.

The urgent question now is how to maintain the environmental benefits once the COVID-19 epidemic wanes, and how to learn from one crisis response in the pursuit of another.

“Our house is on fire”

In January 2020, I was asked by authors of Durham County Council’s climate action plan why the climate crisis had evoked such a muted response. Why does one crisis evoke action and another apathy? Much has been written about denial, but there are good reasons why the climate crisis seems more remote than COVID-19. The consequences have been emerging slowly (a classic case of “boiled frog syndrome”), and the effects aren’t evenly felt.

Arctic populations have been sounding the alarm for years, as have those living on low-lying Pacific islands. But those living in rich countries in Europe and North America have been able to postpone the climate issue as something belonging to the distant future. Yes, it is terrible, but it seems both too big, and too remote to deal with. As floods and wildfires close in, responses have started to change, but only slowly and sporadically.

A pandemic in these same countries very much belongs to the here and now. Infections spread in days and weeks, not years and decades, and this time difference shocks people into action.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In a situation of immediate life or death, most of us will take action to reduce our risk if we are offered a choice. Climate change, on the other hand, may well bring about just as many deaths or more, but responses have not been sanctioned so quickly. People act on the immediate demands of the near future – or believe in ultimate salvation, even while the medium-term threats are inordinately greater.

As flights are cancelled and significant numbers of people work from home, there’s less travel, and so fewer CO₂ emissions. Is it possible to ensure that some things don’t go back to the way they were?

Locking in long-term change

Social science research shows us that how we travel, how we use energy and how we expect to live are not merely questions of personal choice. When families go on holiday, they instil expectations in their children about how to live well, how to put up with discomfort in the hope of future pleasure, and how to talk about holidays once they get home again.

In the same way, what we define as home comforts changes over time, and they vary between homes. No Victorian ever expected to lounge around on a sofa in a T-shirt in the middle of winter. How we imagine our future changes, and we plan accordingly. So it’s not just about making better choices, but having better options to choose from.

As people realise that remote working can be effective for some, and that leisure can be fun at home too, now is the time for governments and businesses to write policies that nurture these tendencies – like high-quality public broadband, and taxes on aeroplane fuel.

States seem to be recovering their old confidence to take decisive action in light of the virus. The shock of seeing governments like those in the US and UK – which have tended to entrust planning to markets and private enterprise during the last 40 years – contemplate universal basic income to protect workers should give hope to environmentalists with a new vision of what’s possible. Once COVID-19 subsides, we could all apply pressure to ensure governments throw their weight behind a similarly ambitious response to climate change.

It’s phenomenally important for people to return to social life after “social distancing” ends, but we can do that based on new priorities – socialising and enjoying arts and music locally or through livestreams, and letting go of 20th century visions of the future based on unlimited growth, unlimited travel, and unlimited consumption.

If governments bail out travel companies in the way they bailed out banks in 2008 and 2009, then all the forces to promote travel will return and expectations are likely to go back to pre-coronavirus standards, as the behaviour of banks after the crash demonstrates.

But if investments are shifted to low-carbon alternatives and industries are forced to change shape, we might see a change in public expectations too. It’s during moments of crisis that what is possible starts to shift – everything is up in the air, and we have a moment to reconfigure things before they fall back into place. Studies have shown how discoveries and developments are not smooth and even, but come in bursts and lulls, and broad consensus in a society can suddenly change, in what philosopher Thomas Kuhn called “paradigm shifts”.

Maybe, just maybe, the pandemic will give us a new perspective on what a crisis is. While everything is up in the air, there is time to rethink.

About the Author

Simone Abram, Professor in the Dept of Anthropology, Co-Director of Durham Energy Institute, Durham University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)