يستغرق الكثير من الماء لإطعامنا ، ولكن المياه المعاد تدويرها يمكن أن تساعد

يستغرق الكثير من الماء لإطعامنا ، ولكن المياه المعاد تدويرها يمكن أن تساعد
الخرشوف ينمو في منطقة Werribee South ، وهي منطقة تستخدم المياه المعاد تدويرها للري. جين شيريدان

الأستراليون يأكلون الكثير من الماء - الماء المستخدم لإنتاج غذائنا. نتائج جديدة من موقعنا دراسة فودبورن ملبورن تقدير ذلك يتم استخدام أكثر من 475 لتر من الماء لزراعة طعام كل شخص كل يوم.

هذا هو مجرد مياه الري المستخدمة لزراعة طعامنا. نستهلك أكثر بكثير من 475 L إذا قمت بتضمين مياه الأمطار (التي لا يتم تتبعها في حسابات المياه الوطنية) أو المياه المستخدمة في التصنيع والتصنيع.

لوضع هذا في السياق ، فإن كمية المياه المستخدمة لزراعة الطعام في ملبورن كل عام (758 GL) تبلغ حوالي ضعف كمية المياه المستخدمة في منازل الناس (376 GL).

ستزداد كمية المياه اللازمة لإطعام أستراليا مع نمو السكان ، ولكن من المحتمل أن ينخفض ​​توفر المياه لإنتاج الغذاءبسبب آثار تغير المناخ وزيادة المنافسة. هذا يمكن أن يقلل إنتاج الغذاء في وعاء الغذاء الرئيسي في البلاد ، حوض موراي دارلينج.

يمكن أن يؤدي نقص المياه المخصصة لإنتاج الغذاء إلى ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية ، كما رأينا أثناء الجفاف الألفي في أستراليا. بين 2005 و 2007 ارتفعت أسعار المواد الغذائية بمعدل ضعفي معدل مؤشر أسعار المستهلك. زيادة أسعار الفاكهة والخضروات بنسبة 33-43٪.

قواعد إعادة التدوير

مع زيادة التنافس على المياه ، من المرجح أن تصبح المياه المعاد تدويرها أكثر أهمية. يمكن إعادة استخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها لإنتاج الغذاء إذا تعامل على مستوى عال.

يستخدم بالفعل لإنتاج الغذاء في مشاريع الري القريبة ملبورن . أديليد التي تستخدم المياه من محطات معالجة المياه في المدينة. ولكن يتم استخدام القليل نسبيا من المياه المعاد تدويرها المتاحة. حسابات المياه المعاد تدويرها لمجرد 1٪ من مياه الري المستخدمة للزراعة في أستراليا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مدينة هامش foodbowls تقديم فرصة فريدة للحد من تعرض إنتاج الأغذية للجفاف ، لأنها قريبة من مصادر المياه المعاد تدويرها من محطات معالجة مياه المدينة.

يوجد في ملبورن محطتان رئيسيتان للمعالجة في الشرق والغرب ، وهما قريبان من مناطق زراعة الخضروات الرئيسية في غرب ملبورن (Werribee) والجنوب الشرقي (كيسي ، كاردينيا و ال شبه جزيرة مورنينغتون).

يتم استخدام حوالي 6٪ من المياه الناتجة عن محطات المعالجة هذه في الزراعة ، بينما يستخدم 10٪ بطرق أخرى. يتم التخلص من نسبة 84٪ الأخرى من المياه المعاد تدويرها في البحر.

لا يمكن استخدام جميع المياه المعاد تدويرها التي تنتجها محطات معالجة المياه في ملبورن في الزراعة. يتم إنتاج كمية كبيرة من المياه خلال فصل الشتاء ، خارج موسم النمو الرئيسي ، وتفتقر ملبورن إلى البنية التحتية لتخزين المياه المعاد تدويرها وأنابيبها للمزارعين.

يمكن للمزارعين أيضا تجربة مشاكل مع جودة المياه. قد يحتاجون إلى ضبط بعض الممارسات الزراعية لاستخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها بشكل فعال.

ومع ذلك ، تشير نتائجنا إلى أن 10٪ فقط من المياه المعاد تدويرها المتوفرة من محطات معالجة المدينة يمكن أن تنتج ما يكفي من الخضروات ل تلبية حوالي نصف احتياجات سكان ملبورن. وهذا من شأنه أن يقدم مساهمة قيمة في أمن إمدادات المدينة الغذائية.

الاستثمار في المستقبل

إن الاستثمار في البنية التحتية لتخزين وتسليم المياه المعاد تدويرها إلى عدد أكبر من المزارعين يمكن أن "يثبت الجفاف" في بعض أجزاء وعاء الطعام في ملبورن ، ويؤمن إنتاج الخضروات المحلي في هذه المناطق.

تم تقديم حجج مماثلة في الآونة الأخيرة في جنوب أستراليا. اقتراح لتخزين المياه المعاد تدويرها المنتجة خلال فصل الشتاء في واحدة من أكبر أنظمة المياه المعاد تدويرها في أستراليا ، فإن مشروع خط أنابيب فرجينيا ، سيفعل ذلك توفير المياه للمزارعين خلال موسم النمو.

أصبحت أهمية الاستثمار في البنية التحتية لاستخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها لإنتاج الغذاء واضحة في فيكتوريا خلال الجفاف الألفي في أستراليا. في 2004 ، قررت الحكومة الفيكتورية الاستثمار في رفع مستوى العلاج في محطة المعالجة الغربية في ملبورن في Werribee. وهذا يعني أن المياه المعاد تدويرها يمكن استخدامها كمصدر "إضافي" للمياه لمزارعي الخضروات في مكان قريب ويريبي ساوث، واحدة من أهم مناطق الدولة لإنتاج الخضروات.

بحلول 2006 ، كان هناك القليل جدا من النهر أو المياه الجوفية المتاحة. أصبحت المياه المعاد تدويرها المصدر الرئيسي للمياه لمزارعي الخضروات في المنطقة ، مما يتيح الإنتاج لمواصلة خلال الجفاف.

أستراليا لديها بعض من أكبر مبادرات المياه المعاد تدويرها في العالم. كما يتزايد استخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها في الزراعة مناطق أخرى تعاني من ضغوط المياه ، مثل كاليفورنيا.

كمنطقة جافة من المحتمل أن تصبح أكثر جفافًا في المستقبل ، هناك أسباب وجيهة لتوسيع نطاق أستراليا لاستخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها لإنتاج الغذاء ، وخاصة في أحواض الطعام في المدينة ، والاستثمار الآن في البنية التحتية التي من شأنها تأمين إمدادات الأغذية الطازجة المحلية للمستقبل.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

راشيل كاري ، زميل أبحاث ، جامعة ملبورن. جينيفر شيريدان ، باحثة في النظم الغذائية المستدامة ، جامعة ملبورنو Seona Candy ، زميل أبحاث: أنظمة الأغذية المستدامة ، جامعة ملبورن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

It Takes A Lot Of Water To Feed Us, But Recycled Water Could Help

It Takes A Lot Of Water To Feed Us, But Recycled Water Could Help
Artichokes growing in Werribee South, an area that uses recycled water for irrigation. Jen Sheridan

Australians eat a lot of water – the water that is used to produce our food. New findings from our Foodprint Melbourne study estimate that more than 475 litres of water is used to grow each person’s food every day.

This is just the irrigation water used to grow our food. We consume much more than 475 L if you include rainwater (which isn’t tracked in national water accounts) or water used in processing and manufacturing.

To put this in context, the amount of water used to grow food for Melbourne each year (758 GL) is around double the amount of water used in people’s homes (376 GL).

The amount of water needed to feed Australia will increase as the population grows, but the availability of water for food production is likely to decrease, due to the impacts of climate change and greater competition. This could reduce food production in the nation’s major food bowl, the Murray-Darling Basin.

A lack of water for food production could lead to rising food prices, as was seen during Australia’s Millennium Drought. Between 2005 and 2007 food prices increased at twice the rate of the Consumer Price Index. Fruit and vegetable prices increased by 33-43%.

Recycling rules

As competition for water increases, recycled water is likely to become more important. Recycled water can be used to produce food if treated to a high standard.

It is already used to produce food in irrigation schemes near Melbourne and Adelaide that use water from city water treatment plants. But relatively little of the available recycled water is used. Recycled water accounts for just 1% of the irrigation water used for agriculture in Australia.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


City fringe foodbowls present a unique opportunity to reduce the vulnerability of food production to drought, because they are close to sources of recycled water from city water treatment plants.

Melbourne has two main treatment plants in the east and west, which are close to key vegetable-growing areas in Melbourne’s west (Werribee) and south-east (Casey, Cardinia and the Mornington Peninsula).

Around 6% of the water from these treatment plants is used for agriculture and 10% is used in other ways. The other 84% of the recycled water is disposed of at sea.

Not all of the recycled water produced by Melbourne’s water treatment plants can currently be used for agriculture. A significant amount of the water is produced during winter, outside of the main growing season, and Melbourne lacks the infrastructure to store the recycled water and to pipe it to farmers.

Farmers can also experience issues with water quality. They may need to adjust some farming practices to use recycled water effectively.

However, our findings suggest that just 10% of the recycled water available from the city’s treatment plants could produce enough vegetables to meet around half of the needs of Melbourne’s population. That would make a valuable contribution to the security of the city’s food supply.

Investing for the future

Investments in infrastructure to store and deliver recycled water to more farmers could “drought proof” some parts of Melbourne’s food bowl, securing local vegetable production in these areas.

Similar arguments have been made recently in South Australia. A proposal to store recycled water produced during winter at one of Australia’s largest recycled water schemes, the Virginia Pipeline Scheme, would make water available to farmers during the growing season.

The importance of investing in infrastructure to use recycled water for food production became clear in Victoria during Australia’s Millennium Drought. In 2004, the Victorian government decided to invest in upgrading treatment at Melbourne’s Western Treatment Plant at Werribee. This meant recycled water could be used as a “supplementary” source of water for vegetable farmers in nearby Werribee South, one of the state’s most important areas of vegetable production.

By 2006, very little river or groundwater was available. Recycled water became the main source of water for vegetable growers in the area, enabling production to continue through the drought.

Australia has some of the largest recycled water initiatives in the world. The use of recycled water for agriculture is also growing in other regions experiencing water pressures, such as California.

As a dry region that is likely to become drier in future, there are good reasons for Australia to expand the use of recycled water for food production, particularly in city food bowls, and to invest now in infrastructure that will secure supplies of local fresh foods for the future.The Conversation

About The Authors

Rachel Carey, Research Fellow, University of Melbourne; Jennifer Sheridan, Researcher in sustainable food systems, University of Melbourne, and Seona Candy, Research Fellow: Sustainable Food Systems, University of Melbourne

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}