اترك الضحك بدلاً من البكاء: فكاهة المناخ يمكن أن تنهار الحواجز وتجد أرضية مشتركة

اترك الضحك بدلاً من البكاء: فكاهة المناخ يمكن أن تنهار الحواجز وتجد أرضية مشتركة
احتجاج في جواهاتي ، الهند ، في العاشر من سبتمبر ، 20 ، جزء من المظاهرات العالمية قبل قمة الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك. صور AP / أنوبام ناث

تغير المناخ ليس مضحكا بطبيعته. عادةً ما يكون المرسلون من العلماء الجادين الذين يصفون كيف أن ارتفاع انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة يضر الكوكب على الأرض و عندالبحرأو تقييم الدور الذي لعبته في الأحدث حريق هائل or الإعصار.

قد يكون المجتمع قد وصل إلى نقطة التشبع لمثل هذه المناقشات البائسة التي تهدد العلوم. هذا الاحتمال هو ما يلهم عملي الأخير مع الزميل بيث أوسنيس للحصول على رسائل حول تغير المناخ من خلال الكوميديا ​​والفكاهة.

لدي درس وتمارس التواصل المناخي لنحو 20 سنوات. كتابي الجديد "الاتصالات الإبداعية (المناخ)، "يدمج البحوث والممارسات في العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية لربط الناس بشكل أكثر فعالية من خلال القضايا التي يهتمون بها. بدلاً من "إسقاط" العلوم بالنسبة للجمهور ، هذا هو نهج "الإذكاء" الذي أظهر أنه يجمع الناس حول موضوع مثير للجدل للغاية.

يقوم طلاب جامعة كولورادو بولدر بتمثيل مسرحية هزلية كوميدية على متن طائرة تعمل بدواسة:

لماذا تضحك على تغير المناخ؟

العلم مهم للغاية لفهم ضخامة تحدي المناخ وكيفية ارتباطه بمشاكل أخرى مثل الكوارث والأمن الغذائي ونوعية الهواء المحلي والهجرة. لكن القصص المنبثقة عن طرق علمية لمعرفة فشلت في إشراك وتفعيل جمهور كبير.

عادة ما تخنق المقاربات والتفسيرات الكئيبة الجماهير بدلاً من إلهامهم لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة. على سبيل المثال ، نشر الروائي جوناثان فرانز مؤخرًا مقالة في مجلة The New Yorker بعنوان "ماذا لو توقفنا عن التظاهر؟"حيث أكد:

"لقد كان الهدف (وقف تغير المناخ) واضحًا لمدة ثلاثين عامًا ، وعلى الرغم من الجهود الجادة التي حققناها لم نحرز أي تقدم نحو الوصول إليها".

أظهرت أبحاث العلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية أن هذا النوع من التأطير يعيق بشكل فعال القراء الذين يمكن تفعيلهم وتحريكهم بطريقة أكثر ذكاءً.

اتخذت كاريكاتير مسارا مختلفا عندما أصدرت اللجنة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ تقريرا في 2018 يحذر فيه العالم كان فقط حتى حوالي 2030 لاتخاذ الخطوات التي يمكن أن تحد من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة إلى مستويات يمكن التحكم فيها. لاحظ تريفور نوح ، مقدم برنامج The Daily Show في كوميدي سنترال:

"أنت تعرف الأشخاص المجانين الذين تراهم في الشوارع وهم يهتفون أن العالم ينتهي؟ تبين ، انهم جميعا في الواقع علماء المناخ".

في برنامج "Jimmy Kimmel Live" على ABC ، ​​علق Kimmel:

هناك دائما بطانة فضية. كارثة أحد الكواكب هي جزء من متجر كوكب آخر. "

قام بعد ذلك بالتحول إلى إعلان خارج عن العمل لـ Planet Earth نصه:

"كل شئ يجب ان يذهب! 50٪ من جميع الحيوانات الليلية والحشرات والزواحف والبرمائيات ... سعر البيع قبل أن نعيش في الجحيم. ولكن يجب أن تتصرف بسرعة لأن كوكب الأرض انتهى قريبًا. و عندما ذهب، ذهبت".

الجو حار هنا

يدرس علماء العلوم الإنسانية والإنسانية طرقًا جديدة أكثر فاعلية للتواصل بشأن تغير المناخ. على نحو متسق ، كما أصف في كتابي ، يُظهر البحث أن التواصل العاطفي واللمسي والحشوي والتجريبي يلتقي بالناس أين هم. هذه الطرق إثارة العمل والمشاركة.

لقد درس العلماء كيف يظهر مثل "ليلة السبت لايف، ""الأسبوع الماضي الليلة، ""جيمي كيميل لايف، ""أمامي الكامل"و"معرض يوميا"استخدام النكات لزيادة التفاهم والمشاركة. في أحد الأمثلة ، ظهر نائب الرئيس السابق آل غور في برنامج "ذا ليت شو شو مع ستيفن كولبير" في 2017 وتناوب مع كولبير الذي يقدم خطوط بيك آب لتغير المناخ على موسيقى خلفية هادئة بطيئة المربى:

غور: "هل أنت تغير المناخ؟ لأنه عندما أنظر إليك ، يختفي العالم ".

كولبير: "أنا أحب 97٪ من العلماء ، ولا يمكنني إنكار ... يصبح الجو حارًا هنا."

كولبير: "هل هذا جبل جليدي بحجم ديلاوير ينفصل عن الجرف الجليدي في أنتاركتيكا ، أم أنك سعيد برؤيتي؟"

جور: "آمل ألا تكون مدعومًا بالوقود الأحفوري ، لأنك تدور في عقلي طوال اليوم".


يستضيف نائب الرئيس السابق آل غور والكوميديا ​​المتأخرة ستيفن كولبير خطوط التقاط تغير المناخ التجارية.

استغرق الممثل الكوميدي سارة سيلفرمان بعض الوقت خلال برنامجها 2018 Hulu "أنا أحبك يا أمريكا"لمعالجة الحاجة إلى العمل المناخي. في مونولوجها ، ركزت على كيف أن التغير المناخي مدفوع "بمصالح مجموعة صغيرة للغاية وأفراد أثرياء وأقوياء."

المفارقة المثيرة للاشمئزاز من كل ذلك هي أن المليارديرات الذين خلقوا هذه الوحشية العالمية سيكونون هم الذين ينجو منها. سيكونون على ما يرام بينما نطهو جميعًا حتى الموت في سيارة ساخنة بحجم الكوكب. "

كسر الحواجز وإيجاد أرضية مشتركة

تظهر الأبحاث أنه في وقت الاستقطاب العميق ، كوميديا ​​يمكن أن تخفض الدفاعات. إنها تعلق القواعد الاجتماعية مؤقتًا وتربط الأشخاص بالأفكار وطرق التفكير أو التصرف الجديدة.

كوميديا ​​يستغل الشقوق في الحجج. إنه يتلوى ، ويدس ، ويثير الانتباه ويوجه الانتباه إلى غير متناغم ، نفاق ، كاذبة وطنانة. يمكن أن تجعل الأبعاد المعقدة لتغير المناخ تبدو أكثر سهولة ويبدو أن تحدياتها يمكن التحكم فيها.

اترك الضحك بدلاً من البكاء: فكاهة المناخ يمكن أن تنهار الحواجز وتجد أرضية مشتركة أمسية كوميونية لتغير المناخ في جامعة كولورادو في بولدر. عامي ناكو شميدت, CC BY-ND

يمكن للعديد من التخصصات إبلاغ الكوميديا ​​، بما في ذلك الدراسات المسرحية والأداء والإعلام. مع زملائي بيث أوسنيس, ريبيكا سافران و فيدرا بيزولو في جامعة كولورادو ، شاركت في إدارة داخل الدفيئة المبادرة ، التي تستخدم رؤى من المجالات الإبداعية لتطوير استراتيجيات فعالة للاتصال المناخ.

لمدة أربع سنوات قمنا بتوجيه "قف من أجل تغير المناخ" ، وهو مشروع كوميدي. نحن وطلابنا نكتب برامج كوميديا ​​مبدئية ونقوم بتنفيذها أمام الجماهير الحية في حرم بولدر. من هذه التجارب ، درسنا محتوى العروض وكيف يستجيب فناني الأداء والجمهور. لقد وجد عملنا هذا الفكاهة يوفر مسارات فعالة لزيادة الوعي والتعلم ومشاركة المشاعر والمحادثات والإلهام لفناني الأداء والجمهور على حد سواء.

قد يبدو أن النهج الهزلي يخفف من تغيّر المناخ ، الذي له آثار على الحياة والموت بالنسبة لملايين البشر ، وخاصة سكان العالم الأكثر فقراً وضعفاً. ولكن قد يكون هناك خطر أكبر بالنسبة للناس للتوقف عن الحديث عن المشكلة بالكامل ، وتفويت الفرصة لإعادة تخيلهم والمشاركة بنشاط في مستقبلهم الجماعي.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماكسويل بويكوف ، أستاذ مشارك في الدراسات البيئية ومدير مركز أبحاث سياسات العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، جامعة كولورادو بولدر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Leave 'em Laughing Instead Of Crying: Climate Humor Can Break Down Barriers And Find Common Ground

Leave 'em Laughing Instead Of Crying: Climate Humor Can Break Down Barriers And Find Common Ground
Protest in Gauhati, India, on Sept. 20, 2019, part of worldwide demonstrations ahead of a U.N. summit in New York. AP Photo/Anupam Nath

Climate change is not inherently funny. Typically, the messengers are serious scientists describing how rising greenhouse gas emissions are harming the planet on land and at sea, or assessing what role it played in the latest wildfire or hurricane.

Society may have reached a saturation point for such somber, gloomy and threatening science-centered discussions. This possibility is what inspires my recent work with colleague Beth Osnes to get messages out about climate change through comedy and humor.

I have studied and practiced climate communication for about 20 years. My new book, “Creative (Climate) Communications,” integrates social science and humanities research and practices to connect people more effectively through issues they care about. Rather than “dumbing down” science for the public, this is a “smartening up” approach that has been shown to bring people together around a highly divisive topic.

University of Colorado-Boulder students act out a comedy skit set on a pedal-powered airplane:


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


 

Why laugh about climate change?

Science is critically important to understanding the enormity of the climate challenge and how it connects with other problems like disasters, food security, local air quality and migration. But stories that emanate from scientific ways of knowing have failed to significantly engage and activate large audiences.

Largely gloomy approaches and interpretations typically stifle audiences rather than inspiring them to take action. For example, novelist Jonathan Franzen recently published an essay in The New Yorker titled “What If We Stop Pretending?” in which he asserted:

“The goal (of halting climate change) has been clear for thirty years, and despite earnest efforts we’ve made essentially no progress toward reaching it.”

Social science and humanities research have shown that this kind of framing effectively disempowers readers who could be activated and moved by a smarter approach.

Comics took a different path when the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change released a report in 2018 warning that the world only had until about 2030 to take steps that could limit warming to manageable levels. Trevor Noah, host of Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show,” observed:

“You know the crazy people you see in the streets shouting that the world is ending? Turns out, they’re all actually climate scientists.”

On ABC’s “Jimmy Kimmel Live,” Kimmel commented:

“There’s always a silver lining. One planet’s calamity is another planet’s shop-portunity.”

He then cut to a going-out-of-business advertisement for Planet Earth that read:

“Everything must go! 50% of all nocturnal animals, insects, reptiles and amphibians … priced to sell before we live in hell. But you must act fast because planet Earth is over soon. And when it’s gone, it’s gone.”

It’s getting hot in here

Social science and humanities scholars have been examining new, potentially more effective ways to communicate about climate change. Consistently, as I describe in my book, research shows that emotional, tactile, visceral and experiential communication meets people where they are. These methods arouse action and engagement.

Scholars have examined how shows like “Saturday Night Live,” “Last Week Tonight,” “Jimmy Kimmel Live,” “Full Frontal” and “The Daily Show” use jokes to increase understanding and engagement. In one example, former Vice President Al Gore appeared on “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” in 2017 and took turns with Colbert serving up climate change pickup lines over saucy slow-jam background music:

Gore: “Are you climate change? Because when I look at you, the world disappears.”

Colbert: “I’m like 97% of scientists, and I can’t deny … it’s getting hot in here.”

Colbert: “Is that an iceberg the size of Delaware breaking off the Antarctic ice shelf, or are you just happy to see me?”

Gore: “I hope you’re not powered by fossil fuels, because you’ve been running through my mind all day.”


Former Vice President Al Gore and late night comedy host Steven Colbert trade climate change pickup lines.

Comedian Sarah Silverman took time during her 2018 Hulu show “I Love You America” to address the need for climate action. In her monologue, she focused on how climate change is driven “by the interests of a very small group and absurdly rich and powerful people.” She added:

“The disgusting irony of all of it is that the billionaires who have created this global atrocity are going to be the ones to survive it. They are going to be fine while we all cook to death in a planet-sized hot car.”

Breaching barriers and finding common ground

Research shows that in a time of deep polarization, comedy can lower defenses. It temporarily suspends social rules and connects people with ideas and new ways of thinking or acting.

Comedy exploits cracks in arguments. It wiggles in, pokes, prods and draws attention to the incongruous, hypocritical, false and pretentious. It can make the complex dimensions of climate change seem more accessible and its challenges seem more manageable.

Leave 'em Laughing Instead Of Crying: Climate Humor Can Break Down Barriers And Find Common Ground A 2019 climate change comedy night at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Ami Nacu-Schmidt, CC BY-ND

Many disciplines can inform comedy, including theater, performance and media studies. With my colleagues Beth Osnes, Rebecca Safran and Phaedra Pezzullo at the University of Colorado, I co-direct the Inside the Greenhouse initiative, which uses insights from creative fields to develop effective climate communication strategies.

For four years we have directed “Stand Up for Climate Change,” a comedy project. We and our students write sketch comedy routines and perform them in front of live audiences on the Boulder campus. From those experiences, we have studied the content of the performances and how the performers and audience respond. Our work has found that humor provides effective pathways to greater awareness, learning, sharing of feelings, conversations and inspiration for performers and audiences alike.

A comic approach might seem to trivialize climate change, which has life-and-death implications for millions of people, especially the world’s poorest and most vulnerable residents. But a greater risk would be for people to stop talking about the problem entirely, and miss the chance to reimagine and actively engage in their collective futures.

About The Author

Maxwell Boykoff, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Director, Center for Science and Technology Policy Research, University of Colorado Boulder

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}