لإنقاذ عسل النحل نحتاج إلى تصميم خلايا النحل الجديدة

لإنقاذ عسل النحل نحتاج إلى تصميم خلايا النحل الجديدة
ألكساندر جافريليتشيف / شترستوك

نحل العسل تحت ضغط شديد. وقد انخفض عدد مستعمرات نحل العسل في الولايات المتحدة بمعدل متوسط تقريبا شنومكس٪ منذ 2010. أكبر مساهم في هذا الانخفاض هو الفيروسات التي تنتشر عن طريق الطفيليات ، فاروا المدمر. لكن هذا ليس وضعا طبيعيا. ينتشر الطفيل عن طريق ممارسات تربية النحل ، بما في ذلك الحفاظ على النحل في ظروف مختلفة تمامًا عن مسكنهم الطبيعي المجوف من الأشجار.

منذ عدة سنوات، لقد أثبتت أن فقدان الحرارة في خلايا نحل العسل من صنع الإنسان أكبر بعدة مرات من تلك الموجودة في أعشاش طبيعية. الآن ، باستخدام التقنيات الهندسية الأكثر شيوعًا التي تستكشف المشكلات الصناعية ، لقد أظهرت أن التصميم الحالي للخلايا التي يصنعها الإنسان يخلق أيضًا مستويات رطوبة منخفضة تفضل الفاروا طفيلي.

الأعشاش الطبيعية داخل تجاويف الأشجار تخلق مستويات عالية من الرطوبة ينمو فيها عسل النحل ويمنعها الفاروا من التكاثر. لذلك إذا استطعنا إعادة تصميم خلايا النحل لإعادة إنشاء هذه الحالات ، فيمكننا المساعدة في إيقاف الطفيلي ومنح نحل العسل فرصة للتعافي.

تتشابك حياة مستعمرة نحل العسل مع منزلها. يمكننا أن نرى هذا من طريقة متطورة يختار نحل العسل أعشاشًا ذات أحجام وخصائص صحيحة ، ومدى صعوبة عملهم على تعديلها. في الواقع ، يمكن رؤية العش كجزء من نحلة العسل نفسها ، وهو مفهوم يعرف في علم الأحياء باسم "النمط الظاهري الموسعة"، والتي تشير إلى جميع الطرق التي تؤثر بها جينات المخلوق على العالم.

ولعل المثال الأكثر شيوعًا للنمط الظاهري الممتد هو مثال القندس ، الذي يشكل بيئته من خلال التحكم في تدفق المياه بالسدود. تمكن الأعشاش نحل العسل من ضبط بيئتها بالمثل من خلال التحكم في تدفق اثنين من السوائل - بخار الماء والهواء - بالإضافة إلى شيء يعمل كالسوائل.

حدد نحل العسل شجرة مجوفة مع مدخل في الأسفل يجعل ارتفاع الهواء الساخن داخل العش أقل عرضة للفرار. ثم يقومون بتعديله عن طريق تطبيق مانع تسرب بخار مضاد للبكتيريا لراتنج الأشجار على الجدران الداخلية وأي ثقوب أو شقوق صغيرة. يمنع هذا أيضًا أي تسرب للهواء الدافئ ويساعد في الحفاظ على المستوى المناسب لبخار الماء. داخل العش ، يقوم النحل ببناء قرص عسل يحتوي على آلاف الخلايا ، توفر كل منها مناخًا معزولًا لتربية يرقات (نحل أطفال) أو صنع العسل.

تصاميم غير طبيعية

على الرغم من أهمية الأعشاش بالنسبة إلى نحل العسل ، فإن خلايا النحل التي نبنيها تحمل القليل من التشابه ولديها القليل من خصائص أعشاش الأشجار الطبيعية التي طورها النحل الأوروبي. في القرن 21st ، لا نزال نستخدم خلايا مصممة في 1930s و 1940s ، استنادًا إلى أفكار من 1850s. كانت الأعشاش الطبيعية علميًا فقط شملهم الاستطلاع في الآونة الأخيرة كما 1974 والبحث في الخصائص الفيزيائية بدأت فقط في 2012.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


خلايا من صنع الإنسان هي القرفصاء والصرير (على سبيل المثال 45cm عالية) ، مصنوعة من الخشب الرقيق (تحت 2cm سميكة) مع مداخل كبيرة (حوالي 60cm²) وكثيرا ما فتحات كبيرة من شبكة سلكية تحتها. وقد صممت لتكون رخيصة وللمربي النحل للوصول بسهولة إلى النحل وإزالة العسل. في المقابل ، تطور نحل العسل الأوروبي مع أعشاش الأشجار الطبيعية التي يبلغ متوسط ​​طولها (حوالي 150cm) ، الضيقة (20cm) مع جدران سميكة (15cm) ومداخل صغيرة (7cm²).

لإنقاذ عسل النحل نحتاج إلى تصميم خلايا النحل الجديدة
خلايا من صنع الإنسان مقابل أعشاش طبيعية. ديريك ميتشل

لتقييم مدى إعادة إنشاء خلايا من صنع الإنسان ظروف أعشاش طبيعية ، كنت بحاجة لقياس تدفق السوائل (الهواء ، بخار الماء والحرارة) من حولهم. للقيام بذلك ، التفتت إلى جانب من العلوم والهندسة الفيزيائية ودعا thermofluids، دراسة السوائل والغازات والمواد الصلبة من الاحتراق ، وتغيرات الحالة ، وحركة الكتلة والطاقة.

في عش نحل العسل ، هذا يعني "احتراق" السكريات في العسل والرحل ، وتبخر الماء وتكثيفه ، وتدفق الهواء عبر العش. ويشمل أيضًا كل شيء يتم نقله بواسطة نحل العسل عبر المدخل أو التسريب عبر الجدران.

يمكن استخدام الحواجز المختلفة التي تخلقها أعشاش نحل العسل كحدود ملائمة في النماذج الرياضية للطاقة اللازمة والرطوبة الناتجة داخل العش. تجمع دراستي الجديدة بين هذه النماذج والبيانات من البحوث التجريبية على الخواص الحرارية لعش النحل وخلايا النحل الدراسات السلوكية على كيفية تهوية نحل العسل عشهم.

وقد مكنني ذلك من مقارنة متوسط ​​الرطوبة في خلايا النحل وأعشاش الأشجار مع تلك التي يحتاجها نحل العسل والطفيليات. لقد وجدت أن معظم خلايا النحل التي يصنعها الإنسان تزيد من فقد الحرارة بمقدار سبع مرات وحجم مدخلها أكبر بمقدار ثمانية أضعاف من عش الأشجار. هذا يخلق انخفاض مستويات الرطوبة التي تفضل الطفيلي.

أظهر بحثي أن دور عش النحل هو أكثر تطوراً من مجرد مأوى بسيط. التغييرات البسيطة في تصميم الخلية من أجل تقليل فقدان الحرارة وزيادة الرطوبة ، على سبيل المثال باستخدام مداخل أصغر وجدران أكثر سمكا ، يمكن أن تقلل من الضغط على مستعمرات نحل العسل الناجمة عن فاروا المدمر. ونحن نعلم بالفعل أن مجرد بناء خلايا من البوليسترين بدلاً من الخشب يمكن أن يزيد بشكل كبير من معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة وعسل النحل. المزيد من الأبحاث حول التعقيد الحراري للأعشاش سيتيح لنا تصميم خلايا النحل المثلى التي توازن احتياجات نحل العسل مع مربي البشر.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ديريك ميتشل ، مرشح دكتوراه في الهندسة الميكانيكية ، جامعة ليدز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

To Save Honey Bees We Need To Design Them New Hives

To Save Honey Bees We Need To Design Them New Hives
Aleksandr Gavrilychev/Shutterstock

Honey bees are under extreme pressure. The number of honey bee colonies in the US has been declining at an average rate of almost 40% since 2010. The biggest contributor to this decline is viruses spread by a parasite, Varroa Destructor. But this isn’t a natural situation. The parasite is spread by beekeeping practices, including keeping the bees in conditions that are very different from their natural abode of tree hollows.

A few years ago, I demonstrated that the heat losses in man-made honey bee hives are many times greater than those in natural nests. Now, using engineering techniques more commonly found probing industrial problems, I’ve shown that the current design of man-made hives also creates lower humidity levels that favour the Varroa parasite.

Natural nests inside tree cavities create high humidity levels in which honey bees thrive and which prevent Varroa from breeding. So if we can redesign beekeeper hives to recreate these conditions, we could help stop the parasite and give honey bees a chance to recover.

The life of the honey bee colony is intimately entwined with its home. We can see this from the sophisticated way honey bees choose nests of the correct sizes and properties, and how hard they work to modify them. In fact, the nest can be seen as part of the honey bee itself, a concept that in biology is known as an “extended phenotype”, which refers to all the ways a creature’s genes affect the world.

Perhaps the most common example of an extended phenotype is that of the beaver, which shapes its environment by controlling the flow of water with dams. Nests enable honey bees to similarly adjust their environment by controlling the flow of two fluids – air and water vapour – plus something that acts like a fluid – heat.

The honey bees select a tree hollow with an entrance at the bottom that makes rising hot air inside the nest less likely to escape. They then modify it by applying an antibacterial vapour-retarding sealant of tree resin over the inside walls and any small holes or cracks. This further prevents any warm air leaks and helps maintain the right level of water vapour. Inside the nest, the bees build a honeycomb containing thousands of cells, each of which provides an insulated microclimate for growing larvae (baby bees) or making honey.

Unnatural designs

Despite the importance of nests to honey bees, the hives we build them bear little resemblance and have few of the properties of the natural tree nests European honey bees evolved with. In the 21st century, we’re still using hives designed in the 1930s and 1940s, based on ideas from the 1850s. Natural nests were only scientifically surveyed as recently as 1974 and research into their physical properties only began in 2012.

Man-made hives are squat and squarish (for example 45cm high), constructed from thin wood (under 2cm thick) with large entrances (around 60cm²) and often large openings of wire mesh underneath. They were designed to be cheap and for beekeepers to easily access the bees and remove the honey. In contrast, European honey bees evolved with natural tree nests that are on average tall (around 150cm), narrow (20cm) with thick walls (15cm) and small entrances (7cm²).

To Save Honey Bees We Need To Design Them New Hives
Man-made hives versus natural nests. Derek Mitchell

In order to assess how well man-made hives recreate the conditions of natural nests, I needed to measure the flow of fluids (air, water vapour and heat) around them. To do that, I turned to an aspect of physical science and engineering called thermofluids, the study of liquids, gases and solids of combustion, and changes of state, mass and energy movement.

In the honey bee nest, this means the “combustion” of sugars in honey and nectar, the evaporation and condensation of water, and air flow through the nest. It also includes everything being transported by the honey bees through the entrance or leaking through the walls.

The various barriers that honey bee nests create can be used as convenient boundaries in mathematical models of the energy needed and humidity produced inside the nest. My new study combines these models with data from experimental research on the thermal properties of honey bee nests and hives and behavioural studies on how honey bees ventilate their nest.

This enabled me to compare the average humidity in man-made hives and tree nests with that needed by honey bees and their parasites. I found that most man-made hives have seven times higher heat loss and eight times bigger entrance size than tree nests. This creates the lower humidity levels that favour the parasite.

My research shows the role of the honey bee nest is clearly far more sophisticated than just simple shelter. Simple changes to hive design in order to lower heat loss and increase humidity, for example using smaller entrances and thicker walls, could reduce the stress on the honey bee colonies caused by Varroa Destructor. We already know that simply building hives from polystyrene instead of wood can significantly increase the survival rate and honey yield of the bees. More research into the thermofluidic complexity of nests would allow us to design the optimal hives that balance the needs of honey bees with their human keepers.The Conversation

About The Author

Derek Mitchell, PhD Candidate in Mechanical Engineering, University of Leeds

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}