لدينا مخطط لمدن قابلة للعيش منخفضة الكربون. نحن فقط بحاجة إلى استخدامه

لدينا مخطط لمدن قابلة للعيش منخفضة الكربون. نحن فقط بحاجة إلى استخدامه
تبرز الحرارة المتزايدة في سيدني والمدن الأسترالية الأخرى الحاجة الملحة لتطبيق معرفتنا بكيفية إنشاء مدن منخفضة الكربون صالحة للعيش. تاراس فيشنيا / شترستوك

على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية أكثر من 100 المشاريع البحثية في مركز البحوث التعاونية للعيش منخفض الكربون، بالتعاون مع الصناعة في جميع أنحاء أستراليا ، فكرت في سؤال كبير للغاية: كيف يمكننا بناء مدن مستقبلية تكون مستدامة وقابلة للعيش وبأسعار معقولة؟

هذا هو بالضبط ما يريده الأستراليون ، كما جاء في تقرير لجنة سيدني الكبرى ، نبض سيدني الكبرى، أظهرت. يريد الناس مدنًا يعيشون فيها بالقرب من الوظائف ولديهم أوقات تنقل معقولة. انهم يريدون الوصول إلى الحدائق والمساحات الخضراء ، وتخفيف من الحرارة الحضرية المتزايدة باستمرار.

والخبر السار هو أننا نعرف بالفعل ما سوف يستغرقه تسليم الكثير من قائمة الأمنيات هذه. منذ 2012 ، ترأست لجنة حقوق الطفل منخفضة الكربون بقيمة مليون دولار أسترالي (100) ، والتي جمعت بين الشركات والصناعات والمجتمعات الأسترالية والعديد من ألمع الباحثين لدينا لمعرفة كيفية توجيه التغيير.

. تبريد استراتيجية سيدني، على سبيل المثال ، هو نتيجة لسنوات من البحث في كيفية مكافحة موجات الحر في المناطق الحضرية. ينتشر عبء هذه الحرارة بشكل غير متساو في مدننا.

على سبيل المثال ، سكان ضواحي سيدني الغربية هم يتعرض لعدة أيام أكثر سخونة من درجة 35 من Sydneysiders الذين يعيشون في اتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي وشمال المدينة. في الصيف الماضي ، كان هذا يعني حرارة شديدة تزيد عن شهر في ضاحية بنريث ، بما في ذلك تسعة أيام على التوالي فوق 35 ° C.

في حين أن شمس الشتاء الأخيرة قد تشعر بالترحيب ، فإن التأثيرات السلبية للمدن الحارة بشكل متزايد على صحتنا وأسلوب حياتنا واستخدام الطاقة تفوق إلى حد كبير أي راحة في فصل الشتاء.

اذا ما هو الحل؟

لقد وجد الباحثون بالفعل كيف يمكننا تعويض ارتفاع الحرارة. ال استراتيجيات يشمل أرصفة باردة ونفاذة ، وميزات مياه وتبريد تبخيري ، وهياكل ظلال ، وحدائق رأسية ، وأشجار الشوارع وغيرها من النباتات - حتى محطات الملاذ الحراري الخاصة.

الحفاظ على برودة في الداخل ، دون فواتير الكهرباء الضخمة ، أمر ممكن للغاية. خلال موجة الحر الصيف الماضي ، لدينا منزل 10 التجريبي الموفر للطاقة في بيرث بقيت 24 ° C مريحة في الداخل ، دون تكييف ، عندما كانت خارج 40 ° C. كان الأداء الحراري الاستثنائي للمنزل يرجع إلى تصميمه القائم على الأدلة.

يشرح Josh Byrne كيف يحافظ منزله على درجات حرارة مريحة على مدار العام مع انخفاض استخدام الطاقة وعدم وجود انبعاثات صافية:

هذا العمل هو مجرد جزء واحد من اختصاصنا الأوسع. مركزنا بجامعة نيو ساوث ويلز في طريقه لتقديم تخفيضات تم التحقق منها بشكل مستقل 10 megatonnes من انبعاثات الكربون الناتجة عن البيئة المبنية في أستراليا بواسطة 2020. من خلال دمج أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة ، والتقنيات الذكية ، والمواد منخفضة الكربون والتصميم المتمركز حول الناس في المباني والمناطق الحضرية ، قمنا بتطوير مخطط حضري مستدام ، قابل للعيش وبأسعار معقولة لأستراليا. قدرت دراسة PwC (لم تصدر بعد) الفوائد الاقتصادية التراكمية التي بلغ مجموعها 684 مليون دولار من 2027.

لوضع هذا بطريقة أخرى ، حددنا وتحققنا من المسارات المستندة إلى الأدلة لخفض الانبعاثات المكافئة لإخراج بعض 2.1 مليون سيارة من الطريق.

بعض التقدم حتى الآن غير واضح على الفور للمراقب العادي. اسلك طريقًا غير ملحوظ على طول الطريق الخلفي إلى مطار سيدني. في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم تثبيت قسم 30 متر من الخرسانةالتي تبدو أشبه بإصلاح طريق مخصص بدلاً من دراسة تجريبية علمية مهمة.

يتم رصف عدادات Bu 15 بخرسانة جيوبوليمرية جديدة تخفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة بنسبة 50٪. 15 متر الأخرى هي الخرسانة التقليدية ، و الأكثر استخداما المواد من صنع الإنسان على هذا الكوكب. إنتاج الخرسانة ، وذلك باستخدام الاسمنت الموثق ، حسابات لحوالي 8٪ من إجمالي الانبعاثات العالمية.

إن خرسانة الجيوليمر المطورة من خلال مركز أبحاثنا هي منتج عالي الأداء بالمثل ، لكن رابطه يتضمن بأمان تدفقات النفايات الصناعية الضارة ، مثل الرماد المتطاير من محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم والخبث من أفران الصهر. أستراليا لديها مخزون 400 مليون طن من النفايات من توليد الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم وصناعة الصلب.

في الإسكندرية ، بالتعاون مع مدينة سيدني ، نحن نختبر هذا خرسانة منخفضة الكربون كسطح طريق يمكن أن يساعد في تنظيف النفايات الصناعية مع خفض الانبعاثات. العمل مع موانئ نيو ساوث ويلز، لقد قمنا أيضًا بتشكيله على شرائط منخفضة الكربون لتشكيل حاجز الأمواج لحماية الخط الساحلي في ميناء كيمبلا من الطقس القاسي.

تم استخدام النفايات الناتجة عن محطات الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم في صناعة شرائط منخفضة الكربون لحماية الخط الساحلي في ميناء كيمبلا:

لدينا الآن الدراية للقيام بعمل أفضل

هناك العديد من قصص النجاح هذه ، لكن مع مشاريع 150 CRC Low Carbon Living ، القائمة طويلة جدًا بحيث لا يمكن التفصيل فيها. الأهم من ذلك ، مع انتهاء فترة التمويل لدينا وفقدان أستراليا لمركز الابتكار الوحيد الملتزم بخفض الكربون في البيئة المبنية ، هو ملاحظة كيف وصلنا إلى ما نحن عليه اليوم.

يعزز برنامج مركز البحوث التعاونية التابع للحكومة الفيدرالية التعاون والتعاون على نطاق واسع. الصناعات والشركات والمؤسسات الحكومية والمجتمعات التي لها مصلحة في حل التحديات الكبيرة والمعقدة شريك مع باحثين من مجموعة واسعة من المجالات الأكاديمية. يجمع هذا الهيكل بين القطاعات والأشخاص الذين نادراً ما تعبر مساراتهم.

يقدم التلاقح بين الأفكار والخبرات والمهارات حلولًا مبتكرة. البحث في جميع أنحاء العالم لقد أظهر باستمرار أن التعاون يدفع الابتكار ، وأن الابتكار يدفع النمو الاقتصادي. تؤكد تجربتنا أننا كشراكة مع منظمات مثل Multiplex و AECOM و BlueScope Steel و Sydney Water و ISCA و CSIRO وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة.

المدن معقدة ، وحوش مثيرة ، ولكن لدينا المعرفة والخبرة لنعيش حياة حضرية أفضل وأكثر راحة في أستراليا مع تقليل الطلب على الطاقة والمياه والمواد. وهذا هو ، لدينا مخطط للحياة الحضرية منخفضة الكربون. يجب علينا الآن اختيار استخدامه.

تم تحديث هذه المقالة لتصحيح عدد مشاريع CRC Low Carbon Living إلى 150 وكمية النفايات المخزنة من توليد الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم وصناعة الصلب إلى 400 مليون طن.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ديو براساد ، الأستاذ السيانتيا والرئيس التنفيذي ، مركز البحوث التعاونية للعيش منخفض الكربون ، UNSW

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

We Have The Blueprint For Liveable, Low-carbon Cities. We Just Need To Use It

We Have The Blueprint For Liveable, Low-carbon Cities. We Just Need To Use It
Increasing heat in Sydney and other Australian cities highlights the urgent need to apply our knowledge of how to create liveable low-carbon cities. Taras Vyshnya/Shutterstock

Over the past seven years more than 100 research projects at the Co-operative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living, in collaboration with industry across Australia, have pondered a very big question: How do we build future cities that are sustainable, liveable and affordable?

This is exactly what Australians want, as the recent Greater Sydney Commission report, The Pulse of Greater Sydney, revealed. People want cities in which they live close to jobs and have reasonable commuting times. They want access to parks and green space, and relief from ever-increasing urban heat.

The good news is we already know what it will take to deliver on much of this wish list. Since 2012, I have headed the A$100 million Low Carbon Living CRC, which has brought together Australian businesses, industries, communities and many of our brightest researchers to work out how to steer change.

Our Cooling Sydney Strategy, for instance, is the result of years of research into how to combat urban heatwaves. The burden of this heat is unevenly spread across our cities.

For example, residents of Sydney’s western suburbs are exposed to many more days hotter than 35 degrees than Sydneysiders living in the CBD and the city’s north. Last summer that meant over a month’s worth of intense heat in the suburb of Penrith, including nine days in a row above 35°C.

While the recent winter sun might feel welcome, the negative impacts of increasingly hot cities on our health, lifestyle and energy use greatly outweigh any winter comfort.

So what are the solutions?

Our researchers have already found how we can offset increasing heat. The strategies includes cool and permeable pavements, water features and evaporative cooling, shade structures, vertical gardens, street trees and other plants – even special heat refuge stations.

Keeping cool inside, without huge power bills, is possible too. During last summer’s heatwave, our pilot 10-star energy-efficient house in Perth remained a comfortable 24°C inside, without air conditioning, when it was over 40°C outside. The exceptional thermal performance of the house was down to its evidence-based design.

Josh Byrne explains how his house keeps temperatures comfortable year-round with low energy use and no net emissions:

This work is just one part of our wider remit. Our UNSW-based centre is on track to deliver independently verified cuts of 10 megatonnes of carbon emissions generated by Australia’s built environment by 2020. By integrating renewable energy systems, smart technologies, low-carbon materials and people-centred design into buildings and urban precincts, we have developed a sustainable, liveable and affordable urban blueprint for Australia. A PwC study (yet to be released) estimated cumulative economic benefits totalling A$684 million by 2027.

To put this another way, we have identified and verified evidence-based pathways to cut emissions equivalent to taking some 2.1 million cars off the road.

Some of the progress to date is not immediately obvious to the casual observer. Take an otherwise unremarkable stretch of road along the back way to Sydney Airport. Recently, a 30-metre section of concrete was installed, which looks more like an ad hoc road repair than an important scientific pilot study.

Bu 15 metres is paved with a new geopolymer concrete that slashes greenhouse gas emissions by 50%. The other 15 metres is conventional concrete, the most widely used man-made material on the planet. Concrete production, using cement as its binder, accounts for about 8% of all global emissions.

The geopolymer concrete developed through our research centre is a similarly high-performance product but its binder safely incorporates otherwise noxious industrial waste streams, such as fly ash from coal-fired power stations and slag from blast furnaces. Australia has stockpiled about 400 million tonnes of waste from coal-fired power generation and steelmaking.

In Alexandria, in collaboration with the City of Sydney, we are testing this low-carbon concrete as a road surface that could help clean up industrial waste while slashing emissions. Working with NSW Ports, we’ve also shaped it into low-carbon bollards to form a breakwater to protect the coastline at Port Kembla from extreme weather.

Waste from coal-fired power stations has been used to make low-carbon bollards to protect the coastline at Port Kembla:

We now have the know-how to do better

There are many such success stories, but with 150 CRC Low Carbon Living projects the list is too long to detail. What’s more important, as our funding period comes to an end and Australia loses its only innovation hub committed to lowering carbon in the built environment, is to note how we got to where we are today.

The federal government’s Co-operative Research Centre program fosters co-operation and collaboration on a grand scale. Industries, businesses, government organisations and communities with a stake in solving big, complex challenges partner with researchers from a wide range of academic fields. This structure brings together sectors and people whose paths might otherwise rarely cross.

The cross-fertilisation of ideas, expertise and skills delivers innovative solutions. Research worldwide has consistently shown that collaboration drives innovation, and that innovation drives economic growth. Our experience confirms that as we partnered with organisations such as Multiplex, AECOM, BlueScope Steel, Sydney Water, ISCA, CSIRO and the United Nations Environment Program.

Cities are complex, exciting beasts, but we have the knowledge and expertise to live better, more comfortable urban lives in Australia while reducing demand for energy, water and materials. That is, we have the blueprint for low-carbon urban living. We must now choose to use it.

This article has been updated to correct the number of CRC Low Carbon Living projects to 150 and the amount of stockpiled waste from coal-fired power generation and steelmaking to 400 million tonnes.The Conversation

About The Author

Deo Prasad, Scientia Professor and CEO, Co-operative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living, UNSW

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}