القطاع الخاص ، الزراعة وتغير المناخ. توصيل النقاط

القطاع الخاص ، الزراعة وتغير المناخ. توصيل النقاط حقول الأرز في مدغشقر. هناك مشروع في البلاد لزيادة مرونة المناخ في قطاع الأرز. شترستوك

تلعب الزراعة دورًا رئيسيًا في الأمن الغذائي في إفريقيا. كما أنه مهم للقطاع الاقتصادي ، حيث يمثل ما بين 40٪ -65٪ من الوظائف. من المتوقع أن تظل الزراعة مصدر رزق مهم لعقود قادمة.

في الوقت نفسه ، الزراعة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى هي عرضة للغاية لتغير المناخ. كانت الزراعة أولوية تحت الالتزامات التي قدمتها دول جنوب الصحراء إلى اتفاق باريس.

الرأي السائد هو أن القطاع العام وحده لا يمكن أن تتحمل تكلفة التزامات القارة. بالفعل هناك عدم تطابق بين احتياجات الاستثمار للتكيف والتمويل المتاح. ونتيجة لذلك ، هناك اهتمام متزايد بجلب القدرات والموارد من القطاع الخاص لتحقيق التزامات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ.

على هذه الخلفية ، أبحاثنا الحديثة فحص دور الجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص في مساعدة الزراعة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى على التكيف مع المناخ المتغير. هذا العمل هو جزء من بحوث أوسع التي بحثت طرقًا لإعطاء حوافز القطاع الخاص لمساعدة البلدان في المنطقة على تحقيق أهداف اتفاق باريس.

يظهر عملنا أن هذه المشاريع للزراعة تختلف على نطاق واسع. يستخدم البعض التمويل العام لزيادة الوعي بمخاطر المناخ وفرص التكيف. هدفهم هو تحفيز الاستثمار الخاص في المستقبل. يوجه آخرون التمويل العام من خلال لاعبين من القطاع الخاص يتم توظيفهم لتوفير السلع والخدمات.

يشير تحليلنا إلى أن القطاع العام يمكنه فعل المزيد لإشراك القطاع الخاص. من المتوقع أن يتم تمكين وتشجيع الاستثمار الخاص ، خاصة في البنية التحتية دفعات عالية.

بعض الأمثلة

لقد وجدنا أن الجهات الفاعلة الخاصة - المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة وكذلك الشركات الخاصة الصغيرة والمتوسطة - بدأت تلعب دوراً في مجموعة واسعة من استراتيجيات التكيف الرئيسية. تشمل تصرفاتهم:

  • إدخال نظم الري وإدارة المياه

  • تحسين نظم الطقس والتنبؤ الموسمي - وضمان إمكانية استخدام المزارعين لها

  • إدخال أصناف المحاصيل المقاومة للجفاف والحرارة ،

  • اعتماد تقنيات زراعية جديدة "ذكية المناخ"

  • توسيع خيارات التأمين المالي للمزارعين.

في ناميبيا ، مشروع يوضح كيف يمكن لصغار المزارعين دفع تكاليف التأمين المستند إلى المؤشرات الزراعية. الهدف من ذلك هو تطوير نموذج أعمال قابل للحياة. تستخدم بوليصة التأمين معلمة (أو فهرس) ، مثل تقديرات هطول الأمطار أو غطاء الغطاء النباتي ، لتحديد متى يجب أن يحدث الدفع لتغطية الخسارة بعد حدث شديد ، مثل الجفاف.

في موزمبيق ، مشروع تعمل على تعزيز خدمات المعلومات الهيدرولوجية والأرصاد الجوية لتقديم المعلومات المناخية على المستوى المحلي. تشمل الخدمات معلومات الأرصاد الجوية المائية للمزارعين ؛ أنظمة التنبؤ بالفيضانات والإنذار المبكر وتنبيهات خدمة الطقس في المناطق الساحلية. تعد شركات التليفزيون والإذاعة والهاتف حاسمة لأنها تقدم التوقعات والتحذيرات. وبما أن المستخدمين والمزارع التجارية وشركات النقل البحري هي جزء من تصميم وتنفيذ خدمات جديدة للطاقة المائية.

في مدغشقر ، مشروع يزيد من مرونة المناخ في قطاع الأرز. من خلال الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص ، يشجع على استخدام ممارسات الإخصاب المعدلة وأنواع البذور المقاومة للجفاف والآفات.

تشير هذه الأمثلة إلى أن القطاع الخاص يشارك في التكيف الزراعي مع تغير المناخ في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

لكن لا يزال هناك حاجتان مهمتان يجب التغلب عليهما.

أولا، يمكن للبلدان النامية أن تجد صعوبة في جذب الاستثمارات الخاصة لتلبية احتياجاتهم الأكثر إلحاحا. ثانيًا ، انخفاض الوعي بمخاطر المناخ أيضًا حاجز لمشاركة القطاع الخاص في التكيف. لكن الفرص التجارية موجودة بالفعل ، وهناك عدد متزايد من مشاريع التكيف تظهر الآن إمكاناتها.

إشراك القطاع الخاص

هناك خمس طرق يمكن لصناع السياسات من خلالها جعل الجهات الفاعلة من القطاع الخاص أكثر جاذبية للمشاركة في التكيف الزراعي في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

توفير المزيد من الوضوح. يجب أن يكون واضعو السياسات واضحين في تحديد الجهات الفاعلة الخاصة - وبأي صفة - يريدون المشاركة في مشاريع وبرامج التكيف الزراعي الخاصة بهم. وهذا من شأنه أن يساعد في تسريع وتوسيع الاستثمارات الخاصة. من الواضح أن القطاع الخاص متنوع. الجهات الفاعلة المختلفة تستجيب لحوافز مختلفة. دون وضوح ، قد تكافح المشاريع لتحديد فرص مشاركة القطاع الخاص.

إشراك الجهات الفاعلة الخاصة في مرحلة التصميم. من خلال تحديد طرق لإشراك الجهات الفاعلة الخاصة بالفعل في مرحلة التصميم ، يمكن لمطوري المشروع إنشاء شراكة أقوى وطرق أكثر فاعلية لتشجيع الاستثمار.

ابحث عن الفرص على طول سلسلة القيمة. زيادة الإنتاجية الزراعية ليست هي الهدف الوحيد الممكن. كما تتيح التحسينات في مراحل الحصاد والتسويق التجاري إمكانية إشراك الجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص.

إظهار الإمكانات. إظهار الحيوية التجارية لاستراتيجيات التكيف أمر حيوي. لذلك ينبغي أن يركز التمويل العام على تقييمات الجدوى أو ترتيب المشروعات الرائدة.

التدقيق في النتائج. يجب أن تتضمن مراقبة وتقييم مشاريع التكيف طرقًا لتقييم مشاركة القطاع الخاص - متى نجحت ومتى فشلت. يمكن أن تساعد الشفافية في هذا النوع من المعلومات في تحديد الفرص المستقبلية.

تلعب الجهات الفاعلة الخاصة بالفعل دوراً في مشاريع التكيف الزراعي في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى. ولكن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل لتحديد السياسات الفعالة لزيادة مشاركتها ، وإزالة الحواجز القائمة.

عن المؤلفين

ريتشارد ج. ت. كلاين ، زميل أبحاث أول وأستاذ الجغرافيا وسياسة المناخ والتنمية ، معهد ستوكهولم للبيئة. كانت نيللا كاناليس ، زميلة أبحاث في معهد ستوكهولم للبيئة ، مؤلفة مشاركة في هذا المقال.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية. متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Private Sector, Agriculture And Climate Change. Connecting The Dots

The Private Sector, Agriculture And Climate Change. Connecting The Dots Rice fields in Madagascar. There is a project in the country to increase climate resilience in the rice sector. Shutterstock

Agriculture plays a key role in food security in Africa. It is also crucial to the economic sector, accounting for between 40%-65% of jobs. Farming is expected to remain an important livelihood for decades to come.

At the same time, agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa is very vulnerable to climate change. Agriculture was a priority under the commitments made by sub-Saharan countries to the Paris Agreement.

The widely held view is that the public sector alone can’t meet the cost of the continent’s commitments. Already there’s a mismatch between the investment needs for adaptation and the finance available. As a result, there is increasing interest in bringing in capacity and resources from the private sector to achieve countries’ climate change commitments.

Against this background, our recent research examined the role of private-sector players in helping agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa adapt to a changing climate. This work is part of wider research that looked at ways to give the private sector incentives to help countries in the region achieve their Paris Agreement goals.

Our work shows that these projects for agriculture vary widely. Some use public finance to raise awareness of climate risks and adaptation opportunities. Their aim is to stimulate future private investment. Others channel public finance through private players which are hired to provide goods and services.

Our analysis suggests that the public sector could do more to engage the private sector. Enabling and encouraging private investment, particularly in infrastructure, is expected to have high pay-offs.

Some examples

We found that private actors – smallholder farmers as well as small and medium-sized private businesses – are beginning to play a role in a wide variety of key adaptation strategies. Their actions include:

  • Introducing irrigation and water management systems

  • Improving weather and seasonal forecasting systems – and ensuring that farmers can use them

  • Introducing drought- and heat-resistant crop varieties,

  • Adopting new “climate-smart” farming techniques, and

  • Expanding finance insurance options for farmers.

In Namibia, a project is showing how small-scale farmers can pay for agricultural index-based insurance. The aim is to develop a viable business model. The insurance policy uses a parameter (or index), such as rainfall estimates or vegetation cover, to determine when a payment should happen to cover the loss after an extreme event, like drought.

In Mozambique, a project is strengthening hydrological and meteorological information services to deliver climate information at the local level. Services include hydro-meteorological information for farmers; flood forecasting and early-warning systems, and weather service alerts in coastal areas. Television, radio and telephone companies are crucial as they deliver the forecasts and warnings. And, as the users, commercial farms and maritime transport companies are part of the design and implementation of new hydro-met services.

In Madagascar, a project is increasing climate resilience in the rice sector. Through public-private partnerships, it promotes the use of modified fertilisation practices and drought and pest-resistant varieties of seeds.

These examples suggest that the private sector is getting involved in agricultural adaptation to climate change in sub-Saharan Africa.

But there are still two important barriers to overcome.

First, developing countries can find it difficult to attract private investment to meet their most urgent needs. Second, low awareness of climate risk is also a barrier for private involvement in adaptation. But business opportunities do exist, and a growing number of adaptation projects are now demonstrating their potential.

Getting the private sector involved

There are five ways in which policymakers could make it more attractive for private actors to engage in agriculture adaptation in sub-Saharan Africa.

Provide more clarity. Policymakers should be clear in stating which private actors – and in which capacity – they want involved in their agriculture adaptation projects and programmes. This would help accelerate and scale up private investment. The private sector is, obviously, diverse. Different actors respond to different incentives. Without clarity, projects may struggle to identify opportunities for private-sector involvement.

Involve private actors at the design stage. By identifying ways to involve private actors already at the design stage, project developers can create stronger partnership and more effective ways to promote investment.

Look for opportunities along the value chain. Increasing agricultural productivity is not the only possible target. Improvements in the harvest and commercialisation stages also offer potential for involving private sector actors.

Demonstrate potential. Demonstrating the commercial viability of adaptation strategies is vital. Public funding should therefore be focused on feasibility assessments or arranging pilot projects.

Scrutinise results. Monitoring and evaluation of adaptation projects should include ways to assess private-sector involvement – when it works and when it fails. Transparency in this kind of information can help identify future opportunities.

Private actors already play a role in agriculture adaptation projects in sub-Saharan Africa. But more work is needed to identify effective policies to increase their involvement, and remove existing barriers.

About The Authors

Richard J.T. Klein, Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Geography, Climate Policy and Development, Stockholm Environment Institute. Nella Canales, a research fellow at the Stockholm Environment Institute was a co-author on this article.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}