كيف تتطور الفيلة مثل هذا الدماغ الكبير؟ تغير المناخ هو جزء من الجواب

كيف تتطور الفيلة مثل هذا الدماغ الكبير؟ تغير المناخ هو جزء من الجواب

لقد استحوذت الفيلة على انتباهنا لفترة طويلة ، ويعزى ذلك جزئيًا إلى حجمها الكبير وجلالها. لكننا أيضا صدمنا سلوكهم المعقد. في بعض النواحي ، نحن مفتونون لأن هذا السلوك يردد مشاعرنا الأكثر إنسانية. على سبيل المثال ، تمت ملاحظة الفيلة مرارًا وتكرارًا باستخدام الأدوات و حزن موتاهم.

تاريخهم التطوري مثير للاهتمام أيضًا. يوازي البشر في نواح كثيرة. أسلاف الفيل نشأت في أفريقيا ، مثلنا تمامًا. ذريتهم ، من بينهم الماموث ، خرجوا من أفريقيا للعيش في قارات أخرى. وفي هذه العملية ، طوروا أكبر دماغ لأي حيوان بري. وزنه حول 5kg، بينما أدمغتنا الخاصة تزن 1.4kg.

لكن ما الذي دفع هذا العنصر الخاص لتطور الفيل؟ على الرغم من أن السجل الأحفوري لأسلاف الفيل غني تقريبا 300 الأنواع الموصوفة - نحن ببساطة لم نعرف الجواب لفترة طويلة. من الأنواع الأولى ذات العقول الصغيرة إلى الأفيال الحديثة ذات العقول الكبيرة ، كان هناك ما يقرب من 30 مليون عام الفجوة في معرفتنا.

الآن ، بفضل تقنيات المسح المتطورة وإعادة البناء الإحصائي لميزات الأجداد ، لدينا الإجابة. قضى فريق من العلماء من جنوب إفريقيا وأوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية - بمن فيهم نحن - ست سنوات في إعادة بناء أول خط زمني دقيق لتطور الدماغ في سلالة الفيل. نتائج هذا التعاون الدولي وقد نشرت في التقارير العلمية.

والجواب على هذا السؤال الطويل؟ تغير المناخ هو جزء كبير منه. من المحتمل أن يكون التحول في المناخ ، إلى جانب الاضطرابات البيئية الأخرى وغزو المنافسين والمفترسين الجدد ، يلعبون دوراً هاماً في إعادة تشكيل أدمغة الأفيال القديمة. معرفة هذا لا يحل لغزًا علميًا طويل الأمد. هذا يعني أيضًا أن لدينا طريقة لفهم كيف يمكن أن تتكيف الأنواع الحديثة مع أزمة المناخ الحالية.

التغيرات المرتبطة بالمناخ

كشفت الدراسة التي أجريناها أن حجم المخ في الأفيال الأجداد زاد في نبضتين ، ما يقرب من 26 و 20 قبل مليون سنة. تضاعف حاصل الدماغ (وهو مقياس لحجم الدماغ النسبي المصحح لحجم الجسم) خلال كل نبضة هذا حول الدماغ الصغير لأقارب الفيل الأوائل إلى دماغ كبير قابل للمقارنة بكل طريقة مع الأنواع الحديثة.

بشكل ملحوظ ، هذان نبضان النمو في حجم الدماغ يتوافق مع فترات من الاضطرابات البيئية الكبيرة في أفريقيا. منذ حوالي 26 مليون سنة ، تم تجميد القارة القطبية الجنوبية لأول مرة ، مما تسبب في arification العالمي للمناخ. تحولت الغابات المطيرة الكثيفة في أفريقيا إلى السافانا والصحاري.

المناخ بعد ذلك تغيرت مرة أخرى منذ حوالي 20 مليون عام للعودة إلى بيئة أفريقية أكثر دفئًا ورطوبة. وقد استكمل هذا عدم الاستقرار المناخي بظهور جسر بري بين آسيا وأفريقيا.

قبل 20 مليون سنة مضت ، كانت أفريقيا بالفعل قارة معزولة. ولكن بسبب الانجراف القاري اصطدمت في النهاية مع بلاد الشام (المنطقة التي تشمل فلسطين الحديثة ، إسرائيل ، لبنان ، سوريا ، الأردن والعراق) ، مما أتاح غزو الحيوانات العاشبة المتنافسة والحيوانات المفترسة الجديدة من آسيا. وشملت الحيوانات الغازية أسلاف الأسد المعاصر ، وحمار وحشي ووحيد القرن وفرس النهر والظباء. القردة الكبرى لم تكن موجودة بعد. توفي بعض الأنواع الكبيرة خلال هذا الوقت ؛ الاكثر شهرة هو أرسينويثيريوموهو قريب من وحيد القرن يشبه الفيلة.

كان على أفيال الأجداد التكيف أو الانقراض. في ذلك الوقت ، كانوا لا يزالون حيوانات صغيرة نسبيًا ، بحجم التابير ، مع صندوق قصير فقط. نحن نفترض أن الدماغ الأكبر أتاح مزيدًا من المرونة السلوكية: أن يكون أكثر استكشافية ، والهجرة للبحث عن الغذاء ، والتعامل مع مجموعة واسعة من الوجبات الغذائية (الأوراق ، والفواكه ، والعشب) ، وتذكر موقع فتحات المياه البعيدة خلال فترات الجفاف ، فمثلا. ربما ساعدهم الدماغ الأكبر في التغلب على المنافسين وتجنب الحيوانات المفترسة.

حجم الجسم والدماغ

ساعد الفيلة أيضًا على حقيقة أنها أصبحت كبيرة جدًا. إن الحجم الكبير يفتح عالماً جديداً من المزايا: فهو يردع الحيوانات المفترسة وعندما تكون الموارد الغذائية والمياه شحيحة ، يمكن للجسم الكبير تخزين المزيد من الدهون والماء ، ويمكن للأمعاء الأكبر هضم الطعام بشكل أكثر كفاءة.

وجدنا أن حجم المخ تطور بشكل محكم مع حجم الجسم في سلالة الفيل. هذا يشير إلى أن تطور الجسم الكبير ليس مستقلاً تمامًا عن دماغ كبير. من المحتمل أن يكون دماغ الفيل الكبير قد تطور ، ليس فقط من أجل مزيد من المرونة السلوكية ، ولكن أيضًا جنبًا إلى جنب مع جسمهم الكبير. هذه قصة تحذيرية حول تفسير حجم الدماغ فقط في ضوء الاحتياجات التخيلية المطبقة بأثر رجعي لمزيد من الذكاء.

ببساطة ، عندما يتبين أن حجم الدماغ المعطى للنسب معين قد زاد ، فإن الناس يقفزون إلى استنتاج مفاده أن ذلك يرجع إلى أن النسب يحتاج إلى أن يصبح أكثر ذكاء للبقاء على قيد الحياة. ولكن يجب ألا ننسى أن حجم المخ مرتبط بالعديد من المتغيرات الأخرى: حجم الجسم هو مثال واحد. طول الحمل هو آخر (مزيد من الوقت في الرحم يساوي دماغ أكبر). عادة ، يعتقد الناس أن هذه آثار جانبية لدماغ أكبر ، ولكن ماذا لو كان الدماغ الأكبر هو في الواقع الآثار الجانبية لكتلة أكبر من الجسم؟ ماذا لو كان الانتقاء الطبيعي يعمل على حجم الجسم فقط ، وكان حجم الدماغ مجرد مسافر؟

الإجابات على هذه الأسئلة لا تزال معلقة. لكن مع تقدم عملنا ، تصبح الصورة أكثر وضوحًا. بفضل الأبحاث التي أجريناها ، أصبح من الواضح الآن أن الاضطرابات البيئية ، بما في ذلك التغيرات في المناخ ، وغزو المنافسين والحيوانات المفترسة الجديدة ، لعبت دوراً هاماً في إعادة تشكيل دماغ الأفيال القديمة وسلوكهم.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

جوليان بينوا ، Postdoc في علم الأحافير الفقارية ، جامعة ويتواترسراند وبول مانجر ، أستاذ البيولوجيا العصبية المقارنة والتطورية ، جامعة ويتواترسراند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Did Elephants Evolve Such A Large Brain? Climate Change Is Part Of The Answer

How Did Elephants Evolve Such A Large Brain? Climate Change Is Part Of The Answer

Elephants have long captivated our attention, partly because of their sheer size and majesty. But we’re also struck by their complex behaviour. In some ways, we’re fascinated because this behaviour echoes our most humane feelings. For instance, elephants have repeatedly been observed using tools and grieving their dead.

Their evolutionary history is interesting, too. It parallels humans’ in many ways. Elephant ancestors originated in Africa, just like ours. Their descendants, among them mammoths, went out of Africa to inhabit other continents. And in the process they evolved the largest brain of any land animal. It weighs around 5kg, while our own brains weigh 1.4kg.

But what drove this particular element of elephant evolution? Even though the fossil record of elephant ancestors is rich – with almost 300 species described – we simply haven’t known the answer for a long time. From the earliest species with small brains to the modern elephants with large brains, there was an almost 30 million-year-long gap in our knowledge.

Now, thanks to cutting edge scanning techniques and state of the art statistical reconstruction of ancestral features, we have the answer. A team of scientists from South Africa, Europe and North America – including us – have spent six years reconstructing the first accurate time line of brain evolution in the elephant lineage. The results of this international collaboration have been published in Scientific Reports.

And the answer to this longstanding question? Climate change is a large part of it. A shift in climate, along with other environmental disruptions and the invasion of competitors and new predators all likely played an important role in reshaping ancient elephants’ brains. Knowing this not only solves a long standing scientific mystery. It also means we’ve got a way to understand how modern species might adapt to the current climate crisis.

Climate-linked changes

Our survey revealed that brain size in ancestral elephants increased in two pulses, approximately 26 and 20 million years ago. The encephalization quotient (a measure of relative brain size corrected for body size) doubled during each pulse. This transformed the small brain of early elephant relatives into a large brain comparable in every way to that of modern species.

Noticeably, these two pulses of growth in brain size correspond to periods of substantial environmental disruptions in Africa. Some 26 million years ago, Antarctica was frozen for the first time, which caused a global aridification of the climate. Africa’s dense rain forests turned into savannas and deserts.

The climate then changed again about 20 million years ago to revert to a warmer and wetter African environment. This climatic instability was supplemented by the appearance of a landbridge between Asia and Africa.

Before 20 million years ago, Africa was indeed an isolated continent. But because of continental drift it eventually collided with the Levant (the area encompassing modern day Palestine, Israel, Lebanon, Syria, Jordan and Iraq), enabling the invasion of rival herbivores and new predators from Asia. The invasive fauna included the ancestors of modern-day lion, zebra, rhinoceros, hippopotamus and antelopes. The Great Apes did not exist yet. Some large species died out during this time; the most famous is Arsinoitherium, a rhino-like relative of elephants.

Ancestral elephants had to adapt or go extinct. At that time, they were still relatively small animals, the size of a tapir, with a short trunk only. We hypothesise that a bigger brain enabled more behavioural flexibility: to be more exploratory, to migrate to look for food, to cope with a wider variety of diets (leaves, fruits, grass), and to remember the location of distant waterholes during dry periods, for example. A larger brain may have helped them outsmart competitors and avoid predators.

Body and brain size

Elephants were also helped by the fact that they became so big. Being large opens up a whole new world of advantages: it deters predators and when food resources and water are scarce, a large body can store more fat and water, and a larger gut can digest food more efficiently.

We found that brain size co-evolved tightly with body size in the elephantine lineage. This suggests that the evolution of a big body is not completely independent from a large brain. The elephant’s large brain likely evolved, not only for more behavioural flexibility, but also hand in hand with their large body. This is a cautionary tale about interpreting brain size only in the light of retrospectively applied conjectural needs for greater intelligence.

Simply put, when it’s found that a given lineage’s brain size increased, people jump to the conclusion that this is because the lineage needed to become smarter to survive. But we must not forget that brain size is correlated to many other variables: body size is one example. Gestation length is another (more time in the womb equals a bigger brain). Usually, people think these are side effects of a larger brain, but what if a larger brain was actually the side effect of a bigger body mass? What if natural selection was acting on body size only, and brain size was just a passenger?

Answers to these questions are still pending. But as our work progresses, the picture gets clearer. Thanks to our research it is now evident that environmental disruptions, including changes in climate, and the invasion of competitors and new predators, played an important role in re-shaping the brain of ancestral elephants and their behaviour.The Conversation

About The Authors

Julien Benoit, Postdoc in Vertebrate Palaeontology, University of the Witwatersrand and Paul Manger, Professor of Comparative and Evolutionary Neurobiology, University of the Witwatersrand

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}