5 طرق تتكيف المجتمعات مع القلق من المناخ

5 طرق تتكيف المجتمعات مع القلق من المناخ

من الأدوات العملية المنحى إلى العلاج الحديث والتأمل ، هذه الاستجابات تسهل الشفاء والأمل والنشاط.

في هذا الصيف ، اندلعت حرائق الغابات في ولاية كاليفورنيا ، وغمرت الأمطار الغزيرة أجزاء من اليابان ، وأدت درجات الحرارة القياسية إلى عدد من الوفيات المرتبطة بالحرارة في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويزداد تغير المناخ مثل هذه الكوارث ، ويقول العلماء إن الطقس المتطرف كهذا سيزيد ويتفاقم مع تسارع تغير المناخ.

وهو يؤثر على صحتنا العقلية.

بالنظر إلى حجم تغير المناخ ، فمن المنطقي أن الناس قلقون حول آثاره. والقلق يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الاكتئاب والقلق والخوف المستمر. في حين أن القلق يمكن أن يكون دافعًا للعمل ، إلا أنه يمكن أن يكون له تأثير معاكس ، مما يجعلنا نشعر بالعجز والغموض واللامبالاة.

كعلماء بحث يدرسون التفاعل بين البيئة والصحة البشرية ، نحن مهتمون بطرق ذلك يؤثر تغير المناخ على صحتنا العقلية. يمكن للناس تجربة كل شيء من الإيثار ، والشعور بالنمو الشخصي ، والإحساس القوي بالمجتمع إلى اضطراب الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة ، والذعر والقلق بعد أحداث الطقس المتطرفة المتعلقة بالمناخ. في حين أنه لا يُعرف الكثير عن التأثيرات الإيجابية للصحة العقلية الناجمة عن تغير المناخ ، إلا أن تأثير المناخ المتطرف المرتبط بالمناخ على الأمراض العقلية يتم تحديده بشكل أفضل. على سبيل المثال ، سنة واحدة بعد إعصار كاترينا ضرب نيو اورلينز ، وجد الباحثون زيادة انتشار اضطراب ما بعد الصدمة ، والمرض العقلي ، والأفكار والخطط الانتحارية. كما تشير الأبحاث إلى أن تغير المناخ يؤثر على حالات الصحة العقلية الموجودة مسبقًا. وجدت دراسة واحدة ذلك تغير المناخ تفاقم اضطراب الوسواس القهري، مع المشاركين في التعبير عن الميول الوسواسية القهرية بشأن هدر المياه والغاز والكهرباء ؛ والمخاوف الهوسية من الفيضانات والجفاف.

مثل التأثيرات الأخرى لتغير المناخ ، تؤثر تأثيرات الصحة العقلية بشكل غير متناسب على المجموعات المختلفة. وقد لاحظ الباحثون ، مثل عالم الأوبئة أنتوني ماكمايكل ، أن تغير المناخ يزيد من عدم المساواة الاجتماعية القائمة. يتحمل السكان الأصليون والفقراء وكبار السن والأطفال والأشخاص ذوي البشرة الملونة أكبر عبء من تغير المناخ.

إذن ما الذي يتم عمله لمعالجة العواقب الصحية العقلية لتغير المناخ؟ تظهر الدراسات الحديثة - من قبلنا ومن قبل الآخرين - أن الاستجابات المجتمعية في العديد من الأماكن تسهل الشفاء والأمل والعمل.

فيما يلي خمسة برامج مجتمعية تساعد الناس على مواجهة عواقب تغيرات الصحة العقلية والتعامل معها.

1. تعطل REACH NOLA الحواجز التي تحول دون توفير الرعاية الصحية العقلية بعد إعصار كاترينا

REACH NOLA هي جمعية تعاونية غير ربحية في نيو أورليانز للمجموعات العقائدية المجتمعية والأكاديميين والممارسين الصحيين ومقدمي الخدمات الاجتماعية لمعالجة انتعاش الصحة العقلية لتلك التي تأثرت بإعصار كاترينا. في 2006 ، أنشأ REACH NOLA مشروع البنية التحتية للصحة العقلية والتدريب للرد على آثار الصحة العقلية للإعصار. MHIT هو مشروع لبناء قدرات الرعاية الصحية العقلية يقدم إرشادات بشأن التدريب على الرعاية الصحية العقلية وتنفيذها في المجتمعات المعرضة للخطر.

وثائق البحث كيف MHIT ظهرت بعد الإعصار في الجزء السفلي من 9th. كان الحي واحداً من أكثر المناطق تضرراً في نيو أورليانز وأغلبهم من الأميركيين الأفارقة ذوي الدخل المحدود الذين لا يحصلون على الرعاية الصحية العقلية. مشيرا إلى احتياجات الصحة العقلية للحي والثغرات في الرعاية ، وتعاون رئيس جمعية الصليب المقدس في جناح 9th السفلي مع غيرها من المنظمات وأطباء الصحة العقلية لتأسيس REACH NOLA ، وبالتالي مشروع MHIT. ولأن الـ HCNA كان بالفعل مصدراً موثوقاً به لسكان الحي ، فقد تمكن من مساعدة الأطباء النفسيين على الوصول إلى أفراد المجتمع المحتاجين.

وإليكم كيف فعلوا ذلك: قبل أن يدخل الممارسون الصحيون المجتمع ، يؤدي مجتمع HCNA إلى تزويد السكان بالمعلومات والتثقيف حول الاكتئاب وإمكانية حدوث تأثيرات صحية نفسية أخرى ذات صلة بأحداث كارثية مثل الإعصار. كان الهدف هو التبديد الوصمات المنتشرة حول الصحة النفسية التي من شأنها أن تمنع الناس من الوصول إلى المساعدة. ثم قدم ممارسو الصحة العقلية العلاج للمقيمين. كما قاموا بتدريب سكان سكن 9th أقل لتقديم مساعدة الصحة العقلية ، الذين تم توظيفهم بعد ذلك كعاملين في مجال الصحة المجتمعية في المناطق المجاورة لهم. وقد أتاحت هذه الفرصة خدمات الصحة العقلية والتوظيف وفرص العمل الجديدة وفرصًا للمقيمين لكي يكونوا مشرفين في استعادة حيهم.

2. تقوم "النقطة الآمنة" بتدريب الشركات والمنظمات على الإسعافات الأولية النفسية بعد الفيضانات الفائقة

إن ربط المؤسسات المجتمعية مع مقدمي خدمات الرعاية الصحية النفسية هو نهج مشترك لتقديم الرعاية بعد كارثة مرتبطة بالمناخ. تركت جماعة هاي ريفر في ألبرتا بواعث قلق تتعلق بالصحة العقلية بعد فترة وجيزة من نضوب أموال الحكومة والمساعدة في الاستجابة للكوارث. في 2013 ، شهدت المدينة فيضان عظمى التي شردت المدينة بأكملها من سكان 13,000 وأسفرت عن مقتل أربعة. وفقا لمراقبة الصحة العامة بحث، طالما قصص من السكان، أفاد العديد من سكان المدينة عن القلق ، ومشاكل النوم ، واضطراب ما بعد الصدمة بعد الفيضان.

ردا على ذلك ، تقوم المدينة حاليا بتنفيذ مبادرة الصحة العقلية دعا مكان آمنالتي تدرب موظفي الشركات والوكالات في الإسعافات الأولية النفسية لدعم رفاهية المجتمع. تتيح نقطة برتقالية في نوافذ الأعمال لأعضاء المجتمع أن يعرفوا أن لديهم مساحة آمنة للحديث عن صحتهم العقلية من أعضاء المجتمع المدرّبين ، وأن يسعوا إلى دعمهم. إذا كان شخص ما يعاني من أزمة ويحتاج إلى دعم قبل أن يتمكن من الوصول إلى خدمات استشارية رسمية أو خدمات مهنية ، فيمكنه الحصول على دعم من شركة أو وكالة محلية تم تدريبها على رعاية المجتمع النفسي. الفكرة هي أن كل باب هو الباب الصحيح لدعم الصحة العقلية المجتمعية والرفاهية.

3. توفر حركة المدينة الانتقالية مساحة للاتصال والنشاط البيئي

وتشكل مبادرات Transition Town في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وكندا وحول العالم جزءًا من حركة قاعدية مجتمعية لمساعدة الناس على التأقلم مع تغير المناخ ، وذروة النفط ، والتدهور البيئي. في قلب الحركة الانتقال الداخلي العمل ، الذي يرتكز على فكرة أن العلاقة التي لدينا مع العالم الطبيعي هي انعكاس مباشر للعلاقة التي لدينا مع المشهد الداخلي لدينا.

يتم دعم أفراد المجتمع الفردي من خلال تحولاتهم الداخلية من قبل مجموعات المجتمع. توفر هذه المجموعات مساحة للمقيمين للتحدث عن المخاوف والمخاوف بشأن تغير المناخ ، ودعم بعضهم البعض في بناء مرونة المجتمع ، وتوفير الفرص لاستكشاف خطط للانتقال إلى مستقبل منخفض الكربون. وفقا ل دراسة عن اعتماد نموذج الانتقال في مدن 10 في أستراليا ، وجد الباحثون أنه ساعد الأفراد على تطوير تغييرات في أسلوب الحياة للحد من انبعاثات الكربون. كما وجدوا أن تطوير التواصل الروحي الإيكولوجي ساعد الأفراد - وخاصة النساء - على التحريض على العمل بشأن تغير المناخ.

في الولايات المتحدة ، تقوم Transition US ببناء حملة وطنية لدعم صمود المجتمع والاستعداد للطوارئ. وتهدف الحملة التي يطلق عليها "الاستعداد معا" إلى إعداد المجتمعات للكوارث البيئية - مثل الطقس المتطرف المعزز بالمناخ - من خلال المواد التعليمية والأدوات العملية المنحى. يتم إطلاق المبادرة حاليًا بخطط لإدراج ملفات podcast والندوات عبر الإنترنت وورش العمل وكتيب جاهز لإعداد المجتمعات للكوارث. تستهدف الحملة الاستعداد البدني وكذلك احتياجات الصحة العقلية بعد وقوع الكارثة.

4. عمليات تحويلية لإعادة ربط الناس بأنفسهم وبيئتهم

في بعض الحالات ، تدعم المجتمعات المحلية النمو الروحي للأفراد لمساعدتهم على التعامل مع تغير المناخ. إن العمل الذي يعاد تجميعه هو عملية جماعية لزراعة النمو الروحي الذي طورته جوانا ميسي في الولايات المتحدة ويساعده الآن مرشدون مدربون في جميع أنحاء العالم. إنها متجذرة في الاعتقاد بأن معالجة تغير المناخ والأزمات البيئية الأخرى تبدأ بزراعة التقدير والامتنان للأرض. وفي الوقت نفسه ، توفر الجماعات الميسرة أماكن آمنة حيث يمكن للناس تبادل مشاعر الخوف والشك والشعور بالذنب وحتى اليأس. إن إدراك أننا نعاني من الألم بشأن تغير المناخ ، لأننا مرتبطون مع جميع الأجيال الحياتية والمستقبلية - ونفهم أننا لسنا وحدنا في مواجهة هذا - يمكن أن نمكن من العمل.

توظف هذه العملية مجموعة واسعة من الممارسات التأملية والتفاعلية ، العديد منها تنطوي على استخدام الخيال لتحفيز الإبداع وزرع التعاطف. في العمل الذي يعيد الاتصال ورشة عمل برئاسة مارك هاثاواي للدراسات الجامعية للطلاب الجامعيين في جامعة تورنتو ، كتب أحد الطلاب في تأملهم أن النهج "يسلط الضوء على ترابط المشاركين مع بعضهم البعض ، وكذلك مع العالم الأكبر ، الذي يؤدي مرة أخرى إلى العاطفي كتب طالب آخر أن العملية بنيت الشعور بالتمكين وساعدتهم على تجربة "القدرة على التحريض على التغيير".

5. One Earth Sanga: مجتمع الإنترنت الذي يدعم النمو الروحي والوعي البيئي

كما تساعد بعض برامج الصحة العقلية المجتمعية الناس على حساب عدم المساواة الذي يتفاقم بفعل تغير المناخ. One Earth Sanga هي عبارة عن منصة عبر الإنترنت تساعد الأشخاص على الاستجابة لأزمة المناخ من خلال التعاليم البوذية وبرنامج التدريب EcoSattva الخاص بها. وقد تم تأسيس هذا النظام من قبل اثنين من دعاة حماية البيئة البوذيين ، كريستين باركر ولو لينارد ، وتم إنشاؤه بالشراكة مع مجتمع التأمل Insight Meditation في ولاية واشنطن. توفر المنصة عبر الإنترنت مساحة رقمية للتعلم ، والتأمل ، واتخاذ إجراء بشأن تغير المناخ.

إحدى التعاليم في هذه المنصة - والتي أبرزت في برنامجها التدريبي - تتعلق بمواجهة البياض ومعالجة الامتياز كجزء ضروري من مواجهة تغير المناخ. يمكن أن يكون التدريب على حقوق الملكية الذي توفره شركة One Earth Sanga حسابًا هامًا للعديد من الأشخاص الذين يتعاطفون مع الناس على الخطوط الأمامية لتغير المناخ ولكنهم قد لا يدركون دور الامتياز والبياض في حمايتهم من العديد من الجوانب الاجتماعية والعاطفية والجسدية. العواقب الصحية العقلية الناجمة عن تغير المناخ.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على نعم فعلا! مجلة

عن المؤلفين

كاتي هايز هي دكتوراه. مرشح في جامعة تورنتو. يبحث بحثها في العواقب الصحية العقلية لتغير المناخ ، مع التركيز على المخاطر والآثار غير العادلة للمجموعات المهمشة. وينظر أيضًا في كيفية دعم الصمود النفسي الاجتماعي في ظل المناخ المتغير.

بليك بولندا أستاذ في كلية دالا لانا للصحة العامة ومدير "التخصص التعاوني في تنمية المجتمع" في جامعة تورنتو. يركز بحثه وتعليمه على مرونة المجتمع والحركات الاجتماعية والتحولات في الاستدامة.

مارك هاثاوي هو باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في جامعة واترلو ومحاضر دورة في جامعة تورنتو. أبحاثه وكتابته وتدريسه حول التعلم التحويلي والحكمة الإيكولوجية العملية. شارك في تأليف كتاب "The Tao of Liberation".

كتب بقلم مارك هاثاواي

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Mark Hathaway؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

5 Ways Communities Are Coping With Climate Anxiety

climate adaptation

5 Ways Communities Are Coping With Climate Anxiety

From action-oriented toolkits to talk therapy and meditation, these responses facilitate recovery, hope, and activism.

This summer, wildfires erupted in California, torrential rains flooded parts of Japan, and record-breaking temperatures led to a number of heat-related deaths around the globe. Disasters like these are augmented by climate change, and scientists say extreme weather like this will increase and worsen as climate change accelerates.

And it’s impacting our mental health.

Given the scale of climate change, it makes sense that people are worried about its impacts. And worry can lead to depression, anxiety, and persistent fear. While worry can be a motivator for action, it can also have the opposite effect, leaving us feeling powerless, overwhelmed, and apathetic.

As research scientists who study the interaction between ecology and human health, we’re interested in the ways that climate change impacts our mental health. People can experience everything from altruism, a sense of personal growth, and strong sense of community to post-traumatic stress disorder, panic, and anxiety after a climate-related extreme weather event. While less is known about the positive mental health effects from climate change, the impacts of climate-related extreme weather on mental illness is better established. For example, one year after Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, researchers found an increased prevalence of PTSD, mental illness, and suicidal thoughts and plans. Research also suggests that climate change affects pre-existing mental health conditions. One study found that climate change exacerbated obsessive-compulsive disorder, with participants expressing obsessive-compulsive tendencies over wasting water, gas, and electricity; and obsessive fears about flooding and drought.

Like the other impacts of climate change, mental health impacts disproportionately affect different groups. Researchers, like epidemiologist Anthony McMichael, have noted that climate change amplifies existing social inequities. Indigenous people, the poor, seniors, children, and people of color bear the greatest burden of a changing climate.

So what is being done to address the mental health consequences of climate change? Recent scholarship—by us and others—shows that in many places, community-based responses are facilitating recovery, hope, and action.

Here are five community-based programs that are helping people confront—and cope with—the mental health consequences of climate change.

1. REACH NOLA breaks down barriers to provide mental health care after Hurricane Katrina

REACH NOLA is a New Orleans nonprofit collaborative of community-based faith groups, academics, health practitioners, and social service providers to address the mental health recovery of those impacted by Hurricane Katrina. In 2006, REACH NOLA established the Mental Health Infrastructure and Training Project to respond to the mental health effects of the hurricane. MHIT is a mental health care capacity-building project that provides guidance on mental health care training and implementation in at-risk communities.

Research documents how MHIT emerged after the hurricane in the lower 9th ward. The neighborhood was one of the hardest hit in New Orleans and predominantly made up of low-income African Americans with little access to mental health care. Noting the mental health needs of the neighborhood and gaps in care, the president of the Holy Cross Neighborhood Association in the lower 9th ward teamed up with other organizations and mental health clinicians to found REACH NOLA and, subsequently, the MHIT project. Because the HCNA was already a trusted resource to neighborhood residents, it was able to help mental health clinicians reach community members in need.

Here’s how they did it: Before health practitioners entered the community, HCNA community leads provided residents with information and education about depression and the potential for other mental health effects related to disastrous events like the hurricane. The aim was to dispel pervasive stigmas about mental health that would keep people from accessing help. Mental health practitioners then provided treatment to residents. They also trained lower 9th ward residents to offer mental health aid, who were then employed as community health workers in their neighborhood. This opportunity provided mental health services, employment, new career opportunities, and opportunities for residents to be stewards in their neighborhood’s recovery.

2. “Safe Spot” trains businesses and organizations in psychological first aid after a super flood

Bridging community institutions with mental health care providers is a common approach to providing care after a climate-related disaster. The community of High River, Alberta, was left with mental health concerns long after government money and disaster response assistance dried up. In 2013, the town experienced a super flood that displaced the entire town of 13,000 people and resulted in four deaths. According to public health surveillance research, as well as stories from residents, many townspeople reported anxiety, trouble sleeping, and post-traumatic stress disorder following the flood.

In response, the town is currently implementing a mental health initiative called Safe Spot, which trains employees of business and agencies in psychological first aid to support community well-being. An orange dot in the windows of businesses lets community members know that they have a safe space to talk about, and seek support for, their mental health from trained community members. If someone is experiencing a crisis and they need support before they are able to access formal counseling or professional services, they can seek support from a local business or agency who has been trained in psychological community care. The idea is that every door is the right door to support community mental health and well-being.

3. The Transition Town Movement provides a space for connection and environmental activism

Transition Town initiatives throughout the United States, Canada, and around the world are part of a community-driven grassroots movement to help people cope with climate change, peak oil, and ecological degradation. At the heart of the movement is inner transition work, which is based on the idea that the relationship that we have with the natural world is a direct reflection of the relationship we have with our inner landscape.

Individual community members are supported through their inner transitions by community groups. These groups provide a space for residents to talk about fears and concerns about climate change, support each other in building community resilience, and provide opportunities to explore plans to transition to a low-carbon future. According to a study on the adoption of the transition model in 10 towns in Australia, researchers found it helped individuals develop lifestyle changes to reduce carbon emissions. They also found that developing an eco-spiritual connection helped individuals—especially women—incite action on climate change.

In the U.S., Transition U.S. is building a nationwide campaign to support community resilience and emergency preparedness. Called Ready Together, the campaign aims to prepare communities for environmental disasters—like climate-augmented extreme weather—through educational materials and action-oriented toolkits. The initiative is currently being launched with plans to include podcasts, webinars, workshops, and a Ready Together handbook to prepare communities for disasters. The campaign targets physical preparedness as well as mental health needs after a disaster.

4. Transformative processes to reconnect people with themselves and their environment

In some cases, communities are supporting individuals’ spiritual growth to help them cope with climate change. The Work That Reconnects is a group process for cultivating spiritual growth first developed by Joanna Macy in the U.S. and now facilitated by trained educators around the globe. It’s rooted in the belief that addressing climate change and other ecological crises starts with cultivating appreciation and gratitude for the Earth. At the same time, the facilitated groups provide safe places where people can share feelings of fear, doubt, guilt, and even despair. Recognizing that we experience pain about climate change because we are connected to all life and future generations—and understanding that we are not alone in experiencing this—can empower action.

The process employs a wide variety of meditative and interactive practices, many involving the use of the imagination to stimulate creativity and cultivate empathy. In a Work That Reconnects workshop led by Mark Hathaway for undergraduate environmental studies students at the University of Toronto, one student wrote in their reflection that the approach “highlights the interconnectedness of the participants with one another, as well as with the greater world, which once again leads to an emotional connection.” Another student wrote that the process built a sense of empowerment and helped them experience “the capacity to instigate change.”

5. One Earth Sanga: the online community that supports spiritual growth and ecological awareness

Some community-based mental health programs also help people reckon with the inequality that’s exacerbated by climate change. One Earth Sanga is an online platform that helps people respond to the climate crisis through Buddhist teachings and its EcoSattva training program. This platform was co-founded by two Buddhist environmentalists, Kristin Barker and Lou Lenard, and was created in partnership with the Insight Meditation Community in Washington state. The online platform provides a digital space to learn, reflect, and take action on climate change.

One of the teachings on this platform—and highlighted in its training program—is about confronting Whiteness and addressing privilege as a necessary part of confronting climate change. The equity training that One Earth Sanga provides can be an important reckoning for many who sympathize with people on the front lines of climate change but may not recognize the role privilege and Whiteness plays in shielding them from many of the social, emotional, physical, and mental health consequences of climate change.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

About The Authors

Katie Hayes is a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Toronto. Her research investigates the mental health consequences of climate change, with a focus on the inequitable risks and impacts to marginalized groups. It also looks at how psychosocial resilience is supported within a changing climate.

Blake Poland is a professor in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health and director of the Collaborative Specialization in Community Development at the University of Toronto. His research and teaching focus on community resilience, social movements, and sustainability transitions.

Mark Hathaway is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Waterloo and a sessional lecturer at the University of Toronto. His research, writing, and teaching center on transformative learning and practical ecological wisdom. He is co-author of “The Tao of Liberation.”

Books by Mark Hathaway

The Tao of Liberation: Exploring the Ecology of Transformation (Ecology and Justice)
climate adaptationAuthor: Mark Hathaway
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Orbis Books
List Price: $35.00

Buy Now

World Locked In: Six Weeks in Coma and Beyond
climate adaptationAuthor: Mark Hathaway
Binding: Perfect Paperback
Publisher: Maine Authors Publishing

Buy Now

The Retirement Management Journal: Vol. 4, No. 2, Academic Peer Review Committee Issue (Volume 4)
climate adaptationAuthor: Robert J. Powell III
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

climate adaptation
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}