هذا يمكن أن تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية لا تزال تجعل المياه العذبة من المياه المالحة

السكان المحليون يجمعون المياه من حفرة مائية موحلة في 2006 في سان ماركوس Tlacoyalco. شهدت منطقة تهواكان فالي جنوب شرق مكسيكو سيتي منذ فترة طويلة نقصًا حادًا في المياه. وقد ساهم الجفاف والتغير المناخي في هذا ، لكن النمو الصناعي الذي حدث مؤخراً أدى إلى توتر موارد المياه الجوفية المحدودة للغاية. تعتمد الموارد المائية في المنطقة بشكل كبير على التسليم الأسبوعي بالشاحنة وكذلك تجميع المياه من البرك الصغيرة المعروفة باسم Jagueys. (ائتمان: برنت ستيرتون / غيتي إميجز)

يمكن لوحدة التقطير التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية تحلية المياه في المناطق الساحلية القاحلة حيث تنضب الآبار لدرجة أن مياه البحر تتسرب إلى إمدادات المياه العذبة.

يمكن أن يقوم النموذج الأولي بتقطير لترات 150 (40 gallons) من الماء في اليوم ويمكن أن يصل إلى 3,000 لتر (793 gallons). يقول جوزيه ألفارو ، الأستاذ المساعد في كلية البيئة والاستدامة بجامعة ميتشيغان ، إنه يساوي حمولة خمس شاحنات من المياه العذبة وحلاً أكثر صداقة للبيئة لمشكلة عدم كفاية الوصول إلى المياه العذبة.

يقول: "لقد طورنا هذا المنتج بمجتمع معين ، لكننا أدركنا أنه سيكون مفيدًا لعدد من المجتمعات".

الاقتصاد المدور

صمم الباحثون نظام Tastiota ، وهي قرية صغيرة في صحراء سونوران ، والتي كانت تنقل المياه في مياهها من مصدر 100 كيلومترات (62 ميلا) بعيدا.

بعد التقطير ، ما تبقى هو محلول ملحي يمكن تحويله إلى ملح وبيعه إلى شركات أخرى مجاورة ، مما يخلق اقتصادًا دائريًا.

وتشمل الأسواق الأخرى لوحدة التحلية الحزام الشمسي العالمي الذي يقع على عدة درجات فوق وتحت خط الاستواء والفنادق في المجتمعات الساحلية ، يقول ألفارو.

"يمكن للفنادق استخدام هذا للحد من تأثيرها على المناطق التي تخدمها. توجد الكثير من مواقع هذه الفنادق في أحواض هشة معرضة لخطر الإصابة بالامتلان. "

الحل المستدام

أرادت ألفارو وإيليا موغوسانو ، اللتان تخرجتا في الربيع مع ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال ، وبابلو تادي ، الذي تخرج مع درجة الماجستير في الأنظمة المستدامة في 2017 ، إيجاد حل مستدام لمشكلات ندرة المياه في المجتمعات الساحلية حيث الظروف القاحلة وارتفاع درجات الحرارة ، وانخفاض هطول الأمطار بسبب تغير المناخ يؤدي إلى تفاقم المشكلة.

خلال العام الماضي ، طور الفريق عملية خاصة لإزالة الملح من مصادر المياه المحلية من خلال الاستفادة من الإشعاع الشمسي لتشغيل تكنولوجيا تحلية مبتكرة. يشير التحليل المبكر إلى أن الجمع بين الطاقة الشمسية المركزة والتقطير أحادي المرحلة سيوفر حلا فعالا من حيث التكلفة وسهل لمشكلات ندرة المياه.

ويقول الباحثون إن ما يجعل هذا الحل مستدامًا بالفعل هو المكون التجاري. تنتج هذه التقنية كل من المنتجات الثانوية القابلة للبيع ، من خلال معالجة المحاليل الملحية إلى الملح ، وتحسين القدرة للصيادين الساحليين لتحويل صيدهم إلى أسواق أكبر. هذا يحسن إلى حد كبير من الجدوى المالية للتكنولوجيا ويوفر حل السوق الحقيقي.

تادي هو مواطن من مقاطعة هيرموسيلو في المكسيك ، وهي منطقة تقع على طول ساحل سونورا. كانت هيرموسيلو ، كما هو الحال مع العديد من المجتمعات الساحلية ، تعاني من ندرة مياه شديدة بسبب تلوث الآبار في المياه المالحة ، الأمر الذي يجعل هطول الأمطار المنخفض أسوأ. كان تادي مهتماً بإيجاد حل مستدام لهذه المشكلة وبدأ في بحث الأفكار التي من شأنها تحلية مصدر مياه البحر الوفيرة.

"أدركت أن إمكانات هذا الحل لها آثار بعيدة المدى على الصعيد العالمي. لقد كان واضحا لي أن الإمكانات التجارية لهذه الفكرة قابلة للتوسع في ظروف مختلفة في مناطق مختلفة من العالم ، ”يقول موغوسانو.

سافرت ألفارو إلى كوستاريكا الشهر الماضي لتحديد ما إذا كانت هناك مجتمعات قد تستفيد من وحدة التقطير. بالعمل مع مسؤول في الأمم المتحدة ، يخطط لتشغيل برنامج تجريبي في جزيرة صغيرة حيث تصل المياه عن طريق القوارب.

للعمل ، تحتاج المنطقة إلى ضوء الشمس المباشر ، ونظام الحكم الجيد حول المياه التي من شأنها تشغيل وحدات التحلية بعد الإعداد الأولي ، والحاجة إلى مياه صالحة للشرب. ويخطط الفريق أيضًا للتسويق للمجتمعات في غرب أفريقيا ، ليما ، بيرو ، وعلى طول الساحل في تشيلي.

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = إينيرسيلف، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

This Solar-Powered Still Can Make Fresh Water From Salty Water

climate solutions

Local people collect water from a muddy waterhole in 2006 in San Marcos Tlacoyalco. The Tehuacan Valley South-East of Mexico City has long experienced severe water shortages. Drought and climate change have contributed to this but recent industrial growth has also strained the very limited ground water resource. Water resources in the area are largely based on a weekly delivery by truck as well as collecting water from small pools known as Jagueys. (Credit: Brent Stirton/Getty Images)

A solar-powered distillation unit could desalinate water in arid coastal areas where wells are so depleted that seawater leaches into the freshwater supply.

The prototype can distill 150 liters (40 gallons) of water per day and can scale up to 3,000 liters (793 gallons). That’s equal to five truckloads of fresh water and a much more eco-friendly solution to the problem of insufficient access to fresh water, says Jose Alfaro, an assistant professor at the University of Michigan’s School for Environment and Sustainability.

“We developed this product with a particular community in mind, but we realized that it would be good for a number of communities,” he says.

Circular economy

The researchers designed the system for Tastiota, a small village in the Sonoran desert, which had been trucking in its water from a source 100 kilometers (62 miles) away.

After distillation, what’s left is brine that can be converted to salt and sold to other businesses nearby, creating a circular economy.

Other markets for the desalination unit include the global sunbelt located several degrees above and below the equator and hotels in coastal communities, Alfaro says.

“Hotels could use this to reduce their impact on the areas they are serving. A lot of the locations of these hotels are in fragile basins at risk of getting saline intrusion.”

Sustainable solution

Alfaro and Iulia Mogosanu, who graduated in the spring with an MBA, and Pablo Taddei, who graduated with a master’s degree in sustainable systems in 2017, wanted to create a sustainable solution to water scarcity issues in coastal communities where arid conditions, rising temperatures, and decreased precipitation due to climate change exacerbate the problem.

Over the past year, the team developed a proprietary process to remove salt from local water sources by leveraging solar radiation to power an innovative desalination technology. Early analysis indicates that the combination of concentrated solar power and single-stage distillation will provide a cost-effective and easy solution to water scarcity issues.

What makes this solution truly sustainable is the business component, the researchers say. This technology results in both a sellable byproduct, by processing brine into salt, and an improved capacity for coastal fishers to bring their catch to larger markets. This significantly improves the technology’s financial viability and provides a true market solution.

Taddei is a native of Hermosillo County in Mexico—a region that is along the Sonora coast. Hermosillo, as with many coastal communities, has been experiencing severe water scarcity due to saline contamination of the wells, which low precipitation makes worse. Taddei was interested in finding a sustainable solution to this problem and began probing ideas that would desalinate the abundant source of ocean water.

“I realized that the potential of such a solution had far-reaching implications globally. It was clear to me that the commercial potential of this idea was scalable to different conditions in different regions of the world,” Mogosanu says.

Alfaro traveled to Costa Rica last month to determine if there were communities that might benefit from the distillation unit. Working with a United Nations official, he plans to run a pilot program on a small island there where water arrives by boat.

To work, the area needs direct sunlight, a good governance system around the water that would run the desalination units after initial set up, and a need for potable water. The team also plans to market to communities in West Africa, Lima, Peru, and along the coast in Chile.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

Exploring Your Inner-self
climate solutionsAuthor: Stephanie Carrey
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

Inner-Self Talk (The Pocket Guidebook For Rapid Emotional Stress Transformation)
climate solutionsAuthor: Carla V. Muth
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: The Sonar Press

Buy Now

Crocheting Fractal Shapes & Mandalas: The Most Effective Nontraditional Technique to Connect With the Inner-Self (VOLUME Book 1)
climate solutionsAuthor: Cecilia Leal-Covey
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

climate solutions
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}