التسوق المستدام: كيفية الحفاظ على اللون الأخضر عند شراء السلع البيضاء

التسوق المستدام: كيفية الحفاظ على اللون الأخضر عند شراء السلع البيضاء
من المفيد التفكير بعناية شديدة في ثلاجتك الجديدة.

معظمنا لديه مجموعة من السلع البيضاء في منازلنا. بحسب ال مكتب الإحصاءات الأستراليوتشمل الأجهزة الشائعة الثلاجات (في 99.9٪ من المنازل) والغسالات (97.8٪) ومكيفات الهواء (74.0٪). يحتوي أكثر من نصف المنازل الأسترالية على غسالة صحون ، ويحتوي عدد مماثل على مجفف ملابس.

توفر هذه السلع البيضاء مجموعة كبيرة من الفوائد ، مثل تقليل النفايات وتحسين الراحة ومساعدتنا في تجنب المخاطر الصحية مثل الطعام الفاسد أو ببساطة تحرير وقتنا للقيام بأشياء أخرى. ولكن لها أيضًا تأثيرات بيئية كبيرة ، ومن المهم اعتبارها عند استخدام السلع البيضاء واختيارها.

يتم استخدام معظم السلع البيضاء على أساس يومي لسنوات. وهذا يعني أن الجزء الأكبر من تأثيرها البيئي لا يأتي من تصنيعها ، ولكن من استخدامها اليومي. فهم يستخدمون الكهرباء ، على سبيل المثال ، والتي يتم الحصول عليها في كثير من الأحيان من الوقود الأحفوري.

آثار دورة الحياة للسلع البيضاء النموذجية
آثار دورة الحياة للسلع البيضاء النموذجية.
معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا

عند شراء جهاز ، يركز العديد من الأشخاص على سعر التجزئة ، ولكنهم يتجاهلون تكاليف التشغيل المهمة في كثير من الأحيان. يوضح الجدول أدناه الفرق في تكاليف الطاقة السنوية وانبعاثات الاحتباس الحراري لغسالات الصحون ذات الأحجام المختلفة تحت مختلف السيناريوهات.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأجهزة ، فإن الحجم مهم.
عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأجهزة ، فإن الحجم مهم.
الاستدامة فيكتوريا, مؤلف المنصوص

ما الذي تبحث عنه

في ما يلي بعض الأسئلة التي يجب عليك طرحها عند التسوق لشراء جهاز جديد للأجهزة المنزلية:

  • ما مدى كفاءة استخدام الموارد في هذا النموذج ، مقارنة بالخيارات الأخرى؟

  • كم سيكلف العمل؟

  • على مدى عمر المنتج ، هل سيكون من الأفضل أن أنفق المزيد الآن لشراء نموذج أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة يكلف أقل للتشغيل؟

قراءة الملصق

السلع البيضاء في أستراليا هي مطلوب لحمل الملصق بالتفصيل تقييم الطاقة والمياه الخاصة بهم. وكلما زاد عدد النجوم التي يتمتع بها المنتج ، زادت كفاءة الطاقة أو الماء. توفر العلامات أيضًا معلومات عن متوسط ​​الاستهلاك على مدار العام بحيث يمكنك مقارنة المنتجات المماثلة أو حساب عوامل مثل حجم الجهاز.

يتيح لك موقع تصنيف الطاقة أيضًا إجراء مقارنات ، بل وحساب تكاليف الاستخدام والتوفير لك. كما هو مبين في الشكل أدناه ، فإن اختيار ثلاجة 10-star على سطح 3-star واحد سيوفر لك ما يقدر بـ A $ 664 في تكاليف التشغيل على مدار سنوات 10. وهذا من شأنه تعويض بعض أو كل التكاليف الإضافية المباشرة لشراء نموذج أكثر استدامة.

العديد من المنظمات والمواقع الأخرى توفر أيضًا مراجعات الأداء والمستخدم للأجهزة. الاختيار هي منظمة مستقلة تختبر مجموعة متنوعة من المنتجات ، بما في ذلك السلع البيضاء. تتفحص الاختبارات مجموعة من المعايير ، بما في ذلك كفاءة الطاقة والمياه ، وسهولة الاستخدام ، وتكاليف التشغيل ، والمتانة.

استخدم بحكمة

بمجرد حصولك على جهاز جديد في المنزل ، فمن الضروري أيضًا استخدامه بشكل صحيح. تأكد من قراءة الدليل ومعرفة كيفية زيادة كفاءة الجهاز.

على سبيل المثال ، تحدث إلى مثبت مكيف الهواء الخاص بك لتحديد الوضع الأمثل لتبريد وتسخين المساحة الخاصة بك ، اعتمادًا على جانب وتخطيط منزلك. وتأكد من ترك مساحة كافية حول الجزء الخلفي والجزء الجانبي من الثلاجة لتدوير الهواء ، مما يساعد على تبديد الحرارة المهدرة بفعالية أكبر توفير ما يصل إلى 150kg من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنويًا.

تأكد من إيقاف تشغيل الجهاز عندما لا يكون قيد الاستخدام - يمكن أن يؤدي الفشل في القيام بذلك إلى زيادة تكاليف التشغيل والتأثير البيئي. اسأل نفسك عما إذا كنت حقا بحاجة للحفاظ على أن الثلاجة البيرة القديمة أزيز بعيدا في المرآب.

بالطبع ، لن تضطر إلى انتظار جهاز جديد قبل القيام بكل هذه الأشياء. يمكنك جعل الأجهزة الحالية تعمل بكفاءة أكبر من خلال مراجعة كيفية استخدامك لها ووضعها.

إن غسل حمولة كاملة من الملابس أكثر كفاءة واستدامة من غسل جزء فقط من الحمل. إذا كنت تعتقد أنك بحاجة إلى استخدام أحمال غسيل أصغر بشكل عام ، ففكر في شراء غسالة أصغر حجمًا ، أو ابحث عن طراز يحتوي على ميزات ذكية مثل القدرة على القيام بنصف الحمولة.

العديد من الأجهزة مثل غسالات الصحون والغسالات تتميز أيضًا بأنماط "eco" التي يمكنها توفير كميات كبيرة من الماء والطاقة.

أخيرًا ، من الأفضل دائمًا أن تسأل نفسك ما إذا كنت تحتاج حقًا لشراء هذا الجهاز الجديد. ضع في اعتبارك وجود جهاز مكسور مثبت ، حيث سيؤدي ذلك إلى تجنب استخدام جميع الموارد اللازمة لتصنيع جهاز جديد. أو النظر في شراء المستعملة.

حتى إذا كنت تشتري ، يمكنك التحقق من الأداء البيئي للجهاز ، إما من خلال موقع تصنيف الطاقة أو من خلال الشركة المصنعة. تأكد من المقارنة بين هذه الخيارات والخيارات الجديدة لمعرفة أيها يعمل بشكل أفضل على مدى عمر المنتج.

المحادثةوإذا كنت تشتري لنفسك جهازًا جديدًا أو مستعملًا ، فتأكد من النظر في كيفية إعادة تدوير جهازك القديم ، من خلال المجلس المحلي أو الجمعيات الخيرية أو المنظمات الأخرى.

عن المؤلفين

Trivess Moore ، باحث ، جامعة RMIT وسيمون لوكري ، باحث ، جامعة RMIT

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 981104791X، maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الأجهزة الموفرة للطاقة ؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Sustainable Shopping: How To Stay Green When Buying White Goods

climate adaptation

Sustainable Shopping: How To Stay Green When Buying White Goods
It pays to think very carefully about your new fridge. 

Most of us have a range of white goods in our homes. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, common appliances include refrigerators (in 99.9% of homes), washing machines (97.8%) and air conditioners (74.0%). Just over half of Australian households have a dishwasher, and a similar number have a clothes dryer.

These white goods provide a host of benefits, such as reducing waste, improving comfort, helping us avoid health hazards such as rotten food, or simply freeing up our time to do other things. But they also have significant environmental impacts, and it’s important to consider these when using and choosing white goods.

Most white goods are used on a daily basis for years. This means the bulk of their environmental impact comes not from their manufacture, but from their everyday use. They use electricity, for example, which is often sourced from fossil fuels.

Life cycle impacts of typical white goods
Life cycle impacts of typical white goods.
MIT

When buying an appliance, many people focus on the retail price, but overlook the often significant operating costs. The table below shows the difference in annual energy costs and greenhouse emissions for different-sized dishwashers under various scenarios.

When it comes to appliances, size matters.
When it comes to appliances, size matters.
Sustainability Victoria, Author provided

What to look for

Here are some questions you should ask when shopping for a new white goods appliance:

  • How resource-efficient is this model, compared with other options?

  • How much will it cost to operate?

  • Over the life of the product, would I be better off spending more now to buy a more energy-efficient model that costs less to run?

Read the label

White goods in Australia are required to carry a label detailing their energy and water ratings. The more stars a product has, the more energy- or water-efficient it is. The labels also provide information of average consumption across a year so that you can compare similar products, or account for factors such as the size of the appliance.

The Energy Rating website also allows you to make comparisons, and even calculates usage costs and savings for you. As shown in the figure below, choosing a 10-star fridge over a 3-star one will save you an estimated A$664 in running costs over 10 years. This would offset some or all of the extra up-front cost of buying a more sustainable model.

Many other organisations and websites also provide performance and user reviews for appliances. Choice is an independent organisation that tests a variety of products, including white goods. The tests scrutinise a range of criteria, including energy- and water-efficiency, ease of use, operating costs, and durability.

Use wisely

Once you get your new appliance home, it is also crucial to use it properly. Make sure you read the manual and find out how to maximise the efficiency of the appliance.

For example, talk to your air conditioner installer to determine the optimal position to cool and heat your space, depending on the aspect and layout of your home. And make sure you leave enough space around the back and side of your fridge for air to circulate, which helps dissipate waste heat more effectively and can save up to 150kg of carbon dioxide emissions a year.

Make sure you turn the appliance off when not in use – failing to do this can further add to running costs and environmental impact. Ask yourself whether you really need to keep that ancient beer fridge humming away in the garage.

Of course, you don’t have to wait for a new appliance before doing all of these things. You can make your current appliances perform more efficiently by reviewing how you use and position them.

Washing a full load of clothes is more efficient and sustainable than only washing a part load. If you think you need to do smaller washloads generally, then consider buying a smaller washing machine, or find a model that has smart features such as being able to do a half load.

Many appliances such as dishwashers and washing machines also feature “eco” modes that can save significant amounts of water and energy.

Finally, it’s always worth asking yourself whether you truly need to buy that new appliance. Consider having a broken appliance fixed, as this will avoid using all the resources required to manufacture a new one. Or consider buying secondhand.

Even if buying secondhand, you can check the environmental performance of the appliance, either through the energy rating website or via the manufacturer. Make sure you compare this to new options to see which works out better over the life of the product.

The ConversationAnd if you do buy yourself a new or secondhand appliance, make sure you look into how to recycle your old appliance, through your local council, charities or other organisations.

About The Authors

Trivess Moore, Research Fellow, RMIT University and Simon Lockrey, Research Fellow, RMIT University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Urban Sustainability Transitions: Australian Cases- International Perspectives (Theory and Practice of Urban Sustainability Transitions)
climate adaptationBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $149.99

Buy Now

The Homeowner's Energy Handbook: Your Guide to Getting Off the Grid
climate adaptationAuthor: Paul Scheckel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Storey Publishing, LLC
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

Energy-Efficient Electrical Systems for Buildings (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Series)
climate adaptationAuthor: Moncef Krarti
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: CRC Press
List Price: $170.00

Buy Now

climate adaptation
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}