Pour réduire les décès dus à la chaleur, Louisville a besoin de plus d'arbres 450,000

Pour réduire les décès dus à la chaleur, Louisville a besoin de plus d'arbres 450,000Le plan pour Louisville comprend des objectifs de plantation d'arbres et des objectifs de toiture et d'asphaltage pour différents quartiers. Au total, des arbres 450,000 supplémentaires sont recommandés. (Crédit: Gratisography)

La chaleur extrême est un risque croissant pour les villes du monde entier. Une étude de cas sur Louisville, Kentucky, propose des recommandations qui pourraient réduire considérablement le nombre de personnes qui meurent chaque année de causes liées à la chaleur.

Le plan demande aux dirigeants de planter stratégiquement des arbres et de la végétation supplémentaires, de réduire la consommation d'énergie des voitures et des bâtiments, de diminuer les surfaces imperméables telles que les parcs de stationnement et d'accroître la réflectivité des routes et des toits.

Ces recommandations font partie d'une nouvelle étude qui est la première au pays à mesurer les avantages des stratégies de gestion de la chaleur pour réduire les températures urbaines et à réduire le nombre de personnes qui meurent chaque année de causes liées à la chaleur.

«Les villes doivent penser à une action agressive si elles veulent ralentir de façon mesurable le rythme auquel elles se réchauffent», explique Brian Stone, directeur du Urban Climate Lab de Georgia Tech et professeur à l'École de planification urbaine et régionale du Collège de Architecture. "Louisville et cette étude peuvent ouvrir la voie à d'autres villes à suivre."

Si Louisville met en œuvre les recommandations, ce serait la première ville au monde à élaborer un plan d'adaptation à la chaleur urbaine, dit Stone. La ville pourrait alors montrer comment les changements de la surface physique d'une ville peuvent modifier l'effet de l'îlot de chaleur urbain, qui transforme les villes en chaudrons en raison de l'impact combiné du changement climatique et de la hausse des températures. .

La chaleur est la catastrophe naturelle la plus meurtrière des États-Unis: elle tue plus de gens que les ouragans, les tornades et les tremblements de terre combinés. À propos des personnes 650 meurent chaque année en raison de l'exposition à une chaleur excessive, selon les Centers for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis. Ce nombre n'inclut pas les décès dus aux maladies cardiovasculaires et autres maladies exacerbées par la chaleur.

La majeure partie des décès liés à la chaleur se produisent dans les villes, qui se réchauffent environ deux fois plus vite que le reste de la planète. La superficie urbaine aux États-Unis devrait augmenter d'un tiers grâce à 2050, les collectivités remplaçant les auvents d'arbres luxuriants par de vastes étendues de pavés. L'asphalte, le béton et les immeubles de grande hauteur absorbent la chaleur pendant la journée et la retiennent piégée la nuit, ce qui fait que les températures dans les villes sont plus chaudes que dans les régions voisines et moins développées.

Un rapport précédent par Stone a trouvé Louisville se réchauffe à un taux plus rapide que n'importe quelle autre ville dans le pays. Par exemple, les températures estivales dans le centre-ville peuvent atteindre des degrés 20 plus élevés que les zones environnantes. En réponse, Louisville a commandé Stone in 2014 pour étudier la ville et son îlot de chaleur.

Pour cette dernière étude, Stone a mesuré la couverture forestière existante à Louisville, a trouvé des points chauds et a identifié les quartiers avec les résidents les plus vulnérables aux dangers de la chaleur. Le plan comprend des objectifs de plantation d'arbres et des objectifs de toiture et d'asphaltage pour différents quartiers. Au total, des arbres 450,000 supplémentaires sont recommandés.

L'adoption de ces stratégies et d'autres mesures similaires réduirait la mortalité annuelle par chaleur de Louisville de plus de 20%, dit Stone.

Les représentants de la Ville examineront le rapport et solliciteront les commentaires du public avant de décider comment traiter les constatations et les recommandations.

La source: Georgia Tech

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = villes verdoyantes; maxresults = 3}

To Reduce Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More Trees

To Cut Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More TreesThe plan for Louisville includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended. (Credit: Gratisography)

Extreme heat is a growing hazard for cities around the world. A case study on Louisville, Kentucky offers recommendations that could significantly reduce the number of people who die annually from heat-related causes.

The plan calls for leaders to strategically plant additional trees and vegetation, cut energy consumption by cars and buildings, decrease impervious surface areas such as parking lots, and increase the reflectivity of roads and rooftops.

These recommendations are part of a new study that is the first in the nation to measure the benefits of heat-management strategies for reducing urban temperatures and reducing the numbers of individuals dying from heat-related causes each year.

“Cities need to think about aggressive action if they want to measurably slow the rate at which they’re warming,” says Brian Stone, director of Georgia Tech’s Urban Climate Lab and a professor in the School of City and Regional Planning in the College of Architecture. “Louisville and this study can point the way for other cities to follow.”

If Louisville implements the recommendations, it would be the first city worldwide to develop an urban heat-adaptation plan, Stone says. The city could then show how changes to a city’s physical surface can alter the impact of the urban heat island effect, which turns cities into cauldrons because of the combined impact of climate change and rising temperatures driven by a predominance of concrete and a shortage of vegetation.

Heat is the deadliest natural disaster facing the United States—killing more people than hurricanes, tornadoes, and earthquakes combined. About 650 people die every year because of exposure to excessive heat, according to the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. That number doesn’t include deaths from cardiovascular disease and other illnesses exacerbated by the heat.

The bulk of heat-related deaths occur in cities, which are warming up about twice as fast as the rest of the planet. Urban surface area in the United States is expected to expand by one-third by 2050 as communities replace lush tree canopies with large swaths of paved surfaces. Asphalt, concrete, and tall buildings absorb heat during the day and keep it trapped at night, which causes temperatures in cities to be warmer than neighboring, less developed areas.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


A previous report by Stone found Louisville is warming at a rate faster than any other city in the country. For example, summer temperatures in the city core can be up to 20 degrees higher than surrounding areas. In response, Louisville commissioned Stone in 2014 to study the city and its heat island.

For this latest study, Stone measured existing tree cover in Louisville, found hot spots, and identified the neighborhoods with the residents most vulnerable to heat hazards. The plan includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended.

Adopting these strategies and similar steps would reduce Louisville’s annual heat mortality by more than 20 percent, Stone says.

City officials will review the report and seek public comment before deciding how to address the findings and recommendations.

Source: Georgia Tech

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=greening cities;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…