للحد من الوفيات الحرارية ، تحتاج لويزفيل إلى 450,000 المزيد من الأشجار

لقطع الموت الحراري ، يحتاج لويزفيل 450,000 المزيد من الأشجارتتضمن خطة لويفيل أهدافًا لزراعة الأشجار وأسقفًا بارزة ورصفًا لأحياء مختلفة. في الإجمال ، يوصى باستخدام أشجار 450,000 إضافية. (الائتمان: Gratisography)

تعتبر الحرارة الشديدة مصدر خطر متزايد للمدن حول العالم. تقدم دراسة حالة عن لويزفيل بولاية كنتاكي توصيات يمكن أن تقلل بشكل كبير من عدد الأشخاص الذين يموتون سنويًا لأسباب تتعلق بالحرارة.

وتدعو الخطة القادة إلى زراعة أشجار ونباتات إضافية بشكل استراتيجي ، وتخفيض استهلاك الطاقة من السيارات والمباني ، وتقليل المناطق السطحية غير المرئية مثل مواقف السيارات ، وزيادة انعكاس الطرق وأسطح المباني.

هذه التوصيات جزء من دراسة جديدة هي الأولى في الدولة التي تقيس فوائد استراتيجيات إدارة الحرارة لخفض درجات الحرارة في المناطق الحضرية والحد من أعداد الأفراد الذين يموتون لأسباب تتعلق بالحرارة كل عام.

يقول برايان ستون ، مدير مختبر المناخ الحضري بجورجيا تيك ، وأستاذ في كلية المدينة والتخطيط الإقليمي في كلية: "على المدن أن تفكر في العمل العدواني إذا أرادت أن تبطئ من معدل ارتفاع درجة الحرارة". هندسة معمارية. "يمكن لويزفيل وهذه الدراسة توجيه الطريق لمدن أخرى لمتابعة".

يقول ستون إنه إذا نفذت لويزفيل التوصيات ، فستكون أول مدينة في العالم تقوم بتطوير خطة التكيف الحراري. يمكن أن تظهر المدينة بعد ذلك كيف يمكن للتغييرات التي تطرأ على السطح المادي للمدينة أن تغير تأثير تأثير الجزيرة الحرارية الحضرية ، الذي يحول المدن إلى مراجل بسبب التأثير المشترك لتغير المناخ وارتفاع درجات الحرارة بسبب هيمنة الخرسانة ونقص الغطاء النباتي .

الحرارة هي أخطر كارثة طبيعية تواجه الولايات المتحدة - فهي تقتل عددًا أكبر من الناس مقارنة بالأعاصير والأعاصير والزلازل مجتمعة. حول الناس 650 يموتون كل عام بسبب التعرض للحرارة المفرطة ، وفقا للمراكز الأمريكية لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها. هذا العدد لا يشمل الوفيات الناجمة عن أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والأمراض الأخرى التي تفاقمت بسبب الحرارة.

يحدث معظم الوفيات المرتبطة بالحرارة في المدن ، التي ترتفع درجة حرارتها بسرعة تصل إلى ضعف سرعة باقي أجزاء الكوكب. من المتوقع أن تتوسع مساحة سطح المناطق الحضرية في الولايات المتحدة بنسبة الثلث من خلال 2050 حيث تقوم المجتمعات المحلية باستبدال الستائر المورقة بالأشجار مع مساحات كبيرة من الأسطح المرصوفة. يمتص الأسفلت والخرسانة والمباني العالية الحرارة خلال النهار ويبقيها محصورة في الليل ، مما يجعل درجات الحرارة في المدن أكثر دفئا من المناطق المجاورة الأقل تطورا.

وقد وجد تقرير سابق أعده ستون أن لويفيل تزداد حرارة بمعدل أسرع من أي مدينة أخرى في البلاد. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تصل درجات حرارة الصيف في قلب المدينة إلى 20 بدرجة أعلى من المناطق المحيطة. ردا على ذلك ، كلفت لويزفيل ستون في 2014 لدراسة المدينة وجزءتها الحرارية.

في هذه الدراسة الأخيرة ، قام ستون بقياس الغطاء الشجري الموجود في لويزفيل ، ووجد النقاط الساخنة ، وحدد الأحياء مع السكان الأكثر عرضة لمخاطر الحرارة. تتضمن الخطة أهدافًا لزراعة الأشجار وسقوفًا رائعة وأهداف رصف لأحياء مختلفة. في الإجمال ، يوصى باستخدام أشجار 450,000 إضافية.

وقال ستون إن تبني هذه الاستراتيجيات والخطوات المماثلة من شأنه أن يخفض معدل الوفيات السنوية في لويزفيل بأكثر من نسبة 20.

وسيقوم مسؤولو المدينة بمراجعة التقرير وطلب التعليقات العامة قبل اتخاذ قرار بشأن كيفية معالجة النتائج والتوصيات.

مصدر: جورجيا تك

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = المدن الخضراء ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

To Reduce Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More Trees

To Cut Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More TreesThe plan for Louisville includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended. (Credit: Gratisography)

Extreme heat is a growing hazard for cities around the world. A case study on Louisville, Kentucky offers recommendations that could significantly reduce the number of people who die annually from heat-related causes.

The plan calls for leaders to strategically plant additional trees and vegetation, cut energy consumption by cars and buildings, decrease impervious surface areas such as parking lots, and increase the reflectivity of roads and rooftops.

These recommendations are part of a new study that is the first in the nation to measure the benefits of heat-management strategies for reducing urban temperatures and reducing the numbers of individuals dying from heat-related causes each year.

“Cities need to think about aggressive action if they want to measurably slow the rate at which they’re warming,” says Brian Stone, director of Georgia Tech’s Urban Climate Lab and a professor in the School of City and Regional Planning in the College of Architecture. “Louisville and this study can point the way for other cities to follow.”

If Louisville implements the recommendations, it would be the first city worldwide to develop an urban heat-adaptation plan, Stone says. The city could then show how changes to a city’s physical surface can alter the impact of the urban heat island effect, which turns cities into cauldrons because of the combined impact of climate change and rising temperatures driven by a predominance of concrete and a shortage of vegetation.

Heat is the deadliest natural disaster facing the United States—killing more people than hurricanes, tornadoes, and earthquakes combined. About 650 people die every year because of exposure to excessive heat, according to the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. That number doesn’t include deaths from cardiovascular disease and other illnesses exacerbated by the heat.

The bulk of heat-related deaths occur in cities, which are warming up about twice as fast as the rest of the planet. Urban surface area in the United States is expected to expand by one-third by 2050 as communities replace lush tree canopies with large swaths of paved surfaces. Asphalt, concrete, and tall buildings absorb heat during the day and keep it trapped at night, which causes temperatures in cities to be warmer than neighboring, less developed areas.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


A previous report by Stone found Louisville is warming at a rate faster than any other city in the country. For example, summer temperatures in the city core can be up to 20 degrees higher than surrounding areas. In response, Louisville commissioned Stone in 2014 to study the city and its heat island.

For this latest study, Stone measured existing tree cover in Louisville, found hot spots, and identified the neighborhoods with the residents most vulnerable to heat hazards. The plan includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended.

Adopting these strategies and similar steps would reduce Louisville’s annual heat mortality by more than 20 percent, Stone says.

City officials will review the report and seek public comment before deciding how to address the findings and recommendations.

Source: Georgia Tech

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=greening cities;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…