Um Hitzetod zu reduzieren, braucht Louisville 450,000 mehr Bäume

Um Hitzetod zu schneiden, braucht Louisville 450,000 mehr BäumeDer Plan für Louisville umfasst Baumpflanzziele und coole Dach- und Pflasterung Ziele für verschiedene Nachbarschaften. Insgesamt werden zusätzliche 450,000-Bäume empfohlen. (Kredit: Gratisographie)

Extreme Hitze ist eine wachsende Gefahr für Städte auf der ganzen Welt. Eine Fallstudie in Louisville, Kentucky, bietet Empfehlungen, die die Anzahl der Menschen, die jährlich an hitzebedingten Ursachen sterben, signifikant reduzieren könnte.

Der Plan sieht vor, dass die Führer zusätzliche Bäume und Vegetation strategisch anpflanzen, den Energieverbrauch von Autos und Gebäuden senken, undurchlässige Flächen wie Parkplätze abbauen und die Reflektivität von Straßen und Dächern erhöhen.

Diese Empfehlungen sind Teil einer neuen Studie, die als erste im ganzen Land die Vorteile von Wärmemanagement-Strategien zur Reduzierung der städtischen Temperaturen und zur Verringerung der Anzahl von Individuen, die jedes Jahr aus wärmebedingten Gründen sterben, misst.

"Städte müssen über aggressives Handeln nachdenken, wenn sie die Erwärmungsrate messbar verlangsamen wollen", sagt Brian Stone, Direktor des Urban Climate Lab von Georgia Tech und Professor an der Schule für Stadt- und Regionalplanung am College of Georgia Die Architektur. "Louisville und diese Studie können anderen Städten den Weg weisen."

Wenn Louisville die Empfehlungen umsetzt, wäre es die erste Stadt weltweit, die einen städtischen Wärmeanpassungsplan entwickelt, sagt Stone. Die Stadt könnte dann zeigen, wie Veränderungen an der physischen Oberfläche einer Stadt die Auswirkungen des städtischen Wärmeinseleffekts verändern können, der Städte in Kessel verwandelt, da der Klimawandel und die steigenden Temperaturen, die von Beton und einem Mangel an Vegetation angetrieben werden, zusammenwirken .

Hitze ist die tödlichste Naturkatastrophe, mit der die Vereinigten Staaten konfrontiert sind - sie tötet mehr Menschen als Hurrikane, Tornados und Erdbeben zusammen. Über 650 Menschen sterben jedes Jahr wegen der Exposition gegenüber übermäßiger Hitze, nach den US-Zentren für Krankheitskontrolle und Prävention. Diese Zahl schließt keine Todesfälle durch Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen und andere Krankheiten ein, die durch die Hitze verschlimmert werden.

Der Großteil der Hitze-bedingten Todesfälle tritt in Städten auf, die sich etwa doppelt so schnell aufwärmen wie der Rest des Planeten. Die städtische Fläche in den Vereinigten Staaten wird voraussichtlich um ein Drittel von 2050 erweitert, da Gemeinden üppige Baumkronen durch große Flächen gepflasterter Flächen ersetzen. Asphalt, Beton und hohe Gebäude absorbieren tagsüber Wärme und halten sie in der Nacht eingeschlossen, was dazu führt, dass die Temperaturen in den Städten wärmer sind als in benachbarten, weniger entwickelten Gebieten.

Ein früherer Bericht von Stone fand heraus, dass Louisville sich schneller erholt als jede andere Stadt des Landes. Zum Beispiel können die Sommertemperaturen im Stadtkern bis zu 20 Grad höher sein als in der Umgebung. Als Antwort beauftragte Louisville Stone in 2014, die Stadt und ihre Wärmeinsel zu studieren.

Für diese neueste Studie maß Stone die vorhandene Baumabdeckung in Louisville, fand Hot Spots und identifizierte die Viertel mit den am stärksten gefährdeten Anwohnern. Der Plan umfasst Baumpflanzziele und coole Dach- und Pflasterungsziele für verschiedene Stadtteile. Insgesamt werden zusätzliche 450,000-Bäume empfohlen.

Die Übernahme dieser Strategien und ähnlicher Schritte würde die jährliche Hitzemortalität von Louisville um mehr als 20 Prozent reduzieren, sagt Stone.

Die Stadtbeamten werden den Bericht prüfen und eine öffentliche Stellungnahme einholen, bevor sie entscheiden, wie die Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen zu behandeln sind.

Quelle: Georgia Tech

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = grüne Städte; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

To Reduce Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More Trees

To Cut Heat Deaths, Louisville Needs 450,000 More TreesThe plan for Louisville includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended. (Credit: Gratisography)

Extreme heat is a growing hazard for cities around the world. A case study on Louisville, Kentucky offers recommendations that could significantly reduce the number of people who die annually from heat-related causes.

The plan calls for leaders to strategically plant additional trees and vegetation, cut energy consumption by cars and buildings, decrease impervious surface areas such as parking lots, and increase the reflectivity of roads and rooftops.

These recommendations are part of a new study that is the first in the nation to measure the benefits of heat-management strategies for reducing urban temperatures and reducing the numbers of individuals dying from heat-related causes each year.

“Cities need to think about aggressive action if they want to measurably slow the rate at which they’re warming,” says Brian Stone, director of Georgia Tech’s Urban Climate Lab and a professor in the School of City and Regional Planning in the College of Architecture. “Louisville and this study can point the way for other cities to follow.”

If Louisville implements the recommendations, it would be the first city worldwide to develop an urban heat-adaptation plan, Stone says. The city could then show how changes to a city’s physical surface can alter the impact of the urban heat island effect, which turns cities into cauldrons because of the combined impact of climate change and rising temperatures driven by a predominance of concrete and a shortage of vegetation.

Heat is the deadliest natural disaster facing the United States—killing more people than hurricanes, tornadoes, and earthquakes combined. About 650 people die every year because of exposure to excessive heat, according to the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. That number doesn’t include deaths from cardiovascular disease and other illnesses exacerbated by the heat.

The bulk of heat-related deaths occur in cities, which are warming up about twice as fast as the rest of the planet. Urban surface area in the United States is expected to expand by one-third by 2050 as communities replace lush tree canopies with large swaths of paved surfaces. Asphalt, concrete, and tall buildings absorb heat during the day and keep it trapped at night, which causes temperatures in cities to be warmer than neighboring, less developed areas.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


A previous report by Stone found Louisville is warming at a rate faster than any other city in the country. For example, summer temperatures in the city core can be up to 20 degrees higher than surrounding areas. In response, Louisville commissioned Stone in 2014 to study the city and its heat island.

For this latest study, Stone measured existing tree cover in Louisville, found hot spots, and identified the neighborhoods with the residents most vulnerable to heat hazards. The plan includes tree-planting targets and cool roofing and paving goals for different neighborhoods. In all, an additional 450,000 trees are recommended.

Adopting these strategies and similar steps would reduce Louisville’s annual heat mortality by more than 20 percent, Stone says.

City officials will review the report and seek public comment before deciding how to address the findings and recommendations.

Source: Georgia Tech

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=greening cities;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…