ما كاليفورنيا يمكن ان نستخلصه من 15 عاما الجفاف في أستراليا

ما كاليفورنيا يمكن ان نستخلصه من 15 عاما الجفاف في أستراليا

شهدت ولاية كاليفورنيا، خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، أشد جفاف في تاريخه. وردا على تدهور الأوضاع، أعلن الحاكم جيري براون أول خفض على الاطلاق إلزامي على مستوى الولاية في استخدام المياه في المناطق الحضرية في نيسان 2015. هذا يدعو سكان كاليفورنيا إلى تقليل استخدامهم لمياه الشرب الصالحة للشرب (آمنة للشرب والطعام) بواسطة 25٪ من مستويات ما قبل الجفاف. كاليفورنيا تلبي ولاية.

كاليفورنيا تدخل عامها الخامس على التوالي من الجفاف ، مع العديد من المناطق التي تعاني من مستويات الجفاف "استثنائية". في حين الأمطار وتساقط الثلوج قد تحسنت في الآونة الأخيرة، تبقى مخزونات المياه منخفضة و ال لم تتغير إشارة الجفاف على المدى الطويل.

يستمر الجفاف في كاليفورنيا في عامها الخامس. مراقب الجفاف في الولايات المتحدةيستمر الجفاف في كاليفورنيا في عامها الخامس. مراقب الجفاف في الولايات المتحدةتحولت الوكالات الأمريكية إلى أستراليا لتعلم كيف يمكن لمرافق المياه الحضرية ووكالات المياه أن تستجيب على أفضل وجه للجفاف. على وجه الخصوص ، هناك اهتمام كبير بتجربة المدن الأسترالية خلال أسوأ جفاف تم تسجيله: جفاف "الألفية" الذي استمر لمدة 15 من 1997 حتى انتهى رسميا في 2012.

في تقرير أعدت وكالات مياه كاليفورنيا، ولقد انعكس ذلك على بعض من أهم الدروس من تجربة الألفية الجفاف لتقييم فرص كاليفورنيا.

كفاءة المياه ، والأهداف الهادئة

الجفاف الألفية تتأثر في الغالب جنوب شرق استراليا، وإنتاج انخفاضات كبيرة في معدلات سقوط الأمطار في فصل الشتاء. كانت العديد من المناطق لديها فترة جفافها على الاطلاق. فعلى سبيل المثال ، شهدت ميلبورن تخزينًا للمياه ينخفض ​​من 97٪ إلى 33٪ على الجفاف. انخفضت تدفقات الأنهار بمقدار النصف تقريبا.

جنوب شرق أستراليا خلال ذروة الجفاف الألفية (2001-2009) مكتب الأرصاد الجوية الأستراليجنوب شرق أستراليا خلال ذروة الجفاف الألفية (2001-2009) مكتب الأرصاد الجوية الأستراليوعموما ، نجت مدن وبلدات أستراليا من الجفاف الذي شهدته الألفية ، حيث أظهرت الابتكار الرائد في العالم وأمثلة استثنائية لتخطيط وإدارة المياه في المناطق الحضرية مدفوعة بالأزمة. ومع ذلك ، هناك العديد من المبادرات والقرارات التي لا تعمل بشكل جيد.

في أستراليا، كانت كفاءة المياه في المناطق الحضرية وانجازات هادئة. وشملت هذه التدابير تغيير والغسالات، والمراحيض، وأبراج التبريد، ورؤساء دش والصنابير والعمليات الصناعية إلى بذل المزيد من الجهد مع أقل. في العديد من المواقع في أستراليا، قدمت كفاءة استخدام المياه أرخص، مساهمة الأسرع والأكثر فعالية لإدارة الطلب خلال فترة الجفاف. وبدون ذلك، فإن العديد من المدن والبلدات ونفاد المياه.

كاليفورنيا يمكن أن تستفيد من التغيرات الهيكلية طويلة الأجل في استخدام المياه من خلال تنفيذ تدابير كفاءة مماثلة.

الابتكار العالمي الرائد

نجت أستراليا من الجفاف من خلال إظهار الابتكار وإدارة تخطيط المياه في العالم. كان من العوامل المهمة في النجاح برامج الحكومة والمرافق التي حشدت الدعم المجتمعي لخفض الطلب على المياه للأسر.

جنوب شرق ولاية كوينزلاند، على سبيل المثال، وضعت هدفا لتقليل استخدام المياه كل شخص ل140 لتر (جالون 37 الولايات المتحدة) في اليوم الواحد. لم سكان كوينزلاند أفضل.

حققت كاليفورنيا تقدمًا كبيرًا في تعزيز الحفاظ على المياه وكفاءتها للتغلب على الجفاف. كما وضعت الدولة أهدافًا للحفظ ، كما نفذت المجتمعات تدابير للحفاظ على المياه على المدى القصير ، مثل القيود المفروضة على الري في الهواء الطلق.

ومع ذلك، يمكن القيام بالمزيد في ولاية كاليفورنيا، كما هو مبين من خلال بحثنا. قدمت أستراليا أكبر من ذلك بكثير، والاستثمارات شاملة في المحافظة على المياه وكفاءة إشراك الأسر والشركات والحكومات المحلية. وقد ساعدت هذه الاستثمارات المدن على التأقلم مع الجفاف الألفية، وكذلك الحد من التعرض للجفاف في المستقبل.

استراتيجية أخرى في ولاية كاليفورنيا هي ضمان أي خيارات البنية التحتية - السدود ومحطات تحلية المياه أو قدرة إعادة التدوير - مرنة.

وهذا يعني تطبيق استراتيجية "الاستعداد للبناء" ، والتي تتضمن تحديد أفضل الخيارات ووضع الترتيبات للبدء في وقت قصير ، ولكن التوقف عن الالتزام التعاقدي بالبناء حتى الحاجة. هذا لديه القدرة على توفير الكثير من المال ومنع "الأصول التي تقطعت بهم السبل".

حكومة نيو ساوث ويلز اعتمدت هذه الاستراتيجية لمحطة تحلية المياه المقترحة سيدني في خليج بوتاني. ومع ذلك، كان انقلبت وتوقيع العقد عندما كانت مستويات السد فوق 50٪ وارتفاع. وكانت النتيجة و1.9 مليار $ (US 1.4 مليار $) الأصول الذين تقطعت بهم السبل والنبات الذي لا يزال في النفتالين.

الفرص الضائعة

أثناء الجفاف الألفية أستراليا، كان هناك العديد من الابتكارات ولكن الفرص الضائعة أيضا. ومن الأمثلة المياه وإعادة تدوير النفايات من المباني التجارية والمصانع والملاعب الرياضية، والمياه يتعافى من نظام الصرف الصحي لإعادة التدوير.

ويمكن لهذه النظم أن توفر وفورات فورية ، مع زيادات أصغر في الاستثمار ، وكذلك فائدة دائمة بعد انتهاء الجفاف. كما يمكنهم توفير الخبرة والدعم للصناعة الناشئة.

تتضمن النتائج الرئيسية الأخرى في التقرير ما يلي:

  • إن المشاركة المجتمعية الواسعة عبر القطاعات - الأسر ، والأعمال التجارية ، والصناعة والحكومة - تعزز الشعور بالعدالة والتعاون في توفير المياه

  • وهناك حاجة واضحة، والاتصالات ذات مصداقية حول الجفاف والمنطق للاستجابة لتحقيق أقصى قدر من المشاركة العامة والدعم

  • آليات تسعير المياه المبتكرة، وإن لم يكن يعمل أثناء الجفاف الألفية أستراليا، يمكن أن تستخدم لتشجيع الادخار المياه في ولاية كاليفورنيا.

في أستراليا، خرجنا من الجفاف مع القدرة على العرض فائض المياه بفضل الإنفاق على البنية التحتية. وعلى الرغم من الاهتمام لحلول المياه المبتكرة والفعالة من حيث التكلفة وكفاءة استخدام المياه انحسرت بسرعة بعد الجفاف، والمعرفة التقنية والعملية من استجابة صناعة المياه الاسترالية للجفاف وتقدم العديد من الدروس الأساسية للاستجابة في ولاية كاليفورنيا.

تم إجراء هذا البحث بالتعاون مع التحالف الأمريكي لكفاءة استخدام المياه و ال معهد المحيط الهادئ والعديد من مرافق ووكالات المياه الحضرية الأسترالية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيوارت وايت، مدير معهد المستقبلية المستدامة، جامعة سيدني للتكنولوجيا

Andrea Turner Research Director، Institute for Sustainable Futures، University of Technology Sydney

جوان تشونغ مدير الأبحاث ، معهد المستقبل المستدام ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني

ظهرت على المحادثة


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What California Can Learn From Australia’s 15-year Drought

What California Can Learn From Australia’s 15-year Drought

California has experienced, over the past few years, its most severe drought on record. In response to worsening conditions, Governor Jerry Brown announced the first ever statewide mandatory reduction in urban water use in April 2015. This calls on Californians to reduce their use of potable (safe for drinking and food preparation) urban water by 25% from pre-drought levels. Californians are meeting the mandate.

California is entering its fifth consecutive year of drought, with many areas experiencing “exceptional” drought levels. While rain and snowfall have improved recently, water storages remain low and the long-term drought signal has not changed.

The California drought is continuing into its fifth year. US Drought MonitorThe California drought is continuing into its fifth year. US Drought MonitorUS agencies have turned to Australia to learn how urban water utilities and water agencies might best respond to drought. In particular, there is keen interest in the experience of Australian cities during the worst drought on record: the “millennium” drought that lasted 15 years from 1997 until it officially ended in 2012.

In a report prepared for Californian water agencies, we have reflected on some of the key lessons from the millennium drought experience to assess opportunities for California.

Water efficiency, the quiet achiever

The millennium drought affected mostly southeastern Australia, producing major declines in winter rainfall. Many areas had their driest period on record. Melbourne, for instance, saw water storages fall from 97% to 33% over the drought. River flows fell by nearly half.

South-east Australia during the peak of the millennium drought (2001-2009) Australian Bureau of MeteorologySouth-east Australia during the peak of the millennium drought (2001-2009) Australian Bureau of MeteorologyOverall, Australia’s cities and towns survived the millennium drought, demonstrating world-leading innovation and exceptional examples of urban water planning and management driven by crisis. Yet there are also several initiatives and decisions that did not work so well.

In Australia, urban water efficiency was the quiet achiever. These measures included changing washing machines, toilets, cooling towers, shower heads, taps and industrial processes to do more with less. In many locations in Australia, water efficiency provided the cheapest, quickest and most effective contribution to managing demand during the drought. Without it, many cities and towns would have run out of water.

California could benefit from long-term structural changes in water use by implementing similar efficiency measures.

World-leading innovation

Australia survived the drought by demonstrating world-leading innovation and water planning and management. An important factor in the success was government and utility programs that rallied community support for lowering household water demand.

Southeast Queensland, for example, set a target to reduce each person’s water use to 140 litres (37 US gallons) per day. Queensland residents did even better.

California has made significant progress in advancing water conservation and efficiency to cope with the drought. The state has also set conservation targets and communities have implemented short-term water conservation measures, such as restrictions on outdoor watering.

However, more can be done in California, as shown by our research. Australia made much larger, comprehensive investments in water conservation and efficiency involving households, businesses and local governments. These investments helped cities cope with the millennium drought and also reduce vulnerability to future droughts.

Another strategy for California is to ensure any infrastructure options - dams, desalination plants or recycling capacity - are flexible.

This means applying a strategy of “readiness to construct”, which involves identifying the best options and putting in place the arrangements to start at short notice, but stopping short of contractually committing to construct until needed. This has the potential to save a lot of money and prevent “stranded assets”.

The New South Wales government adopted this strategy for its proposed Sydney desalination plant on Botany Bay. However, that was overturned and the contract signed when dam levels were above 50% and rising. The result was a A$1.9 billion (US$1.4 billion) stranded asset and a plant that is still in mothballs.

Missed opportunities

During Australia’s millennium drought, there were many innovations but also missed opportunities. Examples include recycling waste water from commercial buildings, factories and sports fields, and recovering water from the sewage system for recycling.

Such systems can provide immediate savings, with smaller increments of investment, and also a lasting benefit after the drought ends. They can also provide experience and support to an emerging industry.

Other key findings in the report include:

  • Broad community involvement across sectors – households, business, industry and government – fosters a sense of fairness and collaboration in saving water

  • Clear, credible communication about the drought and reasoning for the response is needed to maximize public participation and support

  • Innovative water-pricing mechanisms, although not employed during Australia’s millennium drought, could be used to encourage water savings in California.

In Australia, we emerged from the drought with surplus water supply capacity thanks to spending on infrastructure. Although attention to innovative and cost-effective water solutions and water efficiency quickly subsided after the drought, the technical and practical knowledge from the Australian water industry’s response to drought provides many key lessons for California’s response.

This research was conducted in collaboration with the US Alliance for Water Efficiency and the Pacific Institute and several Australian urban water utilities and agencies.

About The Author

Stuart White, Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney

Andrea Turner Research Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney

Joanne Chong Research Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney

 

Appeared On The Conversation


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}