5 طرق تتكيف المجتمعات مع القلق من المناخ

5 طرق تتكيف المجتمعات مع القلق من المناخ
في هذا الصيف ، اندلعت حرائق الغابات في ولاية كاليفورنيا ، وغمرت الأمطار الغزيرة أجزاء من اليابان ، وأدت درجات الحرارة القياسية إلى عدد من الوفيات المرتبطة بالحرارة في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويزداد تغير المناخ مثل هذه الكوارث ، ويقول العلماء إن الطقس المتطرف كهذا سيزيد ويتفاقم مع تسارع تغير المناخ. وهو يؤثر على صحتنا العقلية.

هذا يمكن أن تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية لا تزال تجعل المياه العذبة من المياه المالحة

هذا يمكن أن تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية لا تزال تجعل المياه العذبة من المياه المالحةالسكان المحليون يجمعون المياه من حفرة مائية موحلة في 2006 في سان ماركوس Tlacoyalco. شهدت منطقة تهواكان فالي جنوب شرق مكسيكو سيتي منذ فترة طويلة نقصًا حادًا في المياه. وقد ساهم الجفاف والتغير المناخي في هذا ، لكن النمو الصناعي الذي حدث مؤخراً أدى إلى توتر موارد المياه الجوفية المحدودة للغاية. تعتمد الموارد المائية في المنطقة بشكل كبير على التسليم الأسبوعي بالشاحنة وكذلك تجميع المياه من البرك الصغيرة المعروفة باسم Jagueys.

أفضل الطرق لتعزيز الابتكار في مجال الطاقة الشمسية وإنقاذ وظائف من التعريفات

أفضل الطرق لتعزيز الابتكار في مجال الطاقة الشمسية وإنقاذ وظائف من التعريفات
وبعيداً عن حماية المصالح الأمريكية ، فإن التعريفات ستضطر إلى خنق الطفرة الحالية في الطاقة الشمسية ، وتدمير الوظائف الأمريكية ، وتقليص الابتكار في مجال الطاقة النظيفة. كما الاقتصاديين الذين يبحثون المناخ والطاقة السياسات التي يمكن أن تعزز اخضر اقتصاد أمريكا الشماليةندعو إلى ضرورة قيام الحكومة بدلاً من ذلك بإنشاء دعم مستهدف يدعم الابتكار وخفض التكاليف عبر سلسلة التوريد.

ما يمكن لهذه الغيوم 6 تكشف عن الطقس

Cumulonimbus: الأمطار الغزيرة والرعد في الأفق.
لا تحتاج إلى جهاز كمبيوتر عملاق للتنبؤ بكيفية تغير الطقس فوق رأسك على الأرجح خلال الساعات القليلة القادمة - وهذا معروف عبر الثقافات لآلاف السنين. من خلال مراقبة السماء فوقك ، ومعرفة القليل عن كيفية تشكل السحب ، يمكنك التنبؤ بما إذا كانت الأمطار في الطريق.

التسوق المستدام: كيفية الحفاظ على اللون الأخضر عند شراء السلع البيضاء

التسوق المستدام: كيفية الحفاظ على اللون الأخضر عند شراء السلع البيضاء
معظمنا لديه مجموعة من السلع البيضاء (الثلاجات ، الغسالات ، الخ) في منازلنا. توفر هذه السلع البيضاء مجموعة كبيرة من المزايا ، ولكن لها أيضًا تأثيرات بيئية كبيرة ، ومن المهم اعتبارها عند استخدام السلع البيضاء واختيارها.

بداية جديدة للتخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلندا

بداية جديدة للتخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلنداإن انتخاب الحكومة السادسة بقيادة حزب العمال يبشر باتجاه جديد لسياسة تغير المناخ في نيوزيلندا. كجزء من خطة أولويات حكومة 100 الجديدة ، تعهدت بتعيين الهدف من حياد الكربون بواسطة 2050 وإنشاء آليات للتخلص التدريجي من الوقود الأحفوري.

دراسة تبين الأراضي الرطبة يمكن أن تقلل بشكل كبير من أضرار الممتلكات

دراسة تبين الأراضي الرطبة يمكن أن تقلل بشكل كبير من أضرار الممتلكاتكان "الجفاف الناتج عن الأعاصير" في عام 12 الذي لم تشهده الأعاصير الرئيسية التي تشكلت في المحيط الأطلسي نهاية كبيرة في 2017. إن التأثيرات المدمرة لكل من هارفي وإيرما وخوسيه وماريا في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة والكاريبي تقدم تذكيرًا مأساويًا بالمخاطر الكارثية التي نواجهها على سواحلنا.

6 طرق لإنقاذ تراوت وسمك السلمون في كاليفورنيا

6 طرق لإنقاذ تراوت وسمك السلمون في كاليفورنيايشير تقرير جديد إلى أن ما يقرب من نصف أنواع سمك السلمون والصلب وأنواع التراوت المحلية في كاليفورنيا في طريقها إلى انقراضها في السنوات العشر القادمة من 50.

كيف يتكيف المزارعون الأستراليون مع تغير المناخ

كيف يتكيف المزارعون الأستراليون مع تغير المناخلقد كان 2016-17 عامًا عظيمًا للمزارعين الأستراليين ، مع إنتاج قياسي وصادرات وأرباح. كانت هذه السجلات مدفوعة إلى حد كبير بالطقس الجيد ، ولا سيما في فصل الشتاء الرطب في 2016 ، مما أدى إلى غلة استثنائية للمحاصيل الرئيسية

إدارة المياه أمر أساسي لتكييف الزراعة الأفريقية مع تغير المناخ

إدارة المياه أمر أساسي لتكييف الزراعة الأفريقية مع تغير المناخوقد أدرجت البلدان الأفريقية بشكل ساحق الزراعة المقاومة للمناخ في تعهداتها الإرشادية للأمم المتحدة. وينظر إلى الزراعة كمركز رئيسي من خلال موقف مشترك للاتحاد الأفريقي بشأن التكيف مع المناخ.

كيفية التحدث مع تغير المناخ يشكك في ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري

كيفية التحدث مع تغير المناخ يشكك في ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراريغالبًا ما تخرج المحادثات حول تغير المناخ عن حجج حول ما إذا كان الاحترار العالمي موجودًا ، وما إذا كان تغير المناخ يحدث بالفعل ، ومدى تأثير النشاط البشري ، وما هي المعتقدات التي تستند إلى الأدلة مقابل الدعاية. المحادثة

لماذا تحتاج المجتمعات الريفية للحديث عن تغير المناخ

لماذا تحتاج المجتمعات الريفية للحديث عن تغير المناخيمكن لتثقيف المجتمعات الريفية أن يساعدها في الحيلولة دون إلحاق ضرر دائم بالبيئة. هناك فكرة خاطئة مفادها أنه لا يمكنك التحدث عن تغير المناخ في المجتمعات الريفية لأن القضية تعتبر مستقطبة للغاية ...

كيف تتكيف جنوب فلوريدا مع تغير المناخ

كيف تتكيف جنوب فلوريدا مع تغير المناخمع كل عام يمر ، تواجه جنوب شرق فلوريدا المزيد من الضغوط للتكيف مع تغير المناخ. تعاني المنطقة بالفعل من آثار تغير المناخ ، مثل الفيضانات في الأيام المشمسة خلال أعلى موجة من السنة

لماذا يجب أن نساعد النباتات على التحرك مع تغير المناخ

لماذا يجب أن نساعد النباتات على التحرك مع تغير المناختظهر النظم البيئية بالفعل علامات تغير المناخ ، من الموت الأخير لغابات المنغروف في شمال أستراليا ، إلى انخفاض الطيور في شرق أستراليا ، إلى عدم قدرة غابات الرماد الجبلي على التعافي من الحرائق المتكررة.

التكيف مع الجفاف: طريقة أفضل لقياس شح المياه

التكيف مع الجفاف: طريقة أفضل لقياس شح المياهيبدو أن الأزمات المائية في كل مكان. في فلينت ، قد تقتلنا المياه. في سوريا ، أسوأ موجة جفاف منذ مئات السنين تؤدي إلى تفاقم الحرب الأهلية. لكن الكثير من الأماكن الجافة ليست في صراع. لجميع الهرج والمرج حتى كاليفورنيا لم ينفد من الماء.

كيف يساعد الجيش الهندي معركة التغيير المناخي

إزالة التلال من الأشجار بواسطة زراعة القطع والحرق في أروناشال براديش ، شمال شرق الهند. الصورة: Prashanth NS عبر Flickrيلعب جنود فرقة العمل البيئية دورًا رئيسيًا في الحفاظ على الغابات والتربة والماء لمساعدة الهند على تحقيق أهداف الحد من الانبعاثات المنصوص عليها في قمة المناخ في باريس.

التقليل من فشل المحاصيل في المناخ المتغير

التقليل من فشل المحاصيل في المناخ المتغيرفي سياق تغير المناخ غير المسبوق وانعدام الأمن الغذائي ، يعد التكيف في النظم الزراعية أمراً بالغ الأهمية في أفريقيا. من الأهمية بمكان تربية أنواع جديدة من المحاصيل الأساسية التي يتم تكييفها للتعامل مع الظروف المناخية.

كيف يمكن للمجتمعات أن تتعلم العيش مع تزايد حرائق الغابات

كيف يمكن للمجتمعات أن تتعلم العيش مع تزايد حرائق الغاباتفي السنوات الأخيرة ، أصبحت مواسم حرائق الغابات في غرب الولايات المتحدة شديدة لدرجة أن العديد منا الذين يصنعون منازلنا في المناطق الجافة المعرضة للنيران يتصارعون مع كيفية العيش بالنار.

إعادة تدوير Graywater هي استراتيجية ممتازة للجفاف

حديقة مروية مع المياه الرمادية ومياه الأمطار ، لوس أنجلوس. جيريمي ليفين / فليكر ، CC BYتعاني العديد من مناطق الولايات المتحدة من نقص في المياه. تتنافس مناطق واسعة من الغرب مع جفاف معتدل إلى شديد ، في حين أن كاليفورنيا الآن في السنة الخامسة من واحدة من أكثر موجات الجفاف تطرفا في تاريخها. حتى المناطق غير القاحلة ، مثل الجنوب الشرقي ، ليست معفاة من نقص المياه.

ما كاليفورنيا يمكن ان نستخلصه من 15 عاما الجفاف في أستراليا

ما كاليفورنيا يمكن ان نستخلصه من 15 عاما الجفاف في أسترالياشهدت كاليفورنيا ، على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، أشد جفاف شهدته. استجابةً لظروف التدهور ، أعلن الحاكم جيري براون أول تخفيض إلزامي على الإطلاق على مستوى الولاية لاستخدام المياه في المناطق الحضرية في أبريل 2015. هذا يدعو إلى كاليفورنيا

لماذا جزيرة المرجان النقاط الساخنة توجد في المحيطات الصحراء

النقاط الساخنة الإنتاجية في محيط فقير بالمغذيات. وجود كميات كبيرة من أسماك العوالق في الشعاب المرجانية في المحيط الهادي الهندي. Zafer Kizilkaya، CC BY-SAوكان تشارلز داروين، منذ ما يقرب من 200 عاما، الذي طلب أولا كيف يمكن أن يكون ذلك الشعاب المرجانية يمكن أن تزدهر في مناطق قاحلة نسبيا من المحيط الهادي. هذا اللغز في وقت لاحق أصبح يعرف باسم مفارقة داروين.

لماذا تزدهر بعض الحيوانات والنباتات في ظل تغير المناخ؟

عصا إلى المراعي ، السنجاب الأرض. فينس سميث ، CC BYفي منتصف فبراير وعلى طول الساحل الجنوبي لبريطانيا ، ينجرف رأس الدنيس من البحر المفتوح إلى مصبات الأنهار. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يستعد الآلاف من البلشون الصغير للسفر إلى أوروبا القارية لموسم التكاثر ، على الرغم من بضع مئات

يحتاج علم المناخ إلى تحويل تركيزه إلى التكيف عاجلاً بدلاً من لاحقاً

يحتاج علم المناخ إلى تحويل تركيزه إلى التكيف عاجلاً بدلاً من لاحقاًليس لدينا لنعرف بالضبط كيف عالية قد يرتفع البحر لتبدأ في فعل شيئا عن العلماء it.Climate تم مؤخرا غضب فقدان فرص العمل داخل كوكب الارض. ومن المرجح أن تكون فقدت ستين وظيفة المناخ.

الفاصولياء المتحملة للحرارة يمكن أن تساعد في الحفاظ على ملايين الاحتياطي الفيدرالي

الفاصولياء المتحملة للحرارة يمكن أن تساعد في الحفاظ على ملايين الاحتياطي الفيدرالييعتقد العلماء أنهم ربما وجدوا كيفية حماية محصول استوائي أساسي يعتمد عليه مئات الملايين من الناس ، من نهب تغير المناخ. لقد اكتشفوا - من خلال التكاثر التقليدي بدلا من التعديل الجيني - 30 "خطوط" جديدة (أصناف) من الفاصوليا التي سوف تزدهر في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة المتوقعة في وقت لاحق من هذا القرن.

هل يستطيع الاقتصاد الساحلي في فلوريدا التكيف مع البحار المتزايدة؟

هل يستطيع الاقتصاد الساحلي في فلوريدا التكيف مع البحار المتزايدة؟فلوريدا ولاية ساحلية. تقريبا 80٪ من سكانها 20 مليون يعيشون بالقرب من الساحل على الأرض بضعة أقدام فوق مستوى سطح البحر، وأكثر من مائة مليون سائح يزورون الشواطئ والبقاء في الفنادق على شاطئ البحر كل عام.

ما هي المدن الرئيسية المستعدة لتغير المناخ؟

ما هي المدن الرئيسية المستعدة لتغير المناخ؟

تغير المناخ سوف يؤثر على كل مدينة على وجه الأرض في بعض الطريق، ولكن ليس بالضرورة في نفسه الطريقة. لتلك المدن التكيف إليها بالفعل، والعمل الحاسم القوي قد يؤدي إلى توضيح الفرق بين الباقين على قيد الحياة الاحترار العالمي والانصياع لها. خمس مدن التي يتم سرقة أنفسهم ... وخمسة التي يتم خداع أنفسهم.

إدارة الاستوائية البحار الساحلية ل21st تحديات القرن

إدارة الاستوائية البحار الساحلية ل21st تحديات القرن

في البلدان النامية الاستوائية، يجب إدارة المناطق الساحلية فعالة يقر الاعتماد على نطاق واسع للمجتمعات الفقيرة والضعيفة سياسيا على استخدام الأسماك للغذاء. واعترافا بهذا الاعتماد على مصايد الأسماك الحرفية غير محوريا لتحقيق المصالحة بين جداول منفصلة إلى حد كبير في تحقيق الأمن الغذائي والحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي.

الأختام في بحر الشمال الموافقة على توربينات الرياح البحرية

توربينات الرياح البحرية الحصول على موافقة على مجتمع الختم

ويكشف الباحثون الذين يتابعون تحركات الأختام في بحر الشمال أن "الشعاب المرجانية الاصطناعية" التي أنشأتها مزارع الرياح وخطوط الأنابيب أصبحت جذابة كمواقع بحثية عن بعثات الصيد.

جلب الزراعة المكثفة إلى العالم النامي يحتاج إلى الكثير من الطاقة

جلب ممارسات الزراعة المكثفة إلى العالم النامي يحتاج إلى الكثير من الطاقة.

أعتقد أن لدينا مشكلة - مشكلة كبيرة. وفقا لعلماء الديموغرافيا ، بحلول نهاية هذا القرن سيكون لدينا حول 11 مليار الأفواه لتغذية. معظم الناس الإضافيين الذين يبلغ عددهم مليار نسمة سيكونون أحياء في الدول النامية.

هل يمكننا حقا أن الابتعاد عن الإمبراطورية؟

هل يمكننا حقا أن الابتعاد عن الإمبراطورية؟

لقد أتيحت لي مؤخرًا فرصة الدخول في محادثة مع Guy McPherson حول عدد من الموضوعات ثم بدأ بعد ذلك في قراءة كتابه المشي بعيدا عن الامبراطوريه، رحلة غاي الشخصية من ترك استاذية ثابتة لتغيير ترتيبات معيشته بشكل جذري في التحضير لانهيار الحضارة الصناعية.

يمكن أن تكون النفايات CO2 مصدر الطاقة

يمكن أن تكون النفايات CO2 مصدر الطاقة

لقد فكر العلماء الهولنديون في استخدام جديد لكل غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون الذي يصب من مداخن محطات الطاقة التي تعمل على حرق الوقود الأحفوري ، وذلك من أجل حصاد المزيد من الكهرباء. ويمكنهم ، كما يقولون ، أن يضخوا ثاني أكسيد الكربون عبر الماء أو السوائل الأخرى وينتج عنه تدفق الإلكترونات وبالتالي المزيد من الكهرباء.

وضع مظلة على الشعاب المرجانية

وضع مظلة على الشعاب المرجانية

الشعاب المرجانية في العالم مهددة. يقول بعض العلماء أن جرعات من السطوع الساطع يمكن أن توفر حلاً للمشكلة. وهنا تطور جديد لمعضلة geoengineer: مجرد تغيير المناخ محليا - على الجزء الذي تريد حمايته - وترك بقية الكوكب وحده.

علامات الغابات التكيف مع تزايد مستويات CO2

علامات الغابات التكيف مع تزايد مستويات CO2

الأشجار قد يكون الحصول على أكثر كفاءة في طريقة إدارة المياه. ويمكن أن تستغل مستويات أعلى من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي، وتزايد أوراق الشجر من امتصاص أقل من المياه الجوفية. إذا كان الأمر كذلك، فإن ثاني أكسيد الكربون تأثير التسميد - توقع من قبل المنظرين ولوحظ في التجارب المعملية - يمكن أن يكون حقيقيا.

الصحراء الغلة الأدلة على بقاء الأنواع

الصحراء الغلة الأدلة على بقاء الأنواع

البحث في واحدة من أقدم وأروع الصحارى في العالم له أدلة تم اكتشافها من الجدول الزمني التطوري للأنواع التي تجنبت الانقراض عن طريق التكيف مع تغير المناخ الدراماتيكي

الصين / اتفاق أمريكي ضروري للعالم لتجنب كارثة المناخ

الصين / اتفاقية أمريكية ضرورية من أجل العالم لتجنب كارثة المناخالصين / اتفاقية أمريكية ضرورية للعالم لتجنب كارثة المناخ آمال جديدة للمناخ مع اتفاقية الولايات المتحدة والصين؟

إحدى العقبات العويصة لمحادثات المناخ في آخر سنوات 15 هي أن أميركا ترفض التحرك لخفض انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري إلى أن تفعل الصين - ولكن في نهاية الأسبوع توصل زعماء اثنين من كبار الملوثين في العالم إلى اتفاق للتخلص التدريجي من واحدة من أقوى منها الهيدروفلوروكربون (HCFs).

البنميون يرفضون خطة الأمم المتحدة للغابات

البنميون يرفضون خطة الأمم المتحدة للغابات

تواجه سياسة الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية التي تهدف إلى المساعدة في إنقاذ غابات العالم رفضًا من قبل جماعات السكان الأصليين في بنما ، الذين يعتقدون أنها تستخدم في محاولة لاغتصاب ملكيتها.

يمكن خداع الطبيعة الأم حفظ الكوكب؟

بينما يبلغ ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء أجزاء 400 لكل مليون للمرة الأولى في تاريخ البشرية ، يقول البعض إن أفضل طريقة لمعالجة تغير المناخ هي استخدام الممارسة المثيرة للجدل في الهندسة الجيولوجية - التغيير المتعمد للأنظمة الإيكولوجية والمناخية للأرض مواجهة آثار ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري.

الطاقة الشمسية هو البقاء هنا

على السطح الشمسية

الطاقة الشمسية موجودة لتبقى. هكذا هي الكفاءة والاستخدام المحافظ من الكهرباء. الطاقة الشمسية والإنتاج المحلي أو المجتمعي هو الرهان الأفضل لمكافحة ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري. يمنح الإنتاج اللامركزي والشخصي لأصحاب المنازل ومديري الأعمال حصة في الإنتاج وبالتالي الحفاظ عليها.

كيفية خضرة الصحاري وعكس تأثير تغير المناخ

كيفية اخضرار الصحارى وعكس تغير المناخ

وبينما يتذمر الكثيرون منا من مصير هذا الكوكب ، فقد خرج رجل واحد بالفعل وقام بتجربة حلول للتصحر الذي يحدث (تجفيف الأراضي العشبية والتحول إلى مناطق صحراوية) وقد وجد حلا ناجحا ...

مشروع جديد في مانهاتن - درس من أستراليا!

شيء مثير للاهتمام يحدث في أستراليا. توصلت دراسة جديدة أجرتها شركة الأبحاث Bloomberg New Energy Finance إلى أن الطاقة المتجددة غير المدعومة أصبحت الآن أرخص من الوقود الأحفوري مثل الفحم والغاز.

enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

Why No Country Is Sufficiently Prepared The Climate Crisis

Why No Country Is Sufficiently Prepared The Climate Crisis
There’s little that the left and the right agree on these days. But surely one thing is beyond question: that national governments must protect citizens from the gravest threats and risks they face.

How Your Garden Could Help Stop Your City Flooding

How Your Garden Could Help Stop Your City Flooding
Urban flooding represents the most common yet severe environmental threat to cities and towns worldwide. Future changes in rainfall extremes are likely to increase this threat, even in areas that could become drier.

The Future of Water

The world’s supply of cheap and clean fresh water will likely plummet as the climate warms and populations boom. Can we find ways to conserve, cut waste, and find new sources before it’s too late?

How Fires Weaken Amazon Rainforests' Ability To Bounce Back

 How Fires Weaken Amazon Rainforests' Ability To Bounce Back
The flames consuming the Amazon rainforest this year have alarmed the world, renewing concerns about one of the planet’s most biodiverse regions and the release of large amounts of carbon into the atmosphere

Hope And Mourning In The Anthropocene: Understanding Ecological Grief

Hope And Mourning In The Anthropocene: Understanding Ecological Grief
We are living in a time of extraordinary ecological loss. Not only are human actions destabilising the very conditions that sustain life, but it is also increasingly clear that we are pushing the Earth into an entirely new geological era, often described as the Anthropocene.

Good Communication Is A Key Part Of Disaster Response

Good Communication Is A Key Part Of Disaster Response
Behind the scenes during hurricanes and other disasters, scores of public information officers in state and local government agencies are fixed to their screens – often in 24-hour shifts

How Agriculture Can Both Feed People And Fight Climate Change

How Agriculture Can Both Feed People And Fight Climate Change
Imagine “carbon emissions”, and what springs to mind? Most people tend to think of power stations belching out clouds of carbon dioxide or queues of vehicles burning up fossil fuels as they crawl, bumper-to-bumper, along congested urban roads.

Climate Change: Having The Right Combination Of Tree Personalities Could Make Forests More Resilient

Climate Change: Having The Right Combination Of Tree Personalities Could Make Forests More Resilient
Every tree in a forest has a neighbour. In many forest neighbourhoods, the same species are often found living together, especially when the growing conditions are similar. Sometimes these neighbours are close and sometimes far apart, but collectively they form part of a community, with some species naturally being more dominant than others, especially in terms of biomass production. 

Biomining The Elements Of The Future

File 20180124 72597 1twk9y1.png?ixlib=rb 1.1

Biomining is the kind of technique promised by science fiction: a vast tank filled with microorganisms that leach metal from ore, old mobile phones and hard drives.

How Can Trees Really Cool Our Cities Down?

How Can Trees Really Cool Our Cities Down?

In cities around the world, trees are often planted to help control temperatures and mitigate the effects of the “urban heat island”. But while trees have been called “nature’s air conditioners”, in practice, scientists often have difficulty demonstrating their cooling properties.

5 Ways Communities Are Coping With Climate Anxiety

5 Ways Communities Are Coping With Climate Anxiety
This summer, wildfires erupted in California, torrential rains flooded parts of Japan, and record-breaking temperatures led to a number of heat-related deaths around the globe. Disasters like these are augmented by climate change, and scientists say extreme weather like this will increase and worsen as climate change accelerates. And it’s impacting our mental health.

This Solar-Powered Still Can Make Fresh Water From Salty Water

This Solar-Powered Still Can Make Fresh Water From Salty WaterLocal people collect water from a muddy waterhole in 2006 in San Marcos Tlacoyalco. The Tehuacan Valley South-East of Mexico City has long experienced severe water shortages. Drought and climate change have contributed to this but recent industrial growth has also strained the very limited ground water resource. Water resources in the area are largely based on a weekly delivery by truck as well as collecting water from small pools known as Jagueys.

Better Ways To Foster Solar Innovation And Save Jobs Than Tariffs

Better Ways To Foster Solar Innovation And Save Jobs Than Tariffs
Far from protecting U.S. interests, the tariffs are bound to stifle the current solar boom, destroying American jobs and dragging down clean energy innovation. As economists who research climate and energy policies that can foster a greener North American economy, we argue the government should instead create targeted subsidies that support innovation and lower costs across the supply chain.

What These 6 Clouds Can Reveal About The Weather

Cumulonimbus: heavy rain and thunder on the horizon.
You don’t need a supercomputer to predict how the weather above your head is likely to change over the next few hours – this has been known across cultures for millennia. By keeping an eye on the skies above you, and knowing a little about how clouds form, you can predict whether rain is on the way.

Sustainable Shopping: How To Stay Green When Buying White Goods

Sustainable Shopping: How To Stay Green When Buying White Goods
Most of us have a range of white goods (refrigerators, washing machines, etc.) in our homes. These white goods provide a host of benefits, but they also have significant environmental impacts, and it’s important to consider these when using and choosing white goods.

Can Cities Get Smarter About Extreme Weather?

Can Cities Get Smarter About Extreme Weather?Remember the movie “Moneyball”? The Oakland A’s are struggling, financially and on the baseball field.Then they introduce an innovative system for figuring out which players will improve team performance.

Does Eating Grass-fed Beef Help Fight Climate Change?

Does Eating Grass-fed Beef Help Fight Climate Change?Beef gets a bad press, environmentally speaking. We’re bombarded with reports highlighting its high carbon footprint accompanied by images of belching cows and devastated rainforests.

Study Shows Wetlands Can Significantly Reduce Property Damage

Study Shows Wetlands Can Significantly Reduce Property DamageA 12-year “hurricane drought” during which no major hurricanes formed in the Atlantic ended dramatically in 2017. The devastating impacts of Harvey, Irma, Jose and Maria across the United States and the Caribbean provide tragic reminders of the catastrophic risks we face on our coasts.

6 Ways To Save California’s Trout And Salmon

6 Ways To Save California’s Trout And SalmonA new report indicates that almost half of native California salmon, steelhead, and trout species are on track to be extinct in the next 50 years.

How Australian Farmers Are Adapting To Climate Change

How Australian Farmers Are Adapting To Climate Change2016-17 has been a great year for Australian farmers, with record production, exports and profits. These records have been driven largely by good weather, in particular a wet winter in 2016, which led to exceptional yields for major crops

Managing Water Is Key To Adapting African Agriculture To Climate Change

Managing Water Is Key To Adapting African Agriculture To Climate ChangeAfrican nations have overwhelmingly included climate resilient agriculture in their indicative pledges to the United Nations. And agriculture is seen as a major focus through a common position of the African Union on climate adaptation.

How To Talk To Climate Change Doubters About Global Warming

How To Talk To Climate Change Doubters About Global WarmingConversations about climate change often derail into arguments about whether global warming exists, whether climate change is already happening, the extent to which human activity is a cause and which beliefs are based in evidence versus propaganda. The Conversation

Why Rural Communities Need to Talk About Climate Change

Why Rural Communities Need to Talk About Climate ChangeEducating rural communities can help them prevent permanent damage to the environment. There is a common misconception that you can’t talk about climate change in rural communities because the issue is considered too polarizing...

These Global Bright Spots Offer Climate Hope

These Global Bright Spots Offer Climate Hope

Scientists show how humans can improve poor people’s lives by reversing practices that destroy the environment and fuel climate change.

How South Florida Is Adapting To Climate Change

How South Florida Is Adapting To Climate ChangeWith every passing year, Southeast Florida faces more pressure to adapt to climate change. The region already experiences the effects of climate change, such as flooding on sunny days during the highest tides of the year

Why We Should Help Plants Move As Climates Change

Why We Should Help Plants Move As Climates ChangeEcosystems are already showing the signs of climate change, from the recent death of mangrove forests in northern Australia, to the decline in birds in eastern Australia, to the inability of mountain ash forests to recover from frequent fires.

Adapting To Drought: A Better Way To Measure Water Scarcity

Adapting To Drought: A Better Way To Measure Water ScarcityWater crises seem to be everywhere. In Flint, the water might kill us. In Syria, the worst drought in hundreds of years is exacerbating civil war. But plenty of dried-out places aren’t in conflict. For all the hoopla, even California hasn’t run out of water.

How The Indian Army Helps Battle Climate Change

Hillside stripped of trees by slash-and-burn agriculture in Arunachal Pradesh, northeast India. Image: Prashanth NS via FlickrSoldiers of the Eco Task Force are playing a key role in forest, soil and water conservation to help India meet emissions reduction targets set at the Paris climate summit.

Minimizing Crop Failures In A Changing Climate

Minimizing Crop Failures In A Changing ClimateIn a context of unprecedented climate change and food insecurity, adaptation in agricultural systems is critical in Africa. It is crucial to breed new varieties of staple crops that are adapted to deal with climatic conditions.

Some Food Crops Have Developed Ways Of Coping With Droughts

The common bean comes in many shapes, sizes and colours. Image: Roger Smith via FlickrScientists have found that some varieties of beans − a vital food crop grown on every continent except Antarctica − have developed ways of coping with the climate-related droughts that threaten them.

How Communities Can Learn To Live With Increasing Wildfires

How Communities Can Learn To Live With Increasing WildfiresIn recent years wildfire seasons in the western United States have become so intense that many of us who make our home in dry, fire-prone areas are grappling with how to live with fire.

Graywater Recycling Is An Excellent Strategy For Drought

Garden irrigated with graywater and rainwater, Los Angeles. Jeremy Levine/Flickr, CC BYMany regions of the United States are struggling with water shortages. Large areas of the West are contending with moderate to severe drought, while California is now in the fifth year of one of the most extreme droughts in its history. Even non-arid regions, such as the Southeast, are not exempt from water shortages.

What California Can Learn From Australia’s 15-year Drought

What California Can Learn From Australia’s 15-year DroughtCalifornia has experienced, over the past few years, its most severe drought on record. In response to worsening conditions, Governor Jerry Brown announced the first ever statewide mandatory reduction in urban water use in April 2015. This calls on Californians

Why Coral Island Hotspots Exist In An Oceanic Desert

Productivity hotspots in an otherwise nutrient-poor ocean. High abundances of plankton-eating fish on an Indo-Pacific coral reef. Zafer Kizilkaya, CC BY-SAIt was Charles Darwin, almost 200 years ago, who first asked how it could be that coral reefs could flourish in relatively barren parts of the Pacific Ocean. This conundrum subsequently became known as Darwin’s Paradox.

Better Water Use Can Cut The Global Food Gap

An irrigation system on a pumpkin patch in a semi-arid area of New Mexico in southwestern US. Image: Daniel Schwen via Wikimedia CommonsScientists say that forecasts of a world food shortage need not prove as disastrous as previously thought if humans learn to use water more effectively.

Why Some Animals And Plants Will Thrive Under Climate Change

 Stick to grasslands, ground squirrel. Vince Smith, CC BYIt’s mid-February and along Britain’s south coast gilt-head bream are drifting from the open sea into the estuaries. Meanwhile, thousands of little egrets are preparing to fly to continental Europe for breeding season, though a few hundred

Heat-Tolerant Beans Could Help Keep Millions Fed

Heat-Tolerant Beans Could Help Keep Millions FedScientists believe they may have found how to safeguard a staple tropical crop, on which hundreds of millions of people depend, from the depredations of climate change. They have discovered − through conventional breeding rather than genetic modification − 30 new “lines” (varieties) of beans that will thrive in the higher temperatures expected later this century.

Can The Florida Coastal Economy Adapt To The Rising Seas?

Can The Florida Coastal Economy Adapt To The Rising Seas?Florida is a coastal state. Nearly 80% of its 20 million residents live near the coast on land just a few feet above sea level, and over a hundred million tourists visit the beaches and stay in beach-front hotels every year.

What Major Cities Are Ready for Climate Change?

What Major Cities Are Ready for Climate Change?

Climate change is going to affect every city on the planet in some way—but not necessarily in the same way. For those cities already adapting to it, strong, decisive action may spell the difference between surviving global warming and succumbing to it. Five cities that are steeling themselves…and five that are fooling themselves.

Managing Tropical Coastal Seas for 21st Century Challenges

Managing Tropical Coastal Seas for 21st Century Challenges

In tropical developing countries, effective coastal management must acknowledge the widespread dependence of poor and politically weak communities on the use of fish for food. Acknowledging this dependence on artisanal fisheries is pivotal to reconciling the largely separate agendas for food security and biodiversity conservation.

Can We Really Walk Away From Empire?

Can We Really Walk Away From Empire?

I recently had the opportunity to engage in conversation with Guy McPherson about a number of topics and subsequently began reading his book Walking Away From Empire, Guy’s personal journey of leaving a tenured professorship to radically alter his living arrangements in preparation for the collapse of industrial civilization.

Waste CO2 Could Be Source Of Power

Waste CO2 Could Be Source Of Power

Dutch scientists have thought up a new use for all the carbon dioxide that pours from the chimneys of fossil fuel-burning power stations: harvest it for even more electricity. They could, they argue, pump the carbon dioxide through water or other liquids and produce a flow of electrons and therefore more electricity.

Putting An Umbrella Over Coral Reefs

Putting An Umbrella Over Coral Reefs

The world’s coral reefs are under threat. Some scientists say doses of cloud brightening could provide a solution to the problem. Here’s a new twist to the geoengineer’s dilemma: just change the climate locally – over the bit you want to protect – and leave the rest of the planet alone.

Signs Of Forests Adapting To Growing CO2 Levels

 Signs Of Forests Adapting To Growing CO2 Levels

Trees may be getting more efficient in the way they manage water. They could be exploiting the higher levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, growing foliage from a lower uptake of groundwater. If so, then the carbon dioxide fertilisation effect – predicted by theorists and observed in laboratory experiments – could be real.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}