الأخضر مع الغضب: تواجه قيادات التغيير المناخي النساء هجمات عبر الإنترنت

الأخضر مع الغضب: تواجه قيادات التغيير المناخي النساء هجمات عبر الإنترنت|
اضطرت وزيرة البيئة الكندية كاثرين ماكينا إلى استئجار الأمن بسبب التحيز الجنسي الذي يستهدفها في الأماكن العامة. الصحافة الكندية / شون كيلباتريك

تتعرض النساء القائدات اللائي يدعمن العمل المناخي للهجوم على الإنترنت على نحو منتظم. يجب اعتبار هذه الهجمات مشكلة ليس فقط للكوكب ، ولكن أيضًا لأهداف تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين والسياسة الديمقراطية الأكثر شمولية.

كاثرين ماكينا ، وزيرة البيئة وتغير المناخ في كندا ، أعلنت مؤخرا أنها اضطرت إلى استئجار الأمن لحماية نفسها وعائلتها بينما في الأماكن العامة. مع إجراء الانتخابات الآن ، من المحتمل أن تواجه المزيد من الإساءات في الأسابيع القادمة.

استأجرت ماكينا الأمن بعد أن غادرت مع أطفالها وسحق سائق نافذة منزله وصرخ: "Fk لك ، المناخ باربيهذه الشعبية الساخرة كانت شعبية من قبل النائب المحافظ جيري ريتز ، الذي مرة واحدة تستخدم الطمس في إشارة إلى ماكينا على التغريد.

أسفر عن تسونامي عن علامات #Climatebarbie والاختلافات في الطين منذ ذلك الحين. ريتز منذ ذلك الحين اعتذر وحذف سقسقة الأصلي.

مشكلة عالمية

لسوء الحظ ، أصبح الفيتريول الموجه إلى النساء القائدات بدعم النشاط المناخي أكثر تواتراً في كندا وخارجها.

قام ماكسيم بيرنييه ، زعيم حزب الشعوب الكندية ، بالتغريد مؤخرًا عن الناشطة البالغة من العمر 16 غريتا ثونبرج ، يناديها:

"... من الواضح عقليا غير مستقر. ليس فقط مرض التوحد ، ولكن اضطراب الوسواس القهري والاكتئاب والخمول ، وهي تعيش في حالة من الخوف الدائم. "

تحدثت قيادات "خضراء" أخرى عن التمييز الجنسي الذي عانين منه ، بما في ذلك زعيم حزب الخضر إليزابيث ماي, تسيبورا بيرمان من الوقوف كاترين ابرو من شبكة العمل المناخي.

بعد اقتراح "الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة" الذي تقدمت به عضوة الكونغرس الأمريكية الأسكندرية أوكاسيو كورتيز ، هاجم النقاد ذكائها وخلفيتها الشخصية والمهنية. ناشيونال ريفيو الكاتب تشارلز كوك أشار إليها باعتبارها "نادل غير متزوج بلا أطفال" لديه "بطريقة ما الجرأة على تخيل نفسها ممثلة في الكونغرس". وادعى أن الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة التي تدعمها هي:

"... رسالة عزيزي بابا نويل دون أي شكل أو غرض أو حدود أو أساس في الواقع."

عندما تحدث رئيس الوزراء النيوزيلندي Jacinda Ardern عن تغير المناخ ، وهو مذيع استرالي "صدمة جوك" قال شخص ما ينبغي "يشق جورب أسفل حلقها".

لا جديد

من المؤكد أن العنف والتهديدات بالعنف ضد القيادات النسائية ليست جديدة. وفقا للبحوث بقلم الأستاذة في جامعة روتجرز ، منى لينا كروك ، وأستاذة جامعة فلوريدا جوليانا ريستريبو سانين ، تعرض النساء في السياسة للعنف والتمييز الجنسي والتحرش الجنسي بسبب التهديد الذي يشكلن العاملات في مجال يهيمن عليه الذكور.

لذلك فإن الاعتداءات الجنسية والتهديدات بالعنف تعمل على تشويه أفكار المرأة ونزع الشرعية عن قوتها ، والهدف النهائي منها هو استبعادها من المجال العام.

البحوث الأخرى تبين أن أعلى موقفهم من السلطة، النساء أكثر تهديدا تصبح.

على الرغم من تعرض السياسيين الذكور أيضًا للهجوم عبر الإنترنت ، البحوث التي أجريت مؤخرا في المملكة المتحدة يكشف أن آثار الهجمات على الإنترنت يصعب بشكل خاص على النساء السياسيات التعامل معها. ذلك لأن النساء البرلمانيات أكثر عرضة للخوف على سلامتهن مقارنة بزملائهن الرجال.

يمكن شرح الهجمات على النساء القياديات المناخية على وجه التحديد من خلال العلاقة بين كره النساء وإنكار المناخ.

كره النساء في العمل

على عكس التحيز الجنسي ، وهي أيديولوجية تعزز العلاقات الاجتماعية الأبوية ، فإن كره النساء هو آلية إنفاذ تسعى إلى معاقبة النساء اللائي يتحدن النظام الأبوي التقليدي ، وفقًا لأستاذ جامعة كورنيل كيت مان.

ارتبط إنكار المناخ أيضًا بالافتراضات التقليدية للرجولة. وتبين البحوث من المرجح أن يلتزم منكرو المناخ بالأشكال القديمة من الذكورة الصناعية الحديثة التي ساعدت على دفع المجتمع نحو "التصنيع ، والآلية والرأسمالية".

وفقًا لذلك ، يفضل بعض منكري المناخ هذا الشكل القديم من الرجولة على "رجولة بيئية حديثة" للرعاية والرحمة للبيئة.

دراسة 2019 تبين أن بعض الرجال سيتجنبون بعض الإجراءات البيئية ، مثل إعادة التدوير أو استخدام أكياس التسوق القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام ، من أجل الحفاظ على "هوية مغايرة جنسياً تواجه الخارج".

يبدو أن هذه النسخ من الذكورة الجنسية الجنسية تعتمد على هيمنة واستغلال البيئة بدلاً من الحفاظ عليها.

تهديد مزدوج

لذلك تهدد النساء القائدات اللائي يروجن لسياسات المناخ على نحو مضاعف لأولئك الذين يحملون مواقف كراهية للنساء. أولاً ، ببساطة من خلال كونك امرأة في موقع قوي ، وثانياً ، من خلال تبني سياسات تتحدى بشكل مباشر الأعراف التقليدية للذكورة.

يخدم "الغضب الأخضر" الموجه إلى قيادات المناخ النسائية وظيفة حماية هيمنة الذكور بمعاقبة النساء اللائي يتحدن النظام الاجتماعي الأبوي. والنتيجة هي الشراب السام من الرجولة موجهة إلى النساء قادة المناخ عن طريق الاعتداءات الجنسية والتهديدات بالعنف.

الأخضر مع الغضب: تواجه قيادات التغيير المناخي النساء هجمات عبر الإنترنتحتى الناشطة المناخية السويدية غريتا ثونبرج ، 16 ، واجهت سوء معاملة كراهية للنساء على الإنترنت ، بما في ذلك من جانب Maxime Bernier من كندا. (AP Photo / Jeenah Moon)

تكشف ردود أفعال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حول إعلان ماكينا بأنها تتطلب الآن الأمن لها ولعائلتها عن مدى توجهات النساء الكارثية المتجذرة بعمق حول النساء اليوم.

بعد أن تغردت عن مدى صعوبة الأمر النساء العاملات في قضايا المناخ، أعرب بعض مكبرات الصوت عن دعمهم وتعاطفهم. لكن كثيرين آخرين أنكروا أن الجنس قد لعب دوراً في الهجمات ضدها. واصل آخرون تدهورها بلغة التحيز الجنسي ، باستخدام الهاشتاغ # hypocriteBarbie ، ومرة ​​أخرى ، #climateBarbie.

يتوجه الكنديون إلى صناديق الاقتراع قريبًا ، ومن المؤكد أن تكون أزمة المناخ قضية ساخنة في الحملة الانتخابية في الأسابيع القادمة.

إن فهم التضاريس المعقدة والصعبة التي يجب على القيادات التنقل فيها هو مطلب مهم من الناخبين المطلعين.

بينما حاولت بعض النساء السياسيات مثل McKenna معالجة مشكلة الهجمات عبر الإنترنت ضدهن ، لا ينبغي ترك الأمر للنساء وحدهن لمكافحة هذه المشكلة. تفكيك الافتراضات الأبوية حول النوع الاجتماعي ليس مفيدًا للمرأة فحسب ، بل هو مفيد أيضًا للرجال - وللكوكب.

عن المؤلفين

تريسي راني ، أستاذ مشارك في السياسة والإدارة العامة ، جامعة ريرسون وماكينزي غريغوري ، طالب ماجستير ، جامعة ريرسون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Green With Rage: Women Climate Change Leaders Face Online Attacks

Green With Rage: Women Climate Change Leaders Face Online Attacks|
Canadian Environment Minister Catherine McKenna has had to hire security due to sexist vitriol aimed at her in public. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick

Women leaders who support climate action are being attacked online with increasing regularity. These attacks should be viewed as a problem not only for the planet, but also to the goals of achieving gender equality and more inclusive, democratic politics.

Catherine McKenna, Canada’s environment and climate change minister, recently announced that she’s had to hire security to protect herself and her family while in public. With an election now on, it’s likely she’ll face further abuse in the weeks to come.

McKenna hired security after she was out with her children and a driver rolled down his window and shouted: “F-k you, Climate Barbie.” This sexist taunt was popularized by Conservative MP Gerry Ritz, who once used the slur in reference to McKenna on Twitter.

It resulted in a tsunami of #Climatebarbie hashtags and variations of the slur ever since. Ritz has since apologized and deleted the original tweet.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


A worldwide problem

Unfortunately, vitriol directed at women leaders who support climate action is becoming more frequent in Canada and beyond.

Maxime Bernier, leader of the Peoples’ Party of Canada, recently tweeted at 16-year-old activist Greta Thunberg, calling her:

“…clearly mentally unstable. Not only autistic, but obsessive-compulsive, eating disorder, depression and lethargy, and she lives in a constant state of fear.”

Other “green” women leaders have spoken out about the sexism they have experienced, including Green Party Leader Elizabeth May, Tzeporah Berman from Stand.Earth and Catherine Abreu from the Climate Action Network.

Following the proposal of the New Green Deal by U.S. congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, critics attacked her intelligence and her personal and professional background. National Review writer Charles Cooke referred to her as an “unmarried, childless bartender” who “somehow has the temerity to fancy herself a congressional representative.” He claimed the New Green Deal she supports is:

“ …an untrammeled Dear Santa letter without form, purpose, borders, or basis in reality.”

When New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern spoke about climate change, an Australian “shock jock” broadcaster said someone should “shove a sock down [her] throat.”

Nothing new

Violence and threats of violence against women leaders are certainly not new. According to research by Rutgers University professor Mona Lena Krook and University of Florida professor Juliana Restrepo Sanỉn, women in politics experience violence, sexism and sexual harassment because of the threat they pose working in a male-dominated field.

Sexist attacks and threats of violence therefore serve to discredit women’s ideas and delegitimize their power, with the ultimate goal of excluding them from the public sphere.

Other research shows that the higher their position of power, the more threatening women become.

Although male politicians are also attacked online, recent research in the United Kingdom reveals that the effects of online attacks are particularly difficult for women politicians to deal with. That’s because women MPs are more likely to fear for their safety compared to their male colleagues.

Attacks against women climate leaders specifically can be further explained by the relationship between misogyny and climate denialism.

Misogyny at work

Unlike sexism, an ideology that promotes patriarchal social relations, misogyny is an enforcement mechanism that seeks to punish women who challenge the traditional patriarchal order, according to Cornell University professor Kate Manne.

Climate denialism has also been linked to traditional assumptions of masculinity. Research shows that climate deniers are more likely to adhere to older forms of industrial modern masculinity that helped to push society towards “industrialization, mechanism and capitalism.”

Accordingly, some climate deniers prefer this older form of masculinity over a newer “eco-modern masculinity” of care and compassion for the environment.

A 2019 study found that some men will avoid certain environmental actions, such as recycling or using reusable shopping bags, in order to maintain “an outward-facing heterosexual identity.”

These versions of heterosexual masculinity appear to be predicated upon the domination and exploitation, rather than the preservation, of the environment.

A double threat

Women leaders who promote climate policies are therefore doubly threatening to those who hold misogynistic attitudes. First, simply by being women in a powerful position and, second, by espousing policies that directly challenge traditional norms of masculinity.

“Green rage” directed at women climate leaders thus serves the function of safeguarding male dominance by punishing women who challenge the patriarchal social order. The result is a toxic brew of masculinity directed at women climate leaders by way of sexist attacks and threats of violence.

Green With Rage: Women Climate Change Leaders Face Online AttacksEven Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg, 16, has faced misogynistic online abuse, including from Canada’s Maxime Bernier. (AP Photo/Jeenah Moon)

Social media reactions to McKenna’s announcement that she now requires security for her and her family reveal how deeply embedded misogynistic attitudes are about women today.

After she tweeted about how difficult it is for women working on climate issues, some tweeters expressed support and sympathy. But many others denied that gender played a role in the attacks against her. Others continued to degrade her with sexist language, using hashtags #hypocriteBarbie and, once again, #climateBarbie.

Canadians go to the polls soon and the climate crisis is bound to be a heated campaign issue in the weeks to come.

Understanding the complex and challenging terrain women leaders must navigate is an important requirement of an informed electorate.

While some women politicians like McKenna have attempted to tackle head on the problem of online attacks against them, it should not be left to women alone to combat this issue. Dismantling patriarchal assumptions about gender is not just good for women, it is also good for men — and for the planet.

About The Authors

Tracey Raney, Associate Professor Of Politics And Public Administration, Ryerson University and Mackenzie Gregory, Master's Student, Ryerson University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}