عصر الوقود الأحفوري يقترب من نهايته ، لكن الدعاوى القضائية بدأت للتو

عصر الوقود الأحفوري يقترب من نهايته ، لكن الدعاوى القضائية بدأت للتو منجم للفحم بالقرب من الجبال في ألبرتا. (صراع الأسهم)

"الفحم مات".

هذه ليست كلمات أحد نشطاء منظمة السلام الأخضر أو ​​سياسي يساري ، وإنما هي جيم باري ، الرئيس العالمي لمجموعة الاستثمار في البنية التحتية لدى Blackrock - أكبر مدير أصول في العالم. باري أدلى هذا البيان في 2017، لكن كانت الكتابة على الحائط لفترة أطول من ذلك.

البنوك تعرف ذلك، وهذا هو السبب في أنهم غير مستعدين بشكل متزايد لضمان مناجم الفحم الجديدة ومحطات الطاقة. النقابات وعمال الفحم يعرفون ذلك ، وهذا هو السبب في أنهم يطالبون أ مجرد الانتقال وفرص عمل جديدة في الاقتصاد النظيف. حتى في شركات التعدين المتنوعة الكبيرة يخرجون من أعمال الفحم.

الوحيدون الذين يبدو أنهم ظلوا في حالة إنكار الرئيس دونالد ترامب وشركات التعدين غير المتنوعة مثل فحم ويستمورلاند. ارتكبت الشركة التي تتخذ من دنفر مقرا لها رهانًا سيئًا في 2013 عندما اشترت خمسة مناجم للفحم في ألبرتا. الآن تريد من دافعي الضرائب الكنديين دفع ثمن خطأها.

التخلص التدريجي من الفحم في ألبرتا

قبل ثلاث سنوات ، التزم الحزب الديمقراطي الجديد في ألبرتا بما وصفه البعض بأنه "خطة المناخ الأكثر طموحا في أمريكا الشمالية حتى الآنبالإضافة إلى تطوير سعر الكربون على مستوى الاقتصاد ، فإن المقاطعة هي التخلص التدريجي من الطاقة التي تعمل بالفحم بواسطة 2030. وبدون وجود البنية التحتية لتصدير الفحم ، فقد أدت خطة المناخ أيضًا إلى التخلص التدريجي الفعلي من تعدين الفحم الحراري المحلي.

عصر الوقود الأحفوري يقترب من نهايته ، لكن الدعاوى القضائية بدأت للتو رئيس الوزراء راشيل نوتلي يكشف النقاب عن استراتيجية ألبرتا للمناخ في إدمونتون في العاشر من نوفمبر ، 22. الصحافة الكندية / العنبر Bracken

لضمان دعم الخطة ، تم تزويد شركات المرافق الكبرى في المقاطعة بـ "المدفوعات الانتقالية"لتسهيل التحول إلى الغاز والطاقة المتجددة. لم تحصل وستمورلاند على نشرة حكومية ، لأن شركات تعدين الفحم ليس لها دور تلعبه في انتقال الطاقة. الشركة التي للافلاس حماية لاستثماراتها في الولايات المتحدة في أكتوبر ، لا أعتقد أن هذا عادل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الفصل الاستثمار نافتا

لأن Westmoreland هي شركة أمريكية ، يمكنها الاعتماد على اتفاقية التجارة الحرة لأمريكا الشمالية (NAFTA) للحماية منها معاملة "غير عادلة". تسمح نافتا للمستثمر الأجنبي باستخدام عملية تُعرف باسم "تسوية المنازعات بين المستثمرين والدول" (ISDS) عندما يضر الإجراء الحكومي بأعماله بطريقة ما.

تتيح ISDS للمستثمرين الأجانب تجاوز المحاكم المحلية وتقديم دعاوى التعويض المالي إلى محكمة دولية. النظام ليس فريدًا من نوع نافتا ؛ وجدت في الاتفاقيات التجارية الأخرى مثل اتفاقية شاملة وتقدمية للشراكة عبر المحيط الهادئ (CPTPP) وآلاف من معاهدات الاستثمار الثنائية (المعروف باسم اتفاقيات تشجيع وحماية الاستثمار الأجنبي في كندا).

ISDS مثير للجدل بشكل كبير. المخاوف التي أثارتها مجموعة واسعة من الجهات الفاعلة حول كل من عملية ISDS، والطريقة التي يمكن أن ينتهك بها النظام الحق السيادي للدول في التنظيم لحماية الصحة العامة وحقوق الإنسان والبيئة.

أكثر من حالات 900 ISDS تم إطلاقها من قبل المستثمرين منذ أوائل 1990s ، بما في ذلك 27 ضد كندا التي كلفت حتى الآن دافعي الضرائب الكنديين على الأقل 315 مليون $. هناك واحد النزاع المستمر يتعلق بفرض حظر على تكسير الغاز في كيبيك ، لكن مطالبة ويستمورلاند هي الأولى التي تم إحضارها فيما يتعلق بسياسة مصممة بشكل صريح لمكافحة تغير المناخ.

يجادل ويستمورلاند هذا الجزء من السبب في استثمارها في كندا في 2013 كان لتنويع ممتلكاتها استجابة للمخاطر التنظيمية. في ذلك الوقت ، كانت إدارة أوباما اتخاذ الإجراءات بموجب خطة الطاقة النظيفة للحد من اعتماد المرافق الأمريكية على الفحم. فشل الشركة في توقع إجراء تنظيمي مماثل من قبل جارتها الشمالية لافت للنظر.

ساحة معركة رئيسية

إذا كانت الحكومات تستجيب بشكل مناسب ل تحذير عاجل صادر عن الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC) في أكتوبر ، سيتعين على الجهود المبذولة للتخلص التدريجي من الوقود الأحفوري أن تتصاعد بشكل كبير - وبسرعة. يجب أن نتوقع من هذه الصناعة أن تكافح هذه الجهود من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الوسائل. قد تصبح ISDS ساحة معركة رئيسية.

عصر الوقود الأحفوري يقترب من نهايته ، لكن الدعاوى القضائية بدأت للتو يشارك الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، ورئيس الوزراء جوستين ترودو ، إلى اليمين ، والرئيس إنريكي بينا نييتو ، في حفل توقيع USMCA ، نوفمبر 30 ، 2018 في بوينس آيرس ، الأرجنتين. (AP Photo / Pablo Martinez Monsivais)

الـ الاتفاق بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك وكندا (USMCA أو CUSMA ، اعتمادا على من يتحدث عن ذلك) ، والتي قد تحل محل اتفاقية التجارة الحرة لأمريكا الشمالية (تم التوقيع عليها ، ولكن لم يتم التصديق عليها) ، لا تحتفظ بعملية ISDS بين كندا والولايات المتحدة

في حين أن هذه أخبار جيدة على المدى الطويل ، اقترح البعض أنه سيكون هناك "الاندفاع من الملفات"قبل الوصول إلى ISDS للمستثمرين المنشأة بالفعل (ثلاث سنوات بعد دخول USMCA حيز التنفيذ). سوف تتعرض كندا أيضًا لمطالبات المستثمرين بموجب اتفاقيات أخرى مثل CPTPP و الاتفاقية الاقتصادية والتجارية الشاملة بين كندا والاتحاد الأوروبي (CETA).

تواجه بلدان أخرى ، ولا سيما الدول الأكثر فقراً ، مخاطر أكبر من مطالبات ISDS ولديها الكثير موارد أقل متوفرة لمحاربتهم. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن احتفظت شركات النفط الكبرى ببعض الوصول إلى ISDS ضد المكسيك في USMCA ، بعد الضغط بقوة لذلك.

مناخ الخوف؟

إذا استمرت قضية ويستمورلاند في التحكيم ، فلن يكون لذلك آثار مباشرة على سياسة ألبرتا للمناخ. لا يمكن لمحكمة الاستثمار أن تطلب من حكومة المقاطعة إلغاء التخلص التدريجي من الفحم ؛ يمكن فقط منح تعويضات الشركة. تطلب Westmoreland 470 مليون دولار أمريكي. أنه الحكومة الفيدرالية ، بدلاً من ألبرتا ، يجب أن تدفع تعويض Westmoreland إذا كانت مطالبة الشركة ناجحة. ومع ذلك، وافقت أونتاريو على دفع الجائزة في قضية نافتا الأخيرة.

ما يهم أكثر من أي دفع محتمل هو أن دعوى Westmoreland قد تعيق الجهود المبذولة لتنفيذ خطط مماثلة لمكافحة تغير المناخ في ولايات قضائية أخرى.

"البرد التنظيمي"هي ظاهرة تمت ملاحظتها في العديد من الولايات القضائية حول العالم. مثال بارز هو قرار الحكومة النيوزيلندية تؤجل تطبيق التشريعات التي تتطلب التغليف البسيط لمنتجات التبغ حتى فازت استراليا بها قضية ISDS ضد شركة التبغ فيليب موريس الدولية. هذا التأخير في الإجراء التنظيمي - خوفًا من التقاضي الباهظ - قد يؤدي إلى خسائر في الأرواح.

كما مؤخرا حرائق الغابات . الفيضانات لقد أثبتت أن التأخير في العمل لمكافحة تغير المناخ يمكن أن يكون أيضًا مميتًا.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كيلا تينهارا ، كندا ، رئيسة قسم الأبحاث في الاقتصاد والبيئة ، جامعة كوينز ، أونتاريو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Fossil Fuel Era Is Coming To An End, But The Lawsuits Are Just Beginning

The Fossil Fuel Era Is Coming To An End, But The Lawsuits Are Just Beginning A coal mine near the mountains in Alberta. (Shutterstock)

“Coal is dead.”

These are not the words of a Greenpeace activist or left-wing politician, but of Jim Barry, the global head of the infrastructure investment group at Blackrock — the world’s largest asset manager. Barry made this statement in 2017, but the writing has been on the wall for longer than that.

Banks know it, which is why they are increasingly unwilling to underwrite new coal mines and power plants. Unions and coal workers know it, which is why they are demanding a just transition and new employment opportunities in the clean economy. Even large diversified mining companies are getting out of the business of coal.

The only ones who seem to have remained in denial are President Donald Trump and non-diversified mining companies like Westmoreland Coal. The Denver-based firm made a bad bet in 2013 when it purchased five coal mines in Alberta. Now it wants Canadian taxpayers to pay for its mistake.

Alberta’s coal phaseout

Three years ago, Alberta’s New Democratic Party (NDP) committed to what some have described as “the most ambitious climate plan in North America to date.” In addition to the development of an economy-wide carbon price, the province is phasing out coal-fired power by 2030. Without the infrastructure to export coal, the climate plan has also resulted in a de facto phaseout of local thermal coal mining.

The Fossil Fuel Era Is Coming To An End, But The Lawsuits Are Just Beginning Premier Rachel Notley unveils Alberta’s climate strategy in Edmonton on Nov. 22, 2015. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Amber Bracken

To ensure support for the plan, major utility companies in the province were provided with “transition payments” to facilitate the switch to gas and renewable energy. Westmoreland did not receive a government handout, because coal mining companies have no role to play in the energy transition. The company, which filed for bankruptcy protection for its investments in the United States in October, doesn’t think this is fair.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


NAFTA’s investment chapter

Because Westmoreland is an American company, it can rely on the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) for protection from “unfair” treatment. NAFTA allows a foreign investor to use a process known as “Investor-State Dispute Settlement” (ISDS) when government action harms its business in some way.

ISDS allows foreign investors to bypass local courts and bring claims for monetary compensation to an international tribunal. The system is not unique to NAFTA; it is found in other trade agreements like the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and thousands of bilateral investment treaties (known as Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements in Canada).

ISDS is hugely controversial. Concerns have been raised by a wide range of actors about both the process of ISDS, and the way the system can infringe on the sovereign right of states to regulate to protect public health, human rights and the environment.

More than 900 ISDS cases have been launched by investors since the early 1990s, including 27 against Canada that have so far cost Canadian taxpayers at least $315 million. There is one ongoing dispute that concerns a ban on gas fracking in Québec, but the Westmoreland claim is the first brought in relation to a policy explicitly designed to combat climate change.

Westmoreland argues that part of the reason it invested in Canada in 2013 was to diversify its holdings in response to regulatory risk. At the time, the Obama Administration was taking action under the Clean Power Plan to reduce the reliance of American utilities on coal. The company’s failure to anticipate similar regulatory action by its northern neighbour is remarkable.

A key battleground

If governments respond appropriately to the urgent warning issued by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in October, efforts to phase out fossil fuels will have to ramp up considerably — and quickly. We should expect the industry to fight these efforts through a variety of means. ISDS may become a key battleground.

The Fossil Fuel Era Is Coming To An End, But The Lawsuits Are Just Beginning President Donald Trump, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, right, and President Enrique Pena Nieto, left, participate in the USMCA signing ceremony, Nov. 30, 2018 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)

The U.S.-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA or CUSMA, depending on who is talking about it), which may replace NAFTA (it has been signed, but has not been ratified), does not retain the process of ISDS between Canada and the U.S.

While this is good news in the long run, some have suggested that there will be a “rush of filings” before access to ISDS for already established investors expires (three years after USMCA comes into force). Canada will also be exposed to claims from investors under other agreements such as the CPTPP and Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA).

Other countries, particularly poorer nations, face an even higher risk of ISDS claims and have far less resources available to fight them. It is notable that big oil companies have retained some access to ISDS against Mexico in USMCA, after lobbying hard for it.

A climate of fear?

If Westmoreland’s case proceeds to arbitration, it will not have direct implications for Alberta’s climate policy. An investment tribunal cannot require the provincial government to reverse the coal phaseout; it can only award the company damages. Westmoreland is asking for US$470 million. It is the federal government, rather than Alberta, that would have to pay compensation to Westmoreland if the company’s claim was successful. However, Ontario did agree to pay the award in a recent NAFTA case.

What is more concerning than any potential payout is that Westmoreland’s suit could hinder efforts to implement similar plans to combat climate change in other jurisdictions.

Regulatory chill” is a phenomenon that has been observed in several jurisdictions around the world. A notable example is the decision of the New Zealand government to delay the introduction of legislation to require plain packaging of tobacco products until Australia won its ISDS case against the tobacco company Philip Morris International. This delay of regulatory action — out of fear of expensive litigation — may have cost lives.

As recent forest fires and floods have demonstrated, delays in action to combat climate change can also be deadly.The Conversation

About The Author

Kyla Tienhaara, Canada Research Chair in Economy and Environment, Queen's University, Ontario

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}