لماذا ادعاءات التباطؤ العالمي للاحتباس الحراري ليست ذات مصداقية

لماذا ادعاءات التباطؤ العالمي للاحتباس الحراري ليست ذات مصداقية

يقول عالم مناخ بارز إن الكثير من المناقشات العامة والعلمية حول التباطؤ أو الفجوة في معدل الانحباس الحراري العالمي قد أسيء تضليله.

يقول عالم مناخ بارز إن المزاعم بأن هناك تباطؤ أو فجوة في معدل حدوث الاحترار العالمي لا تدعمها أدلة إحصائية.

أثار الجدل حول احتمال وجود تباطؤ في ارتفاع درجات الحرارة جدلاً علمياً شرساً على مدى العقدين الماضيين. أصرت مجموعة واحدة ، بما في ذلك النقاد الذين يشككون في خطورة ، وحتى واقع تغير المناخ المدفوع بالاحترار العالمي ، أن الأرض كانت أكثر دفئا ببطء منذ نهاية القرن الماضي.

الـ ظهرت اللجنة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ قبل بضع سنوات بقبول حقيقة التباطؤ ، على الأقل على المدى القصيرلكن الوكالة الأمريكية المحترمة ولم تعثر نوا ، الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي ، على أي دليل على ذلك. الأمين العام للمنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية ، ميشيل جارو ، رفض فكرة أي توقف أو توقف عن العمل.

مزالق مهمة

الآن ، قام باحثون من ألمانيا والولايات المتحدة ، الذين درسوا اتجاهات متوسط ​​درجة حرارة سطح الأرض (GMST) في ضوء سلسلة حديثة من ثلاث سنوات قياسية في صف في معظم مجموعات البيانات ، بنشر نتائج دراستهم ، والتي حددت اثنين من المخاطر في تحليل الاتجاهات GMST ، في رسائل البحوث البيئية.

المؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة ، البروفيسور ستيفان راهمستورف ، من معهد بوتسدام لأبحاث التأثير المناخي ، ألمانيا، يقول: "التقلبات قصيرة الأجل لا يمكن تجنبها في درجة الحرارة العالمية. سوف تحدث أحداث لا مفر منها والتي تبدو وكأنها تمثل تغيرًا في الاتجاه الأساسي.

"نظرًا لأن التذبذب مستمر ، فمن المهم معرفة الفرق بين تغيير الاتجاه الحقيقي والمظاهر التي تمثل مجرد مظهر "ضجيج".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"ناقشت العديد من المنشورات العلمية الفجوة أو التباطؤ المزعوم وأسبابه المحتملة. لكن القليل منها قد قدم أي تقييم إحصائي لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك تغير كبير في الاتجاه قد حدث بالفعل.

"والواقع أن مناقشة هذه القضايا عانت للأسف من الارتباك الذي تولد حتى من جانب بعض زملائنا في مجال المناخ ، الذين وقعوا ضحية أخطاء إحصائية شائعة ".

"لا يمكن تحديد أي تباطؤ سابق ولا تسارع حديث مع أي أهمية في سجل درجات الحرارة العالمية ، وهو ما يتفق تمامًا مع اتجاه ارتفاع خطي ثابت مطرد بالإضافة إلى ضوضاء عشوائية "

قام الفريق ، الذي شمل اثنين من الإحصائيين ، وهما نيام كاهيل وغرانت فوستر ، بفحص خمس مجموعات منفصلة من بيانات درجات الحرارة العالمية - NISTA GISTEMP ، NOAA ، HadCRUT4 ، مراجعة HadCRUT بواسطة Cowtan و Way ، ودرجة حرارة سطح الأرض Berkeley. تستخدم كل مجموعة بيانات طرق حساب مختلفة بعض الشيء.

على الرغم من أن بيانات درجة الحرارة العالمية تظهر فترات قصيرة من اتجاهات الاحترار الأكبر والأصغر ، وحتى لفترات قصيرة من التبريد ، كان السؤال الرئيسي للفريق هو ما إذا كانت هذه ذات أهمية إحصائية في إحداث تغيير في شكل تباطؤ أو تسارع الاحترار العالمي ، أو ما إذا كانت مجرد تقلبات متوقعة - أو ضوضاء - في البيانات.

"وجدنا أن كل شيء في الضوضاء "، يقول فوستر. "لا يمكن تحديد أي تباطؤ سابق ولا تسارع حديث مع أي أهمية في سجل درجات الحرارة العالمية ، وهو ما يتفق تمامًا مع اتجاه ارتفاع خطي ثابت مطرد بالإضافة إلى ضوضاء عشوائية".

يقول كاهيل: "لذلك ، فإن المناقشة العامة للفترات الزمنية داخل النطاق 1998 إلى 2014 باعتبارها غير عادية أو غير متوقعة بطريقة أو بأخرى - مشار إليها بمصطلحات مثل التوقف ، والإيقاف المؤقت والتباطؤ - لا تدعم في دراسة دقيقة لبيانات درجة الحرارة. ولا الحديث الحديث عن تسارع مفاجئ قائم على ثلاث سنوات حارة قياسية متتالية والقيمة الاستثنائية في 2016. "

أنصار التباطؤ

التفسيرات المحتملة المتقدمة للتباطؤ تشمل تأثير الانفجارات البركانية الصغيرة, امتصاص الحرارة الزائدة عن طريق الأعماق المحيطية و ال تجاور لدورتين المحيط الطبيعية.

غطاء السمعة الضغط المحتمل من منكري المناخ ، وهم إحصائي . دليل على أن متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة استمر في الصعود خلال هذا القرن بالسرعة التي كانوا بها يعملون 20 أو 30 منذ سنوات.

يترك البروفيسور رايمستورف مساحة صغيرة للشك. ويقول إن مؤيدي التباطؤ ببساطة مشوشون: "ما وجدناه يشير إلى الكثير من النقاش العام (والعلمي) حول هذا الموضوع مضلل.

"من المؤسف أن مناقشة عامة وإعلامية قد دارت حول تباطؤ كبير وغير متوقع مزعوم في معدل الاحترار العالمي ، الذي لم يكن هناك أساس إحصائي في البيانات العالمية لقياس درجة حرارة سطح الأرض. شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

اليكس كيربي هو صحفي بريطانياليكس كيربي صحفي بريطاني متخصص في القضايا البيئية. عمل في مجالات مختلفة في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) لسنوات 20 تقريبا وتركت بي بي سي في 1998 للعمل كصحفي مستقل. وقال انه يوفر أيضا مهارات إعلامية التدريب للشركات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهو أيضا حاليا مراسل البيئي ل بي بي سي نيوز أون لاينواستضافت بي بي سي راديو 4"سلسلة بيئة الصورة، تكلف الأرض. يكتب أيضا ل الحارس . شبكة أخبار المناخ. يكتب أيضا عمود منتظم ل بي بي سي الحياة البرية مجلة.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = global warming؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Global Warming Slowdown Claims Are Not Credible

Why Global Warming Slowdown Claims Are Not Credible

Much of the public and scientific discussion around a slowdown, or hiatus, in the rate of global warming has been misguided, says prominent climatologist.

A leading climate scientist says claims that there has been a slowdown or hiatus in the rate at which global warming is happening are not supported by statistical evidence.

The debate over the possible existence of a warming slowdown has sparked fierce scientific controversy over the past two decades. One group, including critics who question the gravity and even the reality of climate change driven by global warming, have insisted that the Earth has been warming more slowly since the end of the last century.

The IPCC appeared some years ago to have accepted the reality of the slowdown, at least as a short-term process, but the respected US agency NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, found no evidence for it. The then secretary-general of the World Meteorological Organisation, Michel Jarraud, dismissed the notion of any hiatus or standstill out of hand.

Important pitfalls

Now, researchers from Germany and the US, who examined global mean surface temperature (GMST) trends in the light of a recent series of three record-breaking years in a row in most data sets, have published the results of their study, which identified two important pitfalls in analysing GMST trends, in Environmental Research Letters.

The study’s lead author, Professor Stefan Rahmstorf, from the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany, says: “Short-term fluctuations are unavoidable in global temperature. It is inevitable episodes will occur that visually seem to represent a change in the underlying trend.

Because fluctuation is ever-present, it is important to tell the difference between genuine trend change and appearances that are merely the manifestation of ‘noise’.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Many scientific publications have discussed an alleged hiatus or slowdown and its possible causes. But few have provided any statistical assessment of whether a significant trend change actually occurred.

Indeed, discussion of these issues has unfortunately suffered from confusion generated even by some of our climate colleagues, who have fallen victim to common statistical errors.”   

Neither an earlier slowdown nor a recent acceleration can be identified with any significance in the global temperature record, which is entirely consistent with a steady linear warming trend plus random noise”

The team, which included two statisticians, Niamh Cahill and Grant Foster, examined five separate global temperature data sets – NASA’s GISTEMP, NOAA, HadCRUT4, the revision of HadCRUT by Cowtan and Way, and the Berkeley Earth Surface Temperature. Each dataset uses slightly different methods of calculation.

Although the global temperature data show short periods of greater and smaller warming trends, and even short periods of cooling, the team’s key question was whether or not these are statistically significant in showing a change in the form of a slowdown or acceleration of global warming, or whether they are merely expected fluctuations – or noise – in the data.

We found that it’s all in the noise,” Foster says. “Neither an earlier slowdown nor a recent acceleration can be identified with any significance in the global temperature record, which is entirely consistent with a steady linear warming trend plus random noise.”

Cahill says: “Therefore, the public discussion of time intervals within the range 1998 to 2014 as somehow unusual or unexpected – indicated by terms like hiatus, pause and slowdown – has no support in rigorous study of the temperature data. Nor does recent talk of a sudden acceleration based on three record-hot years in a row and the exceptional value in 2016.”

Proponents of slowdown

Possible explanations advanced for the slowdown include the effect of small volcanic eruptions, the absorption of extra heat by the oceanic depths and the juxtaposition of two natural ocean cycles.

Refutations cover possible pressure from climate deniers, a statistical illusion and evidence that average temperatures have anyway continued to climb during this century as fast as they were doing 20 or 30 years ago.

Professor Rahmstorf leaves little room for doubt. He says the slowdown’s proponents are simply muddled: “What we’ve found points to much of the public (and scientific) discussion on this topic being misguided.

It is unfortunate that a major public and media discussion has revolved around an alleged significant and unexpected slowdown in the rate of global warming, for which there never was a statistical basis in the measured global surface temperature data.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=global warming;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…