Warum die Verlangsamung der globalen Erwärmung nicht glaubwürdig ist

Warum die Verlangsamung der globalen Erwärmung nicht glaubwürdig ist

Ein Großteil der öffentlichen und wissenschaftlichen Diskussionen über eine Verlangsamung oder eine Unterbrechung der globalen Erwärmung sei fehlgeleitet, sagt ein prominenter Klimatologe.

Ein führender Klimaforscher behauptet, dass eine Verlangsamung oder eine Pause in der Geschwindigkeit, in der die globale Erwärmung stattfindet, nicht durch statistische Beweise gestützt wird.

Die Debatte über die mögliche Existenz einer Klimaerwärmung hat in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten heftige wissenschaftliche Kontroversen ausgelöst. Eine Gruppe, einschließlich der Kritiker, die die Schwerkraft und sogar die Realität des durch die globale Erwärmung verursachten Klimawandels in Frage stellen, haben darauf bestanden, dass sich die Erde seit dem Ende des letzten Jahrhunderts langsamer erwärmt hat.

Die IPCC ist vor einigen Jahren erschienen, um die Realität der Verlangsamung zumindest als kurzfristigen Prozess akzeptiert zu haben, aber die angesehene US-Agentur NOAA, die National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, fand keine Beweise dafür. Der damalige Generalsekretär der Weltorganisation für Meteorologie, Michel Jarraud, hat die Vorstellung von einem Stillstand oder Stillstand von der Hand genommen.

Wichtige Fallstricke

Jetzt haben Forscher aus Deutschland und den USA, die die globalen mittleren Oberflächentemperaturen (GMST) im Lichte einer Serie von drei Rekordjahren in Folge in den meisten Datensätzen untersucht haben, die Ergebnisse ihrer Studie veröffentlicht, die sie veröffentlicht haben identifizierten zwei wichtige Fallstricke bei der Analyse von GMST-Trends in den "Environmental Research Letters".

Der Hauptautor der Studie, Professor Stefan Rahmstorf vom Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung, sagt: "Kurzfristige Schwankungen sind bei der globalen Temperatur unvermeidlich. Es ist unvermeidlich, dass Episoden auftreten, die visuell eine Veränderung des zugrunde liegenden Trends darstellen.

"Da Fluktuation allgegenwärtig ist, ist es wichtig, den Unterschied zwischen echter Trendveränderung und Erscheinungen, die lediglich die Manifestation von "Lärm" darstellen, zu unterscheiden.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Viele wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen haben eine angebliche Unterbrechung oder Verlangsamung und ihre möglichen Ursachen diskutiert. Aber nur wenige haben eine statistische Bewertung vorgenommen, ob tatsächlich eine signifikante Trendänderung stattgefunden hat.

"Tatsächlich hat die Diskussion über diese Probleme leider unter der Verwirrung gelitten, die sogar von einigen unserer Klimakollegen erzeugt wurde, die den gemeinsamen statistischen Fehlern zum Opfer gefallen sind. "

"Weder eine frühere Verlangsamung noch eine kürzliche Beschleunigung kann mit irgendeiner Signifikanz in der globalen Temperaturaufzeichnung identifiziert werden, was vollständig mit einem stetigen linearen Erwärmungstrend plus Zufallsrauschen konsistent ist.

Das Team, das zwei Statistiker, Niamh Cahill und Grant Foster, einschloss, untersuchte fünf separate globale Temperaturdatensätze - NASA's GISTEMP, NOAA, HadCRUT4, die Überarbeitung von HadCRUT durch Cowtan and Way und die Berkeley Earth Surface Temperature. Jeder Datensatz verwendet leicht unterschiedliche Berechnungsmethoden.

Obwohl die globalen Temperaturdaten kurze Perioden mit größeren und kleineren Erwärmungstrends und sogar kurzen Abkühlphasen zeigen, war die Schlüsselfrage des Teams, ob diese statistisch signifikant sind, um eine Veränderung in der Form einer Verlangsamung oder Beschleunigung der globalen Erwärmung zu zeigen, oder ob sie nur erwartete Fluktuationen - oder Rauschen - in den Daten erwarten.

"Wir haben festgestellt, dass alles im Lärm liegt ", sagt Foster. "Weder eine frühere Verlangsamung noch eine kürzliche Beschleunigung kann mit irgendeiner Bedeutung in der globalen Temperaturaufzeichnung identifiziert werden, was völlig mit einem stetigen linearen Erwärmungstrend plus Zufallsrauschen übereinstimmt."

Cahill sagt: "Die öffentliche Diskussion von Zeitintervallen im Bereich von 1998 bis 2014, die irgendwie ungewöhnlich oder unerwartet sind - was sich in Begriffen wie Pause, Pause und Verlangsamung äußert - hat daher keine Unterstützung für das gründliche Studium der Temperaturdaten. In letzter Zeit wird auch nicht von einer plötzlichen Beschleunigung aufgrund von drei Rekordjahren in Folge und dem außergewöhnlichen Wert von 2016 gesprochen. "

Befürworter der Verlangsamung

Mögliche Erklärungen für die Verlangsamung sind die Wirkung von kleinen Vulkanausbrüchen, die Absorption von zusätzlicher Wärme durch die Tiefen der Ozeane und die Nebeneinanderstellung von zwei natürlichen Ozeanzyklen.

Widerlegungen abdecken möglicher Druck von Klimaverweigern, eine statistische Illusion und Beweise dafür, dass die Durchschnittstemperaturen in diesem Jahrhundert ohnehin so schnell gestiegen sind wie vor Jahren bei 20 oder 30.

Professor Rahmstorf lässt wenig Raum für Zweifel. Er sagt, die Befürworter der Verlangsamung sind einfach verwirrt: "Was wir gefunden haben, weist auf einen Großteil der öffentlichen (und wissenschaftlichen) Diskussion zu diesem Thema hin, die fehlgeleitet ist.

"Es ist bedauerlich, dass sich eine große öffentliche und mediale Diskussion um eine angeblich signifikante und unerwartete Verlangsamung der globalen Erwärmung drehte, für die es in den gemessenen globalen Oberflächentemperaturdaten nie eine statistische Grundlage gab. "- Klima-Nachrichten-Netzwerk

Über den Autor

Alex Kirby ist ein britischer JournalistAlex Kirby in Umweltfragen ist ein britischer Journalist, spezialisiert. Er arbeitete in verschiedenen Funktionen bei der British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) für 20 Jahren fast und verließ die BBC in 1998 als freier Journalist zu arbeiten. Er stellt auch Medienkompetenz Ausbildung an Unternehmen, Universitäten und NGOs. Er ist derzeit auch die Umwelt Korrespondent BBC News OnlineUnd gehostet BBC Radio 4'S Umwelt-Serie, Kostet die Erde. Er schreibt auch für The Guardian und Klima-Nachrichten-Netzwerk. Er schreibt auch eine regelmäßige Kolumne für BBC Tierwelt Magazin.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = globale Erwärmung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Global Warming Slowdown Claims Are Not Credible

Why Global Warming Slowdown Claims Are Not Credible

Much of the public and scientific discussion around a slowdown, or hiatus, in the rate of global warming has been misguided, says prominent climatologist.

A leading climate scientist says claims that there has been a slowdown or hiatus in the rate at which global warming is happening are not supported by statistical evidence.

The debate over the possible existence of a warming slowdown has sparked fierce scientific controversy over the past two decades. One group, including critics who question the gravity and even the reality of climate change driven by global warming, have insisted that the Earth has been warming more slowly since the end of the last century.

The IPCC appeared some years ago to have accepted the reality of the slowdown, at least as a short-term process, but the respected US agency NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, found no evidence for it. The then secretary-general of the World Meteorological Organisation, Michel Jarraud, dismissed the notion of any hiatus or standstill out of hand.

Important pitfalls

Now, researchers from Germany and the US, who examined global mean surface temperature (GMST) trends in the light of a recent series of three record-breaking years in a row in most data sets, have published the results of their study, which identified two important pitfalls in analysing GMST trends, in Environmental Research Letters.

The study’s lead author, Professor Stefan Rahmstorf, from the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany, says: “Short-term fluctuations are unavoidable in global temperature. It is inevitable episodes will occur that visually seem to represent a change in the underlying trend.

Because fluctuation is ever-present, it is important to tell the difference between genuine trend change and appearances that are merely the manifestation of ‘noise’.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Many scientific publications have discussed an alleged hiatus or slowdown and its possible causes. But few have provided any statistical assessment of whether a significant trend change actually occurred.

Indeed, discussion of these issues has unfortunately suffered from confusion generated even by some of our climate colleagues, who have fallen victim to common statistical errors.”   

Neither an earlier slowdown nor a recent acceleration can be identified with any significance in the global temperature record, which is entirely consistent with a steady linear warming trend plus random noise”

The team, which included two statisticians, Niamh Cahill and Grant Foster, examined five separate global temperature data sets – NASA’s GISTEMP, NOAA, HadCRUT4, the revision of HadCRUT by Cowtan and Way, and the Berkeley Earth Surface Temperature. Each dataset uses slightly different methods of calculation.

Although the global temperature data show short periods of greater and smaller warming trends, and even short periods of cooling, the team’s key question was whether or not these are statistically significant in showing a change in the form of a slowdown or acceleration of global warming, or whether they are merely expected fluctuations – or noise – in the data.

We found that it’s all in the noise,” Foster says. “Neither an earlier slowdown nor a recent acceleration can be identified with any significance in the global temperature record, which is entirely consistent with a steady linear warming trend plus random noise.”

Cahill says: “Therefore, the public discussion of time intervals within the range 1998 to 2014 as somehow unusual or unexpected – indicated by terms like hiatus, pause and slowdown – has no support in rigorous study of the temperature data. Nor does recent talk of a sudden acceleration based on three record-hot years in a row and the exceptional value in 2016.”

Proponents of slowdown

Possible explanations advanced for the slowdown include the effect of small volcanic eruptions, the absorption of extra heat by the oceanic depths and the juxtaposition of two natural ocean cycles.

Refutations cover possible pressure from climate deniers, a statistical illusion and evidence that average temperatures have anyway continued to climb during this century as fast as they were doing 20 or 30 years ago.

Professor Rahmstorf leaves little room for doubt. He says the slowdown’s proponents are simply muddled: “What we’ve found points to much of the public (and scientific) discussion on this topic being misguided.

It is unfortunate that a major public and media discussion has revolved around an alleged significant and unexpected slowdown in the rate of global warming, for which there never was a statistical basis in the measured global surface temperature data.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=global warming;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…