منطقة النينيو في وسط المحيط الهادئ تحصل على القليل من الغموض

منطقة النينيو في وسط المحيط الهادئ تحصل على القليل من الغموض

قد يؤدي النموذج النظري الجديد إلى التوقيت المناسب ، والتنبؤات الدقيقة لظاهرة النينيو في وسط المحيط الهادي ، وهو صانع طقس مهم.

أي ظاهرة النينيو هي فترة من درجات حرارة سطح البحر أدفأ من المعتاد في المحيط الهادئ الاستوائية. هذه التشوهات ، وتقلبات ضغط الهواء ذات الصلة ، يمكن أن يكون لها اتصالات - تأثيرات بعيدة المدى - على الطقس بعيدًا عن المنطقة. يمكن أن تستمر أحداث CP El Niño لعدة سنوات ، وقد كانت "متكررة للغاية في السنوات الأخيرة من 25" ، كما يقول أندرو ماجدة ، أستاذ الرياضيات وعلوم الغلاف الجوي / المحيط والباحث الرئيسي في مركز نيويورك للنماذج النموذجية لنمو المناخ في جامعة نيويورك.

تقرير ماجدة ونان تشين ، باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في معهد كورانت للعلوم الرياضية بجامعة نيويورك ، عن ما تعلموه عن "اللغز الحقيقي" لكيفية حدوث النينيو في النوبة وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم.

يرتبط الن بي سي النينيو ، بعيداً عن أي شاطئ قاري ، بالطقس القاسي في جميع أنحاء العالم بما في ذلك هطول أمطار غزيرة في جنوب شرق الولايات المتحدة ، والجفاف في كاليفورنيا وآسيا ، وأبرزها الرياح الموسمية الهندية السنوية ، التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى حصاد يعطي الحياة ولكن أيضا الفيضانات القاتلة.

تقول ماجدة: "لقد بدأنا بنموذج كمبيوتر بسيط يمكنك تشغيله على جهاز كمبيوتر محمول" ، ومما يثير الدهشة أننا بدأنا في تركيب ما رأيناه في الملاحظات "من السنوات الماضية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تشتمل نظريتهم المكررة على كيفية تغير تيارات المحيطات من الماء الدافئ. تشرح ماجدة: "وجدنا ، أن النقل غير الخطي لدرجات حرارة سطح البحر كان عنصرًا جديدًا مهمًا". ومن العوامل الأخرى في النظرية الجديدة تقوية الرياح التجارية التي تنتشر من الشرق إلى الغرب عبر المحيط الهادئ ، و "انفجارات الرياح". "، والتغيرات المستمرة بشكل فعال في قوة الرياح خلال ظاهرة النينيو.

تقول ماجدة ، إن تجميع هذه العوامل ، أنتج نموذجًا "تشابهًا لافتًا مع أحداث النينيو CP من 1990-1995 و 2001-2006". وهذا "يمنح الآن الأشخاص الذين يصنعون نماذج تشغيلية طريقة لمعرفة ما يحتاجون إليه ... القبض. تواجه النماذج التشغيلية الحالية صعوبات في التعرف على الملامح الرئيسية لـ CP El Niño ، وهي المألوفة فقط [شرق المحيط الهادئ النينيو].

لكن تنبؤات دقيقة عملية ، كما تقول ماجا ، سوف تتطلب المزيد من التطوير النظري ، والعمل مع "المجتمع التشغيلي" للمختبرات الكبرى مثل المراكز القومية الأمريكية للتنبؤ البيئي ، ومختبر ديناميكيات السوائل الجيوفيزيائية في جامعة برينستون ، والمعهد الهندي للإستوائية. الأرصاد الجوية. "نحن نعمل بالفعل كمجموعة ،" تقول ماجدة.

وتضيف ماجدة: "عليك أن تقول" احتمال وجود توقعات أفضل "، لأن تحقيق التنبؤات العملية سوف" يتطلب بذل جهد لعدة سنوات ".

في النهاية ، تقول ماجدة ، إن التنبؤات طويلة المدى الموثوقة للرياح الموسمية سيكون لها "آثار مجتمعية ضخمة ، في الزراعة ، والإغاثة من الكوارث ، وتخطيط الجفاف" وغيرها من المجالات.

المصدر: برايان كابلر جامعة نيويورك

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تأثيرات النينيو ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

حق 2 Ad Adsterra

The Central Pacific El Niño Gets A Little Less Mysterious

The Central Pacific El Niño Gets A Little Less Mysterious

A new theoretical model may lead to timelier, accurate forecasts of the central Pacific El Niño, an important weather-maker.

Any El Niño is a period of warmer-than-normal sea-surface temperature in the equatorial Pacific. These anomalies, and the related air pressure fluctuations, can have teleconnections—long-distance effects—on weather far away from the region. CP El Niño events can last for years, and have been “very frequent in the last 25 years,” says Andrew Majda, professor of mathematics and atmosphere/ocean science and principal investigator at NYU Abu Dhabi’s Center for Prototype Climate Modeling.

Majda and Nan Chen, postdoctoral researcher at NYU’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, report what they have learned about the “genuine puzzle” of how a CP El Niño occurs in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

CP El Niño, located far from any continental shore, is linked to severe weather around the globe including massive rainfall in the southeastern US, drought in California and Asia, and most notably the yearly Indian monsoon, which can lead to life-giving harvests but also deadly floods.

“We started with a simple computer model you can run on a laptop,” says Majda, “and astonishingly we started fitting what was seen in observations” from past years.

Their refined theory incorporates how changing ocean currents can move warm water around. “We found,” Majda explains, “that nonlinear transport of sea-surface temperature was an important new ingredient.” Other factors in the new theory are the strengthening trade winds that blow east-to-west across the Pacific, and “wind bursts”, the incessant, effectively random variations in wind strength during an El Niño.

Assembling these factors, Majda says, produced a model with “a striking resemblance to the CP El Niño events from 1990-1995 and 2001-2006.” This “now gives the people who make operational models a way to see what they need to … capture. Current operational models have difficulties capturing key features of the CP El Niño, just the familiar one [the eastern Pacific El Niño].”

But practical precise forecasting, Majda cautions, will demand further theoretical development, and work with “the operational community” of major labs such as the US National Centers for Environmental Prediction, the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory at Princeton University, and the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology. “We’re already working as a group,” Majda says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“You have to say ‘the potential for better forecasts’,” Majda adds, because achieving practical forecasting will still “require an effort of several years.”

Ultimately, Majda says, reliable long-range forecasting of the monsoon would have “huge societal impacts, in agriculture, disaster relief, drought planning,” and other fields.

Source: Brian Kappler for New York University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=El Niño effects;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)