Центральное тихоокеанское Эль-Ниньо получает чуть менее загадочное

Центральное тихоокеанское Эль-Ниньо получает чуть менее загадочное

Новая теоретическая модель может привести к более своевременным и точным прогнозам центрального тихоокеанского Эль-Ниньо, важного погодного фактора.

Любое Эль-Ниньо представляет собой период более теплой, чем обычно, температуры морской поверхности в экваториальной части Тихого океана. Эти аномалии и связанные с ними колебания давления воздуха могут иметь телесвязи - эффекты на большие расстояния - вдали от региона. События CP El Niño могут длиться годами и были «очень частыми в последние 25 лет», - говорит Эндрю Майда, профессор математики, физики атмосферы и океана и главный исследователь в Центре моделирования прототипов Климата Нью-Йорка в Абу-Даби.

Майда и Нан Чен, докторанты из Института математических наук Университета Нью-Йорка, сообщают, что они узнали о «подлинной загадке» того, как CP El Niño встречается в Труды Национальной академии наук.

CP El Niño, расположенная далеко от любого континентального берега, связана с суровой погодой по всему миру, включая массовые осадки в юго-восточной части США, засуху в Калифорнии и Азии и, прежде всего, ежегодный индийский муссон, который может привести к живым урожаям, но также смертельные наводнения.

«Мы начали с простой компьютерной модели, которую вы можете запустить на ноутбуке, - говорит Майда, - и удивительно, что мы начали подгонять то, что было замечено в наблюдениях» из прошлых лет.

Их утонченная теория включает в себя то, как изменяющиеся океанские течения могут перемещать теплую воду вокруг. «Мы обнаружили, - объясняет Майда, - что нелинейный перенос температуры поверхности моря является важным новым ингредиентом». Другими факторами новой теории являются усиление пассатов, которые дуют с востока на запад через Тихий океан, и «ветры» », Непрекращающиеся, эффективно случайные изменения силы ветра во время Эль-Ниньо.

Собрание этих факторов, по словам Майды, создало модель с «поразительным сходством с событиями CP El Niño от 1990-1995 и 2001-2006». Это «теперь дает людям, которые делают операционные модели способ узнать, что им нужно ... захватить. Современные эксплуатационные модели испытывают трудности с улавливанием ключевых особенностей СР Эль-Ниньо, как раз знакомого (восточное тихоокеанское Эль-Ниньо) ».

Но практическое точное прогнозирование, предостерегает Майда, потребует дальнейшего теоретического развития и работы с «оперативным сообществом» крупных лабораторий, таких как Национальные центры США по экологическому прогнозированию, Лаборатория динамики геофизических жидкостей в Принстонском университете и Индийский институт тропиков Метеорология. «Мы уже работаем как группа, - говорит Майда.

«Вы должны сказать« потенциал для лучших прогнозов », добавляет Майда, поскольку достижение практического прогноза будет« требовать усилий в течение нескольких лет ».

В конечном счете, говорит Майда, надежное долгосрочное прогнозирование муссонов будет иметь «огромные социальные последствия, в сельском хозяйстве, помощь при бедствиях, планирование засухи» и другие области.

Источник: Брайан Каплер Нью-Йоркский университет

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = эффекты Эль-Ниньо; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Женщина за бортом: глубины депрессии
Женщина за бортом: глубины депрессии
by Гари Вагман, доктор философии, доктор юридических наук

The Central Pacific El Niño Gets A Little Less Mysterious

The Central Pacific El Niño Gets A Little Less Mysterious

A new theoretical model may lead to timelier, accurate forecasts of the central Pacific El Niño, an important weather-maker.

Any El Niño is a period of warmer-than-normal sea-surface temperature in the equatorial Pacific. These anomalies, and the related air pressure fluctuations, can have teleconnections—long-distance effects—on weather far away from the region. CP El Niño events can last for years, and have been “very frequent in the last 25 years,” says Andrew Majda, professor of mathematics and atmosphere/ocean science and principal investigator at NYU Abu Dhabi’s Center for Prototype Climate Modeling.

Majda and Nan Chen, postdoctoral researcher at NYU’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, report what they have learned about the “genuine puzzle” of how a CP El Niño occurs in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

CP El Niño, located far from any continental shore, is linked to severe weather around the globe including massive rainfall in the southeastern US, drought in California and Asia, and most notably the yearly Indian monsoon, which can lead to life-giving harvests but also deadly floods.

“We started with a simple computer model you can run on a laptop,” says Majda, “and astonishingly we started fitting what was seen in observations” from past years.

Their refined theory incorporates how changing ocean currents can move warm water around. “We found,” Majda explains, “that nonlinear transport of sea-surface temperature was an important new ingredient.” Other factors in the new theory are the strengthening trade winds that blow east-to-west across the Pacific, and “wind bursts”, the incessant, effectively random variations in wind strength during an El Niño.

Assembling these factors, Majda says, produced a model with “a striking resemblance to the CP El Niño events from 1990-1995 and 2001-2006.” This “now gives the people who make operational models a way to see what they need to … capture. Current operational models have difficulties capturing key features of the CP El Niño, just the familiar one [the eastern Pacific El Niño].”

But practical precise forecasting, Majda cautions, will demand further theoretical development, and work with “the operational community” of major labs such as the US National Centers for Environmental Prediction, the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory at Princeton University, and the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology. “We’re already working as a group,” Majda says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“You have to say ‘the potential for better forecasts’,” Majda adds, because achieving practical forecasting will still “require an effort of several years.”

Ultimately, Majda says, reliable long-range forecasting of the monsoon would have “huge societal impacts, in agriculture, disaster relief, drought planning,” and other fields.

Source: Brian Kappler for New York University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=El Niño effects;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)