لماذا قد يتغير المجال المغناطيسي للأرض بشكل أسرع مما كنا نعتقد

لماذا قد يتغير المجال المغناطيسي للأرض بشكل أسرع مما كنا نعتقد
لطالما كان الأمر غامضًا مدى سرعة تغير المجال المغناطيسي للأرض.
أندري VP / Shutterstock

إن المجال المغناطيسي للأرض ، الذي تم إنشاؤه على بعد 3,000 كيلومتر تحت أقدامنا في قلب الحديد السائل ، مهم للغاية للحياة على كوكبنا. يمتد إلى الفضاء ، ويلف بنا في بطانية كهرومغناطيسية تحمي الغلاف الجوي والأقمار الصناعية من الإشعاع الشمسي.

بعد المجال المغناطيسي يتغير باستمرار في كل من قوته واتجاهه وخضع لبعض التحولات الدراماتيكية في الماضي. هذا يتضمن الانعكاسات الغامضة للأقطاب المغناطيسية، مع تحول القطب الجنوبي إلى القطب الشمالي والعكس صحيح.

كان السؤال الذي طال أمده هو مدى سرعة تغيير المجال. دراستنا الجديدة ، نشرت في الطبيعة للاتصالاتكشف بعض الأجوبة.

إن التغيرات السريعة في المجال المغناطيسي ذات أهمية كبيرة لأنها تمثل السلوك الأكثر تطرفًا لمحيط الحديد المصهور في القلب السائل. من خلال ربط التغييرات المرصودة بالعمليات الأساسية ، يمكننا معرفة معلومات مهمة حول منطقة يتعذر الوصول إليها على كوكبنا.

تاريخيا ، كانت أسرع التغيرات في المجال المغناطيسي للأرض المرتبطة بالانتكاسات، والتي تحدث على فترات غير منتظمة عدة مرات كل مليون سنة. لكننا اكتشفنا تغييرات ميدانية أسرع وأحدث من أي بيانات مرتبطة بالانتكاسات الفعلية.

انعكاس مغناطيسي. (لماذا قد يتغير المجال المغناطيسي للأرض بشكل أسرع مما كنا نعتقد)
انعكاس مغناطيسي.
NASA.

في الوقت الحاضر ، تساعد الأقمار الصناعية على مراقبة التغيرات في الميدان في كل من المكان والزمان ، تكملها السجلات الملاحية والمراصد الأرضية. تكشف هذه المعلومات أن التغييرات في المجال الحديث مؤلمة إلى حد ما ، حوالي عشر درجة في السنة. ولكن ، بينما نعلم أن المجال موجود لمدة 3.5 مليار سنة على الأقل، نحن لا نعرف الكثير عن سلوكها قبل 400 سنة مضت.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لتتبع المجال القديم ، يحلل العلماء المغناطيسية المسجلة بواسطة الرواسب وتدفقات الحمم البركانية والمصنوعات اليدوية من صنع الإنسان. وذلك لأن هذه المواد تحتوي على حبيبات مغناطيسية مجهرية تسجل توقيع مجال الأرض في وقت تبريدها (للأحواض) أو إضافتها إلى الكتلة الأرضية (للرواسب). تسجل الرواسب من وسط إيطاليا في وقت الانعكاس الأخير للقطبية قبل 800,000 سنة تقريبًا اقتراح تغييرات ميدانية سريعة نسبيًا تصل درجة واحدة في السنة.

هذه القياسات ، مع ذلك ، هي صعبة للغاية ، مع النتائج لا يزال قيد المناقشة. على سبيل المثال ، هناك شكوك في العملية التي تكتسب بها الرواسب مغناطيسيتها.

قياسات محسنة

يتخذ بحثنا نهجًا مختلفًا باستخدام نماذج الكمبيوتر المستندة إلى فيزياء عملية التوليد الميداني. ويقترن ذلك بإعادة البناء التي تم نشرها مؤخرًا للتغيرات العالمية في المجال المغناطيسي للأرض والتي تمتد على مدى 100,000،XNUMX عام الماضية ، استنادًا إلى مجموعة من القياسات من الرواسب والحمم والمصنوعات اليدوية.

يوضح هذا أن التغيرات في اتجاه المجال المغناطيسي للأرض وصلت إلى معدلات تصل إلى عشر درجات في السنة - أكبر بعشر مرات من أسرع التغيرات المبلغ عنها حاليًا.

حدثت أسرع التغيرات الملحوظة في اتجاه المجال المغنطيسي الأرضي منذ حوالي 39,000 سنة. ارتبط هذا التحول بحقل ضعيف محليًا في منطقة محصورة قبالة الساحل الغربي لأمريكا الوسطى. تبع هذا الحدثرحلة لاشامب"-" انعكاس فاشل "للمجال المغناطيسي للأرض منذ حوالي 41,000 سنة تحركت فيه الأقطاب المغناطيسية لفترة وجيزة بعيدًا عن القطبين الجغرافيين قبل العودة.

يبدو أن أسرع التغييرات مرتبطة بضعف محلي للمجال المغناطيسي. يشير نموذجنا إلى أن هذا ناتج عن حركة بقع المجال المغناطيسي الشديد عبر سطح القلب السائل. هذه البقع أكثر انتشارًا عند خطوط العرض المنخفضة ، مما يشير إلى أن عمليات البحث المستقبلية عن التغييرات السريعة في الاتجاه يجب أن تركز على هذه المناطق.

تأثير المجتمع

ربما لا تشكل التغييرات في المجال المغناطيسي ، مثل الانعكاسات ، تهديدًا للحياة. تمكن البشر من العيش من خلال رحلة Laschamp الدرامية. اليوم ، يعود التهديد بشكل رئيسي إلى اعتمادنا على البنية التحتية الإلكترونية. يمكن لأحداث الطقس الفضائي مثل العواصف المغنطيسية الأرضية ، الناشئة عن التفاعل بين المجال المغناطيسي والإشعاع الشمسي الوارد ، أن تعطل اتصالات الأقمار الصناعية ونظام تحديد المواقع وشبكات الطاقة.

هذا أمر مثير للقلق - التكلفة الاقتصادية لانهيار شبكة الكهرباء الأمريكية بسبب حدث طقس الفضاء قدرت في حوالي تريليون دولار. التهديد خطير بما يكفي لظهور طقس الفضاء على أنه ذا أهيمة عليا في سجل المخاطر الوطني في المملكة المتحدة.

تميل أحداث طقس الفضاء إلى أن تكون أكثر انتشارًا في المناطق التي يكون فيها المجال المغناطيسي ضعيفًا - وهو أمر نعرف أنه يمكن أن يحدث عندما يتغير المجال بسرعة. لسوء الحظ ، تشير المحاكاة الحاسوبية إلى أن التغييرات الاتجاهية تنشأ بعد أن تبدأ شدة المجال في الضعف ، مما يعني أنه لا يمكننا التنبؤ بانخفاضات في شدة المجال بمجرد مراقبة اتجاه المجال. يمكن أن يلقي العمل المستقبلي باستخدام عمليات محاكاة أكثر تقدمًا مزيدًا من الضوء على هذه المشكلة.

هل هناك تغير سريع آخر في المجال المغناطيسي في طريقه؟ هذا صعب جدا للإجابة أسرع التغييرات هي أيضًا أندر الأحداث: على سبيل المثال ، التغييرات المحددة حول رحلة Laschamp هي أكثر من مرتين أسرع من أي تغييرات أخرى تحدث على مدى 100,000 سنة الماضية.

هذا يجعل من الصعب على العلماء التنبؤ بالتغيرات السريعة - إنها "أحداث البجعة السوداء" التي تأتي كمفاجأة ولها تأثير كبير. أحد الطرق الممكنة للمضي قدما هو استخدام النماذج القائمة على الفيزياء لكيفية تصرف المجال كجزء من التوقعات.

لا يزال لدينا الكثير لنتعلمه عن "حدود السرعة" للمجال المغناطيسي للأرض. لم تتم ملاحظة التغييرات السريعة مباشرة بعد انعكاس القطبية ، ولكن يجب توقعها حيث يُعتقد أن المجال يصبح ضعيفًا عالميًا في هذه الأوقات.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

كريستوفر ديفيز ، أستاذ مشارك ، جامعة ليدز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Why Earth’s Magnetic Field May Change Faster Than We Thought

Why Earth’s Magnetic Field May Change Faster Than We Thought
It’s long been a mystery how fast the Earth’s magnetic field changes.
Andrey VP/Shutterstock

The Earth’s magnetic field, generated 3,000km below our feet in the liquid iron core, is crucially important to life on our planet. It extends out into space, wrapping us in an electromagnetic blanket that shields the atmosphere and satellites from solar radiation.

Yet the magnetic field is constantly changing in both its strength and direction and has undergone some dramatic shifts in the past. This includes enigmatic reversals of the magnetic poles, with the south pole becoming the north pole and vice versa.

A long-standing question has been how fast the field can change. Our new study, published in Nature Communications, has uncovered some answers.

Rapid changes of the magnetic field are of great interest because they represent the most extreme behaviour of the ocean of molten iron in the liquid core. By tying the observed changes to core processes, we can learn important information about an otherwise inaccessible region of our planet.

Historically, the fastest changes in Earth’s magnetic field have been associated with reversals, which occur at irregular intervals a few times every million years. But we discovered field changes that are much faster and more recent than any of the data associated with actual reversals.

Magnetic reversal.  (why Earth's magnetic field may change faster than we thought)
Magnetic reversal.
NASA.

Nowadays satellites help monitor changes in the field in both space and time, complemented by navigational records and ground-based observatories. This information reveals that changes in the modern field are rather ponderous, around a tenth of a degree per year. But, while we know that the field has existed for at least 3.5 billion years, we don’t know much about its behaviour prior to 400 years ago.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


To track the ancient field, scientists analyse the magnetism recorded by sediments, lava flows and human-made artefacts. That’s because these materials contain microscopic magnetic grains that record the signature of Earth’s field at the time they cooled (for lavas) or were added to the landmass (for sediments). Sediment records from central Italy around the time of the last polarity reversal almost 800,000 years ago suggest relatively rapid field changes reaching one degree per year.

Such measurements, however, are extremely challenging, with results still being debated. For example, there are uncertainties in the process by which sediments acquire their magnetism.

Improved measurements

Our research takes a different approach by using computer models based on the physics of the field generation process. This is combined with a recently published reconstruction of global variations in Earth’s magnetic field spanning the last 100,000 years, based on a compilation of measurements from sediments, lavas and artefacts.

This shows that changes in the direction of Earth’s magnetic field reached rates that are up to ten degrees per year – ten times larger than the fastest currently reported variations.

The fastest observed changes in the geomagnetic field direction occurred around 39,000 years ago. This shift was associated with a locally weak field in a confined region just off the west coast of central America. The event followed the global “Laschamp excursion” – a “failed reversal” of the Earth’s magnetic field around 41,000 years ago in which the magnetic poles briefly moved far from the geographic poles before returning.

The fastest changes appear to be associated with local weakening of the magnetic field. Our model suggests this is caused by movement of patches of intense magnetic field across the surface of the liquid core. These patches are more prevalent at lower latitudes, suggesting that future searches for rapid changes in direction should focus on these areas.

The impact of society

Changes in the magnetic field, such as reversals, probably don’t pose a threat to life. Humans did manage to live through the dramatic Laschamp excursion. Today, the threat is mainly down to our reliance on electronic infrastructure. Space weather events such as geomagnetic storms, arising from the interaction between the magnetic field and incoming solar radiation, could disrupt satellite communications, GPS and power grids.

This is troubling – the economic cost of a collapse of the US power grid due to a space-weather event has been estimated at around one trillion dollars. The threat is serious enough for space weather to appear as a high priority on the UK national risk register.

Space weather events tend to be more prevalent in regions where the magnetic field is weak – something we know can happen when the field is changing rapidly. Unfortunately, computer simulations suggest that directional changes arise after the field strength begins to weaken, meaning we cannot predict dips in field strength by just monitoring the field direction. Future work using more advanced simulations can shed more light on this issue.

Is another rapid change in the magnetic field on its way? This is very hard to answer. The fastest changes are also the rarest events: for example, the changes identified around the Laschamp excursion are over two times faster than any other changes occurring over the last 100,000 years.

This makes it difficult for scientists to predict rapid changes – they are “black swan events” that come as a surprise and have a big impact. One possible route forward is to use physics-based models of how the field behaves as part of the forecast.

We still have a lot to learn about the “speed limit” of Earth’s magnetic field. Rapid changes have not yet been directly observed during a polarity reversal, but they should be expected since the field is thought to become globally weak at these times.The Conversation

About the Author

Christopher Davies, Associate professor, University of Leeds

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…