لماذا بدأت الأنثروبوسين بالاستعمار الأوروبي والرق الجماعي والموت العظيم في القرن السادس عشر

لماذا بدأت الأنثروبوسين بالاستعمار الأوروبي والرق الجماعي والموت العظيم في القرن السادس عشر جون فاندرلين: هبوط كولومبوس

جميع اسقاط التماثيل لقد أوضحت احتجاجات Black Lives Matter بقوة أن جذور العنصرية الحديثة تكمن في الاستعمار الأوروبي والرق. ستتم معارضة العنصرية بقوة أكبر بمجرد الاعتراف بهذا التاريخ والتعلم منه. يمكن للجغرافيين والجيولوجيين المساعدة في المساهمة في هذا الفهم الجديد لماضينا ، من خلال تحديد الفترة الجديدة التي يسيطر عليها الإنسان في تاريخ الأرض كبداية مع الاستعمار الأوروبي.

اليوم آثارنا على البيئة هائلة: يتحرك البشر في التربة والصخور والرواسب كل عام أكثر مما تنتقل من قبل جميع الآخرين العمليات الطبيعية مشترك. ربما نكون قد بدأنا "الانقراض الجماعي" السادس في تاريخ الأرض المناخ العالمي يسخن بسرعة لدينا تأخر العصر الجليدي التالي.

لقد صنعنا ما يكفي من الخرسانة لتغطية سطح الأرض بالكامل في طبقة سمك XNUMX ملم. تم تصنيع ما يكفي من البلاستيك ل تتشبث به كذلك. ننتج سنويا 4.8 مليار طن من أفضل محاصيلنا الخمسة و 4.8 مليار حيوانات الماشية. هناك 1.4 مليار سيارة ، و 2 مليار كمبيوتر شخصي ، وأكثر من الهواتف المحمولة 7.8 مليار نسمة على الارض.

يشير كل هذا إلى أن البشر أصبحوا قوة عظمى جيولوجية وستظهر أدلة على تأثيرنا في الصخور بعد ملايين السنين من الآن. هذه حقبة جيولوجية جديدة يسميها العلماء الأنثروبوسين، يجمع بين كلمتي "الإنسان" و "في الآونة الأخيرة". لكن الجدل لا يزال مستمرا بشأن متى يجب أن نحدد بداية هذه الفترة. متى تركنا بالضبط الهولوسين - عشرة آلاف عام من الاستقرار الذي سمح بتنمية الحضارات المعقدة - والانتقال إلى الحقبة الجديدة؟ منذ خمس سنوات مضت نشرنا أدلة أن بداية الرأسمالية والاستعمار الأوروبي تفي بالمعايير العلمية الرسمية لبداية الأنثروبوسين.

ازدادت تأثيرات الكواكب لدينا منذ أن تنزل أقرب أسلافنا من الأشجار ، في البداية عن طريق صيد بعض الأنواع الحيوانية للانقراض. في وقت لاحق ، بعد تطور الزراعة والمجتمعات الزراعية ، بدأنا في تغيير المناخ. ومع ذلك ، أصبحت الأرض حقًا "كوكب بشري"مع ظهور شيء مختلف تمامًا. كانت هذه الرأسمالية ، التي نشأت من التوسع الأوروبي في القرنين الخامس عشر والسادس عشر وعصر الاستعمار وإخضاع الشعوب الأصلية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لماذا بدأت الأنثروبوسين بالاستعمار الأوروبي والرق الجماعي والموت العظيم في القرن السادس عشر تعثر كريستوفر كولومبوس. بن هوفلاند / شترستوك

في الأمريكتين ، بعد 100 عام فقط من دخول كريستوفر كولومبوس لأول مرة إلى جزر البهاما عام 1492 ، 56 مليون أمريكي أصلي لقوا حتفهم ، لا سيما في أمريكا الجنوبية والوسطى. كان هذا 90 ٪ من السكان. قُتل معظمهم بسبب الأمراض التي جلبها الأوروبيون عبر المحيط الأطلسي ، والتي لم يسبق لها مثيل في الأمريكتين: الحصبة والجدري والإنفلونزا والطاعون الدبلي. الحرب والعبودية والموجة بعد موجة من المرض مجتمعة تسبب هذا "الموت العظيم"، وهو شيء لم يره العالم من قبل ، أو منذ ذلك الحين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في أمريكا الشمالية ، كان الانخفاض السكاني أبطأ ولكن ليس أقل دراماتيكية بسبب تباطؤ الاستعمار من قبل الأوروبيين. تشير بيانات التعداد السكاني في الولايات المتحدة إلى أن سكان أمريكا الأصليين ربما كانوا منخفضين 250,000،1900 شخص بحلول عام XNUMX من مستوى ما قبل كولومبوس من 5 مليون، انخفاض بنسبة 95٪.

ترك هذا التهجير السكان القارات التي يهيمن عليها الأوروبيون ، الذين أقاموا المزارع وملأوا نقص العمالة مع العمال المستعبدين. في المجموع ، أكثر من 12 مليون شخص تم إجبارهم على مغادرة إفريقيا والعمل لصالح الأوروبيين السلافية.

تأثير آخر لل الموت العظيم هو أنه لم يبق في البداية سوى عدد قليل جدًا من المزارعين لإدارة الحقول والغابات. صورتنا عن جاموس الصيد الأمريكي الأصلي على ظهور الخيل خاطئة - أولئك الذين تبنوا أسلوب الحياة الجديد هذا فعلوا ذلك فقط لأنهم كانوا أجبروا على ترك أراضيهم من قبل الغزاة الأوروبيين ، الذين جلبوا معهم الحصان أيضًا. كان معظم الأمريكيين الأصليين قبل كولومبوس من المزارعين. في غيابهم ، عادت المناظر الطبيعية المدارة سابقًا إلى حالاتهم الطبيعية ، مع أشجار جديدة تمتص الكربون من الغلاف الجوي. كان هذا الامتصاص الكربوني كبيرًا جدًا لدرجة أن هناك انخفاضًا في ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي مسجل في نوى الجليد في القطب الجنوبي ، والتي تتمحور حول عام 1610.

وقد ربطت الأمراض الفتاكة رحلة على طرق الشحن الجديدة ، مثل العديد من النباتات والحيوانات الأخرى. أعاد ربط القارات وأحواض المحيطات لأول مرة منذ 200 مليون سنة الأرض على مسار تنموي جديد. سيُرى الخلط المستمر وإعادة ترتيب الحياة على الأرض في صخور المستقبل ملايين السنين في المستقبل. يوفر انخفاض ثاني أكسيد الكربون عند 1610 علامة أولى في الرواسب الجيولوجية المرتبطة بهذه البيئة العالمية الجديدة الأكثر تجانساً ، وبالتالي يوفر تاريخ البدء المعقول لعصر الأنثروبوسين الجديد.

بالإضافة إلى المهمة الحاسمة لتسليط الضوء على ومعالجة العنصرية داخل العلم، ربما يمكن للجيولوجيين والجغرافيين أيضًا تقديم مساهمة صغيرة في حركة الحياة السوداء من خلال تجميع الأدلة التي تثبت أنه عندما بدأ البشر في ممارسة تأثير كبير على بيئة الأرض كان أيضًا بداية الاستعمار الأوروبي الوحشي للعالم.

في كتابها الثاقب ، مليار من الأنثروبوسينات السوداء أو لا شيء، توضح أستاذة الجغرافيا كاثرين يوسف أنه من الواضح أن الجيولوجيين وعلماء الجغرافيا البيض في الغالب بحاجة إلى الاعتراف بأن الأوروبيين أهلكوا السكان الأصليين والأقليات كلما حدث ما يسمى التقدم.

تحديد بداية كوكب بشري لأن فترة الاستعمار ، وانتشار الأمراض الفتاكة والعبودية عبر الأطلسي ، تعني أنه يمكننا مواجهة الماضي وضمان التعامل مع إرثه السام. إذا كان عام 1610 يمثل نقطة تحول في العلاقات الإنسانية مع الأرض ومعاملتنا لبعضنا البعض ، فربما ، ربما ، 2020 فقط ، يمكن أن يمثل بداية فصل جديد من المساواة والعدالة البيئية وإدارة الكوكب الوحيد في الكون المعروف لإيواء أي حياة. إنه صراع لا يمكن لأحد أن يخسره.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

مارك ماسلين ، أستاذ علوم نظام الأرض ، UCL وسيمون لويس ، أستاذ علوم التغيير العالمي بجامعة ليدز و UCL

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Why The Anthropocene Began With European Colonisation, Mass Slavery And The Great Dying Of The 16th Century

Why The Anthropocene Began With European Colonisation, Mass Slavery And The Great Dying Of The 16th Century John Vanderlyn: Landing of Columbus

The toppling of statues at Black Lives Matter protests has powerfully articulated that the roots of modern racism lie in European colonisation and slavery. Racism will be more forcefully opposed once we acknowledge this history and learn from it. Geographers and geologists can help contribute to this new understanding of our past, by defining the new human-dominated period of Earth’s history as beginning with European colonialism.

Today our impacts on the environment are immense: humans move more soil, rock and sediment each year than is transported by all other natural processes combined. We may have kicked off the sixth “mass extinction” in Earth’s history, and the global climate is warming so fast we have delayed the next ice age.

We’ve made enough concrete to cover the entire surface of the Earth in a layer two millimetres thick. Enough plastic has been manufactured to clingfilm it as well. We annually produce 4.8 billion tonnes of our top five crops and 4.8 billion livestock animals. There are 1.4 billion motor vehicles, 2 billion personal computers, and more mobile phones than the 7.8 billion people on Earth.

All this suggests humans have become a geological superpower and evidence of our impact will be visible in rocks millions of years from now. This is a new geological epoch that scientists are calling the Anthropocene, combining the words for “human” and “recent-time”. But debate still continues as to when we should define the beginning of this period. When exactly did we leave behind the Holocene – the 10,000 years of stability that allowed farming and complex civilisations to develop – and move into the new epoch? Five years ago we published evidence that the start of capitalism and European colonisation meet the formal scientific criteria for the start of the Anthropocene.

Our planetary impacts have increased since our earliest ancestors stepped down from the trees, at first by hunting some animal species to extinction. Much later, following the development of farming and agricultural societies, we started to change the climate. Yet Earth only truly became a “human planet” with the emergence of something quite different. This was capitalism, which itself grew out of European expansion in the 15th and 16th century and the era of colonisation and subjugation of indigenous peoples all around the world.

Why The Anthropocene Began With European Colonisation, Mass Slavery And The Great Dying Of The 16th Century Christopher Columbus takes a tumble. Ben Hovland / shutterstock

In the Americas, just 100 years after Christopher Columbus first set foot on the Bahamas in 1492, 56 million indigenous Americans were dead, mainly in South and Central America. This was 90% of the population. Most were killed by diseases brought across the Atlantic by Europeans, which had never been seen before in the Americas: measles, smallpox, influenza, the bubonic plague. War, slavery and wave after wave of disease combined to cause this “great dying”, something the world had never seen before, or since.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In North America the population decline was slower but no less dramatic due to slower colonisation by Europeans. US census data suggest the Native American population may have been as low as 250,000 people by 1900 from a pre-Columbus level of 5 million, a 95% decline.

This depopulation left the continents dominated by Europeans, who set up plantations and filled a labour shortage with enslaved workers. In total, more than 12 million people were forced to leave Africa and work for Europeans as slaves.

One further impact of the great dying was that there were at first very few farmers left to manage the fields and forests. Our image of the Native American hunting buffalo on horseback is false – those who adopted this new lifestyle only did so because they had been forced off their land by the European invaders, who also brought with them the horse. Most pre-Columbus indigenous Americans were farmers. In their absence, previously managed landscapes returned to their natural states, with new trees absorbing carbon from the atmosphere. So large was this carbon uptake that there is a drop in atmospheric carbon dioxide recorded in Antarctic ice cores, centred around the year 1610.

The deadly diseases hitched a ride on new shipping routes, as did many other plants and animals. This reconnecting of the continents and ocean basins for the first time in 200 million years has set Earth on a new developmental trajectory. The ongoing mixing and re-ordering of life on Earth will be seen in future rocks millions of years in the future. The drop in carbon dioxide at 1610 provides a first marker in a geological sediment associated with this new global, more homogeneous, ecology, and so provides a sensible start date for the new Anthropocene epoch.

In addition to the critical task of highlighting and tackling the racism within science, perhaps geologists and geographers can also make a small contribution to the Black Lives Matter movement by unflinchingly compiling the evidence showing that when humans started to exert a huge influence on the Earth’s environment was also the start of the brutal European colonisation of the world.

In her insightful book, A Billion Black Anthropocenes or None, the geography professor Kathryn Yusoff makes it very clear that predominantly white geologists and geographers need to acknowledge that Europeans decimated indigenous and minority populations whenever so-called progress occurred.

Defining the start of the human planet as the period of colonisation, the spread of deadly diseases and transatlantic slavery, means we can face the past and ensure we deal with its toxic legacy. If 1610 marks both a turning point in human relations with the Earth and our treatment of each other, then maybe, just maybe, 2020 could mark the start of a new chapter of equality, environmental justice and stewardship of the only planet in the universe known to harbour any life. It’s a struggle nobody can afford to lose.The Conversation

About The Author

Mark Maslin, Professor of Earth System Science, UCL and Simon Lewis, Professor of Global Change Science at University of Leeds and, UCL

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…