كيف تقطع فاتورة الوقود ، قم بتنقية الهواء وتقليل الانبعاثات

كيف تقطع فاتورة الوقود ، قم بتنقية الهواء وتقليل الانبعاثات صراع الأسهم.

يعد قطاع النقل ثاني أكبر ملوث في أستراليا تقريبا شنومكس٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة. لكن السائقين اليوميين يمكنهم إحداث فرق.

على وجه الخصوص ، يمكن أن يكون لمقدار الوقت الذي تترك فيه محرك سيارتك خاملاً تأثيرًا كبيرًا على الانبعاثات وجودة الهواء المحلي. تباطؤ المحرك هو عندما يكون محرك السيارة قيد التشغيل بينما تكون السيارة ثابتة ، مثل الضوء الأحمر.

كيف تقطع فاتورة الوقود ، قم بتنقية الهواء وتقليل الانبعاثات يعد اختيار الدراجة طريقة رائعة لتقليل بصمة الكربون. شترستوك

جديد تقرير أبحاث طاقة النقل / الانبعاثات وجدت في ظروف حركة المرور العادية ، من المرجح أن الاستراليين يضيعون أكثر من 20 ٪ من وقت قيادتهم.

يساهم ذلك بنسبة 1٪ إلى 8٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون خلال الرحلة ، اعتمادًا على نوع السيارة. لوضع هذا في المنظور ، فإن إزالة التباطؤ من الرحلة سيكون مثل إزالة ما يصل إلى 1.6 مليون سيارة من الطريق.

قد يؤدي التباطؤ المفرط (التباطؤ لمدة تزيد عن خمس دقائق) إلى زيادة هذه المساهمة بشكل أكبر ، خاصة للشاحنات والحافلات. عندما تفكر أيضًا في مدى التباطؤ الواسع الذي قد يخلق نقاطًا ساخنة للتلوث حول المدارس ، فهذا ليس شيئًا يجب أخذه.

بقع التلوث الساخنة

لا يقلل تقليل التباطؤ فقط من انبعاثات الكربون ، بل يمكنه أيضًا تقليل تكاليف الوقود حتى 10٪ أو أكثر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يتعين على السائقين ببساطة إيقاف تشغيل محركاتهم أثناء وقوفهم والانتظار في سيارتهم. ربما تفتح نافذة للحفاظ على ظروف مريحة ، بدلاً من تشغيل مكيف الهواء.

بعض التباطؤ لا يمكن تجنبه مثل انتظار إشارة مرور أو القيادة في ظروف مزدحمة ، ولكن التباطؤ الآخر غير ضروري ، مثل أثناء الوقوف.

عندما تكون العديد من السيارات متوقفة في نفس الموقع ، يمكن أن تخلق جودة هواء محلية رديئة. على سبيل المثال ، كان التباطؤ المحددة في الخارج كعامل مهم في ارتفاع مستويات التلوث في المدارس وحولها. ذلك لأن الآباء أو الحافلات المدرسية لا يوقفون محركاتهم عندما ينزلون أطفالهم أو ينتظرونهم في الخارج.

كيف تقطع فاتورة الوقود ، قم بتنقية الهواء وتقليل الانبعاثات أوقفت سيارتك؟ أوقف تشغيل المحرك. شترستوك

حتى التخفيضات الصغيرة في انبعاثات المركبات يمكن أن يكون لها فوائد صحية ، مثل الحد من الربو والحساسية والالتهابات الجهازية لدى الأطفال الأستراليين. في عام 2019 ، الباحثون الأستراليون حددت أنه حتى الزيادات الصغيرة في التعرض لتلوث المركبات ارتبطت بزيادة خطر الإصابة بالربو في مرحلة الطفولة وانخفاض وظائف الرئة.

حملات مكافحة التباطؤ تحدث فرقا

تظهر الدراسات الخارجية أن حملات مكافحة التباطؤ وتعليم السائق يمكن أن تساعد في تحسين جودة الهواء حول المدارس ، حيث تقوم الحافلات وسيارات الركاب بإيقاف محركاتها بشكل متكرر.

في الولايات المتحدة وكندا ، سنت الحكومات المحلية وحكومات الولايات تشريعات طوعية أو إلزامية لمكافحة التباطؤ ، لمعالجة الشكاوى وتقليل استخدام الوقود والانبعاثات والضوضاء.

كانت النتائج واعدة. في كاليفورنيا ، تم ربط مجموعة من التدابير - بما في ذلك سياسات مكافحة التباطؤ - التي تهدف إلى تقليل تعرض أطفال المدارس لانبعاثات المركبات التطور من الرئتين الأكبر والأكثر صحة عند الأطفال.

لكن في أستراليا ، حددنا تقريبًا عدم وجود مبادرات لمكافحة التباطؤ أو تشريع للحد من التباطؤ ، على الرغم من ذلك يدعو لهم في عام 2017.

ومع ذلك، "القيادة البيئية"، طالما حملة جديدة واعدة يُطلق على "Idle Off" استعدادًا لنشره لطلاب المدارس الثانوية في أستراليا.

ماذا عن المركبات التجارية؟

يمكن أن تتوقف المركبات التجارية عن العمل لفترات طويلة. في الولايات المتحدة ، نموذجي الشاحنات لمسافات طويلة خمول ما يقدر بنحو 1,800 ساعة في السنة عندما تكون متوقفة عند توقف الشاحنات ، على الرغم من الإبلاغ أيضًا عن نطاق كبير يتراوح بين 1,000 و 2,500 ساعة في السنة.

وبالتالي فإن مشغلي الأساطيل وشركات الخدمات اللوجستية في وضع جيد لطرح مبادرات الحد من التباطؤ وتوفير تكاليف التشغيل (الوقود) مع تقليل الانبعاثات.

في الواقع ، سعى مشغلو الأساطيل في الخارج بنشاط للحد من انبعاثات التباطؤ. هذا ليس مفاجئًا لأن تكاليف الوقود هي ثاني أكبر حساب للأساطيل ، وراء أجور السائقين ، وعادة ما تمثل 20 ٪ من إجمالي تكاليف تشغيل أسطول النقل بالشاحنات.

كيف تقطع فاتورة الوقود ، قم بتنقية الهواء وتقليل الانبعاثات يساهم قطاع النقل بنسبة 18.8٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات أستراليا. شترستوك

تقنيات مختلفة متوفرة في الخارج للحد من انبعاثات التباطؤ ، مثل أنظمة إيقاف التشغيل ، وأجهزة مكافحة التباطؤ (الشاحنات) والمركبات الكهربائية التي تعمل بالبطاريات.

ولكن على عكس الدول المتقدمة الأخرى ، فإن أستراليا ليست لديها كفاءة الوقود أو معايير انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون. وهذا يعني أن مصنعي المركبات ليس لديهم حافز لإدراج تقنيات الحد من التباطؤ (أو غيرها من تقنيات توفير الوقود) في السيارات التي تباع في أستراليا.

على سبيل المثال ، يتزايد استخدام أنظمة الإيقاف والتشغيل بسرعة في الخارج ، ولكن من غير الواضح عدد أنظمة الإيقاف التي يتم استخدامها في السيارات الأسترالية الجديدة.

تأتي تقنيات تقليل الانبعاثات أيضًا مع تكاليف إضافية لمصنّع المركبات ، مما يجعلها أقل جاذبية ، على الرغم من أن فوائد التكلفة من تقليل استخدام الوقود ستنتقل إلى المستهلكين. ربما لن يتغير هذا الوضع ما لم يتم تنفيذ معايير الانبعاثات الإلزامية.

على أي حال ، من السهل على السائقين ببساطة تشغيل المفتاح وإغلاق المحرك عندما يكون ذلك مناسبًا. الحد من التباطؤ لا يتطلب تقنيات.

تقليل بصمة الكربون الخاصة بك

إذا لم يكن الحد من الانبعاثات أو توفير المال في مخزن الوقود حافزًا كافيًا ، فربما يتم في الوقت المناسب ، تعريض الأطفال لانبعاثات خاملة غير ضرورية في نفس الضوء غير المقبول اجتماعيًا مثل التدخين حول الأطفال.

وبالطبع ، هناك تدابير أخرى لتقليل بصمة الكربون الخاصة بالنقل. قيادة سيارة أصغر وتجنب سيارات الديزل. على الرغم من سمعتها ، تنبعث سيارات الديزل الأسترالية ، في المتوسط ​​، حوالي 10 ٪ من ثاني أكسيد الكربون لكل كيلومتر من سيارات البنزين.

أو الأفضل من ذلك ، إن أمكن ، إزالة الغبار عن تلك الدراجة أو المشي.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

روبن سميت ، أستاذ مشارك مساعد ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني وكلير والتر ، طالبة دكتوراه ، زميلة بحث فخري ، مستشار الدفاع. ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

How To Cut Your Fuel Bill, Clear The Air And Reduce Emissions

How To Cut Your Fuel Bill, Clear The Air And Reduce Emissions shutterstock.

The transport sector is Australia’s second-largest polluter, pumping out almost 20% of our total greenhouse gas emissions. But everyday drivers can make a difference.

In particular, the amount of time you let your car engine idle can have a significant impact on emissions and local air quality. Engine idling is when the car engine is running while the vehicle is stationary, such as at a red light.

How To Cut Your Fuel Bill, Clear The Air And Reduce Emissions Opting for a bike is a great way to reduce your carbon footprint. Shutterstock

A new Transport Energy/Emission Research report found in normal traffic conditions, Australians likely idle more than 20% of their drive time.

This contributes 1% to 8% of total carbon dioxide emissions over the journey, depending on the vehicle type. To put that into perspective, removing idling from the journey would be like removing up to 1.6 million cars from the road.

Excessive idling (idling for longer than five minutes) could increase this contribution further, particularly for trucks and buses. When you also consider how extensive idling may create pollution hot spots around schools, this isn’t something to take lightly.

Pollution hot spots

Reducing idling doesn’t just lower your carbon footprint, it can also lower your fuel costs up to 10% or more.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Drivers simply have to turn their engines off while parked and wait in their vehicle. Perhaps crack open a window to maintain comfortable conditions, rather than switching on the air conditioner.

Some idling is unavoidable such as waiting for a traffic light or driving in congested conditions, but other idling is unnecessary, such as while parked.

When many cars are idling in the same location, it can create poor local air quality. For example, idling has been identified overseas as a significant factor in higher pollution levels in and around schools. That’s because parents or school buses don’t turn off their engines when they drop off their kids or wait for them outside.

How To Cut Your Fuel Bill, Clear The Air And Reduce Emissions Parked you car? Turn off the engine. Shutterstock

Even small reductions in vehicle emissions can have health benefits, such as reducing asthma, allergies and systemic inflammation in Australian children. In 2019, Australian researchers identified that even small increases of exposure to vehicle pollution were associated with an increased risk of childhood asthma and reduced lung function.

Anti-idling campaigns make a difference

Overseas studies show anti-idling campaigns and driver education can help improve air quality around schools, with busses and passenger cars switching off their engines more frequently.

In the US and Canada, local and state governments have enacted voluntary or mandatory anti-idling legislation, to address complaints and reduce fuel use, emissions and noise.

The results have been promising. In California, a range of measures – including anti-idling policies – aimed at reducing school children’s exposure to vehicle emissions were linked to the development of larger, healthier lungs in children.

But in Australia, we identified almost no anti-idling initiatives or idle reduction legislation, despite calls for them in 2017.

However, “eco-driving”, as well as a promising new campaign called “Idle Off” is poised to roll out to secondary school students in Australia.

What about commercial vehicles?

Commercial vehicles can idle for long periods of time. In the US, typical long-haul trucks idle an estimated 1,800 hours per year when parked at truck stops, although a significant range of between 1,000 and 2,500 hours per year has also been reported.

Fleet operators and logistics companies are therefore in a good position to roll out idle reduction initiatives and save on operating (fuel) costs while reducing emissions.

In fact, fleet operators overseas have actively sought to reduce idling emissions. This is not surprising as fuel costs are the second-largest expense for fleets, behind driver wages, typically accounting for 20% of a trucking fleet’s total operating costs.

How To Cut Your Fuel Bill, Clear The Air And Reduce Emissions The transport sector contributes 18.8% of Australia’s total emissions. Shutterstock

Various technologies are available overseas that reduce idling emissions, such as stop-start systems, anti-idling devices (trucks) and battery electric vehicles.

But unlike other developed countries, Australia doesn’t have fuel efficiency or carbon dioxide emission standards. This means vehicle manufacturers have no incentive to include idle reduction technologies (or other fuel-saving technologies) in vehicles sold in Australia.

For example, the use of stop-start systems is rapidly growing overseas, but it’s unclear how many stop-start systems are used in new Australian cars.

Emission reduction technologies also come with extra costs for the vehicle manufacturer, making them less appealing, although cost benefits of reduced fuel use would pass on to consumers. This situation probably won’t change unless mandatory emission standards are implemented.

In any case, it’s easy for drivers to simply turn the key and shut down the engine when suitable. Reducing idling doesn’t require technologies.

Reducing your carbon footprint

If reducing emissions or saving money at the fuel bowser is not enough incentive, then perhaps, in time, exposing children to unnecessary idling emissions will be regarded in the same socially unacceptable light as smoking around children.

And of course, there are other measures to reduce your transport carbon footprint. Drive a smaller car, and avoid diesel cars. Despite their reputation, Australian diesel cars emit, on average, about 10% more carbon dioxide per kilometre than petrol cars.

Or better yet, where possible, dust off that push bike, or walk.The Conversation

About The Author

Robin Smit, Adjunct associate professor, University of Technology Sydney and Clare Walter, PhD Candidate, Honorary Research Fellow, Advocacy Consultant., The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…