كيف تتعرض الحياة البرية للتلوث أكثر مما كان يعتقد سابقا

كيف تتعرض الحياة البرية للتلوث أكثر مما كان يعتقد سابقا
الهواء والماء والأرض والحياة البرية ملوثة بآلاف المواد الكيميائية التي لا نستطيع رؤيتها أو شمها أو لمسها - وقد لا تعتبر تهديدًا للحياة البرية. (صراع الأسهم)

في بعض الأحيان ، يكون التلوث واضحًا بشكل صارخ: البقعة القزحية لانسكاب الزيت ، أو طحالب العنكبوت التي تغسل على الشاطئ أو الدخان الأسود المتجول من مدخنة. ولكن في أكثر الأحيان ، يكون التلوث أكثر وضوحًا.

إن الهواء والماء والأرض والحياة البرية ملوثة بآلاف المواد الكيميائية التي لا نستطيع رؤيتها أو شمها أو لمسها. قد لا يكون مفاجأة بعد ذلك ، أن هذا التلوث دون أن يلاحظه أحد لا يعتبر تهديدًا مهمًا للحياة البرية.

الـ دخل الكوكب الانقراض الجماعي السادس للنباتات والحيوانات، وفقا للعلماء ، وكندا ليست محصنة. أكثر من نصف كندا لقد فقدت الطيور العشبية والحشرات الجوية في سنوات 50 فقطوبين 1970 و 2014 ، يتم مراقبة أكثر من 500 من الثدييات في كندا تقلصت بمعدل 43 في المائة.

لكن التقييمات التي تقيم الأنواع لتحديد تلك المعرضة لخطر الانقراض هي التقليل من أهمية التلوث. والخبر السار هو أن زملائي وأعتقد أننا توصلنا إلى حل محتمل لهذه المشكلة.

الكثير من المواد الكيميائية ، الكثير من التلوث

على الصعيد العالمي ، يوجد عشرات الآلاف من المواد الكيميائية في التجارة اليوم. ال تجاوزت الصناعة الكيميائية العالمية 5 تريليون دولار أمريكي في 2017 ، ومن المتوقع أن تتضاعف بمقدار 2030. يتم استخدام هذه المواد الكيميائية في جميع جوانب حياتنا اليومية ، من الأدوية والأسمدة إلى المبيدات الحشرية ومثبطات اللهب.

هنا في كندا ، حول يتم إنتاج خمسة ملايين طن من الملوثات سنويًا بواسطة أكثر من منشآت 7,000 الصناعية. يتم صرف أكثر من 150 مليار لتر من مياه الصرف الصحي سنويًا في المياه الكندية.

على مقربة تسربات أنابيب 700 خلال العقد الماضي أدى إلى إطلاق الغاز الطبيعي والنفط الخام والمواد الأخرى في الهواء والتربة والمياه. أكثر من 23,000 من المواقع الملوثة الفيدرالية - مثل الألغام المهجورة والمطارات والقواعد العسكرية - معروفة أو يشتبه في أنها ملوثة بالهيدروكربونات البترولية والمعادن الثقيلة وغيرها من الملوثات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


باختصار: العملية الحالية

رأي الخبراء هو جزء أساسي لا يقدر بثمن من عملية التقييم لإدراج أنواع الحياة البرية المعرضة لخطر الانقراض في كندا.

تعتمد هذه العملية على العلماء لتقدير نسبة السكان من الأنواع التي قد تتأثر بمصدر التلوث - وهذا ما يسمى بالنطاق. يدرس فريق صغير من العلماء ذوي الخبرة في هذا النوع النطاق إلى جانب شدة التأثير المحتملة لتحديد خطر التلوث ، إلى جانب عشرة تهديدات محتملة أخرى.

كيف تتعرض الحياة البرية للتلوث أكثر مما كان يعتقد سابقا السحلية الوهمية مستوطنة في شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ. هناك ثمانية سكان معروفين في كندا. (ويكيميديا ​​/ sramey), CC BY-SA

ومع ذلك ، فإن اتساع نطاق خبرة فريق تقييم نوع معين قد لا تغطي بالضرورة جميع فئات التهديداتوبناءً على تجربتنا ، فإن علماء السموم البيئية - العلماء الذين يدرسون مصير وتأثيرات الملوثات البيئية - لا يتم تمثيلهم في هذه اللجان في كثير من الأحيان.

لقد شككت أنا وزملائي في أن اللجان قد تقلل من شأن التلوث باعتباره تهديدًا للأنواع ، ولذا شرعنا في معرفة ما إذا كان هذا هو الحال أم لا.

ماذا فعلنا وماذا اكتشفنا؟

بدأنا من خلال تحديد جميع مصادر التلوث في كندا والتي يمكن أن نجدها من قواعد البيانات الحالية المتاحة للجمهور. وشمل ذلك الصرف الصحي المنزلي ومياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية ، والنفايات الصناعية والعسكرية ، والنفايات الزراعية والغابات ، وغيرها. استخدمنا نفس فئات التلوث مثل COSEWIC ، لكننا جمعنا قاعدة بيانات كبيرة من المعلومات الجغرافية المكانية حول جميع مصادر التلوث المعروفة.

بعد ذلك ، حصلنا على معلومات حول مواقع أنواع 500 الأرضية وأنواع المياه العذبة تقريبًا - بما في ذلك كل شيء من الطحالب والأشنات إلى الطيور والثدييات - من NatureServe، منظمة غير ربحية تقوم بجمع البيانات حول حدوث الأنواع في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية.

نضع هذين المصدرين للمعلومات - أي مصادر التلوث وحدوث الأنواع - معًا على خريطة واحدة ، حتى نتمكن من حساب النسبة المئوية لموائل الأنواع التي تمت تغطيتها بالتلوث. بعد ذلك ، قارنا حساباتنا بتلك التي حددها رأي الخبراء في عملية COSEWIC.

وجدنا شيئين مهمين.

أولاً ، وجدنا ، في المتوسط ​​، أن أكثر من نصف موائل كل نوع ملوث بطريقة ما. من بين الأنواع التي تعرضت للتلوث في معظم الأماكن التي تعيش فيها ، إن لم يكن جميعها ، ساذج الجثث النحل ، نحلة الوقواق من الغجر ، وسمك redhorse النحاسي ، وبلح البحر الطازج المسمى بلقب الدائرية والعديد من النباتات المعمرة ، بما في ذلك الكولومبو الأمريكي ، والتنين الأخضر ، السحلية الوهمية.

كيف تتعرض الحياة البرية للتلوث أكثر مما كان يعتقد سابقا كان المحارب المبتذل أحد الأنواع التي كانت بها موائل شديدة التلوث. (جودي غالاغر / فليكر), CC BY

ثانياً ، وجدنا علاقة ضعيفة جدًا بين نطاق التلوث للأنواع التي قمنا بحسابها ونطاق التلوث الذي سجله رأي الخبراء في عملية COSEWIC.

بمعنى آخر ، لم يكن العلماء الذين سجلوا التهديدات جيدًا في تحديد مصادر التلوث التي قد يكون لها آثار سلبية على الأنواع المعرضة للخطر التي يحاولون حمايتها. حدد العلماء في بعض الأحيان أن التعرض للتلوث لا يكاد يذكر حتى بالنسبة للأنواع التي تتداخل نطاقاتها بالكامل مع مصادر التلوث. كان هذا صحيحًا بشكل خاص على النباتات الوعائية والثدييات الأرضية.

لم نقم بعد بتقييم ما إذا كان نوع التلوث الموجود داخل موطن الأنواع يمثل تهديدًا معروفًا لهذا النوع. لكن هذه هي الخطوة المنطقية التالية للبحث في المستقبل.

الطريق إلى الأمام

يمثل عملنا خطوة أولى رئيسية نحو إجراء تقييم أكثر موضوعية وصرامة لدور التلوث في انخفاض الأنواع المعرضة للخطر في كندا - خطوة نأمل أن يتم تبنيها.

على نطاق أوسع ، يشير إلى الحاجة إلى نهج أكثر شمولية لحماية أنواع الحياة البرية وموائلها.

تعهدت حكومة Trudeau بمنع انقراض أنواع الحياة البرية من خلال تأمين الإجراءات اللازمة لاستعادتها ، بموجب أهداف وأهداف 2020 للتنوع البيولوجي في كندا. ومع ذلك ، فإن ارتفاع معدل التلوث الذي وجدناه في منازل العديد من أنواع الحياة البرية في كندا هو تذكير بأن الحكومة يجب أن تتبع نهجا أكثر نشاطا لتنظيم المواد الكيميائية في البيئة إذا أردنا حماية التنوع البيولوجي في كندا حقا.

عن المؤلف

ديان أوريهيل ، أستاذ مساعد ، كلية الدراسات البيئية ، جامعة كوينز ، أونتاريو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب . العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Wildlife Are Exposed To More Pollution Than Previously Thought

How Wildlife Are Exposed To More Pollution Than Previously Thought
Air, water, land and wildlife are tainted with thousands of chemicals that we cannot see, smell or touch — and may not be considered a threat to wildlife. (Shutterstock)

Sometimes, pollution is blatantly obvious: the iridescent slick of an oil spill, goopy algae washing up on a beach or black smoke belching from a smokestack. But, more often than not, pollution is more inconspicuous.

Our air, water, land and wildlife are tainted with thousands of chemicals that we cannot see, smell or touch. It may not come as a surprise then, that this unnoticed pollution isn’t considered the important threat to wildlife that it should be.

The planet has entered the sixth mass extinction of plants and animals, according to scientists, and Canada is not immune. More than half of Canada’s grassland birds and aerial insectivores have been lost in only 50 years, and between 1970 and 2014, the more than 500 mammal populations monitored in Canada shrank by an average of 43 per cent.

But the assessments that evaluate species to determine those that are at risk of extinction are underestimating the importance of pollution. The good news is that my colleagues and I think we have come up with a potential solution to this problem.

So many chemicals, so much pollution

Globally, tens of thousands of chemicals exist in commerce today. The global chemical industry exceeded US$5 trillion in 2017, and is projected to double by 2030. These chemicals are used in all facets of our daily lives, from pharmaceuticals and fertilizers to pesticides and flame retardants.

Here in Canada, about five million tonnes of pollutants are produced each year by more than 7,000 industrial facilities. More than 150 billion litres of sewage is discharged yearly into Canadian waters.

Close to 700 pipeline spills over the past decade have led to the release of natural gas, crude oil and other substances into the air, soil and water. More than 23,000 federal contaminated sites — such as abandoned mines, airports and military bases — are known or suspected to be contaminated with petroleum hydrocarbons, heavy metals and other pollutants.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In a nutshell: The current process

Expert opinion is an essential and invaluable part of the assessment process to list wildlife species at risk for extinction in Canada.

This process relies on scientists to estimate the proportion of a species’ population that may potentially be affected by a pollution source — this is called scope. A small team of scientists with expertise on the species considers scope along with the potential severity of the impact to determine the threat from pollution, along with ten other potential threats.

How Wildlife Are Exposed To More Pollution Than Previously Thought The phantom orchid is endemic to the Pacific Northwest. There are eight known populations in Canada. (Wikimedia/sramey), CC BY-SA

However, the breadth of expertise of the team assessing a particular species may not necessarily cover all categories of threats, and based on our experience, ecotoxicologists — the scientists who study the fate and effects of environmental contaminants — are often underrepresented on these committees.

My colleagues and I suspected the committees might be underestimating pollution as a threat to species, and so we set out to find out if this was the case — or not.

What did we do and what did we find out?

We began by mapping all the point sources of pollution in Canada we could find from existing, publicly accessible databases. This included household sewage and urban waste water, industrial and military effluents, agricultural and forestry effluents, among others. We used the same pollution categories as COSEWIC, but we compiled a large database of geospatial information on all known pollution sources.

Next, we secured information on locations of almost 500 terrestrial and freshwater species — including everything from mosses and lichens to birds and mammals — from NatureServe, a nonprofit organization that compiles data on species occurrence across North America.

We put these two sources of information — that is, pollution sources and species occurrence — together onto one map, so we could calculate the percentage of the species’ habitat that was covered by pollution. Then, we compared our calculations to those determined by expert opinion in the COSEWIC process.

We found two important things.

First, we found that, on average, more than half of every species’ habitat is polluted in some way. The species that had pollution in most, if not all, of the places they live include the prothonotary warbler, gypsy cuckoo bumblebee, copper redhorse fish, a freshwater mussel called the round hickorynut and several perennial plants, including the American columbo, green dragon and phantom orchid.

How Wildlife Are Exposed To More Pollution Than Previously Thought The prothonotary warbler was one of the species that had a highly polluted habitat. (Judy Gallagher/flickr), CC BY

Second, we found a very weak relationship between the scope of pollution for a species that we calculated and the scope of pollution scored by expert opinion in the COSEWIC process.

In other words, scientists scoring threats were not particularly good at identifying sources of pollution that may be having negative effects on the species at risk they are trying to protect. Scientists sometimes identified exposure to pollution as negligible even for species whose entire ranges overlapped with pollution sources. This was especially true for vascular plants and terrestrial mammals.

We haven’t yet assessed whether the type of pollution found within the species’ habitat was a known threat to that species. But that is a logical next step for future research.

The path forward

Our work represents a major first step toward a more objective and rigorous assessment of the role of pollution in the decline of species-at-risk in Canada — one that we hope will be adopted.

More broadly, it points to the need for a more holistic approach to protecting wildlife species and their habitats.

The Trudeau government has pledged to prevent wildlife species from becoming extinct by securing the necessary actions for their recovery, under its 2020 Biodiversity Goals and Targets for Canada. Yet the high prevalence of pollution we found in the homes of many wildlife species in Canada is a reminder that the government must take a much more proactive approach to the regulation of chemicals in the environment if we are to truly protect Canada’s biodiversity.

About the Author

Diane Orihel, Assistant Professor, School of Environmental Studies, Queen's University, Ontario

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}