لماذا معظم أنواع الطيور الأصلية تفقد منازلها

لماذا معظم أنواع الطيور الأصلية تفقد منازلها روبن الشرقية الصفراء. فقد نحو 60 في المائة من الطيور الأصلية في جنوب شرق البر الرئيسي بأستراليا أكثر من نصف بيئتها الطبيعية. غراهام وينترفلود / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

عبر أجزاء من أستراليا ، مساحات شاسعة من النباتات المحلية تم تطهيرها واستبدالها بمدننا والمزارع والبنية التحتية. عند إزالة الغطاء النباتي الأصلي ، يتم دائمًا فقدان الموائل والموارد التي توفرها للحياة البرية الأصلية.

تميل قوانيننا البيئية ومعظم جهود الحفظ إلى التركيز عليها ماذا تعني هذه الخسارة بالنسبة للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. هذا التأكيد مفهوم - فقدان آخر فرد من النوع أمر محزن للغاية ويمكن أن يكون مدمرًا بيئيًا.

ولكن ماذا عن الأنواع الأخرى العديدة التي تأثرت أيضًا بفقدان الموائل ، والتي لم تصبح نادرة بعد بما يكفي لإدراجها في خطر؟ هذه الحيوانات والنباتات - التي توصف على أنها "شائعة" أو "شائعة"أقل إهتمام"- وجود موائلهم متكسرة بعيدا. هذه الخسارة عادة يهرب انتباهنا.

هذه الأنواع الشائعة لها قيمة بيئية جوهرية. لكنها توفر أيضًا فرصًا مهمة للناس للتواصل مع الطبيعة - تجارب مهددة.

لماذا معظم أنواع الطيور الأصلية تفقد منازلها يتم سحب سلسلة تستخدم لإزالة الأرض فوق كومة من الحطب في ملكية كوينزلاند. دان بيليد / AAP

"مؤشر الخسارة": تتبع الدمار

قمنا بتطوير مقياس يسمى مؤشر الخسارة للتواصل كيف يؤثر فقدان الموائل على أنواع الطيور الأسترالية المتعددة. أظهر قياسنا أنه عبر فيكتوريا ، وجنوب أستراليا ونيو ساوث ويلز ، فقد أكثر من 60٪ من الطيور الأصلية في 262 أكثر من نصف موائلها الطبيعية الأصلية. الغالبية العظمى من هذه الأنواع غير معترف بها رسمياً على أنها مهددة بالانقراض.

إنها قصة مماثلة في حزام بريجالو في وسط نيو ساوث ويلز وكوينزلاند. الصورة أكثر إشراقًا في السافانا الشمالية عبر الجزء العلوي من أستراليا ، حيث لا تزال مساحات كبيرة من النباتات الأصلية - على الرغم من التهديدات المنتشرة مثل أنظمة النار غير لائقة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لقد وجدنا أيضًا أنه في بعض المناطق ، مثل Southeast Queensland ومنطقة Wet Tropics في شمال كوينزلاند ، يمكن أن تؤثر إزالة هكتار واحد من موائل الغابات على أنواع مختلفة من 180. بمعنى آخر ، يمكن أن تؤثر كميات صغيرة من الفقدان على أعداد كبيرة من الأنواع (الشائعة في الغالب).

سمح لنا فهرسنا بمقارنة كيف تتأثر مجموعات مختلفة من الطيور بفقدان الموائل. تأثرت الببغاوات الأسترالية بشدة بفقدان الموائل ، لأن العديد من هذه الطيور تحدث في الأماكن التي نعيش فيها ونزرع طعامنا. طيور الجارحة مثل النسور والبوم ، كمجموعة ، كانت أقل تأثراً. وذلك لأن العديد من هذه الطيور تحدث على نطاق واسع عبر المناطق القاحلة الأقل تطوراً في أستراليا.

لماذا معظم أنواع الطيور الأصلية تفقد منازلها توضح هذه الخريطة عدد أنواع الطيور المتأثرة بفقدان الموائل في أي منطقة. تشير المناطق الرمادية إلى أجزاء من أستراليا لم يحدث فيها فقدان للموائل. تحتوي المناطق الزرقاء على ما يصل إلى أنواع 90 المتأثرة بفقدان الموائل ، والأصفر يصل إلى أنواع 120 المتأثرة ، في حين أن أعلى فئة ، حمراء ، تصل إلى أنواع 187 المتأثرة. بيولوجيا الحفظ

يعني فقدان الموائل عددًا أقل من الطيور

تظهر دراستنا أن العديد من الأنواع فقدت الكثير من الموائل في أجزاء معينة من أستراليا. نحن نعرف فقدان الموائل هو المحرك الرئيسي لل انخفاض عدد السكان وأعداد كبيرة من الحيوانات على مستوى العالم. مقياس لاتجاهات السكان الفقاريات - مؤشر الكوكب الحي - تكشف أن أعداد أكثر من فصيلة 4,000 الفقارية حول العالم تقل في المتوسط ​​عن نصف ما كانت عليه في 1970.

في أستراليا ، لا يختلف الاتجاه. السكان من الطيور المهددة لدينا انخفض بمعدل 52٪ بين 1985 و 2015. بشكل مثير للقلق ، والسكان لكثير من الطيور الاسترالية المشتركة هي أيضا تتجه إلى أسفل، وفقدان الموائل هو السبب الرئيسي. على طول الساحل الشرقي لأستراليا المكتظة بالسكان ، لوحظ انخفاض عدد السكان بالنسبة للعديد من الأنواع الشائعة ، بما في ذلك نحلة قوس قزح الآكلة ، والزعانف ذات العارضة المزدوجة ، والوردية الشاحبة الرأس.

لماذا معظم أنواع الطيور الأصلية تفقد منازلها الأنواع الشائعة decling - قوس قزح آكل النحل (يسار) ؛ عصفور مزدوج المنع (أعلى اليمين) ؛ روزيلا شاحبة الرأس (أسفل اليمين) جيم بندون ، جي وينترفلود ، أفيسيدا

هذه مشكلة كبيرة لصحة النظام الإيكولوجي. الأنواع الشائعة تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر عددًا وبالتالي تؤدي العديد من الأدوار التي نعتمد عليها. تساعد الببغاوات والحمّام وعسل العسل والروبينات وغيرها الكثير في تلقيح الزهور ونشر البذور والحفاظ على الحشرات الضارة. معا أوروبا . أسترالياوقد تم ربط الانخفاضات في الأنواع الشائعة بتخفيض توفير خدمات النظام الإيكولوجي الحيوية هذه.

الأنواع الشائعة هي أيضًا الأنواع التي نربطها أكثر. لأنها أكثر وفرة ومألوفة ، توفر هذه الحيوانات فرصًا مهمة للناس للتواصل مع الطبيعة. فكر في المتعة البسيطة لرؤية روبن ملون على قمة السياج الريفي ، أو ببغاء نابض بالحياة يتفوق على رؤوس الأشجار في خور الضواحي. قد يساهم تراجع الأنواع الشائعة في تضاؤل ​​الفرص المتاحة لنا للتفاعل مع الطبيعة ، مما يؤدي إلى "انقراض الخبرة"، مع ما يترتب على ذلك من آثار سلبية على صحتنا ورفاهنا.

يجب ألا ننتظر حتى يفوت الأوان

تهدف دراستنا إلى تسليط الضوء على الأنواع الشائعة. إنها مهمة للغاية ، ومع ذلك فإن تآكل موائلها لا يحظى إلا بقدر ضئيل من التركيز. الحفاظ عليها الآن معقول. الانتظار حتى يتم رفضهم قبل أن نتصرف سيكون مكلفًا.

هذه الأنواع تحتاج إلى مزيد من الاعتراف والحماية في الحفظ والتنظيم البيئي. على سبيل المثال ، ينبغي إيلاء اهتمام أكبر للأنواع الشائعة ، والدور الذي تلعبه في صحة النظام الإيكولوجي ، في تقييم تطورات البنية التحتية الجديدة بموجب قوانين البيئة الفيدرالية في أستراليا (المعروفة رسمياً باسم قانون حماية البيئة وحفظ التنوع البيولوجي 1999).

يجب أن نعمل الآن للحفاظ على الأنواع الشائعة قبل الانزلاق نحو الخطر. دون اهتمام مخصص ، فإننا نجازف بتراجع هذه الأنواع أمام أعيننا ، دون أن نلاحظها حتى.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيريمي سيموندز ، زميل أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراه في علوم الحفظ ، جامعة كوينزلاند. الفارو سالازار ، زميل أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراة ، جامعة كوينزلاند. جيمس واتسون ، أستاذ ، جامعة كوينزلاند، ومارتن مارون ، زميلة مركز البحوث الزراعية في المستقبل وأستاذ الإدارة البيئية ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب . العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Most Native Bird Species Are Losing Their Homes

Why Most Native Bird Species Are Losing Their Homes Eastern-yellow robin. Some 60 per cent of the native birds of south-east mainland Australia have lost more than half of their natural habitat. Graham Winterflood/Wikimedia Commons

Across parts of Australia, vast areas of native vegetation have been cleared and replaced by our cities, farms and infrastructure. When native vegetation is removed, the habitat and resources that it provides for native wildlife are invariably lost.

Our environmental laws and most conservation efforts tend to focus on what this loss means for species that are threatened with extinction. This emphasis is understandable – the loss of the last individual of a species is profoundly sad and can be ecologically devastating.

But what about the numerous other species also affected by habitat loss, that have not yet become rare enough to be listed as endangered? These animals and plants — variously described as “common” or of “least concern” — are having their habitat chipped away. This loss usually escapes our attention.

These common species have intrinsic ecological value. But they also provide important opportunities for people to connect with nature - experiences that are under threat.

Why Most Native Bird Species Are Losing Their Homes A chain used for land clearing is dragged over a pile of burning wood at a Queensland property. Dan Peled/AAP

The “loss index”: tracking the destruction

We developed a measure called the loss index to communicate how habitat loss affects multiple Australian bird species. Our measure showed that across Victoria, and into South Australia and New South Wales, more than 60% of 262 native birds have each lost more than half of their original natural habitat. The vast majority of these species are not formally recognised as being threatened with extinction.

It is a similar story in the Brigalow Belt of central New South Wales and Queensland. The picture is brighter in the northern savannas across the top of Australia, where large tracts of native vegetation remain – notwithstanding pervasive threats such as inappropriate fire regimes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


We also found that in some areas, such as Southeast Queensland and the Wet Tropics region of north Queensland, the removal of a single hectare of forest habitat can affect up to 180 different species. In other words, small amounts of loss can affect large numbers of (mostly common) species.

Our index allowed us to compare how different groups of birds are impacted by habitat loss. Australia’s iconic parrots have been hit hard by habitat loss, because many of these birds occur in the places where we live and grow our food. Birds of prey such as eagles and owls have, as a group, been less affected. This is because many of these birds occur widely across Australia’s less developed arid interior.

Why Most Native Bird Species Are Losing Their Homes This map shows the number of bird species affected by habitat loss in any region. Grey zones indicate parts of Australia where habitat loss has not occurred. Blue zones have up to 90 species affected by habitat loss, yellow is up to 120 species affected, while the highest category, red, is up to 187 species affected. Conservation Biology

Habitat loss means far fewer birds

Our study shows many species have lost lots of habitat in certain parts of Australia. We know habitat loss is a major driver of population declines and freefalling numbers of animals globally. A measure of vertebrate population trends — the Living Planet Index — reveals that populations of more than 4,000 vertebrate species around the world are on average less than half of what they were in 1970.

In Australia, the trend is no different. Populations of our threatened birds declined by an average of 52% between 1985 and 2015. Alarmingly, populations for many common Australian birds are also trending downwards, and habitat loss is a major cause. Along Australia’s heavily populated east coast, population declines have been noted for many common species including rainbow bee-eater, double-barred finch, and pale-headed rosella.

Why Most Native Bird Species Are Losing Their Homes Decling common species - rainbow bee-eater (left); double-barred finch (top right); pale-headed rosella (bottom right) Jim Bendon, G. Winterflood, Aviceda

This is a major problem for ecosystem health. Common species tend to be more numerous and so perform many roles that we depend on. Our parrots, pigeons, honeyeaters, robins, and many others help pollinate flowers, spread seeds, and keep pest insects in check. In both Europe and Australia, declines in common species have been linked to a reduction in the provision of these vital ecosystem services.

Common species are also the ones that we most associate with. Because they are more abundant and familiar, these animals provide important opportunities for people to connect with nature. Think of the simple pleasure of seeing a colourful robin atop a rural fence post, or a vibrant parrot dashing above the treetops of a suburban creek. The decline of common species may contribute to diminished opportunities for us to interact with nature, leading to an “extinction of experience”, with associated negative implications for our health and well-being.

We mustn’t wait until it’s too late

Our study aims to put the spotlight on common species. They are crucially important, and yet the erosion of their habitat gets little focus. Conserving them now is sensible. Waiting until they have declined before we act will be costly.

These species need more formal recognition and protection in conservation and environmental regulation. For example, greater attention on common species, and the role they play in ecosystem health, should be given in the assessment of new infrastructure developments under Australia’s federal environment laws (formally known as the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999).

We should be acting now to conserve common species before they slide towards endangerment. Without dedicated attention, we risk these species declining before our eyes, without us even noticing.The Conversation

About The Author

Jeremy Simmonds, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Conservation Science, The University of Queensland; Alvaro Salazar, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, The University of Queensland; James Watson, Professor, The University of Queensland, and Martine Maron, ARC Future Fellow and Professor of Environmental Management, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}