لماذا يجب عليك التوقف عن شراء ملابس جديدة

لماذا يجب عليك التوقف عن شراء ملابس جديدة
دوي هوانغ / Unsplash, FAL

صناعة الأزياء هي واحدة من أكثر الصناعات الملوثة في العالم ، تنتج 20٪ من المياه العادمة العالمية و 10٪ من انبعاثات الكربون العالمية - ومن المقدر أنه بحلول 2050 سيزداد هذا إلى 25%. مذهل 300,000 يتم إرسال أطنان من الملابس إلى مدافن النفايات البريطانية كل عام.

الـ موضة سريعه نموذج العمل ، وضعت لأول مرة في وقت مبكر 2000s هي المسؤولة عن زيادة في الطلب على السلع الاستهلاكية لكميات عالية من الملابس ذات الجودة المنخفضة. يتم الآن تصميم العديد من منتجات الأزياء والمصممة خصيصًا للملكية قصيرة الأجل والتخلص من السابق لأوانه. تنخفض جودة الملابس إلى جانب التكاليف ، ومستويات الاستهلاك المتزايدة لمنتجات الأزياء ذات الإنتاج الضخم تؤدي إلى زيادة استهلاك الموارد الطبيعية.

يفرض الضغط لتسهيل جوع المستهلكين ضغوطًا اجتماعية وبيئية كبيرة على سلسلة التوريد التصنيعية. مستويات استهلاك الأزياء في المملكة المتحدة هي الأعلى في أوروبا ، في 26.7kg للفرد. هذا بالمقارنة مع معدل استهلاك 16.7kg في ألمانيا ، 16kg في الدنمارك ، 14.5kg في إيطاليا ، 14kg في هولندا و 12.6kg في السويد.

لماذا يجب عليك التوقف عن شراء ملابس جديدة
الطريق من متجر إلى المكب آخذ في التقلص. نيناوات خنيوثا / Shutterstock.com

يتم الاعتراف مبدئيًا بالحاجة إلى التغيير من قبل ماركات الأزياء والشركات المصنعة. العديد من قطاعات السوق المختلفة في الأزياء ، من الشوارع الراقية إلى الراقية ، تتخذ إجراءات متزايدة. لكنها محافظة جدا. على سبيل المثال ، يقاطع H&M تاجر تجزئة مرتفع في الشارع استخدام جلد برازيلي بسبب المخاوف من أن صناعة الماشية في البلاد قد ساهمت في إزالة الغابات في غابات الأمازون المطيرة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، تركز العلامات التجارية الأخرى ، مثل Adidas و Stella McCartney و Patagonia ، عملها على استخدام منتجات النفايات في تطوير مواد النسيج لمجموعات جديدة.

بالطبع ، يمكن أن تكون هذه السياسات إيجابية فقط. ولكن هل تقوم علامات الأزياء فعلاً بما يكفي للتغيير؟ الأخيرة تقارير الأمم المتحدة تنص على أن لدينا سنوات 11 لمنع الضرر الذي لا رجعة فيه من تغير المناخ. من المشكوك فيه أن التغييرات الصغيرة الإضافية التي تقوم بها العلامات التجارية ستفعل ما يكفي للإسهام بشكل كبير في مكافحة تغير المناخ ، لذلك هناك حاجة لمزيد من الضغط من المستهلكين ومجموعات الحملات.

ماركات الأزياء ليست هي الوحيدة التي لديها القدرة على إحداث التغيير. يتمتع المستهلكون أيضًا بالرافعة المالية - وهو مفتاح استخدامه. كما افتتح أسبوع الموضة في لندن في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر ، كبير الاحتجاجات والمظاهرات إن إبراز مساهمة الأزياء في تغير المناخ قد عزز من التأثير الذي يمكن أن يحدثه المستهلكون على زيادة الوعي العام بالقضايا البيئية. يمكن أن يشجع تغيير السلوك الذي يحركه المستهلك العلامات التجارية على تكييف ممارساتها نحو مستقبل أكثر استدامة لصناعة الأزياء.

إذا كان التغيير الحقيقي سيحدث ، يجب أن يبدأ المزيد من الناس في اتباع نهج استباقي والتصرف في عكس قيمهم الأخلاقية. تغييرات نمط الحياة الصغيرة يمكن أن تخلق تأثيرًا مستدامًا كبيرًا. لذلك إليك أربعة أشياء يجب عليك مراعاتها قبل شراء أي ملابس جديدة:

لماذا يجب عليك التوقف عن شراء ملابس جديدة
فكر في كل عنصر جديد مثل حقيبة بلاستيكية ضخمة.
كارينا تيس / Unsplash, FAL

1. فكر قبل الشراء

قبل أن نشتري فقط المزيد من الملابس الجديدة والمساهمة في تصاعد التلوث ، نحتاج إلى التفكير في الخيارات البديلة. هذا قد لا ينقذنا المال فقط ، بل هو بالتأكيد أفضل للبيئة. تتضمن هذه الخيارات استخدام ما لدينا ، والاقتراض ، والمبادلة ، والتوفير ، وصنع. يجب اعتبار شراء عناصر جديدة هو الخيار النهائي ، بمجرد النظر في جميع الخيارات الأخرى. يتعارض هذا النهج كثيرًا مع مبادئ الموضة السريعة ، حيث يمثل الاستهلاك البطيء والمستهلك الأولوية.

2. تسوق حسب القيم الخاصة بك

نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير في المكان الذي نتسوق فيه ، حيث أن كل عملية شراء تعمل بشكل فعال بمثابة تصويت تجاه ممارسات العلامة التجارية. من خلال إجراء قدر صغير من البحث في القيم المسؤولة للشركة ، يمكننا البدء في اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة بشأن سلوك التسوق لدينا. سيضمن ذلك أن يعكس المتجر الذي اخترته معتقداتك الشخصية.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت تريد أن تعرف من أين تأتي الأزياء الخاصة بك ، فأنت بحاجة إلى اختيار علامة تجارية شفافة ومفتوحة حول سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بها. العلامات التجارية مثل ملابس المجتمعيمتلك باتريك غرانت ، وهو قاضي الخياطة في شركة Bee Bee ، إخبار المتسوقين بالتحديد عن مصدر المواد الخام ومن أين تم إنتاج الغزل وحتى من أين صنعت الملابس النهائية. وبالمثل ، إذا كنت تريد بالتحديد اتخاذ إجراء ضد نفايات البلاستيك في المحيط ، فستحبه العلامة التجارية Ecoalf قد يكون لك.

3. شراء عنصر محبوب مسبقا

السوق المستعملة هو وجود انتعاش. ما إن ينظر إليها على أنها وسيلة تسوق فردية وفعالة من حيث التكلفة ، سرعان ما أصبحت غير محبوبة ، ليحل محلها منتجات رخيصة الثمن من تجار التجزئة للأزياء السريعة. ولكن مع افتتاح أوكسفام متجر خيرية و أسدا تطلقين أزياء محببة مسبقاً يطفو على السطح متجرشراء ملابس مستعملة يمكن أن يعطي منتجات الأزياء حياة جديدة ويمنع شراء ملابس الموضة الجديدة.

4. تخلص بمسؤولية

بالإضافة إلى التفكير في المكان الذي نشتري فيه ملابسنا ، يجب علينا أيضًا التفكير في خيارات نهاية العمر لعناصر الأزياء لدينا. من المتوقع ان £ 140m قيمة الملابس يذهب إلى المكب كل عام. سيتم تصنيع العديد من هذه العناصر من الألياف الاصطناعية ، مما يعني أنها يمكن أن تأخذ في أي مكان بين 20-200 سنوات لتتحلل. مرة أخرى ، يجب على الناس استكشاف مجموعة من الخيارات المتاحة هنا ، مثل التبرع بالملابس للجمعيات الخيرية وإعادة التدوير وإعادة الاستخدام وإصلاح ونقل الأشياء إلى الأصدقاء والعائلة. لماذا لا تعقد مبادلة ملابس في منزلك في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع؟

المشتريات المسؤولة والملكية والتخلص كلها اعتبارات حيوية عند ممارسة قدرتك على إحداث تغيير مستدام لمستقبل صناعة الأزياء. اليوم ، أصبح للمتسوقين نفوذ وقدرة أكبر على إحداث التغيير أكثر من أي وقت مضى المنصات الإعلامية الاجتماعية السماح أسهل للتعبير عن الشكاوى والمخاوف. وفي الوقت نفسه ، ظهور أ الاقتصاد المدور يدفع نموذج الأعمال المستهلكين مرة أخرى إلى القيام بدور أكثر نشاطًا في إحداث التغيير.

لم يعد بإمكاننا الجلوس وانتظار العلامات التجارية لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة. سيكون الدافع الفردي والاستعداد لتغيير السلوك اليومي حاسمين في تغيير التأثير البيئي المستقبلي للأزياء.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

الدكتور الانا جيمس، محاضر أول في الأزياء ، جامعة نورثمبريا ، نيوكاسل

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why You Should Stop Buying New Clothes

Why You Should Stop Buying New Clothes
Duy Hoang/Unsplash, FAL

The fashion industry is one of the most polluting industries in the world, producing 20% of global wastewater and 10% of global carbon emissions – and it’s estimated that by 2050 this will have increased to 25%. A staggering 300,000 tonnes of clothes are sent to British landfills each year.

The fast fashion business model, first developed in the early 2000s is responsible for the increase in consumer demand for high quantities of low-quality clothing. Many fashion products now being designed and made specifically for short-term ownership and premature disposal. Clothing quality is decreasing along with costs, and the increased consumption levels of mass-manufactured fashion products are pushing up the consumption of natural resources.

The pressure to facilitate consumer hunger imposes significant social and environmental pressures on the manufacturing supply chain. The UK’s consumption levels of fashion are the highest in Europe, at 26.7kg per capita. This compares to a consumption rate of 16.7kg in Germany, 16kg in Denmark, 14.5kg in Italy, 14kg in the Netherlands and 12.6kg in Sweden.

Why You Should Stop Buying New Clothes
The road from shop to landfill is shrinking. Neenawat Khenyothaa/Shutterstock.com


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The need for change is tentatively being acknowledged by fashion brands and manufacturers. Many different market sectors in fashion, from high street to high end, are increasingly taking action. But it’s very conservative. For example, high street retailer H&M are boycotting the use of Brazilian leather over concerns that the country’s cattle industry has contributed to the deforestation of the Amazon rainforest. Meanwhile, other brands, such as Adidas, Stella McCartney and Patagonia, are focusing their action on the use of waste products in the development of textile materials for new collections.

Of course, such policies can only be positive. But are fashion brands really doing enough to change? Recent UN reports state that we have 11 years to prevent irreversible damage from climate change. It’s doubtful that the small, incremental changes made by brands will do enough to significantly contribute towards the fight on climate change, so more pressure from consumers and campaign groups is needed.

Fashion brands are not the only ones who have the power to create change. Consumers also have leverage – and it’s key that they use it. As London Fashion Week opened earlier this month, large protests and demonstrations highlighting fashion’s contribution to climate change reinforced the impact that consumers can have on raising public awareness of environmental issues. Consumer-driven behaviour change can encourage brands to adapt their practices towards a more sustainable future for the fashion industry.

If real change is to happen, more people must begin to take a proactive approach and act in reflection of their moral values. Small lifestyle changes can create a big sustainable impact. So here are four things for you to consider before you buy any new clothes:

Why You Should Stop Buying New Clothes
Think of each new item like a massive plastic bag.
Karina Tess/Unsplash, FAL

1. Think before you buy

Before we just buy more new clothes and contribute to escalating pollution, we need to think about the alternative options. This might not only save us money, but is also certainly better for the environment. These options include using what we have, borrowing, swapping, thrifting and making. Buying new items should be seen as the final choice, once all other options have been considered. This approach goes very much against the principles of fast fashion, with slow and considered consumption being the priority.

2. Shop by your values

We need to think about where we shop, as each purchase effectively acts as a vote towards the practices of a brand. By doing a small amount of research into a company’s responsible values, we can begin to make informed decisions about our shopping behaviour. This will ensuring that your chosen store reflects your personal beliefs.

For example, if you want to know where your fashion comes from then you need to choose a brand that is transparent and open about their supply chain. Brands like Community Clothing, owned by Sewing Bee judge Patrick Grant, tell shoppers exactly where the raw materials were sourced from, where the yarn was produced and even where the final garment was made. Likewise, if you specifically want to take action against ocean plastic waste, then a brand like Ecoalf might be for you.

3. Buy a pre-loved item

The second-hand market is having a revival. Once seen as an edgy, individual and cost-effective method of shopping, it soon fell out of favour, to be replaced by cheap, mass-market product from fast-fashion retailers. But with Oxfam opening their charity superstore and Asda launching a pre-loved fashion pop up shop, buying second-hand clothing can give fashion products a new life and prevent the purchasing of new fashion garments.

4. Dispose responsibly

As well as considering where we buy our clothes, we too must consider the end-of-life options for our fashion items. It is estimated that £140m worth of clothing goes to landfill each year. Many of these items will be made from synthetic fibres, meaning they can take anywhere between 20-200 years to decompose. Again, people should explore a range of options available here, such as donating clothing to charity, recycling, reuse, repair and passing on items to friends and family. Why not hold a clothes swap at your house one weekend?

Responsible procurement, ownership and disposal are all vital considerations when exercising your power to create sustainable change for the future of the fashion industry. Today, shoppers have more influence and ability to create change than ever before, with social media platforms allowing easier voicing of complaints and concerns. Meanwhile, the emergence of a circular economy business model is again pushing consumers to take a more active role in creating change.

We can no longer sit back and wait for brands to take action. Individual drive and willingness to change everyday behaviour will be crucial in changing the future environmental impact of fashion.The Conversation

About the Author

Dr Alana James, Senior Lecturer in Fashion, Northumbria University, Newcastle

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}