ما هي الأراضي العشبية الأصلية ، ولماذا هي مهمة؟

ما هي الأراضي العشبية الأصلية ، ولماذا هي مهمة؟ تحتوي التابلاند الجنوبية على أراضي رعي نادرة. تيم جى كيجان / فليكر, CC BY-SA

يخضع وزير الائتلاف أنجوس تايلور للتدقيق لأنه قد يتدخل في تطهير الأراضي العشبية في المرتفعات الجنوبية من نيو ساوث ويلز. مع ترك الأبعاد السياسية جانبا ، يجدر السؤال: لماذا هذه المراعي مهمة؟

تعد الأراضي العشبية في معظم أجزاء شرق أستراليا ناتجة عن إزالة الغابات والأراضي الحرجية من أجل "تحسين" المناظر الطبيعية (من وجهة نظر المروج) لجعلها مناسبة لرعي الماشية.

يستلزم "الارتجال" عادة قطع الأشجار وحرق الأخشاب المقطوعة واقتلاع جذوع الأشجار ، يليها الحراثة والتسميد والبذر الحشائش التي أصبحت أكثر قبولا للماشية من العديد من الأعشاب المحلية.

ومع ذلك ، حدثت مروج محلية أصيلة إلى حد كبير على المرتفعات عبر جزء كبير من أراضي مونارو ، في المنطقة الممتدة بين كانبيرا وبومبالا.

الأراضي العشبية مونارو (أو في الكلام العلمي ، و المراعي الطبيعية المعتدلة في التابلاند الجنوبيةفي المناطق الجافة والباردة نسبيًا ، لا سيما في أودية المرتفعات أو المجوفة الصقيعية حيث ينخفض ​​الهواء البارد ليلاً

مزيج من المناخ الجاف والبرد يقيد نمو الأشجار وبدلا من ذلك شجعت الأعشاب والأعشاب. تهيمن الأعشاب الأصلية مثل عشب الكنغر و tussock poa على الأراضي العشبية ، ولكن هناك العديد من النباتات الفريدة الأخرى. سوف تدعم منطقة المراعي النموذجية غير المضطربة أنواع 10-20 من الأعشاب الأصلية و 40 أو أكثر من الأنواع غير العشبية.

تعد السهول العشبية أيضًا موطنًا للزواحف الفريدة المكيّفة على البارد مثل تنين الأرض الذي لا أرض له ، وثعبان السوط الصغير ، وسحلية دودة الذيل الوردي ، والسحالي المخططة بدون أرجل. هذا المزيج من النباتات والحيوانات يخلق مجتمعًا بيئيًا فريدًا.

ما هي الأراضي العشبية الأصلية ، ولماذا هي مهمة؟
قد تشبه السحالي المخططة بدون ثعبان ، ولكن معظم جسمها هو في الواقع ذيل. لها أطراف أثرية ولسان غير متشعب.
Benjamint444 / ويكيبيديا, CC BY-NC-SA

بقي جزء

وتشير التقديرات إلى فقط 0.5٪ من المنطقة التي كان يمكن أن تكون مرة واحدة المراعي الطبيعية المعتدلة في التابلاند الجنوبية لا يزال قائما. الباقي "تحسن" تدريجيا منذ منتصف القرن التاسع عشر لجعلها أكثر إنتاجية لرعي الماشية.

تغير المواشي بشكل كبير تكوين الأراضي العشبية ، حيث تزيل الحيوانات النباتات المستساغة وتضغط التربة تحت ثقلها. التربة المضطربة والماشية تساعد أيضا على نشر الأعشاب غير الأصلية.

ومع ذلك ، لم يتم تعديل معظم الأراضي العشبية الأصلية فقط من خلال الرعي ولكن تم استبدالها بالكامل بالمراعي التي من صنع الإنسان. وهذا يعني أن الأرض قد حرثت وأُخصبت وزُرعت بذور الأعشاب المدخلة.

تعني هذه التغييرات التي تطرأ على المناظر الطبيعية أن معظم النباتات التي تهيمن عليها المناظر الطبيعية أصبحت غير صالحة الآن للعديد من النباتات والحيوانات المحلية التي كانت تعيش في السابق ونمت فيها.

لأن المراعي الطبيعية المعتدلة في التابلاند الجنوبية أصبحت الآن نادرة جدًا تصنف على أنها مهددة بالانقراض ومحمية فيدراليا. وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإن العديد من النباتات والحيوانات متميزة التي لا تزال تعيش في هذه الأراضي المعشبة تصنف على أنها عرضة للخطر أو معرضة للخطر.

ما هي الأراضي العشبية الأصلية ، ولماذا هي مهمة؟
سحلية الدود ذات الذيل الوردي هي واحدة من الأنواع النادرة التي تعيش في الأراضي العشبية الأصلية في التابلاند الجنوبية.
مات كلانسي / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY-SA

يمكن العثور على بعض أفضل الأمثلة المتبقية من الأراضي العشبية في مونارو في المقابر القديمة وفي المناطق التي يتم تخصيصها كمناطق عامة لرعي الماشية. غالبًا ما تم تجنيب هذه المناطق من الأراضي العامة من تحسين المراعي أو رعيها الخفيف فقط ، وبالتالي فهي تدعم الآن النظم الإيكولوجية للأراضي العشبية الأصلية السليمة نسبيًا.

بينما ، في العين غير المدربة ، قد تبدو أراضي مونارو العشبية غير ملحوظة ويصعب التمييز بينها وبين مراعي الرعي ، إلا أنها مهمة للغاية. أنها تبين لنا ما كانت أستراليا تبدو ذات يوم ، وتكون بمثابة ملاذ للتنوع البيولوجي الأصلي.

والواقع أن ما تبقى من الأراضي العشبية الطبيعية تشعر بالانزعاج الشديد الآن بسبب الزراعة ، فهناك تهديد حقيقي لهذا المجتمع الإيكولوجي المميز والعديد من الأنواع التي يحتوي عليها قد تختفي تمامًا ، إذا لم تكن محمية من الرعي المفرط والأسمدة والمحراث.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

مايك ليتنيك ، أستاذ مركز علوم النظم الإيكولوجية ، UNSW

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Are Native Grasslands, And Why Do They Matter?

What Are Native Grasslands, And Why Do They Matter? The Southern Tablelands contain rare native grasslands. Tim J Keegan/Flickr, CC BY-SA

Coalition minister Angus Taylor is under scrutiny for possibly intervening in the clearing of grasslands in the southern highlands of New South Wales. Leaving aside the political dimensions, it’s worth asking: why do these grasslands matter?

The grasslands in much of eastern Australia are the result of forests and woodlands cleared to “improve” the landscape (from a grazier’s point of view) to make it suitable for grazing livestock.

The “improvment” typically entails cutting trees, burning the felled timber and uprooting tree stumps, followed by ploughing, fertilising and sowing introduced grasses that are more palatable to livestock than many native grasses.

However, largely treeless native grasslands once occurred at high elevations across much of the Monaro tableland, in the area stretching between Canberra and Bombala.

The Monaro grasslands (or in scientific speak, the natural temperate grassland of the Southern Tablelands) are in relatively dry and cold areas, particularly in upland valleys or frost hollows where cold air descends at night.

The combination of dry climate and cold restricts tree growth and instead has encouraged grasses and herbs. Native grasses such as kangaroo grass and poa tussock dominate the grasslands, but there are many other unique plants. A typical undisturbed grassland area will support 10-20 species of native grasses and 40 or more non-grass species.

The grassy plains are also home to unique cold-adapted reptiles such as the grass-land earless dragon, little whip snake, pink-tailed worm lizard and striped legless lizards. This combination of plants and animals create a unique ecological community.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


What Are Native Grasslands, And Why Do They Matter?
Striped legless lizards may resemble a snake, but most of its body is actually tail. It has vestigial limbs and a non-forked tongue.
Benjamint444/Wikipedia, CC BY-NC-SA

A fraction remain

It is estimated only 0.5% of the area that would once have been natural temperate grasslands in the Southern Tablelands remains. The rest has been gradually “improved” since the mid-nineteenth century to make them more productive for livestock grazing.

Livestock dramatically change the composition of grasslands, as animals remove palatable plants and compact the soil under their weight. Disturbed soil and the livestock also help to spread non-native weeds.

However, most native grasslands have not just been modified by grazing but completely replaced by man-made pastures. That is, the land has been ploughed, fertilised and the seeds of introduced grasses have been planted.

These changes to the landscape mean much of the landscape is dominated by introduced plants and is now unsuitable for many of the native plants and animals that once lived and grew there.

Because the Natural Temperate Grassland of the Southern Tablelands is now so rare it is classified as critically endangered and federally protected. Furthermore, many of the distinct plants and animals that still live in these grasslands are classified as vulnerable or endangered.

What Are Native Grasslands, And Why Do They Matter?
The pink-tailed worm lizard is one of the rare species living in the native grasslands of the Southern Tablelands.
Matt Clancy/Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA

Some of the best remaining examples of the Monaro grasslands can be found in old cemeteries and in areas set aside as public livestock grazing areas. These areas of public land have often been spared from pasture improvement or only lightly grazed, and thus now support relatively intact native grassland ecosystems.

While, to the untrained eye the Monaro grasslands may seem unremarkable and difficult to distinguish from grazing pastures, they are deeply important. They show us what Australia once looked like, and act as a haven for native biodiversity.

Indeed, what remains of the natural grasslands is now so disturbed by agriculture there is a real threat this distinctive ecological community and many of the species it contains may disappear altogether, if they are not protected from excessive grazing, fertilisers and the plough.The Conversation

About The Author

Mike Letnic, Professor, Centre for Ecosystem Science, UNSW

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}