إعادة التدوير ليست كافية. تظهر متاجر التعبئة والتغليف الصفرية أننا نستطيع أن نفكر في إدماننا على البلاستيك

إعادة التدوير ليست كافية. تظهر متاجر التعبئة والتغليف الصفرية أننا نستطيع أن نفكر في إدماننا على البلاستيك Frenco ، متجر صفر نفايات في مونتريال. Benoit Daoust / Shutterstock.com

ملفوفة ، مختومة ، محاصر ، تتشبث تصويرها ومعبأة فراغ. لقد اعتدنا على المواد الاستهلاكية التي يتم تعبئتها بكل طريقة يمكن تخيلها.

يعود تاريخ "التغليف" إلى المستوطنات البشرية الأولى. تم استخدام الأوراق الأولى والقرع وجلود الحيوانات. ثم السيراميك والزجاج والقصدير. ثم الورق والكرتون. ولكن مع اختراع البلاستيك والاحتفال بـ "العيش بعيد المنال" منذ 1950s ، أصبحت التكاليف البيئية لعالم مكتظ.

البلاستيك الآن الفضلات الكوكب ، النظم الايكولوجية الملوثة وتشكل تهديدا كبيرا للحياة البرية و صحة الإنسان. حسابات تغليف المواد الغذائية والمشروبات تقريبًا ثلثي مجموع نفايات التغليف. أثبتت إعادة التدوير ، رغم أهميتها ، أنها استراتيجية أولية غير قادرة على التعامل مع حجم القمامة البلاستيكية. في أستراليا ، على سبيل المثال ، فقط 11.8٪ من 3.5 مليون طن من المواد البلاستيكية المستهلكة في 2016-2017 تم إعادة تدويرها.

بيئة موز ملفوف في عبوة بلاستيكية ذات استخدام واحد. سابرينا تشاكوري

يمكن أن تكون مبادرات خفض النفايات في البداية قاوم بشدة من قبل المستهلكين اعتاد على الراحة ، كما يتضح من رد الفعل على سلاسل السوبر ماركت الرئيسية اثنين في أستراليا التخلص التدريجي من أكياس التسوق البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الواحد مجانا. ولكن بعد ثلاثة أشهر فقط ، تكيف المتسوقون ، ويقدر عددهم 1.5 مليار حقيبة تم منعهم من دخول البيئة.

هل يمكننا التخلص من عقليتنا التي يمكن التخلص منها بشكل أكبر ، من خلال القيام بشيء ما لخفض جميع عبوات الأطعمة والمشروبات لدينا؟

نعم نستطيع.

يشكل ظهور متاجر المواد الغذائية ذات التعبئة الصفرية تحديًا لفكرة أن العناصر المعبأة بشكل فردي هي سمة ضرورية لصناعة الأغذية الحديثة. توضح هذه الشركات الجديدة كيف يمكن تقديم المنتجات دون تغليف. في القيام بذلك ، فإنها توفر فوائد بيئية واقتصادية.

البديل صفر التغليف

تتيح محلات التغليف الصفري ، التي تُعرف أحيانًا باسم محلات البقالة الصفرية ، للعملاء إحضار حاوياتهم وإعادة ملئها. أنها توفر المنتجات الغذائية (الحبوب والمعكرونة والزيوت) وحتى المنتجات المنزلية (الصابون ، ومسحوق غسل الصحون). يمكنك ببساطة إحضار الجرار والحاويات الخاصة بك وشراء القليل أو بقدر ما تحتاج.

بيئة Negozio Leggero هي عبارة عن سلسلة من منتجات التعبئة والتغليف الصفرية مع متاجر في إيطاليا وفرنسا وسويسرا. نيوجيو ليجيرو

هذه المتاجر موجودة بالفعل في دول عدة عبر العالم. إنها أكثر من مجرد شركات تجارية فردية تحدث فرقًا بسيطًا.

هم جزء من اتجاه مهم ومتنام تعزيز مستدامة بيئيا "إعادة استخدام" عقلية. طريقة عملهم تظهر أن بإمكاننا تغيير التيار النظام الاقتصادي "الخطي" التي نأخذ فيها باستمرار ونصنع ونستخدم ونرمي المواد.

إعادة التفكير في النظام

تغليف المواد الغذائية جزء لا يتجزأ من سوق المواد الغذائية المعولم. كلما زادت المسافة التي يسافر بها الطعام ، زادت الحاجة إلى التعبئة.

محلات التعبئة والتغليف الصفرية تشجع المصادر المحلية. وبالتالي يمكنهم لعب دور مهم في التعزيز الاقتصاد المحلي ودعم المنتجين المحليين. يمكن أن تساعد في كسر العولمة احتكارات الأعمال الزراعية، وتجديد تنوع المؤسسات الريفية والمجتمعات. الكتاب نمت في المنزل: حالة للأغذية المحلية في السوق العالمية يوضح فوائد استعادة صناعة الأغذية.

التعبئة والتغليف يساهم أيضا في مشكلة أخرى مع النظام الغذائي الصناعي الحالي. يتضاعف كأداة إعلانية ، وذلك باستخدام جميع الحيل النفسية التي يجب على المسوقين إقناعنا بشراء علامة تجارية. هذه الاستراتيجيات تروق للرغبة ، وتشجع الناس على شراء أكثر مما يحتاجون إليه حقًا. وقد أدى هذا إلى تفاقم المشاكل مثل بدانة و فضلات الطعام. لقد منحت التكتلات متعددة الجنسيات ذات الميزانيات التسويقية الكبيرة ميزة على المنتجين الصغار والمحليين.

الخطوات التالية

ليس كل العبوة مضيعة. يمكن أن يتوقف عن تلف الطعام ، على سبيل المثال ، ويمكننا من الاستمتاع بالأطعمة غير المنتجة محليًا. ولكن ما الذي يدفع نمو السوق العالمية لتعبئة المواد الغذائية - من المتوقع أن يكون ذا قيمة 411.3 مليار دولار أمريكي من 2025 - يتزايد الطلب على عبوات الطعام الفردية والمحمولة بسبب "تغييرات نمط الحياة". معظمنا يدرك أن هذه ليست تغييرات نمط الحياة للأفضل. إنها نتيجة لقضاء المزيد من الوقت في العمل أو التنقل ، وتناول المزيد من الأطعمة المصنعة وغير الصحية.

تُظهر متاجر التغليف الصفري ، بطريقتها الصغيرة ، بديلاً قابلاً للتطبيق وأكثر صحة للنظام الحالي. سواء بالنسبة لنا ، والاقتصادات المحلية وكوكب الأرض.

في حين أن هذه المحلات لا تزال متخصصة ، يمكن للحكومات المهتمة بصحة الإنسان والبيئة أن تساعدها على النمو. يشير حظر الأكياس البلاستيكية إلى ما هو ممكن.

إلى أي مدى تكيفنا بسهولة مع عدم وجود هذه الحقائب لحمل الطعام على بعد أمتار قليلة بالسيارة ثم إلى المطبخ نظهر أننا كمستهلكين يمكننا تغيير سلوكنا. يمكننا أن نختار ، عند الإمكان ، منتجات غير معبأة. هناك بالطبع تضحيات صغيرة في شكل راحة ، لكننا قد نجد أننا نستفيد أكثر ، شخصيًا ومن أجل خير بيئي واقتصادي واجتماعي أكبر.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

سابرينا تشاكوري ، دكتوراه ، جامعة كوينزلاند وعمار عبد العزيز ، محاضر ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = البلاستيك خالية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Recycling Is Not Enough. Zero-packaging Stores Show We Can Kick Our Plastic Addiction

 Recycling Is Not Enough. Zero-packaging Stores Show We Can Kick Our Plastic Addiction Frenco, a zero-waste store in Montreal. Benoit Daoust/Shutterstock.com

Wrapped, sealed, boxed, cling-filmed and vacuum packed. We have become used to consumables being packaged in every way imaginable.

The history of “packaging” goes back to the first human settlements. First leaves, gourds and animals skins were used. Then ceramics, glass and tin. Then paper and cardboard. But with the invention of plastic and the celebration of “throwaway living” since the 1950s, the environmental costs of an overpackaged world have become manifest.

Plastic now litters the planet, contaminating ecosystems and posing a significant threat to wildlife and human health. Food and beverage packaging accounts for almost two-thirds of total packaging waste. Recycling, though important, has proven an incapable primary strategy to cope with the scale of plastic rubbish. In Australia, for example, just 11.8% of the 3.5 million tonnes of plastics consumed in 2016-2017 were recycled.

environment Bananas wrapped in single-use plastic packaging. Sabrina Chakori

Initiatives to cut down on waste can initially be strongly resisted by consumers used to the convenience, as shown by the reaction to Australia’s two major supermarket chains phasing out free single-use plastic shopping bags. But after just three months, shoppers have adapted, and an estimated 1.5 billion bags have been prevented from entering the environment.

Can we dispose with our disposable mentality further, by doing something to cut down on all the packaging of our food and beverages?

Yes we can.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The emergence of zero-packaging food stores is challenging the idea that individually packaged items are a necessary feature of the modern food industry. These new businesses demonstrate how products can be offered without packaging. In doing so they provide both environmental and economic benefits.

The zero-packaging alternative

Zero-packaging shops, sometimes known as zero-waste grocery stores, allow customers to bring and refill their own containers. They offer food products (cereals, pasta, oils) and even household products (soap, dishwashing powder). You simply bring your own jars and containers and buy as little or as much as you need.

environment Negozio Leggero is a zero-packaging chain with stores in Italy, France and Switzerland. Negozio Leggero

These stores can already be found in many countries across the world. They are more than just individual trading businesses making a small difference.

They are part of an important and growing trend promoting an environmentally sustainable “reuse” mentality. Their way of doing business shows we can change the current ‘linear’ economic system in which we continuously take, make, use and throw away materials.

Rethinking the system

Food packaging is part and parcel of a globalised food market. The greater the distance that food travels, the more packaging is needed.

Zero-packaging stores encourage sourcing locally. They can therefore play an important role in enhancing local economy and supporting local producers. They can help break globalised agribusiness monopolies, regenerating the diversity of rural enterprises and communities. The book Home Grown: The Case for Local Food in a Global Market illustrates the benefits of reclaiming back the food industry.

Packaging also contributes to another problem with the current industrialised food system. It doubles as an advertising tool, using all the psychological tricks that marketers have to persuade us to buy a brand. These strategies appeal to desire, encouraging people to buy more than what they really need. This has arguably exacerbated problems such as obesity and food waste. It has given multinational conglomerates with large marketing budgets an advantage over small and local producers.

Next steps

Not all of packaging is wasteful. It can stop food spoiling, for example, and enables us to enjoy foods not locally produced. But what is driving the growth of the global food packaging market – expected to be worth US$411.3 billion by 2025 – is rising demand for single-serve and portable food packs due to “lifestyle changes”. Most of us recognise these are not lifestyle changes for the better; they are the result of us spending more time working or commuting, and eating more processed and unhealthier food.

Zero-packaging stores show, in their own small way, a viable and healthier alternative to the current system. Both for ourselves, local economies and the planet.

While these shops are still niche, governments interested in human and environmental health can help them grow. Bans on plastic bags point to what is possible.

How easily we have adapted to no longer having those bags to carry food a few metres to the car and then to the kitchen show that we, as consumers, can change our behaviour. We can choose, when possible, unpacked products. There is, of course, a small sacrifice in the form of convenience, but we just might find that we benefit more, both personally and for a greater environmental, economic and social good.The Conversation

About The Author

Sabrina Chakori, PhD Candidate, The University of Queensland and Ammar Abdul Aziz, Lecturer, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=plastic-free;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}