كيف نظيفة مدينتك؟ فقط أسأل النحل

كيف نظيفة مدينتك؟ فقط أسأل النحل يمكن أن يحمل العسل أدلة حول مصدر الملوثات. (صراع الأسهم)

هناك فرصة جيدة لأن تعيش في مدينة - أو ستعيش قريبًا. وفقًا لتقديرات الأمم المتحدة ، سيعيش شخصان من بين كل ثلاثة أشخاص في منطقة حضرية بواسطة 2050.

التأثير البيئي لمثل هذا التحضر السريع هو مصدر قلق عالمي. قد تكون الطرق التقليدية لرصد التلوث مثل أخذ عينات التربة والهواء مكلفة وتستغرق وقتًا طويلاً.

نحن بحاجة إلى أدوات جديدة لتتبع المعادن الثقيلة وغيرها من التلوث. لذلك ، توصلنا إلى مقاربة جديدة - العسل.

بداية حلوة

بدأ كل شيء بسؤال. جوليا كومون ، رئيس مربي النحل في خلايا النحل للإنسانيةسُئل مرارًا وتكرارًا ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية مقرها فانكوفر تضم مربي النحل الحضريين ، "ما مدى نظافة العسل من وسط مدينة فانكوفر؟"

Hives for Humanity يدير خلايا 200 داخل فانكوفر. إنهم على أسطح المنازل في وسط المدينة الصاخبة ، بالقرب من حدائق المدينة ، وفي الساحات الخلفية السكنية والمزارع في دلتا ، أحد المراكز الزراعية الرئيسية في كولومبيا البريطانية. لا تنتج المنظمة العسل فقط ، بل تدير أيضًا العديد من برامج تربية النحل العلاجية.

للمساعدة في الإجابة على هذا السؤال ، الدكتور دومينيك فايس ، مدير مركز المحيط الهادئ للبحوث النظرية والجيوكيميائية، تقاس مجموعة من العناصر النزرة (بما في ذلك الرصاص والتيتانيوم والكادميوم وغيرها) في بعض العسل من خلايا النحل من أجل الإنسانية. العسل كانت نظيفة ، أقل بكثير من المتوسط ​​العالمي للمعادن الثقيلة مثل الرصاص.

لكن عندما بدأ Weis في النظر عن كثب في البيانات ، أدركت أن العسل يحمل أدلة إضافية حول مصدر المعادن - ويمكن ربطها باستخدام الأرض والنشاط البشري في المنطقة المجاورة مباشرة للخلية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


نحلة مصادر العلوم

عندما يبحث نحل العسل عن حبوب اللقاح والرحيق ، فإنهم أيضًا يلتقطون الغبار والجزيئات الصغيرة الأخرى ، ويعودون إلى الخلية حيث يتم دمجها في العسل ومنتجات خلايا أخرى.

نظرًا لأن النحل نادرًا ما يتغذى على خلية النحل لأكثر من كيلومترين إلى ثلاثة كيلومترات ، فإن العسل يوفر لمحة كيميائية عن البيئة المحيطة بالخلية. هذه الظاهرة قد تم استغلالها في عدد من الدراسات لتقييم ليس فقط مستويات بعض المعادن في البيئة ، ولكن أيضا في آثار المبيدات وتأثير البيئة الغبار النووي.

أظهرت دراستنا أن العسل الذي تم جمعه من مناطق ذات كثافة حضرية أعلى يحتوي على مستويات مرتفعة من المعادن ، بما في ذلك القصدير والرصاص والكادميوم والنحاس والزنك. على سبيل المثال ، ترتفع نسبة الأنتيمون في العسل من وسط مدينة فانكوفر ، مقارنةً بالعسل في الضواحي والريف الريفي ، ويُحتمل أن يكون ذلك بسبب حركة التوقف والتوقف ، لأن الأنتيمون عنصر في منصات تحطيم المركبات.

وأظهرت مجموعات أخرى من العسل المأخوذة من المناطق القريبة من ميناء الشحن مستويات أعلى من الفاناديوم ، والتي يمكن العثور عليها في زيوت الوقود الثقيل التي تحرقها محركات كبيرة مثل تلك الموجودة على سفن الشحن.

على الرغم من أننا يمكن أن نجد هذه العناصر النزرة في عينات العسل ، فإن التركيزات كانت منخفضة للغاية بحيث لا تشكل أي خطر على الصحة. يجب أن يتناول الشخص البالغ أكثر من 600 غرام من عسل فانكوفر يوميًا لتتجاوز مستويات تناول الرصاص اليومية المسموح بها.

بصمة العسل

قمنا أيضًا بتحليل الأشكال المختلفة للرصاص ، التي تسمى النظائر ، الموجودة في العسل لنرى كيف أثر استخدام الأراضي على نوع الرصاص الموجود في البيئة. وقد جرب هذا مرة واحدة فقط من قبل ، في أستراليا.

نظرًا لأن كل مصدر من الرصاص يحتوي على تركيبة نظيرية مميزة ، فإن هذا النهج يشبه إلى حد كبير بصمة الرصاص. العسل من القطاعات الصناعية أو الكثافة السكانية في المدينة لديه بصمة الرصاص مختلفة عن الرصاص الطبيعي المحلي ، على سبيل المثال ، في الصخور من غاريبالدي الحزام البركاني or الرواسب من نهر فريزر. وهذا يعني أن الرصاص الذي لوحظ في العسل من خلايا وسط المدينة من المحتمل أن يكون نتيجة للأنشطة البشرية.

بشكل عام ، يعكس التوقيع الكيميائي في العسل من أي قطاع في المدينة مجموعة من العروض النباتية التي تحيط بالخلية ، وكذلك مصادر التلوث الأخرى المرتبطة باستخدام الأراضي: حركة المرور والشحن وساحات السكك الحديدية والزراعة.

رصد التغيير

يرسم العسل صورة شاملة لتوزيع المعادن الحالية في جميع أنحاء مترو فانكوفر. في المستقبل ، يمكننا البحث عن الاختلافات ، حيث تنمو المدينة وتتغير خلال القرن القادم. تتميز المدن بالديناميكية وتواجه تحولات مستمرة في استخدام الأراضي والنمو السكاني والبنية التحتية للشيخوخة وتغير المناخ (خاصة المدن الساحلية).

لأن نحل العسل يعيش حيث يعيش البشر ، يمكن استخدام الطريقة في أي مكان خلايا النحل. هذا يجعل من الممكن للمدن في جميع أنحاء العالم الاستفادة من قوة نحل العسل ، حتى لو كانت تفتقر إلى بنية تحتية أكثر تقليدية للرصد البيئي.

تزداد شعبية البستنة الحضرية وتربية النحل في المناطق الحضرية ، مما يجعل مشاريع مثل هذه أكثر قابلية للمشاركة المجتمعية.

تتمثل فائدة إشراك المجتمع في العملية العلمية في أن كل شخص يكتسب تقديراً أعمق لبيئته والبيئة المحلية. هذا ، مثل العسل في فانكوفر ، هو نتيجة حلوة!المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كيت إي سميث ، دكتوراه ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. ديان هنانو ، مديرة الأبحاث ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية، ودومينيك فايس ، أستاذ ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = المخاطر الصحية للتلوث ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Clean Is Your City? Just Ask The Bees

How Clean Is Your City? Just Ask The Bees Honey can carry clues about where pollutants come from. (Shutterstock)

There’s a good chance you live in a city — or will soon. According to estimates by the United Nations, two out of every three people will live in an urban area by 2050.

The environmental impact of such rapid urbanization is a global concern. Traditional methods of monitoring pollution such as soil and air sampling can be expensive and time consuming.

We need new tools to track heavy metals and other pollution. So, we came up with a novel approach — honey.

A sweet beginning

It all began with a question. Julia Common, the chief beekeeper at Hives for Humanity, a Vancouver-based, non-profit organization of urban beekeepers, was asked repeatedly, “How clean is the honey from downtown Vancouver?”

Hives for Humanity manages about 200 hives within Vancouver. They’re on rooftops in the bustling city centre, near city gardens, in residential back yards and on farms in Delta, one of British Columbia’s major agricultural hubs. The organization doesn’t only produce honey, they also manage several therapeutic beekeeping programs.

To help answer this question, Dr. Dominique Weis, the director of the Pacific Centre for Isotopic and Geochemical Research, measured a suite of trace elements (including lead, titanium and cadmium and others) in some of the honey from Hives for Humanity. The honey was clean, well below the worldwide average for heavy metals like lead.

But when Weis started looking more closely at the data, she realized that the honey carried additional clues about where the metals came from — and could be linked to land use and human activity in the immediate vicinity of the hive.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Bee-sourcing science

When honeybees forage for pollen and nectar, they also pick up dust and other small particles, and carry it back to the hive where it is incorporated into the honey and other hive products.

Since bees rarely forage more than two to three kilometres from their hive, the honey provides a chemical snapshot of the environment surrounding the hive. This phenomenon has been exploited in a number of studies to assess not only the levels of certain metals in the environment, but also the effects of pesticides and the environmental impact of nuclear fallout.

Our study showed that honey collected from areas of higher urban density contains elevated levels of metals, including tin, lead, cadmium, copper and zinc. Antimony, for example, is elevated in honey from downtown Vancouver, relative to suburban and rural honey, presumably due to stop-and-go traffic, as antimony is a component in vehicle break pads.

Other batches of honey sampled from areas near the shipping port, showed higher levels of vanadium, which can be found in heavy fuel oils burned by large engines such as those on cargo ships.

Even though we could find these trace elements in the honey samples, the concentrations were too low to pose any health risk. An adult would have to eat more than 600 grams of Vancouver honey per day to exceed tolerable daily lead intake levels.

Fingerprinting honey

We also analysed the different forms of lead, called isotopes, found in the honey to see how land use influenced the type of lead found in the environment. This had been tried only once before, in Australia.

Because each source of lead has a characteristic isotopic composition, this approach is a little like fingerprinting the lead. Honey from industrial or heavily populated sectors of the city has a different lead fingerprint than local, natural lead found, for example, in the rocks from the Garibaldi volcanic belt or sediment from the Fraser River. That means that the lead observed in honey from downtown hives is likely the result of human activities.

Overall, the chemical signature in honey from any sector of the city reflects a combination of the botanical offerings that surround the hive, as well as other pollution sources associated with land use: traffic, shipping, rail yards and agriculture.

Monitoring change

The honey paints a comprehensive picture of current trace metal distribution throughout Metro Vancouver. In the future, we can look for variations, as the city grows and changes over the next century. Cities are dynamic and experience constant shifts in land use, population growth, aging infrastructure and climate change (especially coastal cities).

Because honey bees live where humans live, the method could be used anywhere hives exist. This makes it possible for cities around the world to harness the power of the honeybee, even if they lack more traditional environmental monitoring infrastructure.

Urban gardening and urban beekeeping are rising in popularity, which makes projects like these all the more amenable to community participation.

The benefit of engaging the community in the scientific process is that everyone gains a deeper appreciation for their environment and local ecology. That, like the honey in Vancouver, is a sweet outcome!The Conversation

About The Author

Kate E. Smith, PhD Candidate, University of British Columbia; Diane Hanano, Research Manager, University of British Columbia, and Dominique Weis, Professor, University of British Columbia

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=health hazards of pollution;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}