Наши сложные отношения с пластиком

комбинацию комфортного проживания

Наши сложные отношения с пластиком

Пластмасс трудно избежать в повседневной жизни. Европейский Парламент, CC BY-NC-ND

С его приходом десятилетия назадПластмасса изменила современную жизнь. Но в 2018 тревога по поводу кризиса загрязнения пластиком звучала громче, чем когда-либо. В День Земли Организация Объединенных Наций выпустила свой первый Отчет о состоянии пластмасс, призывая к большей переработке и лучшим способам производства и управления материалом во многих его формах.

В разговоре мы взяли широкий вид пластикаработая с учеными, чтобы объяснить не только воздействие на окружающую среду и здоровье человека, но и его культурный вклад, а также отрасли, которые занимаются переработкой пластмассовых изделий - и отходами.

1. Мы морские свинки

Люди теперь регулярно слышат сообщения о морских животных, обнаруженных с желудками, полными выброшенного человеком пластика. Но большая часть пластического загрязнения в океанах - это микропластики - во много раз меньше ширины человеческого волоса.

Экологический эпидемиолог Джон Микер из Мичиганского университета пишет, что воздействие этих микропластических веществ на здоровье человека, которые также обнаруживаются во многих потребительских товарах, в основном неизвестно. Он идет через то, что ученые знают и ноты что «учитывая, что воздействие на человека микропластиков широко распространено, результаты исследований на животных, безусловно, являются причиной для беспокойства и важным фактором для оценки риска».

2. Реки и озера

Многие люди, вероятно, знают о большом Тихоокеанском мусорном участке, огромном скоплении мусора между Гавайями и Калифорнией. Но пластмасса накапливается в озерах и реках, а такжеНапишите Мэтью Дж. Хоффману и Кристи Тайлер из Рочестерского технологического института. Они описывают свои исследования, в которых используются компьютерные модели для измерения того, сколько накапливается в Великих озерах (около 10,000 тонн в год), и для прогнозирования того, куда они пойдут.

Они обнаружили, что из-за ветров пластмасса не накапливается в гигантском пятне, как в Тихом океане, но это ставит вопрос: куда она идет? «Если мы сможем точно отследить различные виды пластического загрязнения после того, как они попадут в воду, - пишут они, - мы можем сосредоточиться на тех типах, которые попадают в чувствительные места обитания, и предсказать их конечную судьбу». Их исследование показало, что большая часть его опускается до дно, которое проливает свет на то, какие виды поражаются.

3. Лучшие материалы?

Являются ли растительные пластмассы ответом на проблему пластикового мусора? Биохимик Дэнни Дукат из штата Мичиган говорит, что это не так просто. Он описывает различные типы биопластиков и то, как системы переработки должны будут измениться, чтобы обращаться с пластмассами на растительной основе.

«Пластмассы на биологической основе будут томиться в течение десятилетий или столетий, если их выбрасывать в мусор и закапывать на свалках… В отличие от этого, компостируемые пластмассы в значительной степени разлагаются в течение трех месяцев на промышленных предприятиях по компосту, где условия управляются, чтобы стимулировать аэрацию, и температуры часто существенно выше из-за всей микробной активности », Ducat пишет.

4. Влияние политики Китая «Национальный меч»

Около 75 процентов пластмасс, выброшенных в США, попадают на свалки. А в 2018 Китай привел в замешательство индустрию переработки пластмасс, резко сократив количество иностранного лома, который он мог бы принять.

Это привело к накоплению неиспользованного мусора и оставлению муниципалитетов с учетом изменения в их практике утилизации, Калифорнийский университет, исследователь Беркли, Кейт О'Нил, считает, что Китай отверг наш загрязненный мусор как возможность вводить новшества.

«Критика утилизации не новыйи критика переработки пластика многоНо я все еще считаю, что имеет смысл расширять, а не отказываться от системы. Это потребует крупномасштабных инвестиций и, в долгосрочной перспективе, реализации политики в области добычи, включая запреты продуктов », - пишет О'Нил.

5. В руках дизайнеров

Конечно, нет недостатка в вещах, о которых нужно беспокоиться, когда дело доходит до пластика. Но давайте также рассмотрим некоторые из многих удобств, которые принес этот удивительный материал.

Марша Брайант из Университета Флориды ведет курс по продуктам Tupperware и их появлению в 1950s America и пишет о том, как это демонстрирует «Как привлекательный, инновационный дизайн может иметь массовую привлекательность». И Кирстен Мюнхингер из Университета Орегона рассказывает история о том, как силикон Первоначально задуманный как изоляционный материал, мы изменили наши кухни за последние два десятилетия.

Об авторе

Мартин Ламоника, заместитель редактора, Беседа

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

комбинацию комфортного проживания
enarZH-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

Our Complicated Relationship With Plastic

Our Complicated Relationship With Plastic

Plastics are hard to avoid in daily life. European Parliament, CC BY-NC-ND

From its arrival decades ago, plastic has transformed modern life. But in 2018, the alarm over the plastic pollution crisis sounded louder than ever. On Earth Day, the United Nations issued its first State of Plastics report, calling for more recycling and better ways to manufacture and manage the material in its many forms.

At The Conversation, we took a broad view of plastic, working with scholars to explain not only the environmental and health effects but also its cultural contribution and the industries that handle plastic goods – and waste.

1. We are guinea pigs

People now regularly hear reports of sea animals discovered with stomachs full of human-discarded plastic. But much of the plastic pollution in the oceans is microplastics – many times smaller than the width of a human hair.

Environmental epidemiologist John Meeker from the University of Michigan writes that the health effects of these microplastics, which are also found in many consumer products, are largely unknown. He walks through what scientists do know and notes that “given that human exposure to microplastics is widespread, results from animal studies are certainly a cause for concern and an important factor for risk assessment.”

2. Rivers and lakes

Many people probably know about the great Pacific garbage patch, a massive accumulation of trash between Hawaii and California. But plastics are accumulating in lakes and rivers as well, write Matthew J. Hoffman and Christy Tyler from Rochester Institute of Technology. They describe their research that uses computer models to measure how much is piling up in the Great Lakes (about 10,000 tons per year) and to predict where it will go.

They found that because of winds, plastics do not accumulate in a giant patch as they do in the Pacific Ocean, but that introduces the question: Where is it going? “If we can accurately track different types of plastic pollution after they enter the water,” they write, “we can focus on the types that end up in sensitive habitats and predict their ultimate fate.” Their study found that much of it sinks to the bottom, which sheds light on what species are being affected.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


3. Better materials?

Are plant-based plastics the answer to the plastic trash problem? Biochemist Danny Ducat from Michigan State says it’s not that simple. He describes the different types of bio-plastics and how recycling systems will need to change to handle plant-based plastics.

“Bio-based plastics will still languish for decades or centuries if they are thrown in the trash and buried in landfills…By contrast, compostable plastics are largely degraded within three months inside industrial compost facilities, where conditions are managed to promote aeration and temperatures are often substantially higher because of all of the microbial activity,” Ducat writes.

4. The impact of China’s ‘National Sword’ policy

About 75 percent of the plastics discarded in the U.S. end up in landfills. And in 2018, China threw the plastic recycling industry in disarray by sharply cutting the amount of foreign scrap material it would accept.

This has resulted in stockpiles of unrecycled trash and left municipalities considering changes to their recycling practices. University of California, Berkeley researcher Kate O’Neill sees China’s rejection of our contaminated trash as an opportunity to innovate.

“Critiques of recycling are not new, and critiques of recycling plastic are many, but I still believe it makes sense to expand, not abandon, the system. This will require large-scale investment and, in the long term, implementing upstream policies, including product bans,” O’Neill writes.

5. In the hands of designers

Certainly, there’s no shortage of things to worry about when it comes to plastic. But let’s also consider some of many conveniences this wonder material has brought.

Marsha Bryant from University of Florida teaches a course in Tupperware products and their emergence in 1950s America and writes about how it demonstrates “how a compelling, innovative design can have mass appeal.” And Kiersten Muenchinger from the University of Oregon tells the story of how silicone – originally conceived as an insulating material – has transformed our kitchens over the past two decades.

About The Author

Martin LaMonica, Deputy Editor, The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=plastic hazards;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)