Индия представляет самую высокую в мире статую

Индия представляет самую высокую в мире статую

Премьер-министр Индии Нарендра Моди сегодня откроет самую большую в мире статую, Статуя единства в Гуджарате. В 182m tall (240m включая базу), он в два раза превышает высоту Статуи Свободы, и изображает первого заместителя премьер-министра Индии Сардара Валлабхбай Пателя.

Статуя выходит на плотину Сардар Саровар на реке Нармада. Пател часто считается вдохновением для плотины, которая привлекла международное внимание, когда Всемирный банк отозвал свою поддержку от проект в 1993 после десятилетия экологические и гуманитарные акции, Только в 2013 Всемирный банк финансировал еще один проект большой плотины.

Как и плотина, статуя была осуждена за ее отсутствие экологического надзора, и его перемещение местных адиваси или коренных народов. Земля, на которой была построена статуя, является Священный участок Адиваси, который был взят насильно от них.

Статуя единства является частью более широкого толчка Партией Бхаратьи Джаната (BJP) Моди, чтобы продвигать Пател как символ индийского национализма и развития свободного рынка. Сайт статуи восхваляет его за то, что он княжеские штаты в Союз Индии и за то, что он был ранним сторонником индийских свободное предпринимательство.

Поощрение BJP Patel также служит затмевать наследие его начальника, первого премьер-министра Индии, Джавахарлал Неру, Потомки Неру возглавляют самую влиятельную оппозиционную партию Индии - Индийский национальный конгресс.

Предполагалось, что статуя будет построена как с частными, так и с государственными деньгами, но это привлекло небольшие частные инвестиции. В итоге правительство Гуджарата заплатило большую часть статуи Цена в долларах США 416.67 млн..

Индия представляет самую высокую в мире статуюСтроящаяся статуя, январь 2018. Александр Дэвис

Правительство Гуджарата утверждает, что его инвестиции в статую будут способствовать развитию туризма, а туризм - это «устойчивое развитие»,, Организация Объединенных Наций заявляет, что устойчивый туризм повышает экологические последствия и способствует развитию местных культур, Но, учитывая нехватку экологических статусов и перемещение местного населения, трудно понять, как этот проект выполняет эти цели.

Сама структура не является образцом устойчивого проектирования. В его строительстве использовалось 5,000 тонн железа, 75,000 кубических метров бетона, 5,700 тонн стали и 22,500 тонн бронзовых листов.

Критики статуи отмечают, что эта эмблема индийского национализма была спроектирована китайским архитектором, а бронзовая пленка была введена в действие Китайский труд.

Позиция статуи рядом с противоречивой Сардар Sarovar плотины также говорит. В то время как главный министр Гуджарата от 2001 до 2014, Моди настаивал на строительстве дамбы, несмотря на осуждение Всемирного банка. Он высоко оценил завершение плотины в 2017 как памятник успеху Индии.

Как завершение плотины, так и статуя, которая отмечает это, предполагает, что правительство BJP поддерживает экономическое развитие в области прав человека и защиты окружающей среды.

Инаугурация статуи происходит только через месяц после страны закрыл первый заповедник в Индии с 1972, Правительство Моди также подверглось постоянной критике за ряд про-отраслевых политик, которые подорвали сохранение, лес, прибрежный загрязнение воздуха защиты и ослабление прав на землю меньшинств.

Недавно Индия была ранжирована 177 из 180 стран в мире для своих усилий по охране окружающей среды.

Несмотря на этот рекорд, Экологическая программа Организации Объединенных Наций (ЮНЕП) недавно присудила Моди самую высокую экологическую награду. Это сделал его Чемпионом Земли за его работу по разработке солнечной энергии и снижению пластичности.

Это решение вызвало негативную реакцию в Индии, где многие комментаторы обеспокоены экологической записью BJP.

Посетители статуи получат доступ к нему через прогулку на лодке 5km. На базе статуи они могут купить сувениры и фаст-фуд, прежде чем брать высокоскоростной лифт на смотровую площадку.

Смотровая площадка будет расположена в голове Пател. Из него туристы будут смотреть на плотину Сардар Саровар, поскольку сопровождающий комментарий восхваляет «единые» успехи национального развития Индии.

Но давайте не будем забывать о защите окружающей среды и меньшинств, которые были принесены в жертву для достижения этих целей.Беседа

Об авторе

Рут Гэмбл, научный сотрудник Дэвида Майерса, La Trobe University и Александр Е. Дэвис, сотрудник сети нового поколения, La Trobe University

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = книги; ключевые слова = экономика Индии; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Ваш мозг каменного века ест вас живым
Ваш мозг каменного века ест вас живым
by Майкл Коттон, округ Колумбия
Медитация - это только первый шаг
Медитация - это только первый шаг
by Доктор Мигель Фариас и доктор Кэтрин Викхольм
Подождите! Что ты только что сказал???
Спросите, что вы хотите: вы действительно сказали это ???
by Денис Донаван, MD, M.ED., и Дебора Макинтайр

India Unveils The World's Tallest Statue

statue

India Unveils The World's Tallest Statue

India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi will today inaugurate the world’s largest statue, the Statue of Unity in Gujarat. At 182m tall (240m including the base), it is twice the height of the Statue of Liberty, and depicts India’s first deputy Prime Minister, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.

The statue overlooks the Sardar Sarovar Dam on the Narmada River. Patel is often thought of as the inspiration for the dam, which came to international attention when the World Bank withdraw its support from the project in 1993 after a decade of environmental and humanitarian protests. It wasn’t until 2013 that the World Bank funded another large dam project.

Like the dam, the statue has been condemned for its lack of environmental oversight, and its displacement of local Adivasi or indigenous people. The land on which the statue was built is an Adivasi sacred site that was taken forcibly from them.

The Statue of Unity is part of a broader push by Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to promote Patel as a symbol of Indian nationalism and free-market development. The statue’s website praises him for bringing the princely states into the Union of India and for being an early advocate of Indian free enterprise.

The BJP’s promotion of Patel also serves to overshadow the legacy of his boss, India’s first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. Nehru’s descendants head India’s most influential opposition party, the Indian National Congress.

The statue was supposed to be built with both private and public money, but it attracted little private investment. In the end, the government of Gujarat paid for much of the statue’s US$416.67 million price tag.

India Unveils The World's Tallest StatueThe statue under construction, January 2018. Alexander Davis

The Gujarat government claims its investment in the statue will promote tourism, and that tourism is “sustainable development”. The United Nations says that sustainable tourism increases environmental outcomes and promotes local cultures. But given the statue’s lack of environmental checks and its displacement of local populations, it is hard to see how this project fulfils these goals.

The structure itself is not exactly a model of sustainable design. Some 5,000 tonnes of iron, 75,000 cubic metres of concrete, 5,700 tonnes of steel, and 22,500 tonnes of bronze sheets were used in its construction.

Critics of the statue note that this emblem of Indian nationalism was designed by a Chinese architect, and the bronze sheeting was put in place by Chinese labour.

The statue’s position next to the controversial Sardar Sarovar Dam is also telling. While chief minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, Modi pushed for the dam’s construction despite the World Bank’s condemnation. He praised the dam’s completion in 2017 as a monument to India’s progress.

Both the completion of the dam and the statue that celebrates it suggest that the BJP government is backing economic development over human rights and environmental protections.

The statue’s inauguration comes only a month after the country closed the first nature reserve in India since 1972. Modi’s government has also come under sustained criticism for a series of pro-industry policies that have eroded conservation, forest, coastal and air pollution protections, and weakened minority land rights.

India was recently ranked 177 out of 180 countries in the world for its environmental protection efforts.

Despite this record, the United Nations’ Environmental Programme (UNEP) recently awarded Modi its highest environmental award. It made him a Champion of the Earth for his work on solar energy development and plastic reduction.

The decision prompted a backlash in India, where many commentators are concerned by the BJP’s environmental record.

Visitors to the statue will access it via a 5km boat ride. At the statue’s base, they can buy souvenirs and fast food, before taking a high-speed elevator to the observation deck.

The observation deck will be situated in Patel’s head. From it, tourists will look out over the Sardar Sarovar Dam, as the accompanying commentary praises “united” India’s national development successes.

But let’s not forget the environmental and minority protections that have been sacrificed to achieve these goals.The Conversation

About The Author

Ruth Gamble, David Myers Research Fellow, La Trobe University and Alexander E. Davis, New Generation Network Fellow, La Trobe University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

This Brave New World: India, China, and the United States
statueAuthor: Anja Manuel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

Our Time Has Come: How India is Making Its Place in the World
statueAuthor: Alyssa Ayres
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $27.95

Buy Now

India's Economy: Performances and Challenges
statueAuthor: Shankar Acharya
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $65.00

Buy Now

statue
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}