4.7 تريليون هو التكلفة التقديرية لتجاهل شبابنا

4.7 تريليون هو التكلفة التقديرية لتجاهل شبابنا

بقي معدل التوظيف الصيفي للمراهقين في الولايات المتحدة ثابتًا بالقرب من 50٪ من 1950 إلى 2000 ، ولكن بدأ الانخفاض بشكل كبير في القرن 21st. بواسطة 2009، فقد انخفض إلى ما دون 33٪. كان التراجع أكثر وضوحا للمراهقين الأكثر تعليماً والأكثر حظاً من الناحية الاقتصادية ، الذين يبدو أنهم يبتعدون عن العمل المدفوع الأجر لصالح العمل التطوعي ، ربما لتعزيز آفاقهم في الكليات ، أو لتلبية متطلبات التخرج من المدارس الثانوية.

التكلفة التقديرية العمرية لنقص الاستثمار

في حين أن انخفاض العمالة الصيفية في سن المراهقة قد يكون اتجاهًا إيجابيًا للبعض ، إلا أن هناك تكاليف كبيرة للمجتمع ككل. حدد مجلس البيت الأبيض للحلول المجتمعية حول 6.4 مليون "فرصة للشباب" - الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 و 24 غير المسجلين في المدرسة والذين يعانون من البطالة أو العاطلين عن العمل بشكل مزمن. وقدر المجلس التكلفة الدائمة لنقص الاستثمار من هؤلاء الشباب بمبلغ تريليون دولار. ا تقرير 2014 من معهد بروكنغز يقترح عددا من المقاربات للحد من بطالة الشباب ، بما في ذلك توسيع التلمذة الصناعية وربط التعليم الثانوي بالوثائق التعليمية للمرحلة الثانوية.

في حين أن الفوائد الرئيسية للعمل في الصيف قد تكمن في اكتساب الخبرة في العمل وتكميل دخل الأسرة ، إلا أنه يمكن أن يكون لها آثار تعليمية. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يؤدي الحصول على وظيفة صيفية إلى زيادة مهارات إدارة الوقت لدى المراهقين ، والدافع ، والثقة بالنفس ، والشعور بالمسؤولية ، وكل هذه الأمور يمكن أن تساعدهم على النجاح في المدرسة - ولكن لم يتم إجراء سوى القليل من الأبحاث الأكاديمية حول هذه المسألة. وبالنظر إلى أن العديد من المدن تستثمر في برامج الوظائف الصيفية لشبابها ، وتواجه هذه البرامج قيوداً في الميزانية إلى جانب معظم الإنفاق العام الآخر ، فإن الدليل على تأثيرها التعليمي الإيجابي سيكون مساهمة هامة في المناقشات المتعلقة بالسياسات والميزانية.

ورقة 2014 نشرت في مجلة تحليل السياسات والإدارة ، "ما هي مهمة الصيف يستحق؟ تأثير توظيف الشباب الصيفي على النتائج الأكاديمية " محاولات لتقدير تأثير برنامج التوظيف الصيفي للشباب في مدينة نيويورك (SYEP) على حضور طلاب المدارس الثانوية والأداء الأكاديمي بعد عام من المشاركة في البرنامج. يستخدم المؤلف ، Jacob Leos-Urbel من جامعة Claremont Graduate ، بيانات لمقدمي طلبات 36,550 SYEP في 2007 المتطابقة مع ملفات إدارة مدينة نيويورك (NYCDOE). والفرق الوحيد بين المتقدمين الذين تم قبولهم من قبل البرنامج وأولئك الذين لم يكن هو تنازل عن مكان من خلال نظام اليانصيب.

نتائج الدراسة تشمل:

  • زادت مشاركة SYEP التحاق حوالي 1٪، أو 1-2 أيام الدراسة في السنة. موزعة حسب الفصل الدراسي، واختيار لبرنامج زيادة الحضور بنحو 1٪ في الخريف و2٪ في فصل الربيع.

  • بالنسبة للطلاب الذين كانت نسبة حضورهم في المدرسة 95٪ أو أقل قبل SYEP ، حسّن البرنامج حضورهم بنسبة 1.6٪ في الفصل الدراسي في الخريف و 2.7٪ لفصل الربيع.

  • لم يكن لمشاركة SYEP أي تأثير هام على معدلات حضور الطلاب الذين 16 أو الأصغر في السنة الدراسية بعد برنامج الوظائف الصيفية وكان معدل الحضور أقل من 95٪ في بداية الدراسة. بالنسبة إلى 16 والأكبر سناً ، زادت SYEP من نسبة الحضور في المدارس بحوالي 3٪ ، أي ما يعادل من أربعة إلى خمسة أيام دراسية. بما أن الالتحاق بالمدارس إلزامي فقط حتى سن 16 ، فمن الثابت أن البرنامج سيكون له تأثير أكبر على المراهقين الذين لديهم قدرة أكبر على اتخاذ قرار بشأن الذهاب إلى المدرسة أم لا.

  • فقط 70٪ من أولئك الذين يربحون مكانًا في SYEP يستمرون في المشاركة في البرنامج. بالنظر إلى الأشخاص الذين شاركوا فقط ، زاد الحضور في المدارس بنسبة 1.7٪ لجميع الطلاب ، و 2.6٪ لمن لديهم خط أساس منخفض للحضور ، و 3.9٪ لتلك 16 أو أكثر مع حضور سابق منخفض.

  • كما نظرت الدراسة في احتمال أن يأخذ المشاركون في برنامج SYEP امتحانات دبلوم Regents أكثر صرامة بدلاً من الدبلوم المحلي. أظهرت النتائج أن مشاركة SYEP زادت بشكل متواضع من احتمال قيامهم بذلك ، ولكن لم يظهروا أنهم يحسنون من احتمال اجتيازهم للامتحانات.

  • ﺑﺎﻟﻧﺳﺑﺔ ﻟﻟطﻼب 16 وأﮐﺛر ﻣﻊ ﺧط أﺳﺎس ﻣﻧﺧﻔض ﻟﻟﺣﺿور ، زدت SYEP ﻣن اﺣﺗﻣﺎﻟﯾﺔ ﻗﯾﺎﻣﮭم ﺑﺎﻻﺟﺗﯾﺎز واﺟﺗﯾﺎز اﺧﺗﺑﺎر Regents ، وﻟﮐن ﻟم ﯾﮐن ﻟﮫ ﺗﺄﺛﯾر ھﺎم ﻋﻟﯽ ﻧﺗﺎﺋﺞ اﻻﻣﺗﺣﺎﻧﺎت.

  • ارتفع عدد الطلاب الحصول على شهادات الحكام، ولكن هذا لا ينسب إلى SYEP تحسين أداء الطلاب. بدلا من ذلك، زيادة SYEP عدد من الطلاب للامتحانات، مما زاد بدوره عدد الذين اجتازوا. من الطلاب 7,533 في هذه المجموعة الذين تم اختيارهم من قبل اليانصيب SYEP، مرت يقدر الطلاب 128 إضافية الحكام الإنجليزية ومرت 98 الرياضيات الحكام.

أحد القيود على الدراسة ، كما يشير ليوس-أوربيل ، هو أن البيانات تسلط القليل من الضوء على الآليات الأساسية التي تؤدي إلى زيادة المشاركة الأكاديمية. ﻋﻟﯽ ﺳﺑﯾل اﻟﻣﺛﺎل ، ﻣن اﻟﻣﻣﮐن أن ﺗﻌﻣل SYEP ﻋﻟﯽ زﯾﺎدة ﺛﻘﺔ اﻟﻣﺷﺎرﮐﯾن وﺗﻘدﯾرھم اﻟذاﺗﻲ ، أو أن اﻟدﺧل ﻣن اﻟﺑرﻧﺎﻣﺞ ﯾﻘﻟل ﻣن اﻟﺣﺎﺟﺔ إﻟﯽ اﻟﻌﻣل ﺧﻼل اﻟﻌﺎم اﻟدراﺳﻲ ، وﺑﺎﻟﺗﺎﻟﻲ ﯾزﯾد ﻣن اﻟﺗرﮐﯾز اﻷﮐﺎدﯾﻣﻲ. ومع ذلك ، فإن النتائج ليست تافهة: "في إطار سياسة الحضور في المدارس ، تمثل زيادة مدتها ما بين أربعة إلى خمسة أيام من الدراسة حوالي ربع إجمالي أيام 18 التي قد يغيب عنها طلاب مدينة نيويورك وما زال يتم ترقيتهم إلى الصف التالي. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن هذه التأثيرات تقترب تقريباً من نتائج التقييمات التجريبية الحديثة للتدخلات التي تنطوي على حوافز مالية (أو مثبطات) مرتبطة مباشرة بالالتحاق بالمدرسة ".

البحوث ذات صلة: لا لبس فيه على نحو متزايد دليل على ضياع التعليم الصيفي كان موضع اهتمام الرأي العام على نطاق واسع في السنوات الأخيرة. دراسة 2010 في جون هوبكنز آفاق جديدة للتعلم مجلة، "لماذا يستحق التعليم الصيفي مقعدًا في الصف الأمامي في مجال إصلاح التعليم" ، مراجعة عقود من الأدلة على "انزلاق الصيف" في التعليم ، حيث يفقد الشباب حوالي شهرين من معادلة مستوى الصف في مهارات الحساب الرياضية خلال فصل الصيف. والأهم من ذلك أن أولئك الذين ينتمون إلى أسر منخفضة الدخل يخسرون أكثر من شهرين في إنجاز القراءة ، في حين يحقق أقرانهم من الطبقة المتوسطة مكاسب طفيفة.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على موارد الصحفي
الرابط ل الدراسة الأصلية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf



أوصى كتاب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

4.7 Trillion Is The Estimated Cost Of Ignoring Our Youth

4.7 Trillion Is The Estimated Cost Of Ignoring Our Youth

The summer employment rate for U.S. teens held steady at around 50% from 1950 to 2000, but began to decline dramatically in the 21st century. By 2009, it had fallen below 33%. The decline has been most pronounced for more educated and economically advantaged teens, who appear to be moving away from paid employment in favor of voluntary work, perhaps to enhance their college prospects, or to fulfill high school graduation requirements.

Estimated Lifetime Cost of Underinvestment

While a reduction in teen summer employment may be a positive trend for some, there are significant costs for society as a whole. The White House Council for Community Solutions has identified around 6.4 million “opportunity youth” — young adults between the ages of 16 and 24 who are not enrolled in school and who are chronically unemployed or underemployed. The Council estimated the lifetime cost of underinvestment such youth at $4.7 trillion. A 2014 report from the Brookings Institution suggests a number of approaches to reducing youth unemployment, including expanding apprenticeships and linking high school to post-secondary educational credentials.

While the major benefits of summer employment may lie in gaining work experience and supplementing family income, it could also have educational implications. For example, having a summer job can increase teens’ time-management skills, motivation, self-confidence and sense of responsibility, all of which could help them succeed at school — but little academic research has been done on this question. Given that many cities invest in summer jobs programs for their youth, and such programs face budget constraints along with most other public spending, evidence of their positive educational impact would be an important contribution to policy and budget debates.

A 2014 paper published in the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management, “What Is a Summer Job Worth? The Impact of Summer Youth Employment on Academic Outcomes,” attempts to estimate the impact of New York City’s Summer Youth Employment Program (SYEP) on high school students’ attendance and academic performance the year after participation in the program. The author, Jacob Leos-Urbel of Claremont Graduate University, uses data for 36,550 SYEP applicants in 2007 matched to their New York City Department of Education (NYCDOE) files. The only difference between applicants who were accepted by the program and those who were not was the assignment of a place through a lottery system.

The Study’s Findings Include:

  • SYEP participation increased school attendance by approximately 1%, or one to two school days per year. Broken down by semester, selection for the program increased attendance by around 1% in the fall and 2% in the spring.

  • For students whose school attendance rate was 95% or lower prior to SYEP, the program improved their attendance by 1.6% in the fall semester and 2.7% for the spring semester.

  • SYEP participation had no significant effect on the attendance rates of students who 16 or younger in the school year following the summer jobs program and had an attendance rate below 95% at the start of the study. For those 16 and older, SYEP increased school attendance by around 3%, the equivalent of four to five school days. As school attendance is only mandatory until age 16, it is consistent that the program would have a greater influence on those teens who have more ability to decide whether or not to attend school.

  • Only 70% of those who win a place in SYEP go on to participate in the program. Looking at just those who did take part, school attendance increased 1.7% for all students, 2.6% for those with a low baseline of attendance, and 3.9% for those 16 or over with low prior attendance.

  • The study also looked at the likelihood that SYEP participants would take the more rigorous Regents diploma exams rather than the local diploma. The results showed that SYEP participation modestly increased the likelihood of their doing so, but did not appear to improve the probability of their passing the exams.

  • For students 16 and over with a low baseline of attendance, SYEP increased the likelihood that they would take and pass the Regents exam, but had no significant effect on exam scores.

  • The number of students obtaining Regents diplomas rose, but this was not attributable to the SYEP improving students’ performance. Instead, SYEP increased the number of students taking the exams, which in turn increased the number who passed. Of the 7,533 students in this group who were selected by the SYEP lottery, an estimated additional 128 students passed the English Regents and 98 passed the math Regents.

One limitation of the study, Leos-Urbel notes, is that the data sheds little light on the underlying mechanisms that lead to increased academic engagement. For example, it could be that the SYEP increases participants’ confidence and self-esteem, or that the income from the program reduces the need to work during the school year and thus increases academic focus. Nevertheless, the results are not trivial: “Viewed within the context of school attendance policy, an increase of four to five days of school attended represents about one-quarter of the 18 total days that New York City students may miss and still be promoted to the next grade. Further, these effects are roughly on par with findings of recent experimental evaluations of interventions involving financial incentives (or disincentives) directly tied to school attendance.”

Related research: The increasingly unequivocal evidence of summer learning loss has been the subject of widespread public attention in recent years. A 2010 study in the John Hopkins New Horizons for Learning journal, “Why Summer Learning Deserves a Front-Row Seat in the Education Reform Arena,” reviews decades of evidence of a “summer slide” in education, with young people losing about two months of grade level equivalency in mathematical computation skills over the summer. More importantly, those from low-income households lose more than two months in reading achievement, while their middle-class peers make slight gains.

This article originally appeared on The Journalist's Resource
Link to original study.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf



Recommended book:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…