Борьба с неравенством так же стара, как сама Америка


Американцы все больше обеспокоены растущим потоком экономического неравенства, так как меньше контролируют больше богатства. Для выяснения причин этих опасений комментаторы обычно указывают на Позолоченный век в конце 19-го века, когда несколько человек получили огромное богатство и власть в США и рабочие страдали от крайней нищеты.

Но страх перед большим богатством и необходимость экономического равенства восходит к истокам страны.

Богатство как опасность для нации

К 1700-м годам англо-американцы считали, что лучшее правительство была республика это обеспечит общественное благо, избегая концентрированного богатства. Британская политическая традиция ограничивала голосование мужчинами, которые владели собственностью; около 20% в Англии, но От 50% до 80% в их американских колониях.

В 1773 году, когда колонии приблизились к восстанию, министр Нью-Хейвена Бенджамин Трамбулл призвал выборных должностных лиц сохранить собственность «поровну«Чтобы не позволить« нескольким людям накопить все богатство и богатство страны ». Через четыре месяца после провозглашения независимости газета Pennsylvania Packet сообщила о предложении законодательного органа штата облагать налогом богатство, «уменьшая имущество, когда оно становится чрезмерным для отдельных лиц».

Во время войны за независимость были широко распространенные государственные и местные усилия по регулированию цен товаров и услуг. Правила опирались на этот новый эгалитарный идеал и средневековые предположения о том, что сообщество может устанавливать цены для нужд.

Такие поселенцы, как они, в округе Кастер, штат Небраска, в 1870 году получили бесплатные или недорогие земли от правительства в соответствии с Законом о фермах.
Такие поселенцы, как они, в округе Кастер, штат Небраска, в 1870 году получили бесплатные или недорогие земли от правительства в соответствии с Законом о фермах.
Bettman / Getty Images

Раннее равенство

Когда война закончилась, американцы праздновали независимость и восприятие что их детская страна была самой эгалитарной на Земле. Прославленный лексикограф Ной Вебстер в своем Брошюра 1787 года в поддержку предложенной Конституции СШАвысказал широко распространенное мнение о том, что американская республика опирается на «всеобщее и сносно равное распределение земельной собственности».


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Но многие американские лидеры и писатели боялись будущего. Штаты выпустили векселя для сбора денег. Состоятельные купцы скупили их с большими скидками - и теперь потребовал полного погашения, Усилия, направленные на то, чтобы заплатить им путем введения ужасно высоких налогов на недвижимость, привели к восстанию западная Новая Англия и восточная Пенсильвания которые были едва сдержаны. Хаос и конфликт под угрозой.

Борьба с неравенством так же стара, как сама АмерикаМятежник и сторонник правительства ссорятся из-за налогового бремени во время восстания Шея. Bettman / Getty Images

Перед угрозой богатства

Американцы предложили различные решения на угрозу развращения богатства и власти. В 1785 году Томас Джефферсон предложенный прогрессивные налоги на недвижимость. В 1797 году знаменитый писатель-революционер Томас Пейн порекомендовал налог на недвижимость ежегодные пенсии по старости и небольшая оплата каждому человеку в возрасте 21 года. Наиболее распространенными были призывает ограничить земельные владения, Однако эти предложения провалились, в основном потому, что американцам не нравились налоги и сильные правительства.

Но новая нация действительно сделала одно заметное усилие для более равного будущего: государства отменили влечет за собой и первородство. Эти Английские правовые традиции служил для концентрации богатства и власти между поколениями, предотвращая продажу или изменение части имущества (влечет за собой) и передавая все это старшему сыну (первородство).

К концу 18 века почти в каждом штате Запрет влечет за собой и требует равного разделения сословий, владельцы которых умерли без воли. Исследования показали, что, по крайней мере, в Вирджинии, эти реформы сделали уменьшить размер унаследованных ферм, Тем не менее, этот акцент на землю упустил из виду растущую роль капитала в экономике страны. Накопление будет все больше измеряться в долларах, а не в акрах.

Классовый конфликт возрастает

В начале 19-го века, зависимый от рабства хлопковые фермы на юге и производители товаров в набухающих северных городах расширяются операции. Одним из результатов этого массового производства было то, что богатые стали богаче, часто выставляя напоказ свое богатство. Американцы все чаще говорят о классовый конфликт.

Но большинство лидеров поддержали только умеренные реформы. состояния открыл голосование для всех людей независимо от собственности - ограничивая эту власть белыми. Северные штаты начали создавать системы государственного образования частично для обеспечения экономической мобильности.

Ни одна из этих мер не была связана с эгалитарным перераспределением; на самом деле, прекращение имущественных требований для голосования ослабило такое давление, Предложения по подоходному или имущественному налогу никуда не делись.

Идея о предоставлении федеральных земель (которые были отобраны у аборигенов) в небольших земельных участках для реальных поселенцев, впервые предложенная в 1780-х годах, получила импульс. В 1844 году Национальная Реформационная Ассоциация организовано для оказания давления на Конгресс, чтобы дать отдельным поселенцам до 160 акров федеральной земли. 1862 Закон о Усадьбе при условии, что эта возможность, но не включает ограничения на владение землей, которые также хотел НРО.

Но ближе всего США подошли к более глубоким эгалитарным реформам, пришедшим чуть позже. Во время гражданской войны Конгресс рассматривал перераспределение обширных южных плантаций вольным, наказать предателей и превратить «аристократию» в «демократию». В 1865 году генерал Союза Уильям Т. Шерман осуществил эту идею на прибрежном юго-востоке, дача вольным 40-акровым наделам с армейскими мулами, чтобы помочь пахать. Но после убийства Линкольна новый президент, Эндрю Джонсон, решил восстановить плантации - и белую силу.

Усилия по земельной реформе продолжение, но большинство республиканцев были сосредоточены на защите довоенных прав собственности и прекращении военной оккупации Юга. В конце концов, Конгресс настоял на том, чтобы свободным Право голосоватьи, следовательно, передал 15-я поправка.

Богатство, а затем депрессия

В конце 1870-х годов, после реконструкции, корпоративная власть раздуласьи мужчинам нравится JP Morgan получил и выставил напоказ потрясающие уровни богатства. Идеалы экономического равенства революционной эпохи казались забытыми.

Тем не менее, американцы оставались враждебными к сосредоточенному богатству. В 1892 году народническая партия призвала национализация железных дорог и их огромные земельные владения. В 1895 году конгрессмен из Алабамы Милфорд Ховард предложил ограничение индивидуальной собственности на «все виды имущества» до 1 млн. долларов СШАОстальные конфискованы в казну США.

Опасения по поводу чрезмерного богатства и власти также привели к появлению антимонопольных законов, национального подоходного налога и эгалитарные цели Нового курса. Но процветание после Второй мировой войны иВеликое общество«Программы по борьбе с бедностью в 1960-х и 1970-х годах маргинализировали призывы к более глубоким реформам.

Современные наследники ранних идей

С началом XXI века американцы снова стали беспокоиться о растущее экономическое неравенствои как богатство и власть казались все более и более доминирующими очень немногими. В то же время, постановления федерального суда дал корпорациям больше власти и разрешил неограниченные расходы на кампанию.

С точки зрения 18-го века, поколение основателей Америки будет рассматривать эти события как глубоко коррумпированные. Они также признают и приветствуют недавние предложения о реформах, такие как более высокие налоги на недвижимость и «Налог на имущество» предложенный сенатором Элизабет Уоррен и другими.

Пока американцы обсуждают будущее, стоит помнить, что основатели полагали, что республика зависит от грубого равенства богатства.Беседа

Об авторе

Даниэль Манделл, профессор истории, Государственный университет Трумэна

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Будьте добры к себе и другим
Будьте добры к себе и другим
by Сара Люк Маккой
Что вы хотите?
Что вы хотите?
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что вы хотите?
Что вы хотите?
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

ОТ РЕДАКТОРОВ

Информационный бюллетень InnerSelf: сентябрь 6, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Мы видим жизнь через призму нашего восприятия. Стивен Р. Кови писал: «Мы видим мир не таким, каков он есть, а такими, какие мы есть ──или так, как мы привыкли его видеть». Итак, на этой неделе мы рассмотрим некоторые…
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 30, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Дороги, по которым мы путешествуем сегодня, стары как времена, но для нас они новы. Переживания, которые мы переживаем, стары как времена, но они также новы для нас. То же самое и с…
Когда правда настолько ужасна, что причиняет боль, действуйте
by Мария Т. Рассел, InnerSelf.com
Среди всех ужасов, происходящих в наши дни, меня вдохновляют сияющие лучи надежды. Обычные люди, отстаивающие то, что правильно (и против того, что неправильно). Бейсболисты,…
Когда ты спиной к стене
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
Я люблю интернет. Теперь я знаю, что многие люди могут сказать об этом много плохого, но мне это нравится. Также как я люблю людей в моей жизни - они не идеальны, но я все равно их люблю.
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 23, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Все, наверное, согласятся, что мы живем в странные времена ... новые впечатления, новые взгляды, новые вызовы. Но нас можно воодушевить, вспомнив, что все всегда в движении, ...

The Fight Against Inequality Is As Old As America Itself


Americans are increasingly worried about the rising tide of economic inequality, as fewer control more wealth. For the origins of these concerns, commentators usually point to the Gilded Age at the end of the 19th century, when a few men gained immense wealth and power in the U.S. and workers suffered extreme poverty.

But fears of great wealth and the need for economic equality go back to the country’s origins.

Wealth as a danger to the nation

By the 1700s, Anglo-Americans generally believed that the best government was a republic that would ensure the public good by avoiding concentrated wealth. The British political tradition limited voting to men who owned property; about 20% in England, but 50% to 80% in their American colonies.

In 1773, as the colonies drew closer to revolt, New Haven minister Benjamin Trumbull urged elected officials to keep property “equally divided,” to not allow “a few persons to amass all the riches and wealth of a country.” Four months after the Declaration of Independence, the Pennsylvania Packet newspaper reported a proposal for the state’s legislature to tax wealth, “lessening property when it becomes excessive in individuals.”

During the war for independence, there were widespread state and local efforts to regulate prices of goods and services. The rules drew on this new egalitarian ideal and medieval assumptions that a community could set prices for necessities.

Settlers like these in Custer County, Nebraska, in 1870, got free or low-cost land from the government under the Homestead Act.
Settlers like these in Custer County, Nebraska, in 1870, got free or low-cost land from the government under the Homestead Act.
Bettman/Getty Images

Early equality

As the war ended, Americans celebrated independence and the perception that their infant country was the most egalitarian on Earth. Famed lexicographer Noah Webster, in his 1787 pamphlet supporting the proposed U.S. Constitution, voiced the widespread view that the American republic relied on the “general and tolerably equal distribution of landed property.”


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

But many American leaders and writers feared the future. States had issued promissory notes to raise money. Wealthy merchants had bought them up at deep discounts – and now demanded full repayment. Efforts to pay them by imposing ruinously high property taxes drove revolts in western New England and eastern Pennsylvania that were barely contained. Chaos and conflict threatened.

The Fight Against Inequality Is As Old As America ItselfA rebel and a government supporter brawl over tax burdens during Shay’s Rebellion. Bettman/Getty Images

Facing the threat of wealth

Americans proposed various solutions to the threat of corrupting wealth and power. In 1785, Thomas Jefferson proposed progressive estate taxes. In 1797, famed Revolutionary writer Thomas Paine recommended an estate tax to fund annual old-age pensions and a small payment to every person at age 21. More common were calls to limit land holdings. These proposals failed, however, largely because Americans disliked taxes and strong governments.

But the new nation did make one noticeable effort for a more equal future: States abolished entail and primogeniture. These English legal traditions had served to concentrate wealth and power across generations by preventing the sale or alteration of part of an estate (entail) and passing all of it to the eldest son (primogeniture).

By the end of the 18th century, nearly every state barred entail and required the equal division of estates whose owners died without a will. Research has found that, at least in Virginia, those reforms did reduce the size of inherited farms. However, this focus on land overlooked the growing role of capital in the nation’s economy. Accumulation would be increasingly measured in dollars rather than acres.

Class conflict rises

During the early 19th century, slavery-dependent cotton farms in the South and producers of goods in the swelling Northern cities expanded operations. One result of this mass production was that the rich became richer, often flaunting their wealth. Americans increasingly spoke of class conflict.

But most leaders supported only moderate reforms. States opened the vote to all men regardless of property – while limiting that power to whites. Northern states began to create public education systems in part to provide for economic mobility.

None of those measures involved egalitarian redistribution; in fact, ending property requirements to vote relieved such pressures. Proposals for income or estate taxes went nowhere.

The idea of giving federal lands (that had been taken from natives) in small allotments for actual settlers, first suggested in the 1780s, did gain momentum. In 1844, the National Reform Association organized to pressure Congress to give individual settlers up to 160 acres of federal land. The 1862 Homestead Act provided that opportunity but did not include limits on land ownership that the NRA had also wanted.

But the closest the U.S. came to deeper egalitarian reforms came a little later. During the Civil War, Congress considered redistributing vast Southern plantations to freedmen, to punish traitors and turn the “aristocracy” into a “democracy.” In 1865, Union General William T. Sherman implemented that idea in the coastal Southeast, giving freedmen 40-acre allotments with Army mules to help plow. But after Lincoln’s assassination, the new president, Andrew Johnson, moved to restore the plantations – and white power.

The land reform efforts continued, but most Republicans were focused on defending prewar property rights and ending military occupation of the South. In the end, Congress insisted that freedmen needed only the right to vote, and therefore passed the 15th Amendment.

Riches, and then depression

In the late 1870s, in the wake of Reconstruction, corporate power ballooned, and men like J.P. Morgan gained and flaunted stunning levels of wealth. The Revolutionary-era ideals of economic equality seemed forgotten.

Still, Americans remained hostile to concentrated wealth. In 1892, the Populist Party called for nationalizing railroads and their huge landholdings. In 1895, Alabama Congressman Milford Howard proposed limiting individual ownership of “all kinds of property” to US$1 million, with the rest forfeited to the U.S. Treasury.

Concerns about excessive wealth and power also drove anti-monopoly laws, a national income tax and the egalitarian goals of the New Deal. But the post-World War II prosperity and the “Great Society” anti-poverty programs in the 1960s and 1970s marginalized calls for deeper reforms.

Modern heirs to early ideas

As the 21st century opened, Americans again became anxious about rising economic inequality, and how wealth and power seemed increasingly dominated by a very few. At the same time, federal court rulings gave corporations more power and permitted unlimited campaign spending.

From their 18th-century perspective, America’s founding generation would view these developments as deeply corrupting. They would also recognize and applaud recent proposals for reforms, like the higher estate taxes and “wealth tax” proposed by Sen. Elizabeth Warren and others.

As Americans debate the future, it’s worth remembering that the Founders believed that the republic depended upon a rough equality of wealth.The Conversation

About the Author

Daniel Mandell, Professor of History, Truman State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…
Adapt to the Unexpected with the Overcome Mind-Set
Adapt to the Unexpected with the Overcome Mind-Set
by Jason Redman
Guess what? Life is unfair, and combat is unequivocally unfair. Crazy things happen in combat that…
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
by Lawrence Doochin
We each have a choice, and let's be clear what that choice is. Martin Luther King Jr. told us that…

MOST READ

Sex in Ancient Cultures and in the Modern World
Sex in Ancient Cultures and in the Modern World
by Dolores Ashcroft-Nowicki
Throughout the recorded history of the world and its religions, the power of sex has been a…
Age of Pisces to Age of Aquarius
Transitioning from the Age of Pisces to the Age of Aquarius
by Ray Grasse
The Age of Aries brought an awakening of the outwardly directed ego, but the more feminine Piscean…
Too Much Sitting Is Bad For You — But Some Types Are Better Than Others
Too Much Sitting Is Bad For You — But Some Types Are Better Than Others
by Wuyou Sui, University of Victoria and Harry Prapavessis, Western University
One old behaviour that has persisted, and has arguably been amplified due to COVID-19, is sitting —…
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
by Osho
Don't think about enlightenment as a goal, it is not. It is not a goal; it is not something that…
How To Live From Your Heart: Three Loving Techniques
How To Live From Your Heart: Three Loving Techniques
by Caroline Sutherland
In order to reach the summit of your own personal mountain, your mandate must be to love, inspire,…
Psychological vs. Predictive Astrology -- Joining the Two into One
Psychological vs. Predictive Astrology -- Joining the Two into One
by Glenn Perry, Ph.D.
Does the real value of astrology reside in its insights into human behavior or in forecasting the…
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Just as adults benefit from talking about their challenges with friends or a therapist, many…
From Dirt to Soil: Life's Manure Makes For Excellent Growth Potential
From Dirt to Soil: Life's Manure Makes For Excellent Growth Potential
by Alan Cohen
If you or I had met Joe during his risqué comedy stint, we might have judged him as a crude or…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.