جائحة الفيروس التاجي هو فرصة لإنشاء مدن بأسعار معقولة

جائحة الفيروس التاجي هو فرصة لإنشاء مدن بأسعار معقولة اجتمع مهاجمون من حي باركديل في تورونتو وزملاؤه من المحتجين خارج محكمة العدل الاجتماعي في أونتاريو في فبراير 2018. رفضت المجموعة دفع الإيجار بعد أن تقدم المالك بطلب زيادة في الإيجارات. الصحافة الكندية / كريس يونغ

تظهر كل أزمة تصدعات في النظام الحالي وتسلط الضوء على عدم المساواة التي تم التغاضي عنها من قبل. مع استحقاق الإيجارات في نهاية كل شهر ، من الصعب تجاهل الجوار المتزايد في كندا وعدم المساواة في الدخل.

وقد أدى جائحة COVID-19 إلى تفاقم هذه المشاكل حيث أصبحت المدن أقل تكلفة. هل ستستمر البلاد في أخطاء العقود السابقة ، مما سيؤدي إلى المزيد من المدن غير المتكافئة؟ أو هل ستوفر هذه الأزمة فرصة لخلق حقا مجرد مدن؟

من خلال شراكة أبحاث تغيير الجوارتعاون الأكاديميون والمدافعون عن المنظمات غير الحكومية وصناع السياسات البلدية لتوثيق وتحليل عدم المساواة واستقطاب الدخل والفقر في سبع مدن كندية. النتائج التي توصل إليها الفريق تظهر أنه مع تحول الحكومات من دعم دولة الرفاهية التقليدية إلى السياسات النيوليبرالية ، أصبحت المدن غير متساوية ومعزولة بشكل متزايد.

جائحة الفيروس التاجي هو فرصة لإنشاء مدن بأسعار معقولة رئيس الوزراء جاستن ترودو (يمين) يقف مع جيسون تشين ، مدير التطوير في مجتمع تورنتو السكني ، خلال زيارة لتطوير الإسكان في حي لورانس هايتس في تورونتو قبل إعلان السياسة ، في 22 نوفمبر ، 2017. الصحافة الكندية / كريس يونغ

ارتفاع أسعار المساكن

مع انتقال البلاد إلى اقتصاد الخدمات والمعرفة خلال الثمانينيات والتسعينيات ، جذبت المزيد من الكنديين إلى المدن للعمل. في الوقت نفسه ، قامت الحكومات بتحرير أسواق العمل والأراضي والأسواق المالية ، وشجعت بناء المساكن الخاصة - وكل ذلك مع التخلي عن بناء المساكن الاجتماعية والإيجارية.

تم تحسين المستودعات القديمة والنوى الحضرية خلال تلك الفترة. أصبح البناء والعقارات والتمويل مهم بشكل متزايد للاقتصاد الكندي - خاصة للمدن الكندية الكبيرة.

بعد الأزمة المالية العالمية في أواخر العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين ، أدت معدلات الفائدة المنخفضة والضمانات الحكومية الفيدرالية لمقرضي الرهن العقاري الخاصين إلى إزالة المخاطر المالية من البنوك وحفزت أ فقاعة العقارات التي زادت المستهلك مستويات الدين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ارتفعت أسعار المساكن مع هذه التغييرات ، وأصبحت نسبة أكبر من الوحدات السكنية الجديدة عمارات أو شقق صغيرة. كان هذا هو الحال بشكل خاص في أحياء وسط المدينة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، استمر المشترون في مناطق الضواحي في تفضيل المنازل المنفصلة التي أصبحت أكثر تكلفة وأكثر صعوبة في تحملها.

زيادة عدم المساواة

ونتيجة لذلك، عدم المساواة في الدخل عبر المدن زيادة. معاملات جيني، المعيار الذهبي لقياس عدم المساواة من قبل علماء الاجتماع ، يظهر هذا بين الأفراد وبين الأحياء بين 1980 و 2015.

ومع ذلك ، يتم اختبار عدم المساواة بشكل مختلف عبر المدن الكندية. شهدت تورنتو دخولًا متزايدة للأحياء في قلبها الحضري ، وتراجع الدخول في ضواحيها الداخلية القديمة التي تجاوزها النمو في المناطق المتقدمة حديثًا خارج تورونتو. شوهدت أنماط مماثلة في فانكوفر وكالجاري.

في مدن أخرى ، تكون الأمور أقل تطرفًا. هاليفاكس ، على سبيل المثال ، من ذوي الخبرة النقاط الساخنة لعدم المساواة.

عبر المدن السبع التي درستها شراكة أبحاث تغيير الجوار ، فقد ما بين 13 في المائة و 32 في المائة من الأحياء أرضية. أي أن الدخول في تلك الأحياء انخفضت مقارنةً بمتوسط ​​دخل أحياء المدينة بين عامي 1980 و 2015. كان لدى وينيبيغ أقل نسبة من الأحياء التي تشهد انخفاضًا ، في حين كانت كالغاري هي الأكثر.

تميل الأحياء الخاسرة إلى إيواء الجماعات العرقية والمهاجرين في مدن أكبر مثل مونتريال وتورنتو وفانكوفر. يميل انخفاض الجوار إلى الحدوث في المناطق التي تضم سكانًا حضريين أصليين في وينيبيغ واللاجئين في هاميلتون وكبار السن في هاليفاكس.

السكن الاجتماعي

تؤثر السياسات الحكومية على ما يتم بناؤه في الأحياء وكيف تعاني عدم المساواة في الدخل عبر المدن. حتى 1970s ، دعمت البرامج الفيدرالية بناء السكن بأسعار معقولة لكن في كندا ، أدى الإيمان المتزايد بالسوق لتلبية احتياجات الإسكان إلى تقويض هذا الالتزام بالقدرة على تحمل التكاليف. بحلول التسعينات ، تم نقل مسؤولية الإسكان الاجتماعي إلى المقاطعات. افتقر الكثير منهم إلى الموارد والالتزام السياسي للاستثمار في الإسكان الاجتماعي.

وبدلاً من ذلك ، شجعت الحكومة الفيدرالية البناء الإسكان الذي يشغله المالك. كما دفعت سياسات المقاطعات النمو الحضري وزادت الضغوط على الحكومات المحلية للسماح للمطورين ببناء وحدات فاخرة.

بحلول عام 2010 ، تحولت كندا من وجود بعض أسواق الإسكان الأكثر بأسعار معقولة حول العالم إلى بين الأقل تكلفة. يجد العديد من الكنديين أنفسهم الآن مغلقين من العيش في أكبر مدن البلاد.

لعبت سياسات ولوائح التخطيط دورًا رئيسيًا. في وقت مبكر من السبعينيات ، شجعت تورونتو وفانكوفر على التدفق الحضري والتكثيف في مناطق وسط المدينة التي حفزت التحسين دون قصد. إنه اتجاه تتبعه مدن أخرى.

عزز المخططون الكنديون بشكل متزايد التنشيط والتجديد الحضري ، مدعومين بفلسفات التخطيط المرتبطة العمران الجديدوالاستدامة والمزيج الاجتماعي والنمو الذكي - كل ذلك ساهم في استقطاب الدخل عبر الأحياء.

في السنوات الأخيرة ، تم إنشاء برامج لتجديد الإسكان العام كما رأينا تورنتو ريجنت بارك. تطبق هذه المبادرات مزيجًا من الأفكار النيوليبرالية والحضرية الجديدة لإحداث تغيير هائل في الجوار. لم يتم بعد رؤية فعالية هذا النهج.

استراتيجية إسكان مستقبلية

في عام 2017 ، أعلنت كندا أ الاستراتيجية الوطنية للإسكان. منذ ذلك الحين ، تم التعهد بتقديم 55 مليار دولار موزعة على 10 سنوات لمتابعة ذلك. في مواجهة تفشي COVID-19 ، نفذت الحكومة الفيدرالية سياسات تحفيز جديدة ، بما في ذلك سياسة جديدة برنامج شراء رهن عقاري مؤمن التي تسمح للحكومة الفيدرالية بشراء الرهون العقارية.

تهدف أموال التحفيز إلى ضمان بقاء البنوك والمقرضين وشركات البناء مربحة خلال فترة الركود COVID-19 على أمل أن يستمر التمويل والعقارات في دفع النمو الاقتصادي في البلاد. ولكن هذا يعزز الإقراض الإضافي الخطير لمشتري المساكن التي يشغلها مالكوها ، مع إمكانية زيادة اختلال أسواق الإسكان في المدن الكندية ، وزيادة مستويات الديون وجعل السكن الإيجاري أقل تكلفة.

كانت القدرة على تحمل التكاليف قضية رئيسية في الانتخابات الفيدرالية للعديد من الكنديين الذين استأجروا منازلهم.

وستكون السياسة الأفضل بناء مساكن اجتماعية ووحدات إيجار بأسعار معقولة على الفور. يجب على الحكومات أيضا أن تواصل السياسات التي يسببها الوباء مثل الحد من الثغرات الطرد من المساكن المؤجرة التجارية والخاصة. وإلا سنواجه موجة من "التجديداتوستبقى الإيجارات بعيدة المنال حيث يشتري رواد الأعمال العقارات في فترة الانتعاش الاقتصادي من تفشي المرض.

إن كندا جاهزة لتنفيذ سياسات جريئة تبني مساكن ميسورة التكلفة لتلبية الاحتياجات المتنوعة لسكانها.

يمكن أن يكون للإنفاق التحفيزي آثار طويلة المدى إذا كان يحمي العمال ، ويسمح للمستأجرين بالحق في البقاء في وحداتهم ويستثمرون في خطوط النقل العام الجديدة التي تجعل المدن أكثر استدامة. لإصلاح عدم المساواة ، ينبغي لنا أيضًا التفكير في اعتماد أ الدخل الأساسي العالمي وسياسات إعادة التوزيع الأخرى.

لدينا فرصة حقيقية لبناء مدن عادلة اجتماعياً. دعونا لا نضيعه.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

هوارد راموس ، أستاذ علم الاجتماع ، جامعة دالهوزي؛ آلان والكس ، أستاذ الجغرافيا ، جامعة تورنتو، وجيل ل غرانت ، أستاذ فخري ، كلية التخطيط ، جامعة دالهوزي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تعزز الفنون الصحة العقلية
كيف تعزز الفنون الصحة العقلية
by بريتاني هاركر مارتن
معضلة حرية الاختيار
معضلة حرية الاختيار
by يزيت شويتميكر

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Coronavirus Pandemic Is An Opportunity To Create Affordable Cities

Coronavirus Pandemic Is An Opportunity To Create Affordable Cities Rent strikers from Toronto’s Parkdale neighbourhood and fellow protesters gather outside Social Justices Tribunal Ontario in February, 2018. The group refused to pay rent after the landlord applied for an increase in rents. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Young

Every crisis shows cracks in the current system and points a glaring spotlight on the inequities that were overlooked before. As rents are due at the end of each month, Canada’s rising neighbourhood and income inequality is hard to ignore.

The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated these problems as cities become less affordable. Will the country continue the mistakes of previous decades, leading to even more unequal cities? Or will this crisis offer an opportunity to create truly just cities?

Through the Neighbourhood Change Research Partnership, academics, NGO advocates and municipal policymakers teamed up to document and analyze inequality, income polarization and poverty across seven Canadian cities. The team’s findings show that as governments shifted from traditional welfare state supports to neoliberal policies, cities became increasingly unequal and segregated.

Coronavirus Pandemic Is An Opportunity To Create Affordable Cities Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (right) stands with Jason Chen, development director at Toronto Community Housing, during a visit to a housing development in Toronto’s Lawrence Heights neighbourhood ahead of a policy announcement, on Nov. 22, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Young

Rising housing prices

As the country transitioned to a service and knowledge economy during the 1980s and 1990s, it drew more Canadians to cities for work. At the same time, governments deregulated labour, land and financial markets, and promoted private housing construction — all while abandoning the building of social and rental housing.

Old warehouses and urban cores were gentrified during that period. Construction, real estate and finance became increasingly important to the Canadian economy — especially for large Canadian cities.

After the global financial crisis in the late 2000s, low interest rates and federal government guarantees for private mortgage lenders removed financial risk from banks and stimulated a real estate bubble that increased consumer debt levels.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Housing prices rose with these changes, and a greater share of new residential units became small condominiums or apartments. This was particularly the case in downtown neighbourhoods. Meanwhile, buyers in suburban areas continued to prefer detached houses that became more expensive and harder to afford.

Increasing inequality

As a result, income inequality across cities increased. Gini coefficients, the gold standard for measuring inequality by social scientists, show this among individuals and among neighbourhoods between 1980 and 2015.

Inequality, however, is experienced differently across Canadian cities. Toronto saw increasing neighbourhood incomes in its urban core, and declining incomes in its aging inner suburbs that have been outflanked by growth in newly developed areas outside Toronto. Similar patterns were seen in Vancouver and Calgary.

In other cities, things are less extreme. Halifax, for instance, experienced hot spots of inequality.

Across the seven cities studied by the Neighbourhood Change Research partnership, between 13 per cent and 32 per cent of neighbourhoods lost ground. That is, the incomes in those neighbourhoods decreased relative to the average income of a city’s neighbourhoods between 1980 and 2015. Winnipeg had the lowest share of neighbourhoods experiencing decline, while Calgary had the most.

Neighbourhoods losing ground tended to house racialized groups and immigrants in larger cities like Montréal, Toronto and Vancouver. Neighbourhood decline tended to occur in areas with urban Indigenous peoples in Winnipeg, refugees in Hamilton and seniors in Halifax.

Social housing

Government policies affect what is built in neighbourhoods and how income inequality is experienced across cities. Until the 1970s, federal programs supported the building of affordable housing in Canada, but a growing faith in the market to address housing needs undermined that commitment to affordability. By the 1990s, responsibility for social housing was transferred to the provinces. Many of them lacked the resources and the political commitment to invest in social housing.

The federal government instead encouraged building owner-occupied housing. Provincial policies also pushed urban growth and increased pressures on local governments to allow developers to build luxury units.

By the 2010s, Canada transitioned from having some of the most affordable housing markets around the world to among the least affordable. Many Canadians now find themselves shut out of living in the country’s largest cities.

Planning policies and regulations played a key role. As early as the 1970s, Toronto and Vancouver encouraged urban infill and densification in downtown areas that inadvertently stimulated gentrification. It is a trend followed by other cities.

Canadian planners increasingly promoted urban revitalization and regeneration, supported by planning philosophies associated with new urbanism, sustainability, social mix and smart growth — all of which contributed to income polarization across neighbourhoods.

In recent years, programs have been created to renew public housing as seen with Toronto’s Regent Park. These initiatives apply a mix of neoliberal and new-urbanist ideas to generate massive neighbourhood change. The effectiveness of this approach is yet to be seen.

A future housing strategy

In 2017, Canada announced a National Housing Strategy. Since then, $55 billion spread over 10 years has been promised to pursue it. In the face of the COVID-19 outbreak, the federal government implemented new stimulus policies, including a new Insured Mortgage Purchase Program that allows the federal government to buy up mortgages.

The stimulus money aims to ensure that the banks, lenders and construction companies remain profitable during the COVID-19 recession in the hopes that finance and real estate can continue to drive economic growth in the country. But this promotes additional risky lending to buyers of owner-occupied housing with the potential to further imbalance housing markets in Canadian cities, increasing debt levels and making rental housing even less affordable.

Affordability was a key issue in the federal election for many Canadians who rent their home.

A better policy would be to immediately build social housing and affordable rental units. Governments should also continue pandemic-induced policies like limiting loopholes for eviction from commercial and private rental housing. Otherwise, we will face a wave of “renovictions” and rents will continue to be out of reach as entrepreneurs buy up properties in the economic recovery period of the outbreak.

Canada is ripe for implementing bold policies that build affordable housing to meet the diverse needs of its population.

Stimulus spending can have long-term impacts if it protects workers, allows tenants the right to remain in their units and invests in new public transit lines that make cities more sustainable. To fix inequality, we should also consider adopting a universal basic income and other redistributive policies.

We have a real chance at building socially just cities. Let’s not waste it.The Conversation

About The Author

Howard Ramos, Professor of Sociology, Dalhousie University; Alan Walks, Professor, Geography, University of Toronto, and Jill L Grant, Professor Emeritus, School of Planning, Dalhousie University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)