هل حان الوقت للقلق بشأن الركود القادم؟

آسف لتقديم الأخبار ، ولكن حان الوقت للقلق بشأن الانهيار التالي.

إن المزيج من الأجور الراكدة مع معظم المكاسب الاقتصادية التي تتجه إلى الأعلى هو مرة أخرى يعرض الاقتصاد للخطر.

لا يزال معظم الأمريكيين يعيشون في ظل الركود العظيم الذي بدأ في ديسمبر 2007 وانتهى رسميًا في يونيو 2009. المزيد من الوظائف ، للتأكد. لكنهم لم يروا أي ارتفاع في أجورهم ، معدلة للتضخم.

العديد منهن أسوأ بسبب التكاليف المتصاعدة للإسكان والرعاية الصحية والتعليم. وقيمة الأصول التي يملكونها أقل من 2007. مما يوحي بأننا نهتم باتجاه نفس النوع من الانهيار الذي كان لدينا في ذلك الوقت ، وربما كان سيئًا مثل 1929.

قم بإزالة الأنقاض المالية عن هذين الحادثين السابقين ، وسترى أنهما يتبعان اختلافات متزايدة بين قدرة معظم الناس على الشراء ، وما يمكن أن ينتجه العمال. كل من هذه الاختلالات أدت في النهاية إلى قلب الاقتصاد.

نفس الخلل قد ينمو مرة أخرى. أغنى 1 في المئة من الأمريكيين يأخذون الآن إلى الوطن عن 20 في المئة من إجمالي الدخل ، وتمتلك أكثر من 40 في المئة من ثروة البلاد.

هذه قريبة من قمم 1928 و 2007.

المشكلة الأساسية ليست أن الأمريكيين عاشوا بما يتجاوز إمكانياتهم. إنها أن وسائلهم لم تواكب الاقتصاد المتنامي. معظم المكاسب ذهبت إلى القمة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن الأغنياء لا ينفقون سوى جزء صغير من ما يكسبونه. يعتمد الاقتصاد على إنفاق الأسر المتوسطة والطبقة العاملة.

وبحلول الربع الأول من هذا العام ، كانت ديون الأسر في أعلى مستوياتها على الإطلاق ، حيث بلغت عشرة تريليون دولار. تقريبا 13.2 في المئة من الأميركيين يعيشون الآن صك الراتب لدفع شيك.

كانت مشابهة في السنوات التي سبقت تحطم 2007. بين 1983 و 2007 ، ارتفعت الديون المنزلية في حين أن معظم المكاسب الاقتصادية ذهبت إلى الأعلى. إذا كانت غالبية الأسر قد استولت على حصة أكبر ، لما كانوا بحاجة إلى الدخول في الديون.

وبالمثل ، بين 1913 و 1928 ، تضاعفت تقريبا نسبة الدين الشخصي إلى إجمالي الاقتصاد الوطني. بعد انهيار 1929 ، ابتكرت الحكومة طرقًا جديدة لتعزيز الأجور - الضمان الاجتماعي ، والتأمين ضد البطالة ، وأجور العمل الإضافي ، والحد الأدنى للأجور ، والمتطلب من أرباب العمل المساومة مع النقابات العمالية ، وأخيرا ، برنامج التوظيف الكامل الذي أطلق عليه اسم الحرب العالمية الثانية.

بعد انهيار 2007 ، قامت الحكومة بإنقاذ البنوك وضخ ما يكفي من المال في الاقتصاد لاحتواء الشريحة. ولكن بصرف النظر عن قانون الرعاية الميسرة التكلفة ، لم يتم عمل أي شيء لمعالجة المشكلة الكامنة وراء الأجور الراكدة.

والآن يعمل ترامب وعملائه الجمهوريون على عكس اللوائح التي وضعت لمنع الإقراض المفرط في وول ستريت.

لكن إسهامات ترامب الحقيقية في الانهيار التالي هي تخريبه لقانون الرعاية بأسعار معقولة ، والتراجع عن أجور العمل الإضافي ، والأعباء على تنظيم العمل ، وتخفيضات الضرائب على الشركات والأثرياء ولكن ليس لمعظم العمال ، وتخفيضات البرامج للفقراء ، والتخفيضات المقترحة في Medicare و Medicaid - وكل ذلك يضع مزيدًا من الضغط على رواتب معظم الأمريكيين.

بعد عشر سنوات من بداية الركود العظيم ، من المهم أن نفهم أن السبب الحقيقي للانهيار لم يكن أزمة مصرفية. كان الاختلال المتنامي بين الإنفاق الاستهلاكي والإنتاج الإجمالي - الذي جلبته الأجور الراكدة وتفاوت اللامساواة.

هذا الاختلال عاد. مشاهدة محافظك.

عن المؤلف

روبرت رايخوكان روبرت ب. REICH، أستاذ المستشار للسياسة العامة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، وزير العمل في إدارة كلينتون. أطلقت مجلة تايم منه واحدا من أمناء مجلس الوزراء 10 الأكثر فعالية من القرن الماضي. وقد كتب الكتب ثلاثة عشر، بما في ذلك الكتب مبيعا "هزة ارتدادية"و"الذي تضطلع به الأمم". وأحدث مؤلفاته"ما بعد الغضب، "هو الآن في غلاف عادي، وهو أيضا محرر مؤسس في مجلة بروسبكت الأمريكية ورئيس قضية مشتركة.

كتب روبرت رايش

إنقاذ الرأسمالية: للكثيرين وليس القليل - بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

0345806220لقد تم الاحتفاء بأميركا من قبل وتعرفها من قبل الطبقة الوسطى الكبيرة والمزدهرة. الآن ، هذه الطبقة الوسطى تتقلص ، الأوليغارشية الجديدة آخذة في الارتفاع ، وتواجه البلاد أكبر تفاوت في ثرواتها في ثمانين سنة. لماذا يخسرنا النظام الاقتصادي الذي جعل أميركا قوية فجأة ، وكيف يمكن إصلاحها؟

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = robert reich؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Is It Time To Start Worrying About The Next Recession?

inequality

Sorry to deliver the news, but it’s time to worry about the next crash.

The combination of stagnant wages with most economic gains going to the top is once again endangering the economy. 

Most Americans are still living in the shadow of the Great Recession that started in December 2007 and officially ended in June 2009. More have jobs, to be sure. But they haven’t seen any rise in their wages, adjusted for inflation.

Many are worse off due to the escalating costs of housing, healthcare, and education. And the value of whatever assets they own is less than in 2007. Which suggests we’re careening toward the same sort of crash we had then, and possibly as bad as 1929.

Clear away the financial rubble from those two former crashes and you’d see they both followed upon widening imbalances between the capacity of most people to buy, and what they as workers could produce. Each of these imbalances finally tipped the economy over.

The same imbalance has been growing again. The richest 1 percent of Americans now takes home about 20 percent of total income, and owns over 40 percent of the nation’s wealth.

These are close to the peaks of 1928 and 2007.

The underlying problem isn’t that Americans have been living beyond their means. It’s that their means haven’t been keeping up with the growing economy. Most gains have gone to the top.

But the rich only spend a small fraction of what they earn. The economy depends on the spending of middle and working class families.

By the first quarter of this year, household debt was at an all-time high of $13.2 trillion. Almost 80 percent of Americans are now living paycheck to paycheck.

It was similar in the years leading up to the crash of 2007. Between 1983 and 2007, household debt soared while most economic gains went to the top. If the majority of households had taken home a larger share, they wouldn’t have needed to go so deeply into debt.

Similarly, between 1913 and 1928, the ratio of personal debt to the total national economy nearly doubled. After the 1929 crash, the government invented new ways to boost wages – Social Security, unemployment insurance, overtime pay, a minimum wage, the requirement that employers bargain with labor unions, and, finally, a full-employment program called World War II.

After the 2007 crash, the government bailed out the banks and pumped enough money into the economy to contain the slide. But apart from the Affordable Care Act, nothing was done to address the underlying problem of stagnant wages.

Trump and his Republican enablers are now reversing regulations put in place to stop Wall Street’s excessively risky lending.

But Trump’s real contributions to the next crash are his sabotage of the Affordable Care Act, rollback of overtime pay, burdens on labor organizing, tax reductions for corporations and the wealthy but not for most workers, cuts in programs for the poor, and proposed cuts in Medicare and Medicaid – all of which put more stress on the paychecks of most Americans.

Ten years after the start of the Great Recession, it’s important to understand that the real root of the collapse wasn’t a banking crisis. It was the growing imbalance between consumer spending and total output – brought on by stagnant wages and widening inequality.

That imbalance is back. Watch your wallets.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

Related Books

The Common Good
inequalityAuthor: Robert B. Reich
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Knopf
List Price: $22.95

Buy Now

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few
inequalityAuthor: Robert B. Reich
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Vintage
List Price: $15.00

Buy Now

Economics In Wonderland: Robert Reich's Cartoon Guide To A Political World
inequalityAuthor: Robert Reich
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Fantagraphics Books
List Price: $19.99

Buy Now

inequality
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}