Почему бедность растет быстрее в пригородах, чем в городах

Почему бедность растет быстрее в пригородах, чем в городах
Американский пригород.
jansgate / Flickr, CC BY-NC-ND

В США география бедности меняется. Согласно майскому отчету 2018 исследовательского центра Pew, поскольку 2000, пригородные округа пережили более резкое увеличение бедности, чем городские или сельские округа.

Это согласуется с исследования в США за последнее десятилетие - а также мою собственную книгу, «Места в нужде».

Пригородничество нищеты является одной из самых важных демографических тенденций последних 50 лет. Уровень бедности в пригородном ландшафте увеличился на 50 процентов с 1990. В то время число жителей пригородных районов, проживающих в районах с высоким уровнем бедности, почти утроилось.

Эти новые тенденции происходят не только после Великой рецессии. В 1990 в пригородах крупнейших мегаполисов 100 США было почти столько же бедных людей, как в городах этих метрополитенов, хотя уровень бедности в городах был значительно выше.

Почему в пригородах бедность растет быстрее, чем в городах? Есть много причин, Часть населения в пригородах играет определенную роль - США стали пригородной страной. Однако это не самый важный фактор. Мое исследование что пригородная бедность растет в три раза быстрее, чем численность населения в пригородных общинах по всей стране.

Как и в городах и сельских общинах, нищета растет в пригородах из-за меняющегося характера рынка труда. Для тех, кто работает с низким уровнем квалификации, прибыль за последние 40 лет, В большинстве пригородов уровень безработицы в 2014 был вдвое выше, чем в 1990. Хорошие рабочие места, которые не требуют повышения квалификации, начали исчезать в пригородах, как и в центральных городах более четверти века назад.

Эти национальные тенденции в области занятости способствовали повсеместному росту масштабов нищеты, но воздействие особенно остро ощущалось в пригородах, где имеется большой процент работников без высшего образования или профессиональной подготовки.

Растущая пригородная бедность имеет удивительные последствия для системы безопасности. Во многих пригородах нет необходимых ресурсов реагировать на растущую бедность. Например, я обнаружил, что типичное уездное графство тратит почти 10 раз столько же на программы обслуживания людей на человека с низким доходом, сколько на типичный пригородный округ.

Что может быть сделано? У меня есть несколько предложений.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Во-первых, США должны поддерживать федеральное финансирование программ социальной защиты, таких как продовольственные талоны, которые эффективны для сокращения масштабов нищеты, Увеличение государственного финансирования программ обслуживания людей также поможет поддержать тех, кто выветривает период безработицы или стремится продвинуться на рынке труда. Сообщества должны найти пути для развития нового поколения местных лидеров и некоммерческих организаций, способных решать проблемы бедности в пригородных районах.

БеседаНаконец, проблемы бедности продолжают расти, хотя и медленнее, в городах и сельских общинах. По географическим границам нация имеет общий интерес к борьбе с бедностью. Если мы не сможем собраться вместе по этому вопросу, мы не добьемся успеха в этом бою в любом месте - городском, сельском или пригородном.

Об авторе

Скотт У. Аллард, профессор социальной политики, Университет Вашингтона

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги этого автора

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Скотт В. Аллард; maxresults = 2}

Раскрыть книги от этого автора

{amazonWS: searchindex = KindleStore; ключевые слова = Скотт В. Аллард; maxresults = 2}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why Poverty Is Rising Faster In Suburbs Than In Cities

Why Poverty Is Rising Faster In Suburbs Than In Cities
An American suburb.
jansgate/flickr, CC BY-NC-ND

In the U.S., the geography of poverty is shifting. According to a May 2018 report from the Pew Research Center, since 2000, suburban counties have experienced sharper increases in poverty than urban or rural counties.

This is consistent with research across the U.S. over the past decade – as well as my own book, “Places in Need.”

The suburbanization of poverty is one of the most important demographic trends of the last 50 years. Poverty rates across the suburban landscape have increased by 50 percent since 1990. The number of suburban residents living in high poverty areas has almost tripled in that time.

These new trends are not just occurring in the wake of the Great Recession. In 1990, there were nearly as many poor people in the suburbs of the largest 100 U.S. metropolitan areas as within the cities of those metros, even though poverty rates historically have been much higher in cities.

Why is poverty rising faster in suburbs than in cities? There are many reasons. Population growth in suburbs plays a part – the U.S. has become a suburban nation. However, that’s not the most important factor. My research finds that suburban poverty is growing three times faster than population size in suburban communities across the country.

As in cities and rural communities, poverty is rising in suburbs because of the changing nature of the labor market. For those in low-skill jobs, earnings have stayed flat for the last 40 years. In most suburbs, unemployment rates were twice as high in 2014 as in 1990. Good-paying jobs that don’t require advanced training have started to disappear in suburbs, just as they did in central cities more than a quarter century ago.

These national employment trends have contributed to rising poverty everywhere, but the impact has been particularly acute in suburbs, where there are a large percentage of workers without advanced education or vocational training.

Rising suburban poverty has surprising implications for the safety net. Many suburbs lack the resources needed to respond to growing poverty. For example, I’ve found the typical urban county spends nearly 10 times as much on human service programs per low-income person as the typical suburban county.

What can be done? I have a few suggestions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


First, the U.S. must maintain federal funding of safety net programs like food stamps, which are effective at reducing poverty. Increasing public funding of human service programs also will help to support those weathering a spell of unemployment or seeking to advance in the labor market. Communities must find ways to cultivate a new generation of local leaders and nonprofit organizations capable of tackling suburban poverty challenges.

The ConversationFinally, poverty problems continue to rise, albeit at slower rates, in cities and rural communities. Across geographic boundaries, the nation has a shared interest in the fight against poverty. If we cannot come together on this issue, we will not be successful in that fight in any one place – urban, rural or suburban.

About The Author

Scott W. Allard, Professor of Social Policy, University of Washington

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Scott W. Allard;maxresults=2}

Kindle Books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=KindleStore;keywords=Scott W. Allard;maxresults=2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…