أساطير 4 حول المشردين

أساطير 4 حول المشردين
كارين سندركر
, مؤلف المنصوص

عدد متزايد من الناس ينامون بالخارج في الخيام ، والمداخل ، وتحت الجسور. في انجلترا، 4,751 الناس "ينامون خشنًا" في ليلة واحدة في الخريف 2017 ، وهي زيادة بنسبة 15٪ من 2016. في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، 192,875 كان الناس غير مأوى في ليلة معينة في يناير ، بزيادة 9٪ من 2016.

تشهد كل من المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة والعديد من الدول الأخرى حول العالم ارتفاعًا واضحًا في مخيمات الخيام القانونية وغير القانونية. تم ذكر مدن الخيام في لندن، وكذلك في ميلتون كينز، بريستول ، كارديف ، مانشستر, أكسفورد وشيفيلد. عبر الولايات المتحدة ، مدن الخيام تنمو في سان فرانسيسكو ولوس أنجلوس وواشنطن العاصمة وسانت لويس ولاس كروسيس وإنديانابوليس وهونولولو.

في الولايات المتحدة ، تعتبر مدينة سياتل جزءًا مهمًا من هذا الاتجاه - ولكن مهملة نسبياً. سياتل أعلنت مؤخرا حالة الطوارئ على التشرد وتوسيع مدن الخيام المقبولة قانونًا ، وتميزها على المستوى الوطني والعالمي. تعد خيمة مدينة سياتل 3 أقدم خيمة معترف بها في الولايات المتحدة. المعسكر المنظم ديمقراطيا يعمل تحت مدونة صارمة للسلوك وتتنقل بين الكنائس والأحياء والجامعات كل أيام 90 وفقًا لميثاق المدينة.

بين 2012 و 2018 ، استضافت جامعة سياتل باسيفيك Tent City 3 ثلاث مرات. خلال إقامتهم أجرينا المقابلات مع أكثر من سكان 60. تتحدى البيانات ما نعتقد أننا نعرفه عن أسباب التشرد وشخصية الأشخاص الذين يختبرونه.

الأسطورة 1: الأشخاص الذين هم بلا مأوى لديهم أمراض أكبر

إن الصورة النمطية للشخص الذي لا مأوى له هو رجل مريض عقلياً ، وهو أشعث يتعاطى مع الأدوية أو الكحول. في حين أن الرجال العازبين هم أكثر الفئات الديموغرافية عرضة للتشرد ، في الولايات المتحدة ، تمثل العائلات التي لديها أطفال الثلث من مجموع السكان المشردين - الوقوع في التشرد بسبب فقدان الوظائف والعنف المنزلي والطلاق والطرد والأزمات الصحية.

في حالة أولئك الذين يعانون من المشردين الذين يعانون من المرض العقلي أو الإدمان ، غالباً ما تبدأ هذه المشاكل الصحية بعد فقدان منازلهم ، وذلك بسبب الضغط على العيش في الشوارع. على سبيل المثال ، انهارت حياة واد بعد أن أصيبت ابنته بجروح خطيرة وفشلت شركته في النقل بالشاحنات. مع شركته ذهبت بدون تأمين صحي ، بدأ ويد "يشرب ... وأصبح يائساً. لقد تسبب في طلاقه ... كان ذلك بداية النهاية ".

وكثيرا ما يأتي الكحول والمخدرات بعد هذه الحقيقة ، وتستخدم لتخدير الألم والوحدة ، والاكتئاب من التشرد. في قضية تراتسي ، أدى التعرض للاغتصاب أثناء المأوى إلى مشكلات في الصحة العقلية ، عولجت بها عن طريق المخدرات والكحول:

كنت أرغب في تقديم المشورة ، ومن ثم قام مسؤول الحالة بإعدادي ليرى واحدًا من تقلصاتهم ، وكان ذلك في الواقع ، كان لدينا خطة ... لكنني لم أتأهل للحصول على مساعدة لأنني أقوم بالتدبير الذاتي ... ولكن أنا أدافع عن نفسي لأني أستطيع احصل على المساعدة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


In الدوائر الأكاديميةوكثيراً ما يُنظر إلى التدخل والعلاج الطبي على أنه الحل للتشرد. في حين أن هذا صحيح في بعض الأحيان ، فهو فهم غير مكتمل.

أسطورة 2: لا يريد الأشخاص الذين لا مأوى لهم عملًا منتظمًا

وغالبا ما يلام الأفراد بسبب تشردهم. الناس الذين هم بلا مأوى هم ينظر في كثير من الأحيان ككاسل ، ينقصه أخلاقيات العمل وغير مسؤول. ومع ذلك ، تظهر أبحاثنا أن العديد من الأشخاص الذين لا مأوى لهم يواصلون العمل. بعض 25٪ من المقيمين في Tent City 3 كانوا يعملون بدوام كامل أو جزئي ، وكان 30٪ آخر يبحثون عن عمل بنشاط و 20٪ متقاعدين أو غير قادرين على العمل بسبب الإعاقة أو مشاكل صحية أخرى. وبدلاً من أن يكون الشخص كسولًا ، فإن عدم توفر فرص العمل ، والمهارات المحدودة أو التعليم ، وانخفاض الأجور جعلهم بلا مأوى. كما أخبرنا جورج:

إذا خفضوا الإيجار ، يمكنني العيش هنا. انها هذا الإيجار. هذا ليس جيدًا ، إنه مرتفع جدًا. بعض الناس حصلوا على وظيفتين وما زالوا غير قادرين على تحمل مكان ذلك الإيجار.

هذا صحيح بشكل خاص في ضوء الأزمة المالية الأخيرة. واقترح ألونزو: "أي شخص بالخارج لا يوجد سوى شيك راتب واحد من كونه بلا مأوى".

أسطورة 3: يختار الناس أن يكونوا بلا مأوى

قصص من سكان مدينة TENT 3 مليئة بالمتاعب الاقتصادية ، واضطرابات الأسرة ، والأزمات الصحية كأسباب مسببة للتشرد. في الواقع ، على أساس 2018 مسح في سياتل ، قال 98٪ أنهم سينتقلون إلى مساكن آمنة وبأسعار معقولة إذا توفرت. هناك حالات نادرة من الاختيار الشخصي لصالح نمط حياة بلا مأوى - التهرب من العمل والمسؤولية - ولكن هذا ليس هو القاعدة.

بالنسبة للبعض ، الطفولة المثقلة بالنزاع وعدم الاستقرار - من العيش في نظام الحضانة إلى العيش في عائلات مسيئة - أدت مباشرة إلى التشرد. أخبرنا ميغيل كيف جاء من منزل كحولي نموذجي:

تم وضعي في الحضانة وخارجها ... وأصبحت طفلاً مشكلة ، كما تعلمون ، وكل شيء من هذا القبيل وبدأت في شرب الخمر والتخدير عندما كان عمري 11.

هناك أمثلة مختارة من "اختيار" الناس ليصبحوا بلا مأوى ، مثل كاندي ، الذي فعل ذلك بعد وفاة ابنتها:

هذه المرة أستطيع أن أقول بصراحة أنني اخترت ذلك ... اخترت أن أضع ابنتي بعيدا بسلام بدلا من دفع فواتيري. كان باختياره ، اخترت لدفن طفلي.

في حين أن هذا مثال متطرف ، إلا أن الخيارات محدودة للغاية. يجب أن نكون متشككين في القصص حول اختيار أن نكون بلا مأوى. مثل هذه الإعلانات هي تأكيدات من وكالة تجنب الألم والخسارة والفشل ومحاولات "إنقاذ الذات". وأعرب السكان عن الرغبة في الخروج من التشرد.

أسطورة 4: الخدمات الاجتماعية تعالج المشكلة

معظم الحكومات المحلية والمنظمات غير الهادفة للربح والكنائس معظمها معالجة التشرد من خلال توفير الاحتياجات الأساسية ، مثل الغذاء والمأوىلكنهم يفعلون القليل لمساعدة الناس في العثور على منازل. حتى مع السياسة التقدمية في سياتل والاقتصاد الآخذ في التوسع ، لا تملك المدينة الموارد ولا الخطط للتعامل بشكل ملائم مع نطاق المشكلة ، يستمر في الزيادة.

روى جين كيف فقدت شقتها بعد نقلها إلى المستشفى:

إذا أخبرتهم بأنك بلا مأوى ، فإنهم يرسلون الأخصائي الاجتماعي ، ولم يكن لديها أي فكرة. كانت مثل "هنا ، وهنا كتيب" ، وكنت مثل ، "عظيم ، شكرا ، وهذا مفيد حقا".

يدل سخرية الساكن على نقص الخدمات والموارد المفيدة للناس ، لاسيما السكن غير المناسب والعاملين الاجتماعيين. شارك فرانك ، وهو أب وحيد ، الدعم الذي يحتاج إليه هو والآخرون بشدة:

لذا ، أنا في الأسفل ، لا أستطيع فعل أي شيء سوى الصعود. وأنا أعلم أنني لا أستطيع القيام بذلك بنفسي. أحتاج إلى رعاية الناس لدعم لي.

التصورات العامة حول مسألة التشرد. يمكنهم على حد سواء توسيع فهمنا أو تعمل على تعزيز التحيز لدينا. في حين أن سكان Tent City 3 قد لا يكونوا نموذجًا للسكان الذين لا مأوى لهم (من المرجح أن يكونوا من ذوي البشرة البيضاء ، وأنهم يعانون من مرض عقلي أقل خطورة ، وأن عددًا أقل من يعانون من مشكلات الاعتماد على الكحول والمخدرات) ، فإنهم يسلطون الضوء على تزايد عدد العاملين الفقراء ، الذين لا يستطيعون تحمل تكاليف السكن.

المحادثةإن القصص من مدن الخيام تعزز الكثير مما ذكره علماء التشرد منذ زمن طويل أنظمة اجتماعية أوسع (عدم المساواة الاقتصادية ، وضعف شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي ، وضعف سوق العمل ، وارتفاع تكاليف الإسكان) هي الأسباب الرئيسية من التشرد.

عن المؤلفين

كارين إيه سندركر ، زائرة أكاديمية ، مركز الدراسات الاجتماعية والقانونية ، جامعة أكسفورد وجنيفر ماكيني ، أستاذة علم الاجتماع ، جامعة سياتل باسيفيك

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب كارين A Snedker

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Karen A Snedker؛ maxresults = 1}

كتاب جنيفر مكينى

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Jennifer McKinney؛ maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

4 Myths About The Homeless

4 Myths About The Homeless
Karen Snedker
, Author provided

An increasing number of people are sleeping outside in tents, doorways, and under bridges. In England, 4,751 people “slept rough” on a single night in autumn 2017, an increase of 15% from 2016. In the United States, 192,875 people were unsheltered on a given night in January, a 9% increase from 2016.

Both the UK and the US, and many other countries around the world, are witnessing a visible rise in tent encampments, legal and illegal. Tent cities have been reported in London, as well as in Milton Keynes, Bristol, Cardiff, Manchester, Oxford and Sheffield. Across the US, tent cities are growing in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Washington, DC, St. Louis, Las Cruces, Indianapolis and Honolulu.

In the US, the city of Seattle is as an important – but relatively overlooked – part of this trend. Seattle recently declared a state of emergency on homelessness and is expanding legally sanctioned tent cities, setting it apart nationally and globally. Seattle’s Tent City 3 is the oldest sanctioned tent encampment in the US. The democratically organised encampment operates under a strict code of conduct and moves between churches, neighbourhoods and universities every 90 days in accordance with a city charter.

Between 2012 and 2018, Seattle Pacific University has hosted Tent City 3 three times. During their stays we conducted interviews with over 60 residents. The data challenges what we think we know about the causes of homelessness and the character of the people who experience it.

Myth 1: People who are homeless have greater pathologies

The stereotypical image of a person who is homeless is a mentally ill, dishevelled man who self-medicates with drugs or alcohol. While single men are the most likely demographic to be homeless, in the US, families with children represent one-third of the total homeless population – falling into homelessness because of job loss, domestic violence, divorce, evictions and health crises.

In the case of those very visible homeless suffering from mental illness or addiction, these health problems often begin after losing their homes, due to the stress of living on the streets. Wade’s life, for example, unravelled after his daughter was seriously injured and his trucking company failed. With his company gone and without health insurance, Wade “started drinking … and became despondent. It caused my divorce … that was the beginning of the end”.

Alcohol and drugs often come after the fact, used to numb the pain, loneliness, and depression of homelessness. In Tracy’s case, being raped while homeless resulted in mental health issues, which she treated through drugs and alcohol:

I wanted counselling, and so the caseworker set me up to see one of their shrinks and it was actually going to, we had a plan … but I did not qualify for help because I self-medicate … but I self-medicate because I can’t get the help.

In academic circles, medical intervention and treatment is often seen as the solution to homelessness. While this is sometimes true, it is an incomplete understanding.

Myth 2: Homeless people do not want regular work

Individuals are often blamed for their own homelessness. People who are homeless are frequently seen as lazy, lacking a work ethic and irresponsible. Yet our research shows that many people who are homeless continue to work. Some 25% of Tent City 3 residents were working full or part-time, another 30% were actively seeking employment and 20% were retired or unable to work due to disability or other health issues. Rather than being lazy, a lack of jobs, limited skills or education, and low wages kept them homeless. As George told us:

If they lowered the rent, I could live here. It’s that rent. It’s not good, it’s too high. Some people got two jobs and still can’t afford a place with that rent.

This is especially true in light of the recent financial crisis. “Anybody out there is just one paycheck away from being homeless,” suggested Alonzo.

Myth 3: People choose to be homeless

Stories from Tent City 3 residents are full of economic travails, family disruptions, and health crises as precipitating causes of homelessness. In fact, based on a 2018 survey in Seattle, 98% said that they would move into safe and affordable housing if available. There are rare cases of personal choice favouring a homeless lifestyle – evading work and responsibility – but this is not the norm.

For some, childhoods riddled with strife and instability – from living in the foster care system to living in abusive families – led directly to homelessness. Miguel told us how he came from a typical alcoholic home:

I was put in foster care on and off and … I became a problem kid, you know, and everything like that and started drinking and drugging when I was 11 years old.

There are choice examples of people “choosing” to become homeless, such as Candi, who did so after her daughter died:

This time I can honestly say I chose it … I chose to put my daughter away peacefully rather than pay my bills. It was by choice, I chose to bury my child.

While this is an extreme example, very limited choices are typical. We should be sceptical of stories about choosing to be homeless. Such declarations are assertions of agency avoiding the pain, loss, and failure and attempts to “salvage the self”. Residents expressed wanting a way out of homelessness.

Myth 4: Social services are handling the problem

Local governments, non-profit organisations and churches mostly address homelessness by providing basic needs, such as food and shelter, but they do little to help people actually find homes. Even with Seattle’s progressive politics and expanding economy, the city has neither the resources nor the plans to adequately address the scope of the problem, which continues to increase.

Jen recounted how she lost her apartment after her partner was hospitalised:

If you tell them you’re homeless, they send the social worker in, and she basically had no idea. She was like ‘here, here’s a pamphlet’, and I was like, ‘great, thank you, that’s really helpful’.

The resident’s sarcasm signifies the lack of useful services and resources for people, especially inadequate housing and social workers. Frank, a single father, shared the support the he and others desperately need:

So, I’m at the bottom, I can’t do nothing but go up. And I know I can’t do it by myself. I need caring people to support me.

Public perceptions about homelessness matter. They can both broaden our understanding or serve to reinforce our biases. While residents of Tent City 3 may not be typical of the entire homeless population (they are more likely to be white, exhibit less serious mental illness and fewer suffer from drug and alcohol dependency issues), they shed light on an increasing population of the working poor, who cannot afford housing.

The ConversationStories from tent cities reinforce much of what scholars of homelessness have long reported – that broader social systems (economic inequality, weakened social safety net, weak labour market, and rising housing costs) are the primary causes of homelessness.

About The Authors

Karen A Snedker, Academic Visitor, Centre for Socio-Legal Studies, University of Oxford and Jennifer McKinney, Professor of Sociology, Seattle Pacific University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Book by Karen A Snedker

Therapeutic Justice: Crime, Treatment Courts and Mental Illness
inequalityAuthor: Karen A. Snedker
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
List Price: $159.00

Buy Now

Book by Jennifer McKinney

Understanding and Applying Research Design
inequalityAuthor: Martin Lee Abbott
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Wiley
List Price: $132.00

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}