Est-ce que la quantité de sensibilisation des enseignants est affectée par les stéréotypes raciaux des élèves?

Est-ce que la quantité de sensibilisation des enseignants est affectée par les stéréotypes raciaux des élèves?

Les enseignants communiquent avec les parents en fonction de leur origine raciale et immigrante, et pas seulement de la performance scolaire de leur enfant.

«Les schémas de communication que nous avons vus sont compatibles avec les stéréotypes selon lesquels les enseignants peuvent s'abonner à différents groupes raciaux et ethniques», explique Hua-Yu Sebastian Cherng, professeur adjoint en éducation internationale à la Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development.

L'un des ingrédients les plus importants pour la réussite scolaire est la communication entre les parents et les enseignants. Des travaux antérieurs ont établi que les parents immigrants et les parents de couleur communiquent souvent moins avec les écoles que les parents blancs de naissance. Cependant, dans la plupart des études, l'accent a été mis sur les parents contactant les écoles et non l'inverse. On ne sait pas non plus comment les écoles et les enseignants perçoivent certains obstacles, tels que le manque de maîtrise de l'anglais, comme des obstacles à la communication avec les parents.

Compte tenu de ces lacunes dans les connaissances, cette étude visait à mieux comprendre les schémas de communication entre les enseignants et les parents d'élèves immigrants et de couleur, et à déterminer si ces schémas sont influencés par les caractéristiques des élèves, des enseignants et des parents.

Cherng a analysé un échantillon représentatif à l'échelle nationale des étudiants de deuxième année du secondaire américains de l'Étude longitudinale sur l'éducation de 2002. L'étude demandait aux enseignants s'ils communiquaient avec les parents d'un élève sur plusieurs sujets: l'échec d'un élève à faire ses devoirs, son comportement perturbateur à l'école et ses réalisations. Cherng a analysé la question de savoir si le sujet des enseignants façonnait les interactions entre les enseignants et les élèves. Cherng a analysé les réponses des enseignants d'anglais et de mathématiques.

Même après avoir pris en compte la perception qu'ont les enseignants du travail académique et des problèmes de comportement des élèves et de la capacité d'expression anglaise des parents, l'étude montre que les enseignants persistent à contacter des parents d'origines raciales / ethniques différentes.

Les enseignants de mathématiques ont contacté une proportion plus élevée de parents d'élèves latinos et noirs de troisième génération que de parents d'élèves blancs de troisième génération plutôt que de parents perturbés. Par exemple, les parents d'élèves noirs étaient plus de deux fois plus susceptibles que les parents d'élèves blancs d'être contactés par des enseignants de mathématiques plutôt que par des comportements négatifs, reflétant les stéréotypes d'élèves noirs et latinos comme jeunes perturbateurs.

En outre, Cherng a constaté que les professeurs de mathématiques et d'anglais ont contacté moins de parents immigrants américains d'origine asiatique (parents d'étudiants asiatiques de première et de deuxième génération) concernant les devoirs et les problèmes de comportement. Ces tendances ont persisté même lorsque les jeunes d'Asie-Amérique se débattaient.

Le partage des réalisations était la forme la plus commune de communication entre les enseignants et les parents. Toutefois, les enseignants étaient moins susceptibles de communiquer avec les parents immigrants et les parents de couleur en leur faisant part de leurs réalisations lorsqu'ils estimaient que les parents ne participaient pas à la scolarité de leurs enfants.

Les enseignants étaient moins susceptibles de contacter les parents latino-américains et asiatiques pour les informer des réalisations de leurs enfants: seulement 30% des enseignants en mathématiques ont contacté les parents d'étudiants latino-américains de première génération et asiatiques de deuxième génération, contre près de la moitié des enseignants. contacter les parents de parents blancs de troisième génération.

"Ces résultats soutiennent l'idée que les étudiants américains d'origine asiatique sont perçus par les enseignants comme des" minorités modèles "- l'image que tous les étudiants américains d'origine asiatique excelle académiquement et ont moins besoin d'attention ou d'intervention", explique Cherng.

Cherng conclut que ces modèles de communication s'alignent sur les stéréotypes raciaux existants. Il recommande que la politique éducative soit consciente des disparités dans la communication enseignant-parents et suggère d'intégrer davantage de formation à la diversité dans les programmes de préparation des enseignants et de développement professionnel pour les enseignants et les administrateurs scolaires.

Cherng est l'auteur de l'étude, qui apparaît dans la revue Dossier du Collège des enseignants.

La source: Université de New York

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = communication enseignant-parent; maxresults = 3}

Is The Amount Of Teacher Outreach Affected By Student Racial Stereotypes?

Is The Amount Of Teacher Outreach Affected By Student Racial Stereotypes?

Teachers communicate with parents based on their racial and immigrant backgrounds—not just their child’s academic performance—research finds.

“The patterns of communication we saw are consistent with stereotypes that teachers may subscribe to different racial and ethnic groups,” says Hua-Yu Sebastian Cherng, assistant professor of international education at New York University’s Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development.

One of the most important ingredients for academic success is communication between parents and teachers. Prior work has established that immigrant parents and parents of color often communicate less with schools than native-born white parents. However, in most studies, the focus has been on parents contacting schools and not the reverse. It also remains unclear how schools and teachers perceive certain barriers, such as lack of English proficiency, as obstacles to communicating with parents.

Given these gaps in knowledge, this study sought to better understand patterns of communication between classroom teachers and the parents of immigrant students and students of color, and whether these patterns are influenced by characteristics of students, teachers, and parents.

Cherng analyzed a nationally representative sample of US high school sophomores from the Education Longitudinal Study of 2002. The study asked teachers whether they communicated with a student’s parents about several topics: a student’s failure to complete homework, disruptive behavior in school, and accomplishments. To investigate whether subject matter of teachers shapes interactions between teachers and students, Cherng analyzed responses from both English and math teachers.

Even after considering teachers’ own perceptions of students’ academic work and behavioral issues and parents’ English ability, the study finds that differences persist in terms of teachers contacting parents from different racial/ethnic and immigrant backgrounds.

Math teachers contacted a higher proportion of parents of third-generation Latino and black students over disruptive classroom behavior than of parents of third-generation white students. For example, parents of black students were more than twice as likely as parents of white students to be contacted by math teachers over negative behavior, reflecting stereotypes of black and Latino students as disruptive youth.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In addition, Cherng found that both math and English teachers contacted fewer immigrant Asian-American parents (parents of first- and second-generation Asian-American students) regarding homework and behavioral issues. These patterns persisted even when Asian-American youth were struggling.

Sharing accomplishments was the most common form of teacher-parent communication. However, teachers were less likely to contact immigrant parents and parents of color with news of accomplishments when they perceived parents not to be involved in their children’s schooling.

Teachers were less likely to contact immigrant Latino and Asian parents with news of their children’s accomplishments: only 30 percent of math teachers contacted parents of first-generation Latino and second-generation Asian-American students with news of accomplishments, compared to nearly half of teachers contacting parents of third-generation white parents.

“These findings support the notion that Asian-American students are perceived by teachers to be ‘model minorities’—the image that all Asian-American students excel academically and are in less need of attention or intervention,” Cherng says.

Cherng concludes that these patterns of communication align with existing racial stereotypes. He recommends that education policy be cognizant of the disparities in teacher-parent communication and suggests incorporating more diversity training in teacher preparation programs and professional development for teachers and school administrators.

Cherng is author of the study, which appears in the journal Teachers College Record.

Source: New York University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=teacher-parent communication;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…