Wie No Strings Attached Geld Änderungen Teens

Wie No Strings Angehängtes Geld Änderungen Schlechte Teens

Zunehmende armen Familien das Einkommen können ihre Kinder psychische Wohlbefinden erheblich verbessern, entsprechend der neuen Forschung.

Die Beweise stammen aus einer Studie von Jugendlichen, deren einkommensschwache Ureinwohner-Familien begannen, jährliche Zahlungen von einem neuen Casino im Reservat ihres Stammes zu erhalten.

"Ich war überrascht, dass die Ergebnisse unserer Analyse so klar waren" Ökonom Emilia Simeonowa sagt. "Die Menschen können davon ausgehen, dass das Geld für Familien in Not zu geben ist eine gute Sache, aber Sie haben noch zu beweisen. Sie wollen wissen, ob das zusätzliche Geld einen Unterschied macht, und in diesem Fall, dass ich glaube, dass wir das gezeigt haben. "

Simeonova, Assistant Professor an der Carey Business School der Johns Hopkins University, führte die Studie mit Kollegen von der Duke University und der University of California, Los Angeles. Sie arbeiteten mit Daten aus der Great Smoky Mountains Survey, einer Longitudinalstudie, die in 1993 gestartet wurde, um die psychologischen Merkmale von 1,420-armen Kindern im westlichen North Carolina, einschließlich einiger hundert Kinder im Cherokee-Stamm, zu untersuchen. Ihr Arbeitspapier ist verfügbar hier.

Vier Jahre nach Beginn der Studie eröffnete die Eastern Band of Cherokee ein Casino in der Umfragezone und begann, die Hälfte der Gewinne als zusätzliches Einkommen für erwachsene Mitglieder des Stammes zu verteilen. Die Auswirkungen dieses neuen Jahreseinkommens - etwa $ 4,000 pro Erwachsener oder 20 Prozent des Jahreseinkommens der durchschnittlichen amerikanischen Ureinwohnerfamilien - konzentrierten sich auf Simeonova und ihre Kollegen.

Überraschende Veränderungen in der Persönlichkeit

Einheimische Kinder in Haushalten mit mindestens vier Jahren Zusatzeinkommen zeigten deutliche Zuwächse an "Gewissenhaftigkeit" (organisiert, verantwortlich und fleißig) und "Verträglichkeit" (sich selbstlos). Die Kinder zeigten sogar Fortschritte - wenn auch weniger ausgeprägt - in einem unwahrscheinlichen Gesundheitszustand, "Neurotizismus". Wie Simeonova erklärt, kann Neurotizismus eine positive Eigenschaft in kleinen Mengen sein, was auf Selbstwahrnehmung und die Fähigkeit, die Gefühle anderer zu schätzen, hindeutet .

Es war überraschend, sagt Simeonova, bei 11 und 13 wechselnde Persönlichkeitsmerkmale zu finden, bei denen kognitive Fähigkeiten als fest etabliert gelten. Die Forscher fanden auch heraus, dass Kinder mit niedrigerer psychischer Entwicklung, als die Studie begann, die größten Verbesserungen zeigten, nachdem die zusätzlichen Dollars zu ihren Familien strömten.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Frühere Forschungsergebnisse zeigen, dass einkommensschwache Eltern den größten Teil ihrer Ressourcen für ihre helleren, vielversprechenderen Kinder einsetzen, in der Hoffnung, ihre Bildungschancen zu erhöhen", sagt Simeonova. "Aber wir haben hier gesehen, dass Eltern mehr Zeit mit ihren Kindern verbringen, die entwicklungsbedingt zurückgeblieben sind. Wir denken, dies erklärt die Tatsache, dass diese Kinder die größten Fortschritte gemacht haben. "

Mit dem neuen Geld, blieb dort die meisten Familien auf der Reservierung leben, sondern Familien, die die Reservierung neigten leben von zu Bereichen demonstriert höheren Bildungsniveau und Einkommen zu bewegen. Simeonowa mutmaßt, dass die Kinder in der Studie von dieser Veränderung in der Umgebung profitiert.

Vorteile für Eltern auch

Sonst enthüllt die GSMS nicht, wie die Familien ihr zusätzliches Einkommen ausgegeben haben.

"Wir sahen nur die offensichtlichen Auswirkungen des Geldes", sagt sie. "Zum Beispiel setzte sich die Eltern bei ihren üblichen Jobs zu arbeiten, aber berichteten, dass sie weniger in der Regel betont fühlte. Sie sagten, sie kämpfte weniger mit ihren Ehepartnern und mit ihren Kindern, wenn auch die Scheidungsrate dieser Gruppe nicht ändern. Es gab weniger Alkoholkonsum bei den Eltern, und sie waren weniger wahrscheinlich zu einem Counseling zu sehen. Und die Kinder sagten, dass sie immer mit ihren Eltern mehr Zeit zu verbringen und dass sie es genießen. "

Zeige, dass eine regelmäßige, keine Bedingungen geknüpfte Auszahlung von Geld psychologisch schlecht Jugendliche profitieren können eine wichtige neue Erkenntnis ist, sagt Simeonova.

"Wir haben in unseren Ergebnissen gesehen, dass dies ein Weg ist, um das Leben der Armen, die Kinder im Besonderen zu verbessern", sagt sie. "Das ist nicht zu sagen, es wäre alles perfekt in das Leben dieser Familien zu machen, aber wir zu dem Schluss, dass das Geld eindeutig wichtige positive Effekte gehabt."

Sie hofft, die Forschung erweitern zu können, indem sie die Auswirkungen ähnlicher Casino-bezogener Zahlungen auf einkommensschwache amerikanische Ureinwohner in anderen Staaten untersucht.

Quelle: Johns Hopkins University

Verwandte Buch:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = 161628384X; maxresults = 1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Teens

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Poor Teens

Increasing poor families’ income can significantly improve their children’s psychological well-being, according to new research.

The evidence comes from a study of adolescents whose low-income Native American families began receiving annual payments from a new casino on their tribe’s reservation.

“I was surprised that the findings from our analysis were so clear,” economist Emilia Simeonova says. “People may assume that giving money to families in need is a good thing, but you still have to prove it. You want to know whether the extra money makes a difference, and in this case I believe we have shown that.”

Simeonova, an assistant professor at Johns Hopkins University’s Carey Business School, conducted the study with colleagues from Duke University and the University of California, Los Angeles. They worked with data from the Great Smoky Mountains Survey, a longitudinal study launched in 1993 to examine the psychological traits of 1,420 poor children in western North Carolina, including several hundred children in the Cherokee tribe. Their working paper is available here.

Four years into the study, the Eastern Band of Cherokee opened a casino in the survey zone and started distributing half the profits as extra cash income for adult members of the tribe. The impact of this new yearly income—about $4,000 per adult, or 20 percent of the average Native American families’ annual earnings—is what Simeonova and her colleagues focused on.

Surprising Changes In Personality

Native children in households with at least four years of extra income showed clear gains in “conscientiousness” (being organized, responsible, and hard-working) and “agreeableness” (behaving unselfishly). The children even showed progress—though less marked—in an unlikely sounding measure of good health, “neuroticism.” As Simeonova explains, neuroticism can be a positive trait in small amounts, indicating self-awareness and an ability to appreciate the feelings of others.

It was surprising, Simeonova says, to find changing personality traits at 11 and 13, ages by which cognitive abilities are considered firmly established. The researchers also found that children at lower levels of psychological development when the study began showed the greatest improvements after the extra dollars started flowing to their families.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Previous research shows that low-income parents devote most of their resources to their brighter, more promising children, in the hopes of boosting their educational opportunities,” Simeonova says. “But we saw here that parents were spending more time with their kids who were lagging developmentally. We think this accounts for the fact that these children made the greatest gains.”

With the new money, most families living on the reservation stayed there, but families living off the reservation tended to move to areas of demonstrated higher levels of education and income. Simeonova speculates that the children in the study benefitted from this change in environment.

Benefits For Parents, Too

Otherwise, she states, the GSMS didn’t reveal how the families spent their additional income.

“We saw only the apparent effects of the money,” she says. “For example, the parents continued to work at their usual jobs but reported they felt less stressed in general. They said they fought less with their spouses and with their kids, though the divorce rate of this group didn’t change. There was less alcohol consumption among the parents, and they were less likely to see a mental health counselor. And the kids said that they were getting to spend more time with their parents and that they were enjoying it.”

Showing that a regular, no-strings-attached disbursement of money can benefit poor adolescents psychologically is an important new finding, Simeonova says.

“We’ve seen in our results that this is a way to improve the lives of the poor, the kids in particular,” she says. “That’s not to say that it would make everything perfect in the lives of these families, but we concluded that the money clearly had major, positive effects.”

She hopes to extend the research by looking at the effects of similar casino-related payments to low-income Native Americans in other states.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…