كيف لا قيود المال التغييرات مراهقون

كيف لا تعلق المال التغييرات التغييرات الفقيرة المراهقين

زيادة دخل الأسر الفقيرة يمكن أن تحسن بشكل كبير أطفالهم النفسية، وفقا لبحث جديد.

وتأتي هذه الأدلة من دراسة للمراهقين الذين بدأت عائلاتهم من ذوي الدخل المنخفض في أمريكا الحصول على مدفوعات سنوية من كازينو جديد على حجز قبيلتهم.

"، وفوجئت بأن النتائج من تحليلنا كانت واضحة جدا" يقول الخبير الاقتصادي إيميليا Simeonova. وقال "الناس قد تفترض أن إعطاء المال للأسر المحتاجة أمر جيد، ولكن لا يزال لديك لإثبات ذلك. كنت تريد أن تعرف ما إذا كانت اموال اضافية يحدث فرقا، وفي هذه الحالة أعتقد أننا أظهرنا ذلك ".

أجرى سيميونوفا ، وهو أستاذ مساعد في كلية إدارة الأعمال بجامعة جون هوبكنز ، هذه الدراسة مع زملائه من جامعة ديوك وجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس. عملوا مع بيانات من مسح جبال سموكي العظيمة ، وهي دراسة طولية أطلقت في 1993 لدراسة السمات النفسية لأطفال 1,420 الفقراء في غرب ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ، بما في ذلك عدة مئات من الأطفال في قبيلة شيروكي. ورقة عملهم متاحة هنا.

بعد أربع سنوات من الدراسة ، افتتحت الفرقة الشرقية من شيروكي كازينو في منطقة المسح وبدأت بتوزيع نصف الأرباح كدخل نقدي إضافي للأفراد البالغين في القبيلة. إن تأثير هذا الدخل السنوي الجديد - حوالي $ 4,000 لكل بالغ ، أو 20 في المائة من العائدات السنوية لعائلات الأمريكيين الأصليين - هو ما ركزت عليه Simeonova وزملاؤها.

تغييرات مفاجئة في الشخصية

أظهر الأطفال الأصليون في الأسر التي لديها ما لا يقل عن أربع سنوات من الدخل الإضافي مكاسب واضحة في "الضمير" (كونهم منظمين ومسؤولين ويعملون بجد) و "موافقة" (يتصرفون دون أنانية). حتى أن الأطفال أظهروا تقدمًا - على الرغم من كونه أقل وضوحًا - في مقياس غير متوقع لصحة جيدة ، "عصابية". كما توضح سيميونوفا ، يمكن أن يكون العصابية سمة إيجابية بكميات صغيرة ، مما يشير إلى الوعي الذاتي والقدرة على تقدير مشاعر الآخرين .

كان من المثير للدهشة ، كما تقول سيميونوفا ، أن تجد سمات شخصية متغيرة في 11 و 13 ، وهي أعمار تُعتبر فيها القدرات المعرفية راسخة. كما وجد الباحثون أن الأطفال في المستويات الدنيا من النمو النفسي عندما بدأت الدراسة أظهروا أكبر قدر من التحسينات بعد أن بدأت الدولارات الإضافية تتدفق إلى عائلاتهم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تقول سيميونوفا: "تُظهر الأبحاث السابقة أن الآباء ذوي الدخل المحدود يكرسون معظم مواردهم إلى أطفالهم الأكثر سطوعًا ووضوحًا ، على أمل تعزيز فرصهم التعليمية". لكننا رأينا هنا أن الآباء كانوا يقضون المزيد من الوقت مع أطفالهم الذين كانوا متخلفين عن النمو. نعتقد أن هذا يدل على حقيقة أن هؤلاء الأطفال حققوا أكبر المكاسب ".

مع المال الجديد، ومعظم الأسر التي تعيش في المحمية بقيت هناك، ولكن الأسر التي تعيش قبالة تحفظ تميل إلى الانتقال إلى مناطق من مستويات أعلى أثبتت التعليم والدخل. Simeonova يخمن أن الأطفال في الدراسة استفاد من هذا التغيير في البيئة.

فوائد للآباء ، أيضا

على خلاف ذلك ، تقول ، لم تكشف GSMS كيف أنفقت العائلات دخلها الإضافي.

"نحن لا يرى سوى آثار واضحة من المال"، كما تقول. "على سبيل المثال، واصل الآباء إلى العمل في وظائفهم المعتادة ولكن ذكرت أنهم شعروا أقل شدد بشكل عام. وقالوا انهم قاتلوا أقل مع أزواجهم ومع أطفالهم، على الرغم من أن معدل الطلاق في هذه المجموعة لم تتغير. كان هناك أقل من استهلاك الكحول بين الوالدين، وكانوا أقل عرضة لرؤية مستشار الصحة النفسية. وقال الأطفال أنهم تعرضوا للوصول إلى قضاء المزيد من الوقت مع والديهم، وأنها كانت تتمتع بها ".

تبين أن العادية، لا سلاسل المرفقة صرف المال يمكن أن تستفيد المراهقين الفقراء نفسيا هو الاكتشاف الجديد المهم، يقول Simeonova.

"لقد رأينا في نتائجنا أن هذا هو وسيلة لتحسين حياة الفقراء، والأطفال على وجه الخصوص"، كما تقول. واضاف "هذا لا يعني أن من شأنه أن يجعل كل شيء مثاليا في حياة هذه الأسر، لكننا خلصت إلى أن المال كان واضحا الرئيسية، والآثار الإيجابية."

إنها تأمل في توسيع نطاق البحث من خلال النظر في آثار مدفوعات مماثلة كازينو إلى السكان الأصليين ذوي الدخل المنخفض في ولايات أخرى.

مصدر: جامعة جونز هوبكنز

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 161628384X، maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Teens

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Poor Teens

Increasing poor families’ income can significantly improve their children’s psychological well-being, according to new research.

The evidence comes from a study of adolescents whose low-income Native American families began receiving annual payments from a new casino on their tribe’s reservation.

“I was surprised that the findings from our analysis were so clear,” economist Emilia Simeonova says. “People may assume that giving money to families in need is a good thing, but you still have to prove it. You want to know whether the extra money makes a difference, and in this case I believe we have shown that.”

Simeonova, an assistant professor at Johns Hopkins University’s Carey Business School, conducted the study with colleagues from Duke University and the University of California, Los Angeles. They worked with data from the Great Smoky Mountains Survey, a longitudinal study launched in 1993 to examine the psychological traits of 1,420 poor children in western North Carolina, including several hundred children in the Cherokee tribe. Their working paper is available here.

Four years into the study, the Eastern Band of Cherokee opened a casino in the survey zone and started distributing half the profits as extra cash income for adult members of the tribe. The impact of this new yearly income—about $4,000 per adult, or 20 percent of the average Native American families’ annual earnings—is what Simeonova and her colleagues focused on.

Surprising Changes In Personality

Native children in households with at least four years of extra income showed clear gains in “conscientiousness” (being organized, responsible, and hard-working) and “agreeableness” (behaving unselfishly). The children even showed progress—though less marked—in an unlikely sounding measure of good health, “neuroticism.” As Simeonova explains, neuroticism can be a positive trait in small amounts, indicating self-awareness and an ability to appreciate the feelings of others.

It was surprising, Simeonova says, to find changing personality traits at 11 and 13, ages by which cognitive abilities are considered firmly established. The researchers also found that children at lower levels of psychological development when the study began showed the greatest improvements after the extra dollars started flowing to their families.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Previous research shows that low-income parents devote most of their resources to their brighter, more promising children, in the hopes of boosting their educational opportunities,” Simeonova says. “But we saw here that parents were spending more time with their kids who were lagging developmentally. We think this accounts for the fact that these children made the greatest gains.”

With the new money, most families living on the reservation stayed there, but families living off the reservation tended to move to areas of demonstrated higher levels of education and income. Simeonova speculates that the children in the study benefitted from this change in environment.

Benefits For Parents, Too

Otherwise, she states, the GSMS didn’t reveal how the families spent their additional income.

“We saw only the apparent effects of the money,” she says. “For example, the parents continued to work at their usual jobs but reported they felt less stressed in general. They said they fought less with their spouses and with their kids, though the divorce rate of this group didn’t change. There was less alcohol consumption among the parents, and they were less likely to see a mental health counselor. And the kids said that they were getting to spend more time with their parents and that they were enjoying it.”

Showing that a regular, no-strings-attached disbursement of money can benefit poor adolescents psychologically is an important new finding, Simeonova says.

“We’ve seen in our results that this is a way to improve the lives of the poor, the kids in particular,” she says. “That’s not to say that it would make everything perfect in the lives of these families, but we concluded that the money clearly had major, positive effects.”

She hopes to extend the research by looking at the effects of similar casino-related payments to low-income Native Americans in other states.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…