Comment No Strings Attached argent change Teens

Comment No Strings Attached Money Change Pauvres jeunes

le revenu des familles pauvres augmentation peut améliorer considérablement le bien-être psychologique de leurs enfants, selon une nouvelle étude.

L'évidence vient d'une étude des adolescents dont les familles amérindiennes à faible revenu ont commencé à recevoir des paiements annuels d'un nouveau casino sur la réservation de leur tribu.

«Je suis surpris que les résultats de notre analyse étaient si claires,» dit l'économiste Emilia Simeonova. "Les gens peuvent penser que donner de l'argent aux familles dans le besoin est une bonne chose, mais vous avez encore de le prouver. Vous voulez savoir si l'argent supplémentaire fait une différence, et dans ce cas je crois que nous avons montré que ".

Simeonova, professeur assistant à la Carey Business School de l'Université Johns Hopkins, a mené l'étude avec des collègues de l'Université Duke et de l'Université de Californie à Los Angeles. Ils ont travaillé avec les données du Great Smoky Mountains Survey, une étude longitudinale lancée dans 1993 pour examiner les traits psychologiques des enfants pauvres 1,420 dans l'ouest de la Caroline du Nord, y compris plusieurs centaines d'enfants dans la tribu Cherokee. Leur document de travail est disponible ici.

Quatre ans après le début de l'étude, la Eastern Band of Cherokee a ouvert un casino dans la zone d'enquête et a commencé à distribuer la moitié des bénéfices en tant que revenu supplémentaire pour les membres adultes de la tribu. L'impact de ce nouveau revenu annuel - environ 4,000 par adulte, ou 20 pour cent des gains annuels moyens des familles amérindiennes - est ce sur quoi Simeonova et ses collègues se sont concentrés.

Changements surprenants dans la personnalité

Les enfants autochtones dans les ménages ayant au moins quatre années de revenu supplémentaire ont manifestement gagné en «conscience de soi» (être organisé, responsable et travailleur) et «agréables» (se comporter altruement). Les enfants ont même montré des progrès - quoique moins marqués - dans une mesure peu probable de bonne santé, le «névrosisme». Comme l'explique Simeonova, le névrosisme peut être un trait positif en petites quantités, indiquant une conscience de soi et une capacité à apprécier les sentiments des autres. .

Il était surprenant, dit Simeonova, de trouver des traits de personnalité changeants à 11 et 13, âges par lesquels les capacités cognitives sont considérées comme fermement établies. Les chercheurs ont également constaté que les enfants à des niveaux inférieurs de développement psychologique au début de l'étude ont montré les plus grandes améliorations après que les dollars supplémentaires ont commencé à affluer vers leurs familles.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


«Des recherches antérieures montrent que les parents à faible revenu consacrent la plupart de leurs ressources à leurs enfants les plus brillants et les plus prometteurs, dans l'espoir de stimuler leurs chances d'éducation», explique Simeonova. "Mais nous avons vu ici que les parents passaient plus de temps avec leurs enfants qui étaient en retard de développement. Nous pensons que cela explique le fait que ces enfants ont fait les plus grands gains. "

Avec la nouvelle monnaie, la plupart des familles vivant sur la réserve y sont restés, mais les familles vivant hors réserve ont eu tendance à se déplacer vers les zones de démontré des niveaux plus élevés de l'éducation et le revenu. Simeonova spécule que les enfants de l'étude ont bénéficié de ce changement dans l'environnement.

Avantages pour les parents, aussi

Autrement dit-elle, le GSMS n'a pas révélé comment les familles ont dépensé leur revenu supplémentaire.

«Nous avons vu que les effets apparents de l'argent», dit-elle. "Par exemple, les parents ont continué à travailler à leur emploi habituel, mais ont indiqué qu'ils se sentaient moins stressés en général. Ils ont dit qu'ils ont combattu moins avec leurs conjoints et leurs enfants, bien que le taux de ce groupe de divorce n'a pas changé. Il y avait moins de consommation d'alcool chez les parents, et ils étaient moins susceptibles de voir un conseiller en santé mentale. Et les enfants ont dit qu'ils obtenaient de passer plus de temps avec leurs parents et que ça leur plaisait ".

Montrer que régulièrement, sans conditions attachées décaissement de l'argent peut bénéficier des adolescents pauvres est psychologiquement une importante nouvelle découverte, dit Simeonova.

"Nous avons vu dans nos résultats que cela est un moyen d'améliorer la vie des pauvres, les enfants en particulier," dit-elle. "Cela ne veut pas dire que ce serait que tout soit parfait dans la vie de ces familles, mais nous avons conclu que l'argent avait manifestement des effets majeurs, positifs."

Elle espère prolonger la recherche en examinant les effets de paiements similaires liés aux casinos aux Indiens à faible revenu des autres États.

La source: Johns Hopkins University

Livre connexe:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = 161628384X; maxresults = 1}

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Teens

How No Strings Attached Money Changes Poor Teens

Increasing poor families’ income can significantly improve their children’s psychological well-being, according to new research.

The evidence comes from a study of adolescents whose low-income Native American families began receiving annual payments from a new casino on their tribe’s reservation.

“I was surprised that the findings from our analysis were so clear,” economist Emilia Simeonova says. “People may assume that giving money to families in need is a good thing, but you still have to prove it. You want to know whether the extra money makes a difference, and in this case I believe we have shown that.”

Simeonova, an assistant professor at Johns Hopkins University’s Carey Business School, conducted the study with colleagues from Duke University and the University of California, Los Angeles. They worked with data from the Great Smoky Mountains Survey, a longitudinal study launched in 1993 to examine the psychological traits of 1,420 poor children in western North Carolina, including several hundred children in the Cherokee tribe. Their working paper is available here.

Four years into the study, the Eastern Band of Cherokee opened a casino in the survey zone and started distributing half the profits as extra cash income for adult members of the tribe. The impact of this new yearly income—about $4,000 per adult, or 20 percent of the average Native American families’ annual earnings—is what Simeonova and her colleagues focused on.

Surprising Changes In Personality

Native children in households with at least four years of extra income showed clear gains in “conscientiousness” (being organized, responsible, and hard-working) and “agreeableness” (behaving unselfishly). The children even showed progress—though less marked—in an unlikely sounding measure of good health, “neuroticism.” As Simeonova explains, neuroticism can be a positive trait in small amounts, indicating self-awareness and an ability to appreciate the feelings of others.

It was surprising, Simeonova says, to find changing personality traits at 11 and 13, ages by which cognitive abilities are considered firmly established. The researchers also found that children at lower levels of psychological development when the study began showed the greatest improvements after the extra dollars started flowing to their families.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Previous research shows that low-income parents devote most of their resources to their brighter, more promising children, in the hopes of boosting their educational opportunities,” Simeonova says. “But we saw here that parents were spending more time with their kids who were lagging developmentally. We think this accounts for the fact that these children made the greatest gains.”

With the new money, most families living on the reservation stayed there, but families living off the reservation tended to move to areas of demonstrated higher levels of education and income. Simeonova speculates that the children in the study benefitted from this change in environment.

Benefits For Parents, Too

Otherwise, she states, the GSMS didn’t reveal how the families spent their additional income.

“We saw only the apparent effects of the money,” she says. “For example, the parents continued to work at their usual jobs but reported they felt less stressed in general. They said they fought less with their spouses and with their kids, though the divorce rate of this group didn’t change. There was less alcohol consumption among the parents, and they were less likely to see a mental health counselor. And the kids said that they were getting to spend more time with their parents and that they were enjoying it.”

Showing that a regular, no-strings-attached disbursement of money can benefit poor adolescents psychologically is an important new finding, Simeonova says.

“We’ve seen in our results that this is a way to improve the lives of the poor, the kids in particular,” she says. “That’s not to say that it would make everything perfect in the lives of these families, but we concluded that the money clearly had major, positive effects.”

She hopes to extend the research by looking at the effects of similar casino-related payments to low-income Native Americans in other states.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…