مصرفيون الملياردير، كادحي الحد الأدنى للأجور والحقيقة شرير معلومات عن أمة الوجبات السريعة

دعوني أخبركم عن هذا الامتداد من طريق هيلزبره في دورهام ، كارولاينا الشمالية. إنه يقع بين طريقين سريعين ، على بعد مسافة قصيرة بالسيارة من أبراج جامعة ديوك النبيلة ، وعلى بعد حوالي ميل ، سوف تجد ماكدونالدز ، و Cracker Barrel ، و Wendy's ، و Chick-fil-A ، و Arby's ، Waffle House ، و Bojangles ، و Biscuitville ، و Subway ، و Taco Bell ، و KFC. عند السير في هذا الطريق الصاخب ، ستلاحظ أن الأرض مليئة بالمنديل والأكواب الورقية الصفراء الساطعة. ولكن مرة أخرى ، ليس من المفترض أن تسير على طول هذا الجزء من طريق هيلزبره وتلاحظ أشياء مثل تلك الكؤوس ، أو التي تخلت عن قاعدة خرسانية لبعض الشعار المختفي ، أو زجاجة أريستوكرات فودكا الفارغة المخبأة خلف علامة 6 المكسورة. هذا هو المشهد الذي من المفترض أن ينظر إليه من خلال الزجاج الأمامي ومع الاستريو. في الواقع ، يبدو السائقون هنا في بعض الأحيان محيرون بسبب وجود المشاة أنفسهم ، وهو ما قد يكون السبب في أنني كدت أهرب مرتين.

ولكن لم يكن السيارة التي استوقفتني على هيلزبره الطريق، وكانت الرؤية: فهم عفوية من الكفاءة للوجبات السريعة. كنت يحدق على هيكل الأصفر بسيط هو أن يرد على عمل من منزل الهراء عندما جاء لي، معنى هذا المشهد كله من سلسلة مطاعم.

البناء المعياري ، تطبيق تقنيات خط التجميع على خدمة الطعام ، المقلاة ذات السلة المزدوجة وموزعات البهارات السائبة ، حتى الأغطية البلاستيكية الذكية على أكواب القهوة ، مع علامات تبويب شطف الظهر: كانت جميعها انتصارات براعة الإنسان . كان عليك أن تعجب بهم. ومع ذلك ، فقد طالبت هذه الكفاءة المكثفة والمكثفة بإهدار مذهل في أماكن أخرى - من الوقود ، وتكييف الهواء ، والأرض ، ومكب النفايات. داخل الصندوق كان تحفة الهندسة الصناعية. خارج الصندوق كانت الأشياء والأشخاص الذين كانوا فقط ليتم استخدامها.

مواصلة القراءة


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Billionaire Bankers, Minimum-wage Toilers And The Nasty Truth About Fast-food Nation

Let me tell you about this one stretch of Hillsborough Road in Durham, North Carolina. It’s between two freeways, just a short drive from the noble towers of Duke University, and in the space of about a mile, you will find a McDonald’s, a Cracker Barrel, a Wendy’s, a Chick-fil-A, an Arby’s, a Waffle House, a Bojangles’, a Biscuitville, a Subway, a Taco Bell, and a KFC. As you walk down this roaring thoroughfare, you’ll notice that the ground is littered with napkins and bright yellow paper cups. But then again, you aren’t really supposed to be walking along this portion of Hillsborough Road and noticing things like those cups, or that abandoned concrete pedestal for some vanished logo, or the empty Aristocrat Vodka bottle hidden behind that broken Motel 6 sign. This is a landscape meant to be viewed through a windshield and with the stereo turned up. In fact, drivers here sometimes seem bewildered by the very presence of pedestrians, which may be the reason I was almost run down twice.

But it wasn’t a car that struck me on Hillsborough Road, it was a vision: a spontaneous understanding of fast-food efficiency. I was gazing on a simple yellow structure that contained the workings of a Waffle House when it came to me—the meaning of this whole panorama of chain restaurants.

The modular construction, the application of assembly-line techniques to food service, the twin-basket fryers and bulk condiment dispensers, even the clever plastic lids on the coffee cups, with their fold-back sip tabs: these were all triumphs of human ingenuity. You had to admire them. And yet that intense, concentrated efficiency also demanded a fantastic wastefulness elsewhere—of fuel, of air-conditioning, of land, of landfill. Inside the box was a masterpiece of industrial engineering; outside the box were things and people that existed merely to be used up.

Continue Reading


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}