Mythes 4 sur les sans-abri

Mythes 4 sur les sans-abri
Un nombre croissant de personnes dorment dehors sous des tentes, des portes et sous des ponts. Aux États-Unis, les personnes 192,875 n'ont pas été hébergées une nuit donnée en janvier 2018, une augmentation de 9% de 2016.

La révision fiscale et l'immoralité de l'inégalité

La révision fiscale et l'immoralité de l'inégalité
Les sociétés tendent à devenir plus inégales avec le temps, à moins d'un recul concerté. Une société qui ne parvient pas à investir dans ses enfants, à protéger sa terre et son eau, ou à construire un avenir courtise l'effondrement. Le processus se nourrit de lui-même, grandissant comme un cancer ...

Pourquoi vous devriez voter pour les femmes dans 2018

Pourquoi vous devriez voter pour les femmes dans 2018
Les sceptiques peuvent se demander si le genre de la personne qui vous représente au Congrès est important? Actuellement, seulement environ 20 pour cent de tous les membres du Congrès sont des femmes - 22 des sénateurs américains 100 sont des femmes, tout comme 84 des membres 435 de la Maison des États-Unis.

Comment certaines personnes riches essaient de démanteler l'inégalité

Comment certaines personnes riches essaient de démanteler l'inégalitéDe nombreuses recherches indiquent que le problème croissant de la richesse et de l'inégalité des revenus pourrait freiner la croissance économique américaine et saper notre démocratie tout en suscitant une polarisation politique.

Pourquoi la pauvreté est une réflexion de la société

Pourquoi la pauvreté est une réflexion de la société

Alors que le Sénat se prépare à modifier sa version du projet de loi sur les soins de santé, il est temps de revenir en arrière et d'examiner pourquoi nous, en tant que nation, sommes si divisés sur la prestation de soins de santé, en particulier aux pauvres.

Wonder Woman ont brisé le patriarcat depuis les temps classiques

Wonder Woman ont brisé le patriarcat depuis les temps classiquesWonder Woman est un super-héros troublant. Plus encore que ses homologues masculins, elle résiste à une classification facile: elle n'est ni étrangère ni milliardaire - elle n'a pas non plus été exposée à des produits chimiques pour obtenir ses pouvoirs.

Le rêve américain sur le soutien de la vie?

Le rêve américain sur le soutien de la vie?«Les déclins de la mobilité absolue ont été un phénomène systématique et répandu aux États-Unis depuis 1940», écrivent les auteurs de la nouvelle étude.

Comment l'innovation peut combattre l'inégalité

Comment l'innovation peut combattre l'inégalitéL'inégalité est le phénomène social, politique et économique déterminant de notre époque. Juste 1% de la population mondiale détient maintenant plus de 35% de toute la richesse privée

Comment les travailleurs sont taxés et les entreprises patinent

Comment les travailleurs sont taxés et les entreprises patinentLa journée des impôts est de retour et des dizaines de millions d'Américains se dépêcheront de déposer leurs impôts sur le revenu d'ici la date limite d'avril de 18 (plutôt qu'en avril 15 pour diverses raisons). La Conversation

Pourquoi les grands et beaux murs n'arrêtent pas les migrants

Pourquoi les grands et beaux murs n'arrêtent pas les migrantsLes murs ont une forte connotation politique dans l'Europe d'après-guerre. Le plus tragiquement connu fut le mur de Berlin construit à 1961 pour empêcher les citoyens de la RDA (autrement connu sous le nom d'Allemagne de l'Est) de chercher refuge en Occident.

Comment ça se sent quand les gens vous voient comme moins humains

Comment ça se sent quand les gens vous voient comme moins humainsDans une étude récente, les participants américains ont placé les musulmans et les immigrants mexicains significativement plus près de l'ancêtre ressemblant à un singe que les Américains dans son ensemble.

Comment l'assurance maladie lie les voisins ensemble

Comment l'assurance maladie lie les voisins ensembleL'accès à l'assurance maladie peut contribuer à la cohésion sociale d'une communauté, et son absence peut contribuer à réduire la cohésion du quartier, rapportent les chercheurs.

Qui sont les vrais Américains oubliés?

Qui sont les vrais Américains oubliés?Comme Donald J. Trump assume la présidence et expose son programme pour notre pays, il se proclamera probablement, comme il l'a fait dans la campagne, la voix des «Américains oubliés».

La vérité inconfortable sur la mobilité sociale

La vérité inconfortable sur la mobilité socialeEst-ce acceptable de parler à vos jeunes enfants? Pour leur lire des histoires à l'heure du coucher, discutez des fleurs à l'arrêt de bus, soyez attentifs car ils décrivent leur journée? Essayons un autre virement.

Pourquoi Donald Trump devrait lire le magicien d'Oz

Pourquoi Donald Trump devrait lire le magicien d'Oz

Donald Trump a peut-être gagné la présidence américaine en se présentant comme le candidat du peuple pour renverser l'establishment de Washington, mais cette récente poussée populiste n'est certainement pas la première du pays.

Comment l'Internet Jim Crow repousse-t-il la vie noire?

Comment l'Internet Jim Crow repousse-t-il la vie noire?Les assassinats d'afro-américains par la police sur les réseaux sociaux sont devenus la marque visuelle de notre époque. Cette décennie sera rappelée à travers des vidéos floues de téléphone portable et dash-cam de shootings. Mais comment se souviendra-t-il?

Comment les entreprises peuvent aider à réduire l'inégalité de revenu

Comment les entreprises peuvent aider à réduire l'inégalité de revenuScorpion rencontra Frog sur une berge et lui demanda de faire un tour de l'autre côté. "Comment est-ce que je sais que tu ne me piques pas?" Demanda Frog. "Parce que," répondit Scorpion, "si je le fais, je vais me noyer." Satisfaite, Frog partit sur l'eau avec Scorpion sur le dos. À mi-chemin, Scorpion piquait la grenouille. "Pourquoi as-tu fait ça?" Haleta Grenouille alors qu'il commençait à couler. Nous allons tous les deux mourir. - Je ne peux pas m'en empêcher, répondit Scorpion. "C'est ma nature."

Le plan économique de Trick's Trickle-Down

Le plan économique de Trick's Trickle-DownDonald Trump se présente comme un populiste de la classe ouvrière, mais à propos de son nouveau plan économique serait un gusher pour les riches. Et presque rien ne coulera vers quelqu'un d'autre.

Accorder des soins aux enfants en Amérique

Accorder des soins aux enfants en AmériqueCette semaine sur la piste de la campagne présidentielle, Donald Trump a fait un grand pas hors du territoire républicain traditionnel pour proposer une solution fédérale au coût élevé de la garde d'enfants. Son plan suggère d'utiliser le code des impôts pour donner une pause aux parents qui travaillent avec de jeunes enfants.

Pourquoi un monde où l'inégalité est omniprésente est une menace économique

monde ineqquality3 9 12Il y a de plus en plus de preuves que l'inégalité augmente non seulement en Australie, mais aussi à l'échelle internationale dans les économies industrielles avancées. L'âge de la croissance sans fin de la prospérité pour tous est un lointain souvenir d'un âge plus prometteur.

Comment la classe et la richesse affectent votre santé

Comment la classe et la richesse affectent votre santéLes inégalités de richesse et de revenu constituent l'un des plus grands défis sociaux, économiques et politiques de notre temps. Il est important de s'attaquer à ces injustices pour trois raisons principales.

Comment réparer le problème de la garde d'enfants en Amérique

Les défenseurs ont besoin de développer un large soutien, ce qui implique d'entendre toutes les voix, comme celles des gardes d'enfants. Armée américaine, CC BYDans ce qui pourrait être la saison la plus controversée de la campagne électorale, les principaux candidats à la présidentielle semblent s'accorder sur au moins une question - que la politique concernant les soins aux enfants pour les familles américaines doit être améliorée.

Pourquoi la violence est profondément enracinée dans l'inégalité

Pourquoi la violence est profondément enracinée dans l'inégalitéL'Amérique latine a traditionnellement été la région la plus inégalitaire du monde, mais elle a récemment montré des signes de changement. Grâce aux 2000, les prix internationaux élevés des exportations ont réduit les niveaux d'inégalité.

Donald Trump et "Pauvre poubelle blanche"

Donald Trump et "Pauvre poubelle blanche"Dans son nouveau livre, White Trash: l'histoire inédite des classes en Amérique, Nancy Isenberg déchire le mythe selon lequel les États-Unis sont une société sans classes où le travail acharné est récompensé par la mobilité sociale.

Quels facteurs influencent l'inégalité de revenu?

Quels facteurs influencent l'inégalité de revenu?Que ce soit par coïncidence ou causalité, l'effondrement financier de 2008 et 2009 a conduit à une angoisse croissante sur l'inégalité des revenus.

L'inégalité raciale commence tôt en préscolaire

Le taux de suspension est également plus élevé pour les filles afro-américaines. woodleywonderworks, CC BYLe mercredi, juillet 6, la fille de quatre ans de Diamond Reynolds témoin le meurtre de Philando Castille par un policier du Minnesota. Elle et sa mère étaient à proximité de Castille quand il a été abattu.

Le secret de la richesse incroyable de Bill Gates

Le secret de la richesse incroyable de Bill GatesDésolé les gens, ce n'est pas l'Université Trump, je n'ai pas le plan pour que vous deveniez riche rapidement. Mais il est important que tout le monde comprenne exactement pourquoi Bill Gates est très riche. C'est ce qu'on appelle la «protection des droits d'auteur».

L'écart économique grandissant chez les jeunes

L'écart économique grandissant chez les jeunesDans le monde entier, la génération actuelle de jeunes a été remarquablement active dans la mobilisation contre les inégalités. Du printemps arabe et du mouvement mondial Occupy à de nombreuses campagnes politiques à travers le monde, les jeunes sont souvent à l'avant-garde du combat.

Pourquoi l'accès à large bande dans les régions rurales demeure-t-il un problème?

fracture numérique 6 10Il existe une «fracture numérique» bien documentée entre les zones rurales et urbaines en ce qui concerne l'accès au haut débit. À partir de 2015, 74 pour cent des ménages dans les zones urbaines des États-Unis avaient des connexions haut débit résidentiel, comparativement à seulement 64 pour cent des ménages ruraux. Cet écart a persisté au fil du temps.

Les femmes qui prennent Wal-Mart

Denise Barlage et Venanzi Luna. Liz Cooke, CC BYPico Rivera est une banlieue de la classe ouvrière poussiéreuse de Los Angeles. Après le district scolaire, Wal-Mart est le plus grand employeur de la ville et la source de 10 pour cent de ses recettes fiscales. Plus de familles 500 dans la ville dépendent des revenus du magasin.

Pourquoi nous devons mettre fin aux pré-distributions vers le haut pour les riches

pWhy nous devons terminer les pré-distributions vers le haut pour les richesOn entend souvent dire que l'inégalité s'est élargie parce que la mondialisation et les changements technologiques ont rendu la plupart des gens moins compétitifs, tout en rendant les plus instruits plus compétitifs. Il y a une certaine vérité à cela. Les tâches que la plupart des gens accomplissaient auparavant peuvent maintenant être accomplies à moindre coût par des travailleurs moins bien payés à l'étranger ou par des machines informatiques.

Qu'est-ce qui détruit la classe moyenne américaine?

Qu'est-ce qui tue la classe moyenne américaine?Une nouvelle étude du Pew Research Center a suscité une série de gros titres la semaine dernière à propos de «la classe moyenne mourante». Mais le mot «mourir» pourrait être plus approprié si nous observions les effets regrettables mais inévitables des forces naturelles au travail.

Avoir des bébés avant l'âge 25 peut coûter plus cher aux femmes

«Les enfants ne tuent pas leur carrière, mais plus les enfants arrivent tôt, plus le revenu de leur mère en souffre, plus il y a de raisons évidentes de les retarder», explique le coauteur Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis. (Crédit: Thomas Angermann / Flickr)«Les enfants ne tuent pas leur carrière, mais plus les enfants arrivent tôt, plus le revenu de leur mère en souffre, plus il y a de raisons évidentes de les retarder», explique le coauteur Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis.

Comment la Cour suprême a aggravé l'inégalité économique

Comment la Cour suprême a aggravé l'inégalité économiqueL'inégalité économique est maintenant fermement inscrite à l'ordre du jour public, les candidats et les électeurs cherchant quelqu'un à blâmer pour les salaires stagnants, la pauvreté enracinée et l'écart grandissant entre riches et pauvres.

Six choses un expert de paradis fiscal apprises des documents de Panama

Six choses un expert de paradis fiscal apprises des documents de PanamaThe Panama Papers est un trésor d'informations sur les activités et la clientèle d'un grand cabinet d'avocats, mais pas atypique, opérant dans un centre financier offshore. Dans ce cas, c'est une entreprise appelée Mossack Fonseca, basée au Panama. Il suit une série de fuites spectaculaires par le Consortium international des journalistes d'investigation, y compris les fichiers HSBC

Si nous voulons vraiment un Idées Boom, nous avons besoin de plus de femmes au sommet Tiers de la science

Tanya Monro (à gauche), Emma Johnston (centre) et Nalini Joshi (à droite) au National Press Club. National Press Club de l'AustralieMercredi, 30, Emma Johnston, Nalini Joshi et Tanya Monro ont pris la parole au National Press Club pour un événement spécial Women Of Science. Ici, ils exposent leurs points de vue sur la façon de promouvoir une plus grande participation des femmes aux plus hauts niveaux de la science.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

LES PLUS LUS

Comment garder votre espace de travail à domicile sûr et hygiénique
Comment garder votre espace de travail à domicile sûr et hygiénique
by Libby Sander, Lotti Tajouri et Rashed Alghafri

DES ÉDITEURS

Le jour du jugement est venu pour le GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Le parti républicain n'est plus un parti politique pro-américain. C'est un parti pseudo-politique illégitime plein de radicaux et de réactionnaires dont l'objectif déclaré est de perturber, déstabiliser et…
Pourquoi Donald Trump pourrait être le plus grand perdant de l'histoire
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Mise à jour le 2 juillet 20020 - Toute cette pandémie de coronavirus coûte une fortune, peut-être 2 ou 3 ou 4 fortunes, toutes de taille inconnue. Oh oui, et des centaines de milliers, peut-être un million de personnes mourront…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: Comment le racisme est enseigné
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Dans cet épisode d'Oprah Show de 1992, Jane Elliott, militante et éducatrice antiraciste primée, a enseigné au public une dure leçon sur le racisme en démontrant à quel point il est facile d'apprendre les préjugés.
Un changement va arriver...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(30 mai 2020) Alors que je regarde les informations sur les événements de Philadéphie et d'autres villes du pays, mon cœur a mal pour ce qui se passe. Je sais que cela fait partie du plus grand changement qui prend…
Une chanson peut élever le cœur et l'âme
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
J'ai plusieurs façons d'utiliser pour effacer l'obscurité de mon esprit quand je trouve qu'elle s'est infiltrée. L'une est le jardinage ou passer du temps dans la nature. L'autre est le silence. Une autre façon est la lecture. Et celui qui ...

4 Myths About The Homeless

4 Myths About The Homeless
An increasing number of people are sleeping outside in tents, doorways, and under bridges. In the United States, 192,875 people were unsheltered on a given night in January 2018, a 9% increase from 2016.

Tax Overhaul and the Immorality of Inequality

Tax Overhaul and the Immorality of Inequality
Societies tend to become more unequal over time, unless there is concerted pushback. A society that fails to invest in its children, to protect its land and water, or to build a future is courting collapse. The process feeds on itself, growing like a cancer...

Growing Up In Poverty – Even If You Escape It – Weakens Later Health

Growing Up In Poverty – Even If You Escape It – Weakens Later Health
Poverty remains a widespread problem. In the UK, 30% of children are growing up in poverty. More than half of these children are in working households, and poverty is on the rise even for children whose parents work in government-funded jobs.

Free School Breakfast Gives Grades A Boost

Free School Breakfast Gives Grades A Boost
Children from low-income families who attend a school that offers free breakfasts do better academically in math, science, and reading, report researchers.

Why You Should Vote For Women In 2018

Why You Should Vote For Women In 2018
Skeptics may wonder, does the gender of the person who represents you in Congress really matter? Currently, only about 20 percent of all members of Congress are women - 22 of the 100 U.S. senators are female, as are 84 of the 435 members of the U.S. House.

Why We Should Listen To People Angry About Their Taxes

Why We Should Listen To People Angry About Their TaxesIs it too much to expect people to talk calmly and reasonably about tax changes? Yes. Yes, it is too much. The rocket-fuelled fury of the worried taxpayer is a constant feature of tax culture for good reasons.

Do Noncompete Clauses Clash With US Labor Laws?

Do Noncompete Clauses Clash With US Labor Laws?Most Americans with jobs work “at-will”: Either party may terminate the arrangement at any time for a good or bad reason or none at all. Employers owe their employees nothing in the relationship and vice versa.

How Some Rich People Are Trying To Dismantle Inequality

How Some Rich People Are Trying To Dismantle InequalityAmple research indicates that the growing problem of wealth and income inequality could stunt U.S. economic growth and undermine our democracy while stirring political polarization.

Solving Homelessness: A Public Option For Land Ownership?

Solving Homelessness: A Public Option For Land Ownership?A number of recent articles in the corporate press around the country highlight the ongoing dilemma the capitalist class faces in dealing with the persistent and rising homelessness problem.

Why Poverty Is A Reflection Of Society

Why Poverty Is A Reflection Of Society

As the Senate prepares to modify its version of the health care bill, now is a good time to back up and examine why we as a nation are so divided about providing health care, especially to the poor.

Is Wonder Woman A Feminist Icon Or Symbol Of Oppression?

wonder woman and feminismIt’s been a busy – and controversial – year for Wonder Woman. In October 2016, the United Nations made a curious appointment: Wonder Woman would be the global organisation’s new Ambassador for Women’s Empowerment

Is The American Dream On Life Support?

Is The American Dream On Life Support?'Declines in absolute mobility have been a systematic, widespread phenomenon throughout the United States since 1940,' the authors of the new study write.

How Innovation Can Fight Off Inequality

How Innovation Can Fight Off InequalityInequality is the defining social, political and economic phenomenon of our time. Just 1% of the world’s population now holds over 35% of all private wealth

How Workers Are Being Taxed And Companies Are Skating

How Workers Are Being Taxed And Companies Are SkatingTax day is here once more, and tens of millions of Americans will rush to file their income taxes by this year’s deadline of April 18 (rather than April 15 for a variety of reasons). The Conversation 

When Food Stamp Benefits Go Up, These ER Visits Go Down

When Food Stamp Benefits Go Up, These ER Visits Go DownIn 2014, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), a federal program to address food insecurity in the United States, provided $70 billion in nutrition support to 46.5 million families and children living in 22.7 million American households.

Why Big, Beautiful Walls Don't Stop Migrants

Why Big, Beautiful Walls Don't Stop MigrantsWalls have a strong political connotation in post-war Europe. The most tragically famous was the Berlin wall built in 1961 to prevent citizens of the DDR (otherwise known as East Germany) from seeking refuge in the West.

US Teens In Poverty Go Hungry So Siblings Can Eat

US Teens In Poverty Go Hungry So Siblings Can EatA survey of about 1,500 extremely disadvantaged families in Boston, Chicago, and San Antonio shows teenagers go without food twice as often as their younger brothers and sisters.

How It Feels When People See You As Less Human

How It Feels When People See You As Less HumanIn a recent study, American participants placed Muslims and Mexican immigrants significantly closer to the ape-like ancestor than Americans as a whole.

How Health Insurance Binds Neighbors Together

How Health Insurance Binds Neighbors TogetherAccess to health insurance can help hold a community together socially, and lack of it can help fray neighborhood cohesion, report researchers.

Who Are The Real Forgotten Americans?

Who Are The Real Forgotten Americans?As Donald J. Trump assumes the presidency and lays out his agenda for our country, he will likely proclaim himself, as he did in the campaign, the voice of "the forgotten Americans."

Why Is It So Hard To Close The Racial Health Gap In The US?

Why Is It So Hard To Close The Racial Health Gap In The US?The racial health gap in the United States is well-documented. The gap starts with the infant mortality rate (11.1 blacks vs. 5.1 whites per 1,000) and extends to almost any health domain.

The Uncomfortable Truth About Social Mobility

The Uncomfortable Truth About Social MobilityIs it okay to talk to your young children? To read them stories at bedtime, discuss the flowers by the bus stop, be attentive as they describe their day? Let’s try another tack.

Why Donald Trump Should Read The Wizard Of Oz

Why Donald Trump Should Read The Wizard Of Oz

Donald Trump may have won the American presidency by promoting himself as the candidate for the common people to overthrow the Washington establishment, but this recent populist surge is certainly not the country’s first.

How Wells Fargo Encouraged Employees To Commit Fraud

How Wells Fargo Encouraged Employees To Commit FraudOver the course of four years, at least 5,000 Wells Fargo employees opened more than a million fake bank and credit card accounts on behalf of unwitting customers.

How Corporate America Can Help Curb Income Inequality

How Corporate America Can Help Curb Income InequalityScorpion met Frog on a river bank and asked him for a ride to the other side. “How do I know you won’t sting me?” asked Frog. “Because,” replied Scorpion, “if I do, I will drown.” Satisfied, Frog set out across the water with Scorpion on his back. Halfway across, Scorpion stung Frog. “Why did you do that?” gasped Frog as he started to sink. “Now we’ll both die.” “I can’t help it,” replied Scorpion. “It’s my nature.”

Trump's Huge Trickle-Down Economic Plan

Trump's Huge Trickle-Down Economic PlanDonald Trump poses as a working-class populist, but about his new economic plan would be a gusher for the wealthy. And almost nothing will trickle down to anyone else.

Affording Child Care In America

Affording Child Care In AmericaThis week on the presidential campaign trail, Donald Trump took a big step out of traditional Republican territory to propose a federal solution to the high cost of child care. His plan suggests utilizing the tax code to give a break to working parents with young kids.

Weaker Unions Have Also Cut Nonunion Paychecks?

Weaker Unions Have Also Cut Nonunion Paychecks?A dramatic decline in the density of US labor unions since the 1970s has resulted in lower wages for both union and nonunion workers, a new study suggests.

Why A World With Inequality Everywhere Is An Economic Threat

world ineqquality3 9 12There is growing evidence that inequality is increasing not only in Australia but internationally within the advanced industrial economies. The age of endless growth in prosperity for everyone is a distant memory of a more hopeful age.

Lessons From Argentina For Europe's Newly Impoverished Middle Class

Lessons From Argentina For Europe's Newly Impoverished Middle ClassLeading economic think-tank the institute of Fiscal Studies has warned that “middle-income families are the new poor” – a damning indictment of the way poverty in Britain has spread far beyond groups that are traditionally considered poor.

How Class And Wealth Affect Your Health

How Class And Wealth Affect Your HealthInequities in wealth and income are one of the biggest social, economic and political challenges of our time. It’s important to address these inequities for three key reasons.

Economic Inequality Is On The Rise Worldwide

Economic Inequality Is On The Rise WorldwideHere are some conclusions from a recent economics research paper. Do you think the authors are from some left-leaning think tank full of malcontents?

How To Fix America’s Child Care Problem

Advocates need to develop a broad-based support, which includes hearing all voices, such as those of child care workers. U.S. Army, CC BYIn what might be the most contentious election campaign season yet, the main presidential candidates seem to agree on at least one issue – that the policy around child care for American families needs improvement.

Why Violence Is Deeply Rooted In Inequality

Why Violence Is Deeply Rooted In InequalityLatin America has traditionally been the world’s most unequal region, but it has recently shown signs of change. Through the 2000s, high international prices for exports have brought inequality levels down.

How Poverty Has Radically Shifted Across Europe In The Last Decade

How Poverty Has Radically Shifted Across Europe In The Last DecadeBrexit caps off a turbulent decade for the EU. Many in the eurozone will be hoping that it does not cause further economic turmoil, as it is becoming increasingly clear that the financial crisis of 2008-09 led to a substantial increase in poverty across the continent.

Donald Trump And "Poor White Trash"

Donald Trump And "Poor White Trash"In her new book,White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America, Nancy Isenberg rips apart the myth that the United States is a class-free society where hard work is rewarded by social mobility.

How The Sexism Surrounding Women's Speech Endures

How The Sexism Surrounding Women's Speech EnduresAfter a campaign lasting more than a year and taking in all 50 states, Hillary Rodham Clinton has delivered a speech that will go down in history.

What Factors Influence Income Inequality?

What Factors Influence Income Inequality?Whether it’s by coincidence or causation, the financial collapse of 2008 and 2009 has resulted in growing angst over income inequality.

Racial Inequality Starts Early In Preschool

The rate of suspension is higher for African American girls as well. woodleywonderworks, CC BYOn Wednesday, July 6, the four-year-old daughter of Diamond Reynolds witnessed the killing of Philando Castile by a Minnesota police officer. She and her mother sat in close proximity to Castile when he was shot.

The Secret To The Incredible Wealth Of Bill Gates

The Secret To The Incredible Wealth Of Bill GatesSorry folks, this isn’t Trump University, I don’t have the plan for you to get rich quick. But it is important for everyone to understand exactly why Bill Gates is very rich. It’s called “copyright protection.”

Why It's So Hard For Students To Have Their Debts Forgiven

Forgive me, for I have borrowed. Peg Hunter/Flickr, CC BY-NCOutstanding student loan debt in the United States reached a record US$1.35 trillion in March, up six percent from a year earlier.

The Widening Economic Gap Among Young People

The Widening Economic Gap Among Young PeopleAcross the world, the current generation of youth has been remarkably active in mobilizing against inequality. From the Arab Spring and the global Occupy movement to many political campaigns across the world, young people are often at the forefront of the fight.

Why Is Rural Broadband Access Still Such A Problem?

digital divide 6 10There is a well-documented “digital divide” between rural and urban areas when it comes to broadband access. As of 2015, 74 percent of households in urban areas of the U.S. had residential broadband connections, compared with only 64 percent of rural households. This gap has persisted over time.

The Women Who Are Taking On Wal-Mart

Denise Barlage and Venanzi Luna. Liz Cooke, CC BYPico Rivera is a dusty working-class Latino suburb of Los Angeles. After the school district, Wal-Mart is the city’s largest employer and the source of 10 percent of its tax revenue. More than 500 families in the town depend on income from the store.

Why We Must End Upward Pre-distributions To The Rich

pWhy We Must End Upward Pre-distributions To The RichYou often hear inequality has widened because globalization and technological change have made most people less competitive, while making the best educated more competitive. There’s some truth to this. The tasks most people used to do can now be done more cheaply by lower-paid workers abroad or by computer-driven machines.

What’s Destroying the American Middle Class?

What’s Killing the American Middle Class?A new study by the Pew Research Center spurred a rash of headlines last week about “the dying middle class.” But the word “dying” might be more appropriate if we were watching the regrettable but inevitable effects of natural forces at work.

Having Babies Before Age 25 May Cost Women More Income

"Children do not kill careers, but the earlier children arrive the more their mother's income suffers. There is a clear incentive for delaying," says coauthor Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis. (Credit: Thomas Angermann/Flickr)"Children do not kill careers, but the earlier children arrive the more their mother's income suffers. There is a clear incentive for delaying," says coauthor Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis.

How The Supreme Court Made Economic Inequality A Whole Lot Worse

How The Supreme Court Made Economic Inequality A Whole Lot WorseEconomic inequality is now firmly on the public agenda as candidates and voters alike look for someone to blame for stagnant wages, entrenched poverty and a widening gap between rich and poor.

Six Things A Tax Haven Expert Learned From The Panama Papers

Six Things A Tax Haven Expert Learned From The Panama PapersThe Panama Papers is a treasure trove of information on the activities and clientele of a large, but not atypical law firm operating in an offshore financial centre. In this case, it is a firm called Mossack Fonseca, based in Panama. It follows a series of spectacular leaks by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, including the HSBC files

If We Really Want An Ideas Boom, We Need More Women At The Top Tiers Of Science

Tanya Monro (left), Emma Johnston (centre) and Nalini Joshi (right) at the National Press Club. National Press Club of AustraliaOn Wednesday May 30, Emma Johnston, Nalini Joshi and Tanya Monro spoke at the National Press Club for a special Women Of Science event. Here they outline their views on how to promote greater participation by women at the top levels of science.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…