تفشي مرض الحصبة: لماذا يخاطر المضادون للفاكس بأزمة صحية عامة؟

تفشي مرض الحصبة: لماذا يخاطر المضادون للفاكس بأزمة صحية عامة؟ تحليل المخاطر يمكن أن يقدم نظرة ثاقبة قرار مكافحة التطعيم من بعض الآباء والأمهات. شترستوك

لقد فاجأ تفشي الحصبة الحالي أخصائيي الصحة العامة أعلنت الحصبة تسيطر عليها منذ أكثر من عقدين. نحن نتصارع الآن مع وباء منخفض المستوى قد تصبح متوطنة. المهنيين الصحيين ، مسلحين العلم لدعم التطعيم ، لا أوافق بشدة على الآباء الذين لا يقومون بتطعيم أطفالهم. يصفون الاعتراضات على اللقاحات على أنها جهلة و غير مسؤول.

تسببت الحصبة في نفوق 110,000 في جميع أنحاء العالم في 2018 ، ولكن حتى الآن ، حدثت فقط 65 في الأمريكتين (معظمها في فنزويلا والبرازيل) ولم يحدث أي منها في أمريكا الشمالية. في كندا ، الصغيرة ولكن بسرعة تتجه العدد التصاعدي للحالات هو أبعد ما يكون عن الوباء.

ومع ذلك ، مع أكثر من 200,000 الأطفال غير المطعمين تحت سن الخامسة وبعض المناطق أقل بكثير من معدل التحصين المستهدف شنومكس في المائة، هذا قد يتغير بسرعة.

تفشي مرض الحصبة: لماذا يخاطر المضادون للفاكس بأزمة صحية عامة؟ تحمي اللقاحات الأطفال من الحصبة ، وهو مرض شديد العدوى في الهواء. شترستوك

يعد الحصبة مرضًا شديد العدوى محمولًا في الهواء ومعدًا خطيرًا نسبيًا تعقيد. مع الجرعة المزدوجة الموصى بها ، يكون لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية (MMR) 97 في المائة فعالة ضد الحصبة.

مكافحة vaxxers أيضا استشهد مضاعفات التطعيم كسبب للشك في قيمة لقاح MMR. لكن هذه المضاعفات نادرة للغاية.

يكمن قرار قرار عدم التطعيم مع احتمال الإصابة بالمرض في صلب تحليل المخاطر الذي قام به جميع الآباء والأمهات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تطبيق تحليل المخاطر لأزمة الصحة العامة

أنا خبير اقتصادي و حركة مكافحة vaxx يجعلني أفكر في كيف يمكن لتحليل المخاطر أن يقدم نظرة ثاقبة لقرار مكافحة التطعيم من بعض الآباء والأمهات.

يستخدم تحليل المخاطر الاحتمال للتنبؤ بالتأثير النهائي لـ القرار. نحن نستخدم تحليل المخاطر يوميًا بدءًا من المشكلات البسيطة ، مثل ما إذا كان يجب استخدام المظلة استنادًا إلى توقعات الطقس ، وتقييم الوقت الذي يكون فيه الانتقال إلى حركة المرور القادمة آمنًا لتمرير سيارة أخرى. التبلل لأننا ننسى أن المظلة لها عواقب أقل من اتخاذ قرار رديء بالسيارات.

فقط كيف نجمع بين احتمال التوصل إلى نتيجة وتأثير تلك النتيجة لاتخاذ أفضل قرار؟

والأكثر شيوعًا هو أن التجربة اليومية هي دليلنا. نبتل مرة واحدة لأننا نترك المظلة في المنزل ، ثم نبدأ في استخدام توقعات الطقس واحتمال هطول الأمطار كدليل. أولئك منا الذين يكرهون أيام الشعر السيئة سيحملون مظلة مع فرصة فقط 10 في المطر. لن يتخذ آخرون أي إجراء وقائي حتى يحدد المتنبئون هطول الأمطار بنسبة 75 في المائة. نحن نوازن بين احتمالية الحدوث والتكاليف أو المنفعة المتصورة إذا ظهرت تلك النتيجة.

المشكلة الأساسية في تحليل المخاطر المتعلقة باللقاحات ومضادات الفاكسر هي أن الآباء لديهم وقت محدود بشكل متزايد لتقييم المشكلات الطبية المعقدة. يتطلب تحليل المخاطر تحقيق التوازن بين الاحتمالات والسياق وهذا أمر صعب بالنسبة للقرارات المتعلقة بالصحة.

معاداة vaxxers

عادة بالنسبة للمسائل الصحية ، اعتمدنا على خبراء مثل أطباء الأسرة أو معلومات الصحة العامة التي تقدمها الحكومات والأطراف الخارجية الموثوق بها.

لكن المشورة الطبية لم تعد تأتي من أطباء الأسرة فقط. تنامي مجموعة من ممارسي العافية ينصحون الجمهور. بينما خلق تعريف كلي للصحة من المنطقي ، كما كان لها نتيجة غير مقصودة لخلق فرصة ل جيش من ما يسمى "الخبراء" الذين يعارضون في المسائل الصحية، في كثير من الأحيان مزاحمة المعلومات من المصادر الطبية التقليدية.

أيضا ، كما أتذكر عند أحد الوالدين من الأطفال الصغار ، كثير من الآباء هم محرومون من النوم، ومنحهم القليل من الوقت للتحقق من حقيقة الكثير يعتمدون على نصيحة الأصدقاء والأطباء. خلقت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أيضا غرف صدى التضليل ومن السهل الوقوع في دائرة من السلطات "الافتراضية" التي تخلق أولاً ثم تبني المعلومات الخاطئة.

تعقيد تقييم المخاطر من الحصبة هو على نحو متزايد متطور الدعوة على شبكة الإنترنت ضد التطعيم التي تزرع الخوف وعدم اليقين والشك.

على سبيل المثال ، على الرغم من أن الصلة المباشرة بين لقاح MMR (الحصبة ، النكاف ، الحصبة الألمانية) والتوحد كانت وضعت للراحة مرارا وتكرارا باستخدام البيانات الكبيرة ، تستمر مضادات الفاكس في تعميم الارتباط الضعيف بين الألمنيوم والتوحد وحقيقة أن بعض اللقاحات تحتوي على أملاح الألومنيوم. تؤدي هذه المعلومات الجزئية إلى استنتاج خاطئ بأن لقاح الحصبة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مرض التوحد.

في الواقع ، لا يحتوي لقاح MMR على أملاح الألومنيوم. الألومنيوم هو العنصر الثالث الأكثر وفرة بعد الأكسجين والسيليكون ، وأي لقاح هو مصدر ثانوي لهذا العنصر بالنسبة لنا جميعًا. ولكن الاستدلال الخاطئ والخطأ هو أن تطعيم أطفالك ضد الحصبة يعرضهم لمستويات عالية من الألمنيوم وبالتالي يرفع خطر التوحد.

كثير من الآباء ليس لديهم الوقت أو القدرة على إجراء البحوث لاختراق المعلومات الخاطئة لمضادات الفاكس ، وبالتالي يمكن تركهم مع وجود تحليل معيب للمخاطر المرتبطة بعدم تطعيم أطفالهم.

مكافحة المعلومات الخاطئة

دعونا نحاول أن نفهم لماذا يتخذ الآباء هذه القرارات الصحية الخطيرة. أعتقد أنه إذا كان لدى الآباء معلومات يمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة ، فقد يكونون أكثر قدرة على إجراء تقييم حقيقي لمخاطر اللقاحات.

سيكون الحصول على "المعلومات الأسطورية" الخاصة بمضادات الإكسكس مباشرةً في الرسائل الموجزة الحادة والاتصال بها بالاسم أكثر نجاحًا من المعلومات العامة على مواقع الويب.

يحتاج الآباء إلى أن يصبحوا مستهلكين أفضل للمعلومات: تحقق دائمًا من رعاة المواقع التي تقدم المشورة الطبية.

ولكن هذا قد لا يكون كافيا. أميل إلى أخذ المشورة الطبية بشأن اللقاحات. عندما اقترح طبيبي أنني كنت في سن من العمر لأحصل على لقاح القوباء المنطقية ، فعلت ذلك. لكنني كنت على استعداد للقيام بذلك على أي حال ، فأنا أعرف ثلاثة أشخاص أصيبوا بأعصاب ، أحدهم معتدل والآخر معتدل يعاني من ألم طويل حتى يومنا هذا ، وشخص يعاني من حالة تشويه شديدة أدت إلى تقاعد مبكر.

تجربتي المباشرة مع المرض دفعت حقًا قراري بالتطعيم.

أخشى أنه فقط عندما يموت بعض الأطفال ، أو يتعرضون لأضرار جسيمة كما كان شائعًا في أيام ما قبل التطعيم ، سيصبح خطرًا حقيقيًا على الآباء والأمهات الذين يترددون في تلقيح اللقاح ، ومن ثم سنرى تدافعًا للحصول على الطلقات.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

غريغوري ماسون ، أستاذ مشارك في الاقتصاد ، جامعة مانيتوبا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الحصبة، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Measles Outbreak: Why Are Anti-Vaxxers Risking A Public Health Crisis?

Measles Outbreak: Why Are Anti-Vaxxers Risking A Public Health Crisis? A risk analysis could offer insight into the anti-vaccination decision of some parents. Shutterstock

The current outbreak of measles has startled public health practitioners, who declared measles controlled over two decades ago. We are now grappling with a low-level epidemic that may become endemic. Health professionals, armed with the science to back up vaccination, strongly disapprove of parents who do not vaccinate their children. They characterise objections to vaccines as ignorant and irresponsible.

Measles caused 110,000 deaths worldwide in 2018, but so far, only 65 occurred in the Americas (mostly in Venezuela and Brazil) and none in North America. In Canada, the small but rapidly trending upward number of cases is far from an epidemic.

However, with over 200,000 unvaccinated children under the age of five and some areas well below the target immunization rate of 95 per cent, this may change quickly.

Measles Outbreak: Why Are Anti-Vaxxers Risking A Public Health Crisis? Vaccines protect children from measles, a highly contagious airborne disease. Shutterstock

Measles is a highly contagious airborne disease with a relatively small rate of serious complication. With the recommended double dose, the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccine is 97 per cent effective against measles.

Anti-vaxxers also cite the complications of vaccination as a reason to doubt the value of the MMR vaccine. But these complications are exceedingly rare.

Weighing the decision of not to vaccinate with the probability of falling ill is at the heart of the risk analysis made by all parents.

Applying risk analysis to a public health crisis

I am an economist and the anti-vaxx movement makes me think of how a risk analysis could offer insight into the anti-vaccination decision of some parents.

Risk analysis uses probability to predict the ultimate impact of a decision. We use risk analysis every day from simple problems such as whether to take an umbrella based on a weather forecast, to assessing when it is safe to cross over into oncoming traffic to pass another car. Getting wet because we forget an umbrella has a smaller consequence than making a poor car-passing decision.

Just how do we combine probability of an outcome with the impact of that outcome to make the best decision?

Most commonly, everyday experience is our guide. We get wet once because we leave the umbrella at home, and then we start using the weather forecast and the probability of precipitation as a guide. Those of us who are averse to a bad hair days will pack an umbrella with just a 10 per cent chance of rain. Others will take no preventive action until forecasters set precipitation at 75 per cent. We balance the probability of an occurrence with its perceived cost or benefit if that outcome transpires.

The essential problem with risk analysis regarding vaccines and anti-vaxxers is that parents have increasingly limited time to assess complex medical issues. Risk analysis requires the balancing of probabilities and context and that is hard to do with health related decisions.

Anti-vaxxers

Normally for health matters we have relied on experts such as a family physicians or public health information offered by governments and trusted third parties.

But medical advice no longer comes just from family physicians. A growing panoply of wellness practitioners advise the public. While creating a holistic definition of health makes sense, it has also had the unintended consequence of creating an opening for an army of so called “experts” who opine on health matters, often crowding out information from traditional medical sources.

Also, as I recall when a parent of young children, many parents are sleep deprived, giving them little time to fact-check so many rely on the advice of friends and doctors. Social media has also created echo chambers of misinformation and it is easy to fall into a circle of “virtual” authorities that first create then build on misinformation.

Complicating the assessment of risk from measles is the increasingly sophisticated internet-based advocacy against vaccination that sow fear, uncertainty and doubt.

For example, although the direct link between the MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) vaccine and autism has been laid to rest repeatedly and most recently using big data, anti-vaxxers continue to circulate the weak association between aluminum and autism and the fact that some vaccines contain aluminum salts. This partial information leads to an erroneous inference that measles vaccine can lead to autism.

In fact, the MMR vaccine does not contain aluminum salts. Aluminum is the third-most-abundant element after oxygen and silicon, and any vaccine is a minor source of this element for all of us. But the lingering and faulty inference is that vaccinating your children against measles exposes them to high levels of aluminum and therefore raises the risk for autism.

Many parents do not have the time or ability to undertake the research to penetrate the misinformation of the anti-vaxxers and therefore can be left with a flawed analysis of the risks associated with not vaccinating their children.

Combating misinformation

Let’s try and understand why parents are making these dangerous health decisions. I believe that if parents have more accessible information, they may be more able to undertake a true risk assessment of vaccinations.

Taking on the “myth-information” of anti-vaxxers directly in sharp concise messages and calling them out by name will be more successful than general information on web sites.

Parents need to become better consumers of information: always check the sponsors of websites offering medical advice.

But this may not be enough. I tend to take medical advice on vaccinations. When my physician suggested I was of an age to get the shingles vaccine, I did. But I was ready to do this anyway as I know three people who have had shingles, one mild, the other moderate with lingering pain to this day, and one who had a severely disfiguring case that triggered early retirement.

My direct experience with the disease really prompted my decision to vaccinate.

I fear that only when some children die, or become severely damaged as was common in the pre-vaccination days, will risk become real to vaccine-hesitant parents, and then we will see a stampede to get the shots.The Conversation

About The Author

Gregory C Mason, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Manitoba

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

health
List Price: $25.95
Sale Price: $25.95 $14.63 You save: $11.32
View more offers Buy New From: $3.14 Used From: $1.19



health


View more offers Buy New From: $36.89 Used From: $58.55


enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}